x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review

Posted: , by Brian K.

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
Introduction:

While marquee names like Galaxy S and EVO dominate the mobile headlines, most users are not necessarily looking for the absolute latest and greatest in a phone. Shelling out $200 or more is also more than many people want to do, so the mid-range phone is born. Often lacking the sleekness and cutting-edge features of their flagship brethren, mid-range devices often go for the value play by offering good overall performance without doing anything great. Samsung’s Galaxy lineup is headlined by the S III and Note II, but there are many other phones in the family, the newest of which is Sprint’s Galaxy Victory 4G LTE. While the Galaxy Victory may not offer the same specs as the Galaxy S III, it still features a solid spec sheet. Can the Galaxy Victory 4G LTE find a place in Sprint’s lineup, and more importantly your pocket? Read on to find out.


Design:

With its silvery-gray housing, the Galaxy Victory 4G LTE has a fairly non-descript design but offers a unique twist on the Android navigation keys below the screen. In a day when most devices extend the glass to the bottom of the phone and incorporate capacitive keys into it, the Galaxy Victory places its keys on the plastic housing. With a chrome finish that almost looks etched into the device, the capacitive keys may be mistaken as physical buttons when you first glance at the phone.

The Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE has a fairly non-descript design but offers a unique twist on the Android keys - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
The Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE has a fairly non-descript design but offers a unique twist on the Android keys - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
The Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE has a fairly non-descript design but offers a unique twist on the Android keys - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review

The Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE has a fairly non-descript design but offers a unique twist on the Android keys


Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review

You can compare the Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Otherwise the Galaxy Victory offers a standard layout, with the 4” WVGA display up front and a 5 megapixel camera around back. The Galaxy Victory gives us both an exposed memory card slot (though that ships empty) and a physical camera key, two features we wish all phones had. The Galaxy Victory is not the smallest phone around, and is noticeably larger than the competition.

Front - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
Android buttons - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
Volume key and microSD card slot (left) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review

Front

Android buttons

Volume key and microSD card slot (left)

Camera key (right) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
3.5mm jack and power key (top) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
microUSB port (bottom) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review

Camera key (right)

3.5mm jack and power key (top)

microUSB port (bottom)

The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE


While it may not be the smallest phone you can buy, the Galaxy Victory 4G LTE still feels comfortable to use. It isn’t the prettiest phone out there, but it is solidly build and easy to use.

Back - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
Camera - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
Battery compartment - Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review

Back

Camera

Battery compartment



Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE Review
Display:


The LCD display isn’t up to par with the beautiful Super AMOLED found on the Galaxy S III, but at 233 ppi it is no slouch either. In general it is easy on the eyes, though it can wash out in bright lighting.

15 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 21 Sep 2012, 10:20 1

1. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 2964; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Brian...is it that my browser is having a problem or you forgot to mention about the video playback and codec supported by the phone?
Looks nice though chubby...and what's different here, a thing that i liked, is the absence of the Samsung signatured rectangular physical home key...was wondering when Samsung would keep that button away.

posted on 21 Sep 2012, 13:22 2

2. XPERIA-KNIGHT (Posts: 2384; Member since: 08 Aug 2012)


HAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA...............8? an 8??? and to think i just got done reading Daniels review on the Xperia T and he gave it an 8 as well...........i just wanna say this, these reviews by PA are just as opinionated as our very own reviews......to blatanly give this "low" end phone a 8 (yes low end, 4 inch "W" VGA not even qHD screen, bad design, and 5 mp shooter) REEEALY goes to show you that it does indeed boil down to wether "YOU" like and are satisfied with the phone of your choice....My only problem is when you do this, give opinionated reviews, and then rate it unjustly, it makes people SHY away from the device because they feel its not enough or they can do better........not trying to be rude, but their is no way in hell you are going to give this particular phone an 8, while great phones like the Photon Q, the Xperia T, and even the Galaxy S Relay, An 8 and UNDER! this phone should have gotten what some one here gave the Photon Q.......A 7! or to be honest......A 6.5.......based on bad design, under par screen, and low pixel density alone........good day phone arena

posted on 22 Sep 2012, 00:27 1

3. g2a5b0e (Posts: 1940; Member since: 08 Jun 2012)


You're looking at it entirely wrong. You can't compare high-end devices to low-end devices. If that was how it was done, then all low-end devices would receive scores in the 1-3 range compared to the Galaxy S3s of the world. Devices receive scores based only on how other devices in their own range perform. That's the way it's done.

posted on 22 Sep 2012, 00:32 1

4. g2a5b0e (Posts: 1940; Member since: 08 Jun 2012)


Now, that being said, the review score for this phone certainly does seem a little high.

posted on 22 Sep 2012, 01:07

5. XPERIA-KNIGHT (Posts: 2384; Member since: 08 Aug 2012)


lol......there are NO catergories as far as i know.....the ratings seem to be an "overall" rating for every phone here....

posted on 22 Sep 2012, 04:37

6. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 2964; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Can i blame it on the Galaxy SIII-esque look of it?? Just a question...

posted on 22 Sep 2012, 05:32 1

7. g2a5b0e (Posts: 1940; Member since: 08 Jun 2012)


I only say that because I remember specifically reading it somewhere on this site after thinking the same thing a few times. It makes sense when you think about it. There's just no way to review a phone like this on the same scale as a top of the line, flagship device. I tried to find where I read it, but I couldn't. :-\

posted on 22 Sep 2012, 12:41 1

9. XPERIA-KNIGHT (Posts: 2384; Member since: 08 Aug 2012)


yea i agree it makes sense but just know that if it confused people like you and me, then its doing it to others as well.....

posted on 23 Sep 2012, 14:24

10. KFear (Posts: 135; Member since: 06 Feb 2012)


I agree too. They don't rate them on the same scale as the big daddies. For a mid-range device, aside from it's size and weight, it's pretty gosh darn good!

posted on 24 Sep 2012, 10:44 1

11. g2a5b0e (Posts: 1940; Member since: 08 Jun 2012)


Found it!

http://www.phonearena.com/howdowerate

posted on 25 Sep 2012, 05:14

14. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 2964; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Yay!! :D

posted on 24 Sep 2012, 20:31

12. Doakie (Posts: 879; Member since: 06 May 2009)


Loading...

posted on 24 Sep 2012, 20:44 1

13. Doakie (Posts: 879; Member since: 06 May 2009)


You know I read your comment and tried to view things your way, but I just don't see the logic. You're fully dismissing this phone due to "low screen resolution" and a 5 MP shooter... If you compare this to Sprints closest offering from Apple, last years iPhone 4S the Galaxy Victory isn't really that bad. Let's go down the list, this is a feature/spec comparison. I'm not going to argue which voice assistant or video chat is better, simply if it has certain features.

Price: Victory (Victory $49 at Amazon vs iPhone $99 at Sprint)

Overall size: iPhone

Screen size: Victory

Screen resolution & technology: iPhone

Battery: Victory (User swappable vs fixed)

Processor/RAM: Tie (Both run smooth, neither is overly laggy)

Storage: Victory (User swappable vs fixed)

Camera: iPhone

Camcorder: iPhone

Video chat: Tie (Google Talk vs FaceTime)

Voice Assistant: Tie (S Voice vs Siri)

LTE: Victory

NFC: Victory

The Galaxy Victory isnt a bad device for sub $100. In fact it gives you plenty of new tech features for a price that is cheaper than last year's tech. I agree that the Photon Q should have gotten a higher score, but to dismiss the Victory due to low PPI and a design you deem as bad seems very close minded.

posted on 22 Sep 2012, 10:10

8. satanrules (Posts: 19; Member since: 22 Sep 2012)


Samsung's back cover's never fail to disappoint.

posted on 03 Dec 2012, 14:53

15. mzhelaineous (Posts: 1; Member since: 03 Dec 2012)


The problem with these so-called reviews, is that the feedback is more confusing than the review! I just ordered this phone as it was a "free" phone on the Sprint plan for a Christmas
special. I live on a very limited income so I got what I could afford. The reviews aren't sparkling, but as a free phone, I didn't expect it to be a phone equivalent to a high-end phone. However, I started reading the feedback, and to my horror, I now wonder if this phone will even be functional when I get it. I hope people who leave feedback can be more sensitive to other consumers with limited incomes who get these phones because we "have" to rather than want to and perhaps offer some positive feedback occasionally.
Just my humble opinion.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display4.0 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (233 ppi) LCD
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Lite MSM8960, Dual core, 1200 MHz
1024 MB RAM
Size4.80 x 2.50 x 0.50 inches
(121.9 x 63.5 x 12.7 mm)
4.9 oz  (139 g)
Battery2100 mAh, 7 hours talk time

Latest stories