Liveblog: Motorola Moto X and Moto G 2015 announcement

Liveblog: Motorola Moto X and Moto G 2015 announcement
Between its purchase by Google and its consequential acquisition by Lenovo, Motorola has somehow managed to keep releasing smartphone models to the market on a regular basis, further establishing its three, well-differentiated tiers: Moto X for the high end, Moto G for the mid end, and Moto E for the low end.

While Motorola has already introduced this year's Moto E, it is yet to reveal the newest iterations of the arguably more interesting products: the Moto X and Moto G. That's exactly what we expect to happen today (in fact, the Moto G already got announced in India), but sources are also reporting about the existence of a third smartphone that should also debut today, the details about which are pretty much non-existent at the moment.

Welcome to our liveblog which will follow the Moto X/G 2015 announcement event and bring the news directly to your monitors!

EVENT START TIME: 6 AM PT | 7 AM MT | 8 AM CT | 9 AM ET | 1 PM GMT | 3 PM CET


Related phones

Moto G (2015)
  • Display 5.0" 720 x 1280 pixels
  • Camera 13 MP / 5 MP front
  • Processor Qualcomm Snapdragon 410, Quad-core, 1400 MHz
  • Storage 16 GB + microSDHC
  • Battery 2470 mAh

FEATURED VIDEO

12 Comments

1. aymnga

Posts: 30; Member since: Aug 19, 2012

if moto x has 5.2 inch and good battery, then its definitely a buy .......

11. aksa123

Posts: 367; Member since: Jan 30, 2014

Well it's pretty compact at 76% screen/body ratio, so it isn't that big, just a tad bigger than 5.1" galaxy s6. It's the actual size that matters, not just the screen.

2. hwb01

Posts: 355; Member since: Apr 17, 2014

Hoping for a smaller Moto 360

3. Lodmot

Posts: 6; Member since: Jul 28, 2015

Guess I jumped in the swimming pool with my Moto X 2nd Gen at the right time. owo

4. Ruturaj

Posts: 1484; Member since: Oct 16, 2014

I hope 21MP on moto x style is imx230.

5. Ruturaj

Posts: 1484; Member since: Oct 16, 2014

SOC in moto x style?

7. Scott93274

Posts: 6038; Member since: Aug 06, 2013

SD808.

6. BigBoss10

Posts: 279; Member since: Aug 31, 2012

really are you kidding me.... it looks like to 90's phone lol.... hey damn Moto wake up

8. Scott93274

Posts: 6038; Member since: Aug 06, 2013

Better camera, better battery, SD card support, up to 120 GB, the thing works on all LTE bands in North America.... So then it might be compatible with Project Fi??? If so then bye bye Verizon. lol

9. Sniggly

Posts: 7305; Member since: Dec 05, 2009

The SD card support on the Play is going to bring a lot of people back to Motorola. I really want to know how much these things cost. Might be time to start saving money.

10. Scott93274

Posts: 6038; Member since: Aug 06, 2013

I'm not sure where they're getting all their information, but 9to5google says the Style starts at $399 for the Pure Edition, which just doesn't seem right, it seems like it should be more. http://9to5google.com/2015/07/28/motorola-officially-announces-the-moto-x-style/

12. aksa123

Posts: 367; Member since: Jan 30, 2014

Fuuuuu really excited with the moto x play, hope it'll be available in SEA !!!

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.