Samsung Wave Y Review
Introduction:

The Samsung Wave Y may not be high on the most wanted smartphones list as an entry level phone with the company’s own bada mobile OS, since it has to fight with its Galaxy Y Android counterpart for attention.

Given that bada has way less apps in its store than Android, Samsung should have thrown in some incentives for potential buyers to prefer the Wave Y before its Android cousin.

There are some enticements indeed, but will they be enough to lure teens and emerging market buyers, which the Wave Y  is targeting as indicated by its “Y” (for “youth”) category? Read on to find out...

Samsung Wave Y Review
In the box:

  • Charger
  • microUSB cable
  • 2GB microSD card with adapter
  • Warranty and information leaflets

Design:

The first thing that makes a difference for the Samsung Wave Y, if we compare with the Galaxy Y is the back, where a basic 2MP camera resides. The cover fakes brushed aluminum very successfully, despite being all plastic. The tapered edges are also very indicative of the phone’s Wave lineup heritage, and if you have seen the rest of the bada 2.0 handsets, you’d immediately recognize the Wave Y as part of the family.

The Samsung Wave Y is comfortable to hold - Samsung Wave Y Review
The Samsung Wave Y is comfortable to hold - Samsung Wave Y Review
The Samsung Wave Y is comfortable to hold - Samsung Wave Y Review

The Samsung Wave Y is comfortable to hold


Samsung Wave Y Review

You can compare the Samsung Wave Y with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The handset is a bit chubby, and is not the lightest out there, but is comfortable to hold, and pretty well assembled - no creases or squeaking noises, plus the plastic is of quite a decent quality. The lock/power button on the right, and the volume rocker left are also very easy to feel, and give good tactile feedback. The same goes for the sole physical home button underneath the display, which is flanked by two capacitive navigation keys, bada style.

Volume rocker (left) - Samsung Wave Y Review

Volume rocker (left)

Power key (right) - Samsung Wave Y Review

Power key (right)

3.5mm jack (top) - Samsung Wave Y Review

3.5mm jack (top)

microUSB port (bottom) - Samsung Wave Y Review

microUSB port (bottom)


Back - Samsung Wave Y Review

Back

Camera - Samsung Wave Y Review

Camera

Battery compartment - Samsung Wave Y Review

Battery compartment



Display:

The 3.2” capacitive LCD display is with nice colors, bright enough for a decent image outside, and also with very good viewing angles for its class. The only gripe we had with it were the right horizontal viewing angles, which were strangely abysmal with even the slightest tilt..

It features 320x480 pixels of resolution, which is plenty for this screen size, and the 180ppi density means you are getting more than you’d expect from this category. Much better than the Galaxy Y in any case, whose 133ppi make Android’s UI look terrible. In fact, this resolution makes bada 2.0 look better on the Wave Y than on the higher-class Wave M, which spreads that same resolution over a larger 3.65” screen.

More content with (Wave Y)

FEATURED VIDEO

11 Comments

1. Muhannad

Posts: 455; Member since: Sep 20, 2011

Looks are better than the Galaxy Y but the Galaxy Y is better soley because of Android.

2. mercorp

Posts: 1045; Member since: Jan 28, 2012

great phone.i will take this over the galaxy y any day.

5. chirag01

Posts: 1; Member since: Apr 16, 2012

which is better samsung galaxy y or wave y

6. devark

Posts: 1; Member since: Apr 16, 2012

i was checking the same and wave y is better than galaxy yhttp://www.smartprix.com/compare.php?ids=1783,118,2002 see the above 5 points win by wave y

7. ruchi

Posts: 8; Member since: Apr 17, 2012

Samsung wave Y is definitely better than galaxy Y but too bad it doesn't have android. Here is the comparison between the two:http://www.smartprix.com/mobiles/samsung_wave_y_s5380_vs_samsung_galaxy_y_s5360-c2002_1783.php

8. mvmnrao

Posts: 1; Member since: Jun 05, 2012

I don't know about the galaxy Y much, so I couldn't compare these two. But after I have gone through few reviews I bought Samsung Wave Y and I am very dissatisfied with this phone. Apart from the disadvantage that, it doesn’t support more apps because of it bada operating system, I is not working in lots of situations as a simple phone. I couldn’t answer the phone some time, the green bar get strucked; I had to restart the phone. The micro speaker gives very bad quality in sound. The signal goes off suddenly and after some time when I noticed that I am not getting call what I am expecting, then I used to realize that the phone is not taking the signal and I had to restart. When I select network automatic mode, it can’t switch between GSM and UMTS (3G) properly, instead I goes to emergency calls only mode. And I am not sure about the reason but I couldn’t open my office web mail in the browser in this phone, may be the browser is not sending a secured request (but I used to check my companies web mail in my last phone and the major reason I went for this smart phone is to access companies web mail which I am not able to do now.) So like this I have faced issues with this phone, so guys please take a while before you buy this phone.

10. navedahmed

Posts: 2; Member since: Jul 31, 2013

Never buy Samsung wave Y.. i m fadup with this smartphone, it hangs often and it is not supporting apps like whatsapp Wechat which is using by whole world, but i dont have it.. in few days i will buy another one but wont buy any samsung smart phone.. bye bye wave Y.. i have wasted my money on you..

9. spark00

Posts: 1; Member since: Jul 04, 2012

A good phone and it's worth the money....

11. navedahmed

Posts: 2; Member since: Jul 31, 2013

Never buy Samsung wave Y.. i m fadup with this smartphone, it hangs often and it is not supporting apps like whatsapp Wechat which is using by whole world, but i dont have it.. in few days i will buy another one but wont buy any samsung smart phone.. bye bye wave Y.. i have wasted my money on you..

12. Price-Hunt

Posts: 5; Member since: Nov 23, 2013

the mobile is gud, its resolution, front camera n a gud camera for this price. bada 2.0 is better than android phone and its peer Galaxy Y. superb touch. u must buy this mobile

13. Price-Hunt

Posts: 5; Member since: Nov 23, 2013

Best mobile wave y n excellent touch better then galaxy y. Video calling is possible in this phone. front camera (Secondary) is available in this phone. Cons: Camera only 2MP, dual sim is not here.
Wave Y
  • Display 3.2" 320 x 480 pixels
  • Camera 2 MP
  • Storage 0.15 GB
  • Battery 1200 mAh

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.