x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Asha 303 Review

Posted: , by Daniel P.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia Asha 303 Review
Introduction:

The Nokia Asha 303 is the flagship of Nokia's new affordable range, that is aimed towards youth and emerging markets. While not really impressive in terms of specs, Nokia's Series 40 phones have been around for a while with millions of loyal followers in emerging markets and among teens.

The sands in the mobile industry have shifted a lot since those times, though, but Asha 303 with its 1GHz processor, 3MP camera, capacitive touchscreen and physical QWERTY keyboard is also an evolution of the lineup. We also have to add the thousands of apps in the Nokia Store, but will the whole kit be enough to lure buyers away from the hip entry level Android phones? Read on our review to find out...

Nokia Asha 303 Review
Nokia Asha 303 Review
In the box:

  • Wall charger
  • microUSB cable
  • 2GB microSD card
  • In-ear headphones
  • Warranty and information leaflets

Design:

The Nokia Asha 303 feels pretty good in the hand, thanks to its curved back and tapered sides, plus the quite respectful yet not overbearing thickness. The portrait QWERTY keyboard half is recessed below the upper screen area, as if you are dealing with a slider at first glance. Overall the phone has a bit chubby, but very lightweight and sturdy construction, incorporating some premium elements like the metal battery cover. It comes in a variety of colors.

The Nokia Asha 303 feels pretty good in the hand - Nokia Asha 303 Review
The Nokia Asha 303 feels pretty good in the hand - Nokia Asha 303 Review

The Nokia Asha 303 feels pretty good in the hand


Nokia Asha 303 Review

You can compare the Nokia Asha 303 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Nokia Asha 303 Review
Front-facing camera - Nokia Asha 303 Review
Keyboard - Nokia Asha 303 Review
 

Front-facing camera

Keyboard


There is no shortage of ports and keys around, with the top reserved for the charging and microUSB ports, as well as the standard audio jack. The lock key on the right, as well as the volume rocker above it are easy to feel and press, but with somewhat shallow feedback. The four navigational keys below the display are set for the most used functions – call and end keys, as well as a music playback and messaging buttons.

Left edge - The sides of the Nokia Asha 303 - Nokia Asha 303 Review
Charging and microUSB ports, 3.5mm jack (top) - The sides of the Nokia Asha 303 - Nokia Asha 303 Review
Lock and volume keys (right) - The sides of the Nokia Asha 303 - Nokia Asha 303 Review

Left edge

Charging and microUSB ports, 3.5mm jack (top)

Lock and volume keys (right)

The sides of the Nokia Asha 303


Back - Nokia Asha 303 Review
Rear camera - Nokia Asha 303 Review
Speaker grill - Nokia Asha 303 Review

Back

Rear camera

Speaker grill



Display:

The 2.6” capacitive touch display is a first for the Series 40 line. Its colors seem pale, and brightness is about average, so using it in the sun is a bit of a chore.

The 240x320 pixels of resolution is pretty low by any standard, so even on this small size the poor 154ppi density makes interface elements look pixelated. Horizontal viewing angles are pretty bad, while the vertical ones are decent, and overall the display does the job.


Keyboard and Typing:

Considering that a larger thumb covers three columns of the keyboard at once, the typing experience can't exactly be called comfortable, so there’s bound to be quite the learning curve until you hit decent speeds. The keyboard also feels very plasticky, and it is on a single sheet, so space between the keys is nonexistent, making the typing matters worse.

The four-row physical QWERTY is slightly curved - Nokia Asha 303 Review
The four-row physical QWERTY is slightly curved - Nokia Asha 303 Review
The four-row physical QWERTY is slightly curved - Nokia Asha 303 Review

The four-row physical QWERTY is slightly curved


The travel is mostly shallow, with poor tactile feedback. The cramped four-row physical QWERTY is slightly curved, which supposedly enhances typing comfort.

17 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 24 Apr 2012, 10:14 1

1. kshell1 (Posts: 1143; Member since: 05 Oct 2011)


Good for someone who wants a phone for a few games but not full fledged smartphone.

posted on 24 Apr 2012, 10:49 1

2. xplayer (Posts: 14; Member since: 11 Feb 2012)


@Daniel P.
Does it really has front-Facing camera ??????!!!!!????????

posted on 24 Apr 2012, 18:13

3. kshell1 (Posts: 1143; Member since: 05 Oct 2011)


.3VGA

posted on 25 Apr 2012, 01:46

8. xplayer (Posts: 14; Member since: 11 Feb 2012)


Please get ur facts straight check out this and then say

http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_asha_303-4278.php

posted on 24 Apr 2012, 23:57 1

4. Sangeet (Posts: 232; Member since: 21 Apr 2012)


Conclusion Page needs correction. The Samsung Galaxy Y has a 3.0 inch screen not a 2.6" one..
Correct this as this can be somewhat confusing for some users..
And i don't like the rating. I mean it should be below 5 cuz it packs a decent hardware from today's standard and still does not have multitasking and other important things

posted on 25 Apr 2012, 00:19 1

6. -box- (Posts: 3699; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


It isn't a smartphone, and hence lacks most capabilities for true multitasking. Keep in mind the iPhone doesn't even offer true multitasking, so by your logic it should automatically lose 5 points for that.

posted on 25 Apr 2012, 01:29

7. Daniel.P (Posts: 98; Member since: 14 Jul 2011)


It's the Galaxy Y Pro listed as an alternative, which has a 2.6-incher :-)

posted on 25 Apr 2012, 07:04

10. jimjam (Posts: 232; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


The ratings are supposedly based on similar types of phone - feature phones don't have multi-tasking or quad core processors so no marks knocked off. Also how many feature phones have fast 3g and wifi ... not many. Probably only one or two with wifi. Few even have touchscreens. So this is quite special. You probably are looking at the wrong kind of phone if you think this deserves a low score.

posted on 25 Apr 2012, 00:00 3

5. -box- (Posts: 3699; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


You mentioned two Android phones as worthwhile options. Keep in mind many carriers require a data plan for Androids, whereas Series 40s can get away without the requirement, and/or get a feature phone data plan. Significant cost savings, especially in the target markets

posted on 25 Apr 2012, 07:00

9. jimjam (Posts: 232; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


Keyboard looks almost identical to the nokia E63,E71,E72 etc range - these certainly are judged to be good keyboards. Is this one really so much worse?

posted on 26 Apr 2012, 13:50 1

11. Ankit1234 (Posts: 3; Member since: 24 Apr 2012)


Nokia Asha 303 is the latest phone with all luxury features at an affordable rate. Asha 303 is available across the Indian sub continent in all stores and online retail websites. Asha 303 is also packed with Nokia Messenger to chat or share files live and exclusively free any where and anytime.
The whatsapp is a inbuilt feature in the Nokia Asha 303 that gives direct free access to connect and share anything with all your contacts available in your phone. Nokia is the first mobile maker to give such a great feature. No need to install Skype, FB chat, G-chat or any other networking app in your phone, whatsapp fills all your requirements.
Asha 303 is also a good phone for Internet browsing, the innovative S40 OS can download multiple pages at once for lightning speed webpage browsing and one touch or push for direct downloads.
The first day of launch of Asha 303 in the Indian market, made people restless of having a messenger phone that saves upto 90% of their cost.

posted on 28 Apr 2012, 13:34

12. ruchi (Posts: 8; Member since: 17 Apr 2012)


It's the best of all "Ashas", Touch screen is also better than Asha 300.
http://goo.gl/EyiTC

posted on 30 Apr 2012, 13:26

13. Ankit1234 (Posts: 3; Member since: 24 Apr 2012)


Asha 303 is basically a touch and type phone that gives access to over 3 million apps and 2 million games.
Basically the whats app features saves 90% of the money, with which we can do share live anytime anything with all our contact lists.

I can download unlimited data at a very faster 2g speed. i actually use a Nokia Asha 303 and Nokia has recently signed an agreement with Vodafone India to provide assured speed with attractive data plans to all the asha 303 users in India.
so iam very happy paying just a couple of money for high speed and unlimited data plans. Thanks to Nokia Asha 303

posted on 25 Jun 2012, 02:14

15. shrikrishna (Posts: 1; Member since: 25 Jun 2012)


How can I switch on the front face camera ?

posted on 06 Jul 2012, 07:40

16. ajayarjun (Posts: 1; Member since: 06 Jul 2012)


guys can anyone advice me on buying asha 303 or htc chacha since i am in a fix as i wanna buy a touch and type smart phone....!!! although i have gone through the reviews of both of them and i am convinced to buy asha but can't ignore the android factor.....!!!

posted on 18 Aug 2012, 05:30

17. gomo_in (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Aug 2012)


Support GPS ?????

posted on 05 Sep 2012, 08:44 2

18. leo1052 (Posts: 1; Member since: 05 Sep 2012)


Nokia Asha 303 is the best touch and type phone that I have used to date, my previous phone was a Nokia X3 and that was frankly dissapointing. It is affordable, simple to use with a friendly user interface. I was looking for a phone that wasn't to complicated to use, I am not really into playing tons of games or downloading lots of apps I like to use a phone for basic phone calls and texts, don't be put off by that it will download apps and games galore if you want it to and is preloaded with lots of goodies anyway, it is aimed at a younger market and I am nearly sixty so if you are older like me you don't have to be a technical whizz Kid to use it beleive me. I use facebook for family and friends and with wifi connectivity its fast and furious with connection and I get updateds with BTFON for free with no extra data charges to the touch screen. You can connect it to other dvices and I use it along with my my desktop and laptop via nokia suite,that's great as it will also update the software on your phone and you can get faster downloads that way if you want them. It has a radio and a camera and takes video's as well, the camera isn't what I would call brilliant but if you just want to be able to take the odd family snap or of friends and pets etc when out and about then it's perfectaly ok for that and the pictures are acceptable and can be uploaded to facebook etc, if you are wanting the perfect picture of a beatuiful sunset or something with much more detail then you will need the use of another camera, the radio is fine with headphones if you are on a train journey and so are the games if you like them. The keyboard is easy to use and navigate, just a liitle on the small side for seeing what is displayed there but my eyesight is not so good these days so ithe fault really lies with me so don't let that put you off. It has bluetooth as well and I thouroughly reccomend this phone to all age groups. I have had a lot of phones since mobiles started and I know that Nokia perhaps is a little tired as the market goes, but in general and I have had other makes I find there phones the most reliable and I would sincerely give this a 9/10 it the camera was of a higher spec then 10/10

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display2.6 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (154 ppi) LCD
Camera3.2 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 1000 MHz
128 MB RAM
Size4.59 x 2.19 x 0.55 inches
(116.5 x 55.7 x 13.9 mm)
3.49 oz  (99 g)
Battery1300 mAh, 8.2 hours talk time

Latest stories