x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S

Posted: , by Daniel P.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S
Introduction:

If you have been itching for a smartphone camera breakthrough in your life time, the Nokia 808 PureView is the one the fits the bill. Unfortunately the PureView camera technology has been years in the making, and developed with the idea that the handset will be running Symbian, so all the camera interface and APIs are tied up to the aging OS the handset is running – Nokia Belle.

Still, is it worth to consider the Nokia 808 PureView if you are rocking, or intend to get Apple's finest – the iPhone 4S – with its steel and glass design and more than half a million apps army behinds its back? Read on our quick comparison to find out...


Design:

You'd have to be a total function-before-form kind of guy to call the Nokia 808 PureView design good compared with the svelte iPhone 4S made of premium materials like glass and steel. The 808 PureView looks like Quasimodo in comparison, and we are not only talking about the hump on the back here, but also the front with its physical navigational keys bar, and the rough plastic used for the chassis, which make it look like a Symbian phone from a few years ago.

The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Apple iPhone 4S (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S
The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Apple iPhone 4S (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S
The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Apple iPhone 4S (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S

The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Apple iPhone 4S (right)


Granted, the chubby 14mm device with a big 41MP PureView camera sensor hump feels very solid in the hand, and the heft is not nearly as we would expect from one with such a monster camera. It is also pretty easy to use with one hand, not only because of the 4” screen, whose size is good for one-handed usage, but also because the hump on the back makes it easier to hold.

Left - The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Apple iPhone 4S (bottom) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S
Right - The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Apple iPhone 4S (bottom) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S
Top - The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Apple iPhone 4S (bottom) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S
Bottom edges - The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Apple iPhone 4S (bottom) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S

Left

Right

Top

Bottom edges

The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Apple iPhone 4S (bottom)


The iPhone 4S feels more “edgy”, but solid as well, and is even easier to operate with one-hand, thanks to the smaller display. On the other hand, you get all the ports and slots you may wish for, like microUSB, HDMI-out and microSD with the 808 PureView, and there is a removable battery inside, whereas with the iPhone 4S you only get a proprietary dock connector. Both handsets utilize micro-SIM cards, though.

Backs - The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Apple iPhone 4S (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S
Rear cameras - The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Apple iPhone 4S (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S
The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Apple iPhone 4S (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S

Backs

Rear cameras

 

The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Apple iPhone 4S (right)



Nokia 808 PureView vs Apple iPhone 4S
Display:

The AMOLED screen of the Nokia 808 PureView is with a very low pixel density compared to the Retina Display on the iPhone 4S, due to the 360x640 resolution splashed over a 4” display. It makes reading and browsing pretty unpleasant experiences in comparison with the 640x960 pixels on the 3.5” screen of Apple's best.

What the AMOLED screen has going for it is the stellar antireflective coating that comes with Nokia's ClearBlack layer, making for the brightest AMOLED screen we've seen to date, helping tremendously for good visibility when shooting outside under direct sunlight. The iPhone 4S also has a very bright 500 nits screen, and, since it is IPS-LCD, viewing angles are very wide, just like on the 808 PureView.

The other difference between the two, besides the pixel density, is the color representation – the Nokia 808 PureView AMOLED display exhibits the typical for the technology oversaturated, to the point of gaudy here colors, while the Retina Display covers a more narrow gamut, making its colors appear natural in comparison.


Nokia 808 PureView 360-Degrees View:



Apple iPhone 4S 360-Degrees View:



50 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 02 Jul 2012, 08:23 19

1. -box- (Posts: 3821; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


A nice balanced and concise comparison. Thank you!

I'd have the 808. No amount of OS gimmickry would take me away from the functionality and capability of the 808. Yes, it lags, and there aren't as many apps for it, but it exceeds my needs, and until the next Symbians arrive (if ever) or PureView makes its way to Windows Phone, this is my most coveted device

posted on 08 Jul 2012, 13:30 1

34. WWEraw (Posts: 3; Member since: 30 Jun 2012)


next symbian OS will be the Belle FP2
maybe carla and donna

posted on 14 Jul 2012, 15:55

41. Stoli89 (Posts: 333; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)


Carla = Belle FP1
Donna = Belle FP2

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 08:24 14

2. bobfreking55 (Posts: 866; Member since: 15 Jul 2011)


this is okay, but seriously? the iPhone again? why not with the n8?

don't blame them if they go calling you iPhoneArena again.

anyway, i believe that Symbian still packs a punch against iOS 6. lol. and I like the Pureview's design better, though thick.

