x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy 3 Review

Samsung Galaxy 3

Posted: , posted by Daniel P.

Tags:

Pages
Samsung Galaxy 3 Review
This is a global GSM phone, it can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile USA, but without 3G.

Introduction:


The nice guys at Samsung are always thinking about the poor and deprived of this world who cannot afford a Galaxy S, and still need to satisfy their Android obsession. Thus they came out with two more handsets in the Galaxy series - the lowly Galaxy 5, and the middle ground Galaxy 3. There is nothing AMOLED-y or Hummingbird-y about our Samsung Galaxy 3 here, but on paper it has all the prerequisites for a compelling mid-range Android phone. Seeing is believing in our case, so let's charge ahead and examine the TouchWiz-ed Samsung Galaxy 3...


Design:

There have been some design changes since we made our preview of the prototype unit. Samsung has rightfully concluded that two of the usual four Android buttons are a waste of space, and has disposed of the home and search keys we saw in the prototype. Instead, universal search is now called by long-pressing the context menu button, and clicking the trapezoid center key takes you to the homescreen.

All are regular physical buttons now, we don't see the four capacitive touch keys that were in the early iteration of the Samsung Galaxy 3. If the omission of capacitive touch technology for the navigation keys, and the D-pad being replaced by a single home button (after all, you have a touch screen) brings with them lowering the production cost, we can't say we will miss those much.

The plastic feels durable, and it is not slippery, thus making the Samsung Galaxy 3 comfortable to hold - Samsung Galaxy 3 Review
The plastic feels durable, and it is not slippery, thus making the Samsung Galaxy 3 comfortable to hold - Samsung Galaxy 3 Review
The plastic feels durable, and it is not slippery, thus making the Samsung Galaxy 3 comfortable to hold - Samsung Galaxy 3 Review

The plastic feels durable, and it is not slippery, thus making the Samsung Galaxy 3 comfortable to hold


Samsung Galaxy 3 Review

You can compare the Samsung Galaxy 3 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The 3.2“ screen itself is capacitive, but TFT LCD, not AMOLED, which should have helped to bring the cost further down as well. The resolution is WQVGA 240x400 pixels – not great at all, so the font and icons look quite pixelized. The display is actually decent in direct sunlight, if the brightness is pumped up to the max.

The rest of the black glossy plastic design is curvaceous, and the plastic feels durable, and it is not slippery, thus making the phone comfortable to hold. Most of the action is going on at the top of the phone where the lock/power button, the microUSB port, and the 3.5mm audio jack are. The only other element is the volume rocker on the left.

The sides of the Samsung Galaxy 3 - Samsung Galaxy 3 Review
The sides of the Samsung Galaxy 3 - Samsung Galaxy 3 Review
The sides of the Samsung Galaxy 3 - Samsung Galaxy 3 Review
The sides of the Samsung Galaxy 3 - Samsung Galaxy 3 Review

The sides of the Samsung Galaxy 3




Samsung Galaxy 3 360 Degrees View:



55 Comments
  • Options
    Close





posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. umpalumpa (unregistered)


hey. the i5700 has a better review that this one. should i bye the older one or whait for another test of the i5800? they cost nearly the same. the stores say it will come tomorow and some 5800 cost just 210€ in germany.

posted on 19 Aug 2010, 13:44

2. Adi (unregistered)


Buy the Samsung Galaxy 3 (i5800).. the Galaxy Spica has a better screen but this phone has more RAM, Bluetooth 3.0, WiFi-n and it'll soon receive Android 2.2 (Froyo) update..

posted on 20 Aug 2010, 04:58

3. max (unregistered)


Froyo is the only advantage it has. When I compared screen with spica(i5700)......spica resolution and clarity was way better. overall I liked spica, but with few more bucks u can get wildfire(n few more u will get motorla milestone: ) )....what a conundrum!

posted on 27 Aug 2010, 12:17

4. rajuking06 (Posts: 1; Member since: 27 Aug 2010)


i want to buy the Samsung I5801 or I5800 Galaxy3 ( Apollo) I am from india i think in india they are calling Samsung I5801 Galaxy Apollo . i have seen that this mobile comes with Android OS 2.1 (Eclair) and it can update to Android OS 2.2 (Froyo) , Pleas give me the info that Samsung I5801 or I5800 Galaxy3 ( Apollo) Really upgradable to Android v2.2 "Help me in this "

posted on 30 Aug 2010, 04:49

5. binu (unregistered)


in india only i5800 galaxy3 is available, it costs 11500rs(street price) in cochin. they promises about the upgradation to 2.2 froyo but no offical sites reported the same. anyways they have already announced galaxy s will be getting a upgrade by 4th quarter of 2010 so lets hope galaxy3 also get a upgrade along with it.

posted on 15 Sep 2010, 04:15

13. sreenath (unregistered)


i just bought the samsung galaxy i5801 from bangalore for 12.2k. the only difference between i5800 is the touch sensitive buttons which i5801 has. its the best mid range android phone below 20k in the market right now. I am hugely satisfied with the experience. Only the camera doesnt do justice to the specs, rest all features are up there with the best.

posted on 02 Sep 2010, 04:11

6. Aman Sanghvi (unregistered)


hey i have a problem with galaxy 3's messaging.... if i want to send a message of 4 or more den 4 pages...it automatically converts into a multemedia msg....it is not sent as a text msg but rather it is sent as a multemedia msg....wats d problem??? PLZ HELP

posted on 04 Sep 2010, 02:13

7. sahithi (unregistered)


hey im from india...if ny1 who already bought dis galaxy 3 i5800 plz let me knw itz drawbacks...itz very imp 4 me plzzz...coz i jst lvd d look of dis mobile wanna buy if itz worthy nuf...

posted on 12 Sep 2010, 04:02

10. know (unregistered)


its really nice phone, i bought it yesterday and it has everything.

posted on 09 Sep 2011, 15:27

57. Jayanta Kr. Bal (unregistered)


I have also bought Galaxy 3 (I5801) in in last month but the battery back-up is bad. If I call continue for only 2 hrs then battery charge level decreases to 0% from 100%.

What about your set? you are facing the same problem?
Or it is only my fault? though I have change battery and also updated the software but the problem is still there.

Please let me as soon as possible

posted on 13 Sep 2010, 07:20

11. Newbytes (unregistered)


Poor Battery Life. Otherwise great phone. I am also using Iphone 3G, so u can just think what a great phone would it be.

posted on 06 Sep 2010, 01:26

8. Srikanth G (unregistered)


I purchased Samsung Galaxy 3 GT-I5801 model. To my shock it supports 3G but not video calling. By seeing 3G in the spec, I thought video calling is also there. I now feel I should have purchased samsung monte instead.

posted on 08 Sep 2010, 08:05

9. parik (unregistered)


what are you saying man this is a smartphone you cant compare it with monte monte stands no chance against this

posted on 14 Sep 2010, 05:39

12. Srikanth G (unregistered)


It is misleading to speak about 3G when they cannot provide video calling facility. What then is the use of a 3G phone? They should actually mention that they are not providing video calling. When monte can push emails and sync contacts, task list , appointments etc., what is so smart about a smart phone?

posted on 26 Sep 2010, 00:19

17. sonijd (unregistered)


hi, I've bought galaxy 3 abt 10 days back...initially i faced issues with the battery but got used to save battery by closing apps that run in background.I'm facing problems with internet surfing...wifi automatically switches off :-( and samsung have a pathetic customer service. I have not been able to get the exact gprs setttings for vodafone - india. As per vodafone, GPRS is not committed for android devices..i'm able to acces a few applications using gprs..but android market and gmail app dsnt work.. if anyone facing any of these issues or any solution to this please email me at soni.jd@gmail.com

posted on 16 Oct 2010, 23:36

20. Aby (unregistered)


Vodafone offers 2 types of GPRS(1 normal and extended), using extended GPRS you can access AndMarket and other GApps, but it is obviously expensive than normal 1 ...tested on MotoMilestone

posted on 18 Sep 2010, 05:05

14. bilal (unregistered)


Does samsung galaxy 3 has games???......coz no there is no review for games on ne of d sites dat i visited. Can ne one plz answer my question? i'm thinkin of buying this fone...

posted on 10 Oct 2010, 01:52

19. sur (unregistered)


you can download from android market

posted on 23 Sep 2010, 12:32

15. heymark (unregistered)


where can i buy galaxy 3 here in philippines?

posted on 09 Oct 2010, 20:59

18. martin (unregistered)


same question here.

posted on 12 May 2011, 01:28

47. jy (unregistered)


on the store .. . . just joking try on the samsung store at SM Manila

posted on 25 Sep 2010, 20:37

16. Debashish (unregistered)


this is great 3g android phone in the market within this range.itz features are great.worth buying.

posted on 18 Oct 2010, 08:40

21. Krishna Atreya (unregistered)


can anyone suggest me which phone to buy... Samsung Monte or Samsung Galaxy 3 I5800. How do we come to know It is I5800.. Plz help me in this...

posted on 05 Nov 2010, 06:48

31. VP (unregistered)


Samsung Galaxy 3 i5801 is much better

posted on 24 Oct 2010, 14:29

22. xasdsf (unregistered)


hi
how much is it ?

posted on 24 Oct 2010, 14:30

23. xasdsf (unregistered)


hi
how much is this telephone ??

posted on 27 Oct 2010, 00:46

24. @$h!$h (unregistered)


From India, Do consider Lg optimus One P500 (Not Yet Available....but can wait for....Big Bang over i5800/i5801 coz.....build with 512 RAM, 2.2 Froya, 320x480 resolution with capacitive sreen ..... Divx/Xvid...too. Lg Audio quality is always superior with samsung....Trust Me.... Approx INR 13500/- (+ - 200/-) ...Realeasing end of Nov'10... Need Full Details ....Google It. @ Ashish @

posted on 27 Oct 2010, 08:05

25. DUBAKKOOR (unregistered)


Samsung Galaxy 3 GT-I5801

This phones battery performance is very very poor. It takes more than 3.30hrs to get fully charged. The power doesn't last even a day. When it reaches 50%, chances are that it may go down to 5% very shortly. Samsung has released the phone without proper factory testing. Samsung claims it is a powerful battery but what is the use. I have followed all battery calliberation methods while charging but of no use. Fresh buyers be cautious about this problem with the phone. I think samsung will stop production of this model all of sudden. It is better for samsung if they follow stringent factory testings before it reaches stores.

posted on 05 Nov 2010, 07:04

34. VP (unregistered)


For prolonging battery life and battery meter calibration first time, you can switch off the phone and then charge for 3 to 4 hours one time and then switch it on. It really worked for me for longer battery life after doing it one time initially.

posted on 27 Oct 2010, 08:06

26. DUBAKKOOR (unregistered)


Samsung Galaxy 3 GT-I5801

This phones battery performance is very very poor. It takes more than 3.30hrs to get fully charged. The power doesn't last even a day. When it reaches 50%, chances are that it may go down to 5% very shortly. Samsung has released the phone without proper factory testing. Samsung claims it is a powerful battery but what is the use. I have followed all battery calliberation methods while charging but of no use. Fresh buyers be cautious about this problem with the phone. I think samsung will stop production of this model all of sudden. It is better for samsung if they follow stringent factory testings before it reaches stores.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

PhoneArena rating:
7Good
Display3.2 inches, 240 x 400 pixels (146 ppi) TFT
Camera3 megapixels
Hardware
667 MHz
Size4.47 x 2.17 x 0.50 inches
(113.5 x 55 x 12.8 mm )
3.84 oz  (109 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 15 hours talk time

Latest stories