x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison

Go to page
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
It is probably wiser to compare the Nokia 808 PureView to standalone cameras, considering its shooting specs, but we snapped a few photos for comparison with most of the flagship smartphones currently on the market anyway.

Thus we are pitting the 41MP sensor in the PureView against the previous top cameraphone from the Finns, the Nokia N8, and against the current market darlings iPhone 4S, Samsung Galaxy S III, HTC One X, LG Optimus 4X HD, Sony Xperia S and the still very popular Samsung Galaxy S II.


Outdoor - details:

Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
All of these handsets capture a pretty good level of detail, corresponding nicely to their respective resolutions. The natural outliers seem to be the Nokia 808 PureView and N8 with their big sensors. The phone with the PureView technology performed best here - we shot in the same 8MP resolution most of the test phones have for comparison’s sake.

In this mode it merges a few pixels into one super pixel, making a good use of its 41MP sensor, and this oversampling leads to averaged-out noise and greater amount of detail than usual. The PureView shots came out clean as a whistle in terms of noise, and there seems to be no processing/sharpening whatsoever, thus preserving even the most intricate level of detail even in the shadows, which is pretty evident when you look at the theater’s columns and ornaments. Since there is no sharpening of the pics, they look soft compared to the others, yet very clean and noise-free.

The Nokia N8 ranks second in terms of detail - it also produced softy pictures with a lot of detail, but not as noise-free as Nokia's latest, due to the smaller sensor than the one on the 808 PureView.

The rest are pretty close, but noise is an issue and the processing they do often introduces artifacts. Excessive sharpening is very easily observed in the case of the HTC One X and the Sony Xperia S. The Xperia S has the advantage of its higher resolution, though, and catches more points, ranking third.

The Galaxy S II and iPhone 4S come very close to the Xperia S detail, with the Galaxy S II upping the exposure and using more noise-suppression, resulting in a tad less distinct detail than the iPhone 4S.

Both the Galaxy S III and the Galaxy S II overexposed shots, more so in the case of Samsung's latest, which led to less distinct detail on it compared to the Galaxy S II.

The LG Optimus 4X HD seems to take the opposite approach of the iPhone 4S, suppressing noise too much and smearing a lot of detail in the process for the sake of a cleaner pic. The worst offender in terms of detail, however, seems to the the HTC One X, where a lot of fine print gets lost in translation, and on top of that its pics are pretty noisy too.

100% crops - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
100% crops - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
100% crops - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison

100% crops

Click on an image to open in the popup gallery, where you should preview it in full size (double mouse click or keyboard shortcut space) 

Nokia 808 PureView - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Samsung Galaxy S III - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Apple iPhone 4S - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
HTC One X - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia N8 - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
LG Optimus 4X HD - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Sony Xperia S - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Samsung Galaxy S II - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison

Nokia 808 PureView

Samsung Galaxy S III

Apple iPhone 4S

HTC One X

Nokia N8

LG Optimus 4X HD

Sony Xperia S

Samsung Galaxy S II

Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Samsung Galaxy S III - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Apple iPhone 4S - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
HTC One X - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia N8 - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
LG Optimus 4X HD - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Sony Xperia S - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Samsung Galaxy S II - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison

Nokia 808 PureView

Samsung Galaxy S III

Apple iPhone 4S

HTC One X

Nokia N8

LG Optimus 4X HD

Sony Xperia S

Samsung Galaxy S II

Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia 808 PureView - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Samsung Galaxy S III - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Apple iPhone 4S - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
HTC One X - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Nokia N8 - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
LG Optimus 4X HD - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Sony Xperia S - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison
Samsung Galaxy S II - Nokia 808 PureView camera comparison

Nokia 808 PureView

Samsung Galaxy S III

Apple iPhone 4S

HTC One X

Nokia N8

LG Optimus 4X HD

Sony Xperia S

Samsung Galaxy S II


Color representation:

Smartphones oversaturate colors and boost up contrast compared to reality more often than not, since that is what most people demand. Such is the case with the HTC One X, Sony Xperia X, iPhone 4S, Galaxy S III and the Optimus 4X HD. The Nokia N8, on the other hand, is colder than reality, and so is the Galaxy S II, although just a tad. Overall, the Nokia 808 PureView got the most accurate color representation, which is easily explained by the shooting mode we chose with it (Creative mode with default setting for natural colors).

43 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 29 Jun 2012, 08:57 16

1. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


I wish Nokia did as well in other departments too. Maybe they will finally change their policy and start being competetive once more. Anyway, 808 is a clear winner. And N8 is still a class of its own.
No suprise here:)

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 08:59 7

2. -box- (Posts: 3566; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


PureView FTW. Can't wait for it to get on a newer OS and body, despite my preference for Symbian and its superiority as a phone (with physical phone buttons especially)

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 09:02 6

3. adjou (Posts: 102; Member since: 06 Jul 2010)


This is a camera fight between nokia's sensor and sony's. Very impress with the 808!

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 09:26 8

7. PhoneArenaUser (Posts: 4601; Member since: 05 Aug 2011)


Sensor was made by Toshiba not by Nokia. :)

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 11:42 9

13. deadhead (Posts: 17; Member since: 13 Apr 2012)


actually both companies worked on the design, but is manufactured only by Toshiba.. just like the N8. Toshiba can't sell either of those sensors to anyone else, because of the collaboration with Nokia.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 12:55 1

16. PhoneArenaUser (Posts: 4601; Member since: 05 Aug 2011)


True.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 18:33

25. -box- (Posts: 3566; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


Really? Where'd you find that out? At work or I'd try to find it myself

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 09:05 10

4. CharlieAtInfinity (Posts: 253; Member since: 10 Apr 2012)


I just love the low noise and the colour saturation.. okay I got to admit!! I love everything about the camera of the PureView!! There is just No phone in the market that has a better camera or even comes close to the camera of the pure view!!
Good Job Nokia!!

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 09:07 9

5. AzhiKarim (Posts: 5; Member since: 24 May 2012)


Nokia 808 Win!! the only thing this phone needs now is more apps and games ...

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 13:00 3

17. PhoneArenaUser (Posts: 4601; Member since: 05 Aug 2011)


There is nothing to expect, Symbian is dying and developers are abandoning ship.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 14:51 5

20. bbblader (Posts: 535; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


its a loop
devs abandoning symbian because its dying
and its dying because devs are abandoning it

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 14:58

21. PhoneArenaUser (Posts: 4601; Member since: 05 Aug 2011)


But someone has started that loop and that not without a reason, right? Developers doesn't start abandoning OS just because...

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 17:40 1

23. Stuntman (Posts: 669; Member since: 01 Aug 2011)


OK. I admit it. I started that loop. After using the Nokia N97 for months, I finally got fed up with this piece of crap. I looked to see what was available to upgrade to. The Symbian phones I saw were also crap. I decided to abandon Symbian and got an Android phone (HTC Desire Z) and I love it. Even with it still running on GB, I love it. Even though I'm eligible for a hardware upgrade, I have no desire to change phones.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 17:46

24. PhoneArenaUser (Posts: 4601; Member since: 05 Aug 2011)


"OK. I admit it. I started that loop."

Symbian fans will find you! :D

posted on 11 Jul 2012, 18:47

45. depeche (Posts: 60; Member since: 04 Feb 2011)


Same thing happened with webOS. Palm died, and webOS was briefly resurrected with HP.

HP pulled the plug one day as the excitement was picking up. The Pre 3 was never released.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 21:39 6

26. Mobile-X-Pert (Posts: 565; Member since: 20 Dec 2010)


Dude, it doesnt matter what happens to Symbian, what really matters is this Pureview technology that is beating the crap out of everyphone out there, and the best part of this is that it´s coming to WP8 as well.

posted on 30 Jun 2012, 07:10

34. PhoneArenaUser (Posts: 4601; Member since: 05 Aug 2011)


Yes, but my comment was reply to comment about apps and Nokia 808 PureView use Symbian. ;)

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 09:19 3

6. nak1017 (Posts: 328; Member since: 08 Jan 2010)


My gf would get it if it had wp7 on it instead...

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 10:12 2

8. wsucoug13 (Posts: 164; Member since: 04 May 2012)


Honestly don't see that huge of a difference between them. All look pretty good.

posted on 01 Jul 2012, 16:31

36. -RVM- (Posts: 329; Member since: 19 Oct 2011)


My grandmother says the same.

posted on 14 Sep 2012, 20:06

48. K.E.N. (Posts: 2; Member since: 14 Sep 2012)


you better have your eyes checked.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 10:19 5

9. cristianer (Posts: 40; Member since: 20 Aug 2010)


Yeah! 808 first and N8 second. I love these phones.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 10:30 6

11. kanagadeepan (Posts: 591; Member since: 24 Jan 2012)


NOKIA is five years ahead of others in Camera department and five years behind with respect to other features, imho....

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 22:07

29. -box- (Posts: 3566; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


Yes to the camera, the other part not as much... Neither ios nor WP have as many features and capabilities as Symbian (or MeeGo, RIP). Easier and less jittery, and in WP's case much more fluid and pretty, but still behind. Lumia series are (arguably) the prettiest in production, and I don't know of any other manufacturer that packs in as much into their devices, even their low end ones. NFC, FM radio transmitter, pentaband antennas, mobile hotspot capability, etc, etc. Give credit where it's due.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 11:09 3

12. jaytai0106 (Posts: 826; Member since: 30 Mar 2011)


The pictures are so amazingly nice on the Pureview. But me personally don't have any use for a 41 MP camera @"@ But it still has really amazing pictures.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 21:42 1

27. Mobile-X-Pert (Posts: 565; Member since: 20 Dec 2010)


you dont understand, the 41 are used to oversample the pixels and lossless zoom to make the pictures look better, pictures still come out at 5 and 8 megapixels.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 11:48 1

14. deadhead (Posts: 17; Member since: 13 Apr 2012)


Their 808 has defective optics btw .. loss of detail on the right side of the frame. Every set of optics is aligned individually (which is amazing), so I guess its normal for some of them not to be perfect.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 12:12 7

15. imran_khan0786 (Posts: 61; Member since: 21 Jun 2012)


Excellent job did by Nokia. It will to sucess when it comes in wp8+pureview=awesome smartphone.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 13:47 1

18. sajith930 (Posts: 4; Member since: 26 Jun 2012)


Pls add Nokia N9 to this compare..Another good camera...don't abondened that sweet guy...

thanks

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 14:25

19. Stuntman (Posts: 669; Member since: 01 Aug 2011)


Thanks, for a great camera comparison article. Much better than that other web site which shall remain nameless that I boycotted since last year.

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 17:00 1

22. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


for those who want more apps

n8 fan club
)

posted on 29 Jun 2012, 22:51

30. andydroid (Posts: 13; Member since: 01 Jun 2012)


Why not that camera with android?

posted on 30 Jun 2012, 00:24 3

31. deadhead (Posts: 17; Member since: 13 Apr 2012)


android can't handle it.

posted on 30 Jun 2012, 02:46

32. mobilefuture (Posts: 206; Member since: 12 Nov 2011)


This was unfair because even when reading the headline, one can tell who the winner is! Pureview FTW!!!!!

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 02:09

38. techdunia (banned) (Posts: 4; Member since: 01 Jul 2012)


Nokia 808 is amazing phone but only for its camera quality.
:

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 10:25

39. Stoli89 (Posts: 333; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)


I'm sure this will force the other OEM's to up their respective games. However, with over 70 patents ring-fencing PureView, "me thinks" Nokia will be holding the phone camera crown for quite awhile.

It would've also be nice to see PhoneArena compare sound recording across these video devices. In particular, how the 808's Rich Recording and full Dolby 5.1 compares with the rest of the field.

Lastly, for media playback...how the field handles various codecs.

posted on 06 Jul 2012, 12:15

41. murati (Posts: 21; Member since: 29 Apr 2012)


Rather have mine HOX with great body, screen, pocessor and my Canon powershot than 808. My opinion.

posted on 11 Jul 2012, 07:44

44. joshefmayer1 (Posts: 6; Member since: 07 May 2012)


Again a great phone by Nokia: - Nokia 808 pureview has a great feature of 41 MP Camera……..
I like the phone due to its features .If you prefer online shopping then you can go through shopbychoice(dot)com, it gives best deal on this phone.
One of my friend recently bought it @ Rs.32, 199/- after 5% discount, I willing to buy it

posted on 14 Jul 2012, 07:42

46. alex09 (Posts: 6; Member since: 14 Jul 2012)


Visit (www).nokia808pureviews(dot c-o-m) to get best price and deals for Nokia 808 Pureview.

"Nokia 808 PureView is a new dawn in photography with 41 MP you can play with a bigger canvas, pure depth, pure action, pure colour, pure detail, pure perspective, full HD video, crystal clear audio, share the story in a momment. Nokia 808 PureView is a revolutionary camera in a smartphone, you never miss a moment from daylight to low light"

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories