x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

HTC EVO 3D Review

HTC EVO 3D 9

Posted: , by

Tags:

Pages
HTC EVO 3D Review
Introduction:

Blasting its way to the top of Sprint’s lineup, the HTC EVO 4G continues to be a renowned handset even to this day, but more importantly, it’s one of the evolutionary devices that seemingly set the bar high when it was released a year ago. Granted that it’s not a true successor, the HTC EVO 3D is in some ways closely related due to the fact that it shares the same foundations, while throwing in a couple of neat 3D functions into the mix. Essentially regarded as an upgraded model, the $199.99 on-contract HTC EVO 3D is especially nice on paper – even more when you take into account its 3D aspects combined with its high-end specs. However, in a time when top-shelf devices are ostensibly in abundance everywhere you look, the 3D nature of the HTC EVO 3D is undoubtedly going to raise some eyes. Let’s just hope that it cohesively executes, but if not, it may ultimately end up as a forgettable novel thing.

HTC EVO 3D Review
HTC EVO 3D Review
The package contains:

  • HTC EVO 3D
  • 8GB microSD card preloaded
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Get Started Guide
  • Terms & Conditions of Services


Design:

So what can we say about yet another top-shelf Android powered HTC phone? Well, it’s definitely not the best design we’ve seen put out by the Taiwanese company, but nonetheless, it makes some marked improvements over the EVO 4G. Constructed out of plastic still, the handset is thinner (0.47”) and feels less bulky in the hands, which can be attributed to its slightly longer form. Not surprisingly though, it retains some of the design elements established with the HTC EVO 4G, but goes further to concretely make it more refined. Specifically, its soft touch matte rear employs a rigid pattern that provides an adequate grip when held. All in all, it’s an undeniably distinguishable EVO device – albeit, it’s not as sexy looking compared to things like the HTC Sensation 4G and Inspire 4G.

The HTC EVO 3D is constructed out of plastic - HTC EVO 3D Review
The HTC EVO 3D is constructed out of plastic - HTC EVO 3D Review
The HTC EVO 3D is constructed out of plastic - HTC EVO 3D Review

The HTC EVO 3D is constructed out of plastic


HTC EVO 3D Review

You can compare the HTC EVO 3D with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Obviously, one of the first visible improvements with the HTC EVO 3D is the higher resolution 4.3” qHD (540 x 960) Super LCD display that it’s packing. Compared to the one gracing the EVO 4G, this one is indeed far better with its sharper details, iridescent color production, and high contract – albeit, it washes out at extreme viewing angles.

The HTC EVO 3D has a 4.3” qHD Super LCD display - HTC EVO 3D Review
The HTC EVO 3D has a 4.3” qHD Super LCD display - HTC EVO 3D Review
The HTC EVO 3D has a 4.3” qHD Super LCD display - HTC EVO 3D Review
The HTC EVO 3D has a 4.3” qHD Super LCD display - HTC EVO 3D Review
The HTC EVO 3D has a 4.3” qHD Super LCD display - HTC EVO 3D Review
The HTC EVO 3D has a 4.3” qHD Super LCD display - HTC EVO 3D Review
The HTC EVO 3D has a 4.3” qHD Super LCD display - HTC EVO 3D Review
The HTC EVO 3D has a 4.3” qHD Super LCD display - HTC EVO 3D Review

The HTC EVO 3D has a 4.3” qHD Super LCD display


Making it unique versus the competition, its parallax barrier overlay offers a 3D viewing experience without the aid of any gimmicky glasses. If you’ve checked out the 3D display on the Nintendo 3DS, you’ll easily comprehend how to work the 3D display of the HTC EVO 3D. In order to experience that 3D effect contently, you need to view the display at a 90-degree level and wait a few seconds for your eyes to adjust. Interestingly enough, it actually works rather well! Not only are we enthralled and mesmerized by this, but it dishes up a sensible amount of depth perception with 3D content. However, you’re required to keep a steady hand, mainly because of the shimmering effect seen if you happen to tilt it lightly. In our experience, we’re able to view 3D content for an extended amount of time, but it’s worth noting that the prolonged usage can be rather irritating or nauseating for some people. In the end, it simply works!

Again, you can clearly indicate that it’s from the EVO family because of the circular rings surrounding each capacitive touch Android button. Seeing that they’re placed close to the bottom edge, we tend to accidentally hit the search and home buttons more frequently than others.

Capacitive touch Android buttons - HTC EVO 3D Review
Capacitive touch Android buttons - HTC EVO 3D Review

Capacitive touch Android buttons


Above the display, we’re presented with the light & proximity sensors, wide looking earpiece grill, 1.3-megapixel front-facing camera, and LED light indicator that’s placed towards the right side of the earpiece.

Peeking over on the left edge of the phone, the only thing there is the microUSB port that’s used for charging and data purposes. Even though it lacks a dedicated microHDMI port, you can still output high-def videos and get a mirrored experience if you happen to purchase an optional MHL adapter that plugs directly into the microUSB port.

Meanwhile, the clicky volume rocker, camera mode switch, and circular sized two-level shutter button are prominently positioned all on the right side of the handset.

Left side - HTC EVO 3D Review
Right side - HTC EVO 3D Review
Camera mode switch - HTC EVO 3D Review

Left side

Right side

Camera mode switch


Both the 3.5mm headset jack and dedicated power button are placed along the top edge, and even better, we’re thrilled to easily make out and feel its power button.

In the rear, we’re presented with yet another featured item with the handset – the dual 5-megapixel auto-focus 3D camera with dual-LED flash. With the tandem, it snaps stereoscopic 3D stills and videos. Although it’s hard to make out, there are tiny notches punctured into one area on the red trim surrounding the cameras, which hides away the handset’s speaker.

Top edge - The sides of the HTC EVO 3D  - HTC EVO 3D Review
Rear - The sides of the HTC EVO 3D  - HTC EVO 3D Review
Dual camera on the back - The sides of the HTC EVO 3D  - HTC EVO 3D Review

Top edge

Rear

Dual camera on the back

The sides of the HTC EVO 3D


Yanking off the rear cover, it gives us access to its battery and microSD card slot – however, you’re required to pull the battery beforehand if you want to swap out the microSD card.

Yanking off the rear cover gives us access to the battery and microSD card slot - HTC EVO 3D Review
Yanking off the rear cover gives us access to the battery and microSD card slot - HTC EVO 3D Review

Yanking off the rear cover gives us access to the battery and microSD card slot



HTC EVO 3D 360-degrees View:



75 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 20 Jun 2011, 07:20 4

1. dudemanrod (Posts: 39; Member since: 15 Apr 2011)


i'll take 2

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 07:39 2

2. cyborg (unregistered)


Wow, 4 objective cons gets a score of 9.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 13:27 2

18. vette21man (Posts: 351; Member since: 06 Apr 2011)


I think you mean "sub"jective. And yes, I think a mobile device should have good battery life and viewing angles. It's a great phone to get a 9/10, but I believe the full point off is warranted. The Galaxy S II lasted ~60 hours in their medium use tests, so it's not like it can't be done with today's tech.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 16:38 2

30. megadirk (unregistered)


I just don't see how only 1 point was taken off, "less than ideal battery life" should warrant 1 point subtracted just for that. At this point battery life shouldn't be listed in the "Con" category (not to mention HD video and viewing angles) on any manufacturers flagship device. Embarrassment is all they should feel if they still can't get this right so far into the game.

posted on 22 Jun 2011, 11:56 2

57. vette21man (Posts: 351; Member since: 06 Apr 2011)


I would give you 2 thumbs up if I could.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 07:39 6

3. Johnabis (Posts: 57; Member since: 17 Feb 2011)


HTC EVO 3D FTW!!

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 18:19 3

34. Johnabis (Posts: 57; Member since: 17 Feb 2011)


also, the guys voice reminds me of Professor Frink of the Simpsons

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Professor_Frink

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 08:51 7

4. Ruh (unregistered)


I'm not sure what people want in battery life. 7 hours of continuous talk and 10hr normal use seem great to me. Will definately be an improvement over my TP2 that i've had for almost two years.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 13:42 2

22. vette21man (Posts: 351; Member since: 06 Apr 2011)


I think "10hr normal use" needs to be more tightly defined. If this is listening to music, occasional email and facebook checking, texting, snapping a few photos, and playing a few games to pass the time, then my iPhone 4 has about 30hr of "normal use." It has probably 10hr of very heavy use. These are overall MOBILE devices, and should therefore allow you to be free from an electrical outlet for many hours without fear of battery death.

The 3D is a neat feature, but if it will kill my battery with 10hr of normal use, this tech is not meant for your phone, but a stand-alone device with a larger battery.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 09:00 7

5. AndroidTroll (Posts: 359; Member since: 05 Mar 2011)


For once I think this was actually a fair review. I like that they enjoyed the 3D capabilities and appreciated that the price is a true bargain. But most of all, I love that not once was the iPhone 4 mentioned!

I can't wait to get this phone! Can someone please remind me how the Premiere special works to get one early on June 21st? Do you call Telesales or go into a store? Details would be appreciated. Thanks.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 09:27

6. Su-Rio (Posts: 51; Member since: 05 May 2011)


omg, imagine when a new slim battery with a higher capacity releases for this phone... it'd be like 1900 mah, and add hours to phone use

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 09:29 8

7. Hallucinator (Posts: 387; Member since: 24 May 2010)


As an Iphone user, if this phone was coming to Verizon I would be all over it. Looks fantastic!!!!

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 09:50 7

8. Megatron (unregistered)


As an iPhone 3GS user looking to switch this year, I am really looking forward to getting this phone. IMHO, 2 of the cons listed are not cons for me.

I do not like wide viewing angles on my phone, I prefer privacy, as long as i can share photos with 1 or 2 other people I'm fine. It's got HDMI functionality if I want to share with more.

I don't care that it dosn't have a 3D UI. The reason they didn't do this is because it would be too straining on the battery and the user's eyes (as mentioned at CTIA 2011) and I agree. Besides, 3D is a bonus feature, new to phones. If this were a 2D only phone, that would not be listed as a con.

I am a power user, and 7 hours talk time/10 hours normal use will be fine with me, of course battery life could always be better, but I currently charge my iPhone 3GS 2 to 3 times a work day, I can't wait to be able to use a spare battery in emergency situations.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 17:26 2

31. vette21man (Posts: 351; Member since: 06 Apr 2011)


"I prefer privacy" is kind of fooling yourself into thinking that viewing angles don't matter. True that coming from a iPhone 3GS you will probably be impressed with the viewing angle. Just don't look at an iPhone 4, Droid X2, or Super AMOLED Plus screen before buying, and you will be just fine.

And as a "power user," you may want to look elsewhere, unless you plan on buying 2 or 3 spare batteries, but it sounds like you are comfortable charging 2 to 3 times a day any way.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 17:45 2

32. megatron (unregistered)


Don't worry, I'm not fooling myself with the "prefer privacy" comment. The 3GS's viewing angle is more than enough for me and the people I show pictures to, so if what you say is true, then this will be more than enough of a viewing angle for me.

As far as battery life is concerned, I owned a Blackjack before the 3GS. The battery life on that phone was so bad, they provided a spare battery standard with the phone. The iPhone would last just about a day on my light to normal days, but lately AT&T's service in my building at work has gotten worse and my phone spends most of its day searching, wasting battery power, so I normally leave it plugged in at my desk now. Nevermind that I've been sitting in the same spot for the past year and a half. I would think it is my phone, but other people with AT&T have reported the same issues. While people with Sprint are getting full 4G coverage.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 18:08

33. megatron (unregistered)


I forgot to mention that I have tried the iPhone 4 and I'll admit I like the contrast levels on the Super AMOLED Plus screens, but I wasn't impressed by viewing angles.

posted on 21 Jun 2011, 09:58 1

40. vette21man (Posts: 351; Member since: 06 Apr 2011)


Sorry if all ya'll thought I was trolling, just trying to argue that I don't know anyone who looks at a phone screen and says, "It's a nice display, but I wish the viewing angles were worse." That's like saying, "Well it's a nice processor, but I wish it were slower."

I'm not convinced you thumbs-downers have actually seen the "Plus" version of the Super AMOLED displays. Not only does the "Plus" offer a better "perceived" resolution, but they have the best viewing angles of any display (see link below). I'm an iPhone 4 owner, and I can admit when other companies have better features. Seriously look at a Droid X2 vs the EVO 3D or Sensation (who all use Super LCD), the Droid X2 has considerably better viewing angles and more accurate colors.

http://www.cnet.com/8301-17918_1-20056639-85.html

posted on 21 Jun 2011, 11:47

43. megatron (unregistered)


If you have ever dealt with sensitive materials or people constantly trying to look over your shoulder when it is none of their business then you would know what I mean. There has never been a time where I thought, "If I could only see what was on my phone by looking at it from a 10 degree angle..." I know I'm not like everyone, but I don't see why someone would spend any considerable amount of time looking at their phone any other way than almost head on. Sure, maybe it's laying on the desk and it beeps and you look to see who the message is from or something like that. But I'm never going to have the need to see my phone from an extreme angle for any messureable amount of time.

You say asking for a narrow viewing angle is like getting a faster processor but asking for it to be slower. I don't agree. To me, asking for the widest viewing angle possible is like saying, "Hey world look at me! LOOK AT ME! See all my information! I don't care if you can see my credit card number or anything else, just look at me!"

posted on 21 Jun 2011, 12:32

47. vette21man (Posts: 351; Member since: 06 Apr 2011)


I think I just realized we may be talking about 2 different things.
I am talking about accurate color reproduction and consistent brightness levels when I say "viewing angles." It sounds like you are more concerned about privacy in viewing angles. I could still read your credit card info from a screen with crappy viewing angles, I just wouldn't see it in crisp contrast, color or desired brightness. If you truly want privacy, then purchase a privacy-shade screen protector. My point of our entire argument is that a better quality display has many things: brightness, color reproduction, resolution, size, and viewing angles. No mobile display manufacturer is ever going to produce a screen and market it as "narrow viewing angles for privacy."

posted on 21 Jun 2011, 12:45

48. megatron (Posts: 8; Member since: 21 Jun 2011)


Agreed, but I also care about color reproduction, resolution, size, and brightness from various angles. But I still don't see the importance of wide viewing angles on a phone, at least not to the extreme, and agreed, if I want your information, I'm going to get it one way or the other. Just saying, I don't see why some reviews give cons for viewing angles if you can't see the screen clearly from less than a 15 degree angle. I want to know what people are doing looking at their phones from that angle for long periods of time.

posted on 21 Jun 2011, 14:29 2

50. vette21man (Posts: 351; Member since: 06 Apr 2011)


Looks like you're registered now. :-)
It's nice to have good viewing angles when:
- Sharing screen for videos/pictures/web on the go
- Tilting screen away from direct sunlight
- Have same color/brightness/quality when in landscape (rotated)
- Don't have to have the device perfectly perpendicular to face when watching videos/pics (i.e., there are many "sweet spots", rather than just perfectly straight on)
- And gol darn it, it's just so beautiful.

I understand your concerns with privacy. I think we can be friends now. :-)

posted on 21 Jun 2011, 16:06 2

52. megatron (Posts: 8; Member since: 21 Jun 2011)


All that makes sense to me, and i can understand the "cool factor" of having a phone that can be seen clearly from any angle. Just in practical use, at least in my life, I have no need for extreme viewing angles.

I'm always up for a good debate, I never really thought you were trolling.

posted on 21 Jun 2011, 11:57

44. megatron (unregistered)


Btw, I have seen the Droid X2, and like I said before, I admit the contrast levels are impressive on those screens. The "Plus" made a real improvement. Also, I prefer screens I can turn the brightness down very low on and still see clearly. Right now on my desk I have twin Samsung widescreen monitors with the brightness turned down to 5 (out of 100).

posted on 25 Jun 2011, 14:15

63. jroc74 (Posts: 6015; Member since: 30 Dec 2010)


Yea...Super Amoled + is nice.

Thats always been a pro for Amoled screens since last year.

posted on 17 Jul 2011, 07:08

69. c2g1980 (unregistered)


Please give an example of when the viewing angle would be important on a handheld mobile device. My epic has good viewing angles so I put a screen protector that blurs the viewing angles on it. Can't imagine y any1 would want to hold their phone to the side or at an angle to view it.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 11:00 1

9. bucky (Posts: 2687; Member since: 30 Sep 2009)


how does this phone compare to the iphone 4?

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 11:22 8

11. Hallucinator (Posts: 387; Member since: 24 May 2010)


Not to be a jerk but you are on a cell phone website that has specs for every phone. A click here and a click there and you have your answer.

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 11:48

13. ZayZay (Posts: 571; Member since: 26 Feb 2011)


Jerk.. HA HA JK

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 12:19 3

16. Hallucinator (Posts: 387; Member since: 24 May 2010)


How dare you. Why I never

posted on 20 Jun 2011, 13:39 1

21. sscorp99 (Posts: 40; Member since: 05 Feb 2011)


Yes you did I saw you

Want to comment? Please login or register.

HTC EVO 3D

HTC EVO 3D

OS: Android 4.0 2.3
view full specs
Display4.3 inches, 540 x 960 pixels (256 ppi) S-LCD
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S3, Dual-core, 1200 MHz, Scorpion processor
1 GB RAM
Size5.00 x 2.60 x 0.47 inches
(127 x 66 x 12 mm)
6.00 oz  (170 g)
Battery1730 mAh, 6 hours talk time

Latest stories