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 08:39 13

4. OptimusOne (Posts: 694; Member since: 22 May 2012)


symbian is awesome, except for the apps and the browser

posted on 14 Jul 2012, 15:57 1

42. Stoli89 (Posts: 333; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)


...The apps are limited, though the Nokia Store has around 70K to date. Outside of Kindle, most every other popular app has a presence in Symbian...or there's a suitable 3rd party proxy.

As for the browser, it is not competitive. However, the free Opera Mobile or Opera Mini browsers are, in fact, fully competitive.

posted on 14 Nov 2012, 00:52

52. tylerdurdon4 (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Nov 2012)


not to forget UCbrowser, still one of the best browser for symbian and ultra stable.

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 18:25 4

17. sithman (banned) (Posts: 299; Member since: 21 Apr 2012)


Phone arenas job is to compare the top devices against each other. If I'm not mistaking based on sales, reviews, performance, and rankings from both the consumers, and experts the 4S is still one of the top 3 phones on the market.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 01:32 3

22. bayusuputra (Posts: 941; Member since: 12 Feb 2012)


by popularity..

posted on 12 Jul 2012, 17:06 3

38. Jaris (Posts: 3; Member since: 12 Jul 2012)


I own both phones and lately have used mainly the pureview 808 as I use camera a lot and one of the reasons for buying 808 was that I just could not get good enough images in low light conditions and inside with the iphone. Pureview technology in 808 is just amazing. No other phone comes even close (I have had also N8). Symbian is also great as doesn't eat battery like the other OS systems.

The only area where iphone and galaxy perform somewhat better is web browsing, but overall Nokia 808 is pretty good overall package and the camera is just fantastic.

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 08:38 18

3. OptimusOne (Posts: 694; Member since: 22 May 2012)


Thank you for not making the iphones camera sound better than the pureview camera!

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 15:39 2

14. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 3013; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Wouldn't that defeat the purpose of having a 41megs of Pureveiw tech on 808??? ...if it comes to the conclusion that "iCamera" is better??

posted on 05 Jul 2012, 08:34

32. Raymond_htc (Posts: 430; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)


NO... he meant that he's scared that Phonearena would be biased again!

posted on 09 Jul 2012, 07:05 1

35. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 3013; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


I know.... meant that with sarcasm!! LOL!!

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 08:51 5

5. imran_khan0786 (Posts: 61; Member since: 21 Jun 2012)


Thank nokia

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 09:50 3

6. PhansMuneeb (Posts: 347; Member since: 28 Jan 2012)


Best Comparision on Phone arena, Thanks Daniel

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 10:27 4

7. arturmeireles (Posts: 16; Member since: 02 Jul 2012)


I have both phones and its hard to choose one.
I love both phones in different ways.
I take them both with me all the time.
All I can say is that the Nokia 808 exceed my expectations.

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 11:34 8

8. sbr999 (Posts: 79; Member since: 05 Jun 2012)


This single core, 512mb RAM Symbian smartphone is faster than a quad core Android... or just as fast, or uhm, almost iPhone 4s smooth. I'm simply amazed by Symbian's memory management. Too bad developers don't create cool and/or useful apps for it.

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 12:20 7

9. picka_vi_materina (Posts: 164; Member since: 21 Nov 2011)


If you think that PowerVR is much more powerful than the Broadcom 2763 ticking inside the 808, think again. 808's lack on the CPU front is offloaded by its software optimizations and extremely powerful GPU.

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 13:05 8

10. Extraneus (Posts: 10; Member since: 02 Jun 2012)


Fair article, but...

Your take on the design of the two devices...!!!

Design is a subjective matter...

You love the glass and metal of the iPhone? Fine. I love the exquisite slight curve of the Nokia N9, Lumia 800 and now 808, and find the flat (fragile non-gorilla glass, by the way!) screen of the iPhone unimpressive. The rough plastic you so despise do wonders to the tactile sense and reduces the chance of you actually dropping the device! In terms of comfort, the smooth edges of the 808 certainly beat the crap out of the sharp edges of the iPhone. Physical navigation keys is actually a plus in many peoples' books, perhaps not from a design point of view, but as a practical measure... At the very least, one can argue that it sets the phone apart from all the screen-only clones on the market.

As I said, design is subjective, and I'm not bashing your opinion about the iPhone being leaps ahead on this point; I'm merely pointing out that a statement like:

"You'd have to be a total function-before-form kind of guy to call the Nokia 808 PureView design good compared with the svelte iPhone 4S"

...is ridiculously presumptive!

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 14:29 4

11. bbblader (Posts: 580; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


I like the symbian belle interface more than the iphone's
on iphone its apps that beat the 808
the 808 I think that has better grip because of the curved edges unlike the iphone's sharp ones
the UI i think is betten on the 808 because the only menu type UI i've liked is the N9's
the iphone one isn't what I want atleast
the browsing is better than symbian's at one point of view but the flash lite on symbian makes me think that the symbian browser is the better one even though the pixel density is less on symbian
here I like the fact that the apps count is worth meaning something
yes even the 60k apps on nokia store are too much when I only used 25 since I have the c6-01
and 30 on the SGS
so I don't care about how many million apps there are
and last but not least most wp7 symbian and android fans will agree with me when I say that the symbian 808 PW is better than iphone 4s

posted on 14 Jul 2012, 16:00

43. Stoli89 (Posts: 333; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)


I wonder if Steve Jobs is writing checks to Phonearena from his grave.

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 15:20 1

12. Andrewtst (Posts: 331; Member since: 25 Jan 2009)


Great and fair review.

This is what in my mine as well.

Nokia 808PV is only great in Camera. That it.

Old and ugly design, outdated OS, bad OS.

Crap screen resolution.

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 16:05 5

16. -RVM- (Posts: 329; Member since: 19 Oct 2011)


And also in customizability of OS, landscape UI support, connectivity options, openness, multimedia, free offline navigation etc.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 01:25 4

20. bbblader (Posts: 580; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


lol if symbian is an outdated os idk what ios 6 is
having just now got the ''new'' remind me later button
even if symbian doesn't support flash
it still supports flash lite 4.0
your god iphone doesnt even support that
+ that iSight camera you have needs glasses compared to the 808
and one more thing tell me how can I download a song on an iphone when its not jailbroken? pay for it? yeah right

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 01:39 3

23. bayusuputra (Posts: 941; Member since: 12 Feb 2012)


really? the only downside of the 808PV is the number of apps available and the not-so-great screen..

can the iPhone support 41MP camera with single core? No..
does the iPhone have options other than zoom/HDR/flash toggles in its camera? No..

Symbian is one of the most stable and capable OS (if not the most) out there.. Yes, even compared to Android, it is more capable.. forget about iOS..

It's just that not many developers develop apps for it anymore..

The iPhone wins in the eye candy category hands down.. but PureView is another league of its own.. THE cameraphone..

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 15:34 3

13. 234Real (Posts: 1; Member since: 02 Jul 2012)


This comparison is so bias and dosen't worth it. Make comparison objectively without making statement like "Since Nokia Belle FP1 is quite the frugal mobile OS, and the screen pixel density is so low, Nokia's handset performs pretty well in the battery life department, too". Why not say a high pixel density is a battery guzzler. Gsmarena does the balancing better.

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 15:50 3

15. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 3013; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Imagine iPhone with the pureview bump!! That would be ugly!!!
The curves does add to the charm to the 808!!
As i look back, Nokia has always been about curves! :)

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 20:17 1

18. lil2070 (Posts: 14; Member since: 11 Feb 2012)


This is true innovation

posted on 02 Jul 2012, 22:32 1

19. LodeStar (Posts: 28; Member since: 26 Feb 2012)


no this isn't innovation! apple is the only one who creates innovation that everyones love :) over 200+ new innovation on every os update. i love it..

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 01:26

21. bbblader (Posts: 580; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


either dumbass or sarcastic
meh i choose dumbass

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 01:41

24. bayusuputra (Posts: 941; Member since: 12 Feb 2012)


ok, i choose sarcastic..

sarcastic vs dumbass score: 1 : 1..

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 07:59

27. bbblader (Posts: 580; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


1:2 dumbass takes the lead

posted on 04 Jul 2012, 14:05 1

30. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 3013; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


I say dumbasstic!! :P

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 02:05 4

25. rkoforever90 (Posts: 86; Member since: 03 Dec 2011)


seriously???
the cutting edge,ios cant do any multi tasking,dont have any connectivity option,neither offer any kind of customisation
And is a total brick without a pc and internet.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 05:01 4

26. strikercho (banned) (Posts: 156; Member since: 20 Mar 2012)


Dear Daniel P. and Phonearena, as I have posted numerous times on your site, I will say it again - Please, stop trying to analyze the companies' decisions. Thinking is not your strong side. "Unfortunately the PureView camera technology has been years in the making, and developed with the idea that the handset will be running Symbian,..." - WTF?! Who are you in the mobile phones world to make such conclusions? Why ''unfortunately''?! Why ''aging'', since Symbian updates arrive on time even FP 2 has come already! Jesus, aren''t you guys edited before posting?

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 09:54

28. qwertypoor (Posts: 72; Member since: 09 Jun 2012)


Um what other operating system would they have been intending to put it on then other then their operating system?

posted on 14 Jul 2012, 16:03

44. Stoli89 (Posts: 333; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)


...Let's see. Maemo 5, Maemo 6, Meego? Nokia had more than one operating system at the time of the PV development.

posted on 05 Jul 2012, 00:14

31. Allday28 (Posts: 274; Member since: 19 Nov 2010)


symbian is pure s**t! Get a clue!

posted on 07 Jul 2012, 22:17

33. RenatoSP (Posts: 1; Member since: 07 Jul 2012)


This device by itself satisfies my needs. In case you have an ipad, why would you by an iphone?

posted on 14 Jul 2012, 16:05

45. Stoli89 (Posts: 333; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)


You might buy the iPhone if you're and iFan whose iPad is too busy dealing with an iPeriod.

posted on 11 Jul 2012, 07:39 1

37. joshefmayer1 (Posts: 6; Member since: 07 May 2012)


Again a great phone by Nokia: - Nokia 808 pureview has a great feature of 41 MP Camera……..
I like the phone due to its features .If you prefer online shopping then you can go through shopbychoice(dot)com, it gives best deal on this phone.
One of my friend recently bought it @ Rs.32, 199/- after 5% discount, I willing to buy it

posted on 12 Jul 2012, 17:29 1

39. Jaris (Posts: 3; Member since: 12 Jul 2012)


It seems Mr Andrewtst has never seen nor touched the 808. It has good feel to it and is a high quality device.

With iphone one has to use anyway protective covers (as it is otherwise too risky to carry around) which mean that the phone design becomes irrelevant.

posted on 14 Jul 2012, 07:43 1

40. alex09 (Posts: 6; Member since: 14 Jul 2012)


Visit (www).nokia808pureviews(dot c-o-m) to get best price and deals for Nokia 808 Pureview.

"Nokia 808 PureView is a new dawn in photography with 41 MP you can play with a bigger canvas, pure depth, pure action, pure colour, pure detail, pure perspective, full HD video, crystal clear audio, share the story in a momment. Nokia 808 PureView is a revolutionary camera in a smartphone, you never miss a moment from daylight to low light"

posted on 17 Jul 2012, 21:54 2

46. Mfa901 (Posts: 55; Member since: 14 Jul 2012)


East or west nokia is the best

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 05:29 2

47. Miley_3d (Posts: 16; Member since: 02 Oct 2012)


The Best Camera on phones in the World and it's Amazing=Nokia 808 PureView

posted on 06 Oct 2012, 02:42

48. mcfee (Posts: 5; Member since: 06 Oct 2012)


I own both phones.....Hands down 808 over IPhone 4s for me.....LOVE my Nokia ....still a working horse of a phone... You also don't have to charge it up every time you need it ...the IPhone dies fast and always needs a charge. My IPhone works a bit better for my Mac Air Book...but my Nokia pairs with more gadgets easier and more consistently. The hefty body that Nokia sports reminds me of a tank and I love the feel of it and if you drop one you find it is still made like a tank...mine hit straight down on the screen on concrete and came through like a tank...no difference in performance at all and the screen had only a tiny mark you have to look hard to find....Don't recommend that as a thing to try though. Love Symbian as well and don't want Windows at all....Global maps anywhere is also wonderful.... The tap and speak feature (unlike SIRI ...THANK GOD) can hear what the heck you say.

posted on 06 Oct 2012, 02:54 1

49. mcfee (Posts: 5; Member since: 06 Oct 2012)


To answer the Question The new IPhone 5 didn't even tempt me....Yes Nokia is worth buying over IPhone hands down unless maybe you use your phone with your Macbook Air then the IPhone has a tiny advantage.....But I like nearly everything else better on my Nokia 808 over my IPhone 4s....They need to make these Nokia unlocked phones dual so they can work on all types of networks though not just those with Micro SIM cards....that is my biggest problem...but the IPHones aren't dual either....Nokia newest cheaper phones I hear are dual though....but I will stick with the 808...They are worth every penny!

posted on 10 Oct 2012, 06:13

50. Samkapoor (Posts: 2; Member since: 10 Oct 2012)


Nokia 808 pureview is the best for its 38 MegaPixel camera. Its camera is amazing and have great picture quality than iphone 4s camera. Iphone 4s overall is good but some iphones camera stop working and this is a pretty big deal. Everyone wants mobile with great picture quality and camera. But there is solution for iphone camera trouble athttp://howmobile.net/apple-iphone/2853-solution-camera-issues-iphone.html. If you have same kind of problem in your iphone device then must see these solutions. Hope you would like the solution. As it’s very easy to understand & implement. Hope the solutions work for your Iphone 4s camera trouble.
Thanks

posted on 11 Oct 2012, 09:30

51. alex09 (Posts: 6; Member since: 14 Jul 2012)


Visit www (dot) nokia808pureviews (dot) com to get best price and deals for Nokia 808 PureView

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories