The state of the industry: third quarter financials reporting

7
The state of the industry: third quarter financials reporting
The summer is over and it’s traditionally seen as a slow season for the mobile industry, but this year seems to be a bit different than others. Nokia has been sliding at an alarming pace freeing up space for other companies to cannibalize its smartphone sales. Apple and Samsung have been two companies to capitalize on that quickly. Apple has already dethroned Nokia in terms of pure smartphone sales in the second quarter, but some more groundbreaking changes are expected this trimester as runner-up Samsung might outsell Apple smartphones and become te world’s biggest smartphone maker

Unlike Apple which might have stood at that position for a single quarter, Samsung will quickly increase its lead and remain there in the long term if it sustains its momentum.

At the same time, the carrier battles stateside continue with most eyes on the AT&T, T-Mobile deal, but also on Sprint, which is expected to post another quarter in the red, but hopes are that this would be the bottom, from which the carrier will quickly rebound. Even more so as now it’s offering the iPhone and has laid out an ambitious plan for LTE roll-out.

With this in mind, we urge you to check back here as we’ll be constantly updating this article throughout October with financial results and analysis from major phone makers and US carriers. Here are the dates and times when the biggest in the industry have scheduled their earning calls:

Phone makers, related:

Carriers:
  • Verizon Q3 results on October 21st, 2011 at 5:30 a.m. PT | 8:30 a.m. ET 
  • AT&T Third-Quarter 2011 Earnings: Thursday, October 20, 2011 at 5 a.m. PT | 8 a.m. ET
  • Sprint Third-Quarter Results Announcement: Wednesday, October 26, 2011 at 4 a.m. PT | 7 a.m. ET
  • T-Mobile reports in early November

October 2011 (all times are PST)

SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday








10

11

12

13
Google
1:30pm
SE
11:30pm
14

15

16

17

18
Apple
2:00pm

19

20
Nokia
3:00am
AT&T
8:00am
21
Verizon
5:30am

22

23

24

25

26
Sprint
4:00am

27

28

29

30

31











Loading Comments...
FCC OKs Cingular\'s purchase of AT&T Wireless