Could there be a mini Pixel for real?; Google "Bonito" with SD-710 is being tested on GFX

Could there be a mini Pixel for real?; Google "Bonito" with SD-710 is being tested on GFX
A couple of days ago, Google made fun of those who truly believe that we will see a Pixel Ultra handset unveiled at the Made By Google event  on October 9th. This was done through an Instagram post that showed a sketch of a small phone tiny enough to fit on a key ring. In the post, Google said, "We've heard rumors of a mini Pixel. Which begs the question how "mini" is too mini? We have a feeling the next one will be a bit bigger than this. Tune in on 10/9 to see for yourself."

What if Google was being serious? Respectable tipster Roland Quandt says that someone has been testing a Google phone with the code name "Bonito," powered by the Snapdragon 710 Mobile Platform. The comment about the next mini Pixel being a little bigger than the one that fits on a keychain could have more truth in it than we originally thought. And by the way, a bonito is a small fish that is a relative of the Tuna.

Google isn't saying anything at this point, outside of its Instagram post. It looks like we will have to wait for the Made By Google event to find out exactly how many new Pixel handsets are being introduced. The event kicks off next Tuesday, October 9th at 11am ET (8am PT, 15:00 GMT). It can be Livestreamed on the Made By Google Instagram page and the Made By Google YouTube channel.


source: @rquandt

FEATURED VIDEO

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless