Liveblog: Samsung's press conference at CES 2016

Liveblog: Samsung's press conference at CES 2016
One of the biggest, if not the biggest, press events at CES every year is held by Samsung. The line for media starts hours in advance. The Korean conglomerate uses its stage to make major announcements for nearly every segment of its technology business. From connected homes to health, from smart appliances to smart phones, Samsung puts on a show.

The event is even known to make news unrelated to Samsung’s products. Who can forget the presentation being given by Hollywood film director Michael Bay when he just decided to give up and walk off the stage a couple years ago?

This year, we are expecting a lot of announcements related to Samsung’s Creative Labs group and a big push with virtual reality. Among them, we should see a hand-motion controller for Samsung Gear VR. On the wearables front, we might get a glimpse of the WELT Smartbelt. The idea being it will help you track your waist size, eating habits, and walking activity.

One of the more interesting things we will keep an eye out for is TipTalk, which allows you to hear sounds from your connected devices simply by touching your ear with your finger. The solution should work through a watchstrap style accessory, and could provide a great solution to hearing calls or messages in noisy environments since no earpiece is required.

All that, and possibly more, should be forthcoming from Samsung. We will share all the news with you as it happens, so keep a page open right here as we liveblog the event.

Samsung’s CES media event is scheduled to begin at 2:00PM PT | 4:00PM CT | 5:00PM ET | 10:00PM GMT!

FEATURED VIDEO

1 Comment

1. JoshN

Posts: 202; Member since: Apr 01, 2015

Be the first one to post a comment!

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.