x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review

Posted: , by Basil K.

Tags:

Go to page
Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review
This is a global GSM phone, it can be used with T-Mobile USA and AT&T's 2G network.

Introduction:


Is it a mirror? Is it a reflective PCMCIA card? No, it’s the Motorola MILESTONE XT720! Touted to be Motorola’s camera-phone extraordinaire, this touch-screen phone mixes a traditional candy-bar form-factor with some interesting styling, a WVGA resolution screen and a hopeful 8MP camera on the back with auto-focus and a xenon flash. Running Google Android, could the MILESTONE XT720 be the media monster Android fan-boys have been craving for?

Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review
Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review


Design:

The first thing we notice about the Motorola MILESTONE XT720 is its shine. The front panel is reflective to the point that it can double up as a mirror.  The back panel contrasts this to great effect with a navy blue matte brushed metal finish, adding both grip and a solid feel. Despite being only 10.9mm thick, this phone feels chunky for a touch screen handset of this size.  With its angular styling, when compared with other touch-screen handsets such as the curvaceous HTC Desire, the edgy MILESTONE XT720 feels larger in the hand and pocket than its specs make out.

Motorola MILESTONE XT720 feels chunky for a touch screen handset of this size - Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review
Motorola MILESTONE XT720 feels chunky for a touch screen handset of this size - Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review
Motorola MILESTONE XT720 feels chunky for a touch screen handset of this size - Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review

Motorola MILESTONE XT720 feels chunky for a touch screen handset of this size


Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review

You can compare the Motorola MILESTONE XT720 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The front of the phone is occupied by the capacitive screen. It is large and beautiful. With a resolution of 480x854 pixels, the display is sharp and bright, colours are vivid and viewing angles are great making it a pleasure to look at. The pixel density won’t rival that of the Apple iPhone 4, however, against other Android devices, it is at the top of the pile, beating the HTC Desire and the Samsung Galaxy S. As we mentioned, the mirror-like screen attracts finger prints very easily and while this isn’t so noticeable when the screen is illuminated, when on standby, the evident smudges don’t look good. Despite this glossy screen, the Motorola MILESTONE XT720 is viewable outdoors for the most part, except in very bright direct sunlight.

Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review
Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review

Below the display are four capacitive Android buttons, the phone speaker and the microphone, as well as indicators relating to the camera and gallery in the bottom right (under the camera button). On the top of the unit is the 3.5mm headphone jack, a mini HDMI port and the power button,  with the volume rocker, camera button and gallery button on the right. The phone’s left hand-side contains a micro-USB port, with the battery cover, loudspeaker, camera and xenon flash all located on the back.

Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review
Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review
The sides of Motorola MILESTONE XT720 - Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review
The sides of Motorola MILESTONE XT720 - Motorola MILESTONE XT720 Review

The sides of Motorola MILESTONE XT720


While we do think the overall design of the Motorola MILESTONE XT720 is solid and slick, it did leave us wanting, for example, the capacitive buttons underneath the screen were all too easy to press accidentally and the screen is a fingerprint magnet.

15 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. N86 (unregistered)


Oh noo - very very bad photos compared to N86. Is this 8 megapixels or 2 ?? Weak flash...

posted on 11 Sep 2010, 11:54

2. Doakie (Posts: 879; Member since: 06 May 2009)


I enjoyed the review. I've been waiting for this phone to come out on Tmo for months when I heard the XT720 went through the FCC with Tmo bands. Sadly this handset is never coming to Tmo, but it did launch with Cinncinati Bell, and also Newegg carries it unlocked. Problem is I don't live anywhere near Cinncinati, and paying $500+ for this phone cannot be justified when I can get a Vibrant on Craigslist for $350. Sucks cus I really like my Cliq XT and Motoblur, I just want a bigger screen and more powerful processor. Which I guess this one doesn't REALLY have, even 720mhz on an American version is a little skimpy when compared to $350 1ghz Vibrants. Another thing I found odd is that if you look at Motorolas North American Phone site they don't list the XT720. Which they should cus a regional carrier has them, but also cus they sell them unlocked. No love for the XT720, which is too bad, I'd have liked to get one subsidised through Tmo. I think you guys should have grabbed one from Cincinnati Bell and did a review of one an American will actually own. Cus I'm sure more people are buying these through C Bell than unlocked.

posted on 11 Sep 2010, 12:40

3. trentsinmypants (Posts: 312; Member since: 29 Jan 2009)


yikes.....is that motoblur I see running? (O_o)

posted on 12 Sep 2010, 22:06

4. Aryp (unregistered)


nope, this phone does not run MotoBlur on it.

posted on 13 Sep 2010, 10:58

5. vinsterdamus (Posts: 58; Member since: 20 Feb 2010)


haha if this isn't motoblur then it's also not android :P Everything in the interface screams motoblur so please believe it son. (don't mean it in a bad way)

posted on 14 Sep 2010, 05:51

6. Aryp (unregistered)


i'm using one right now. isn't MotoBlur is those where they those Social Networking widgets on it?

posted on 27 Dec 2010, 22:25

13. johndru (unregistered)


yes it isn't MotoBlur. Just a stylish UI similar to "the blur". LOL.

posted on 15 Sep 2010, 19:18

7. cristianer (Posts: 40; Member since: 20 Aug 2010)


Photos are really bad. My N73 takes better photos with 3.2mp

posted on 19 Sep 2010, 15:33

8. B (unregistered)


http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/19/motorola-europe-repents-restores-milestone-xt720-cpu-to-720mhz/ European version to receive software update to unlock it's 720MHz processing power.

posted on 21 Sep 2010, 19:08

9. Aryp (unregistered)


Singaporean's users also have received the firmware update.

posted on 04 Oct 2010, 06:59

10. cristianer (Posts: 40; Member since: 20 Aug 2010)


Someone knows when milestone 2 is in the market?

posted on 18 Nov 2010, 09:37

11. OverRatedChild (unregistered)


Wow. This has EXACTLY the same photo qaulity as my super old Nokia 5320, which has a 2MP camera. really, wow. I almost feel as if Motorola just put in a 2mp camera and simply labelled it 8mp; and when questioned, they'll probably reply:
"8MP Camera? What, no! It has 8 Mediocre Pixels! 4 Mediocre Pixels = 1 Mega pixel!
This is the latest in phone camera technology! We at Motorola hope that people will enjoy this new form of measurement!"
Leads to applause from easily-willed masses (Same guy's who think iPhone 4/3GS is better than every other phone on the planet).

posted on 27 Dec 2010, 22:28

14. johndru (unregistered)


my previous Motorola ZN5 (5mp kodak lens) can take way way better pictures than my xt720.

It's like the original Milestone and this have the same camera module. They just upscaled to "8" and placed a xenon. lol

posted on 27 Dec 2010, 22:23

12. johndru (unregistered)


Just bought this recently and I'm loving most part of it. It's like my previous Milestone with better camera BUT don't expect it to be as good as Samsung Pixon12 in terms of image quality. I'd still say Pixon12 is the KING for cameraphones. Enough of the N8's marketing jig. Colors are too pale. The heck with the larger sensor. Is it really that large and significant? sheesh.

Anyway, good job Motorola for challenging Samsung/HTC on the Android world. A little more and you might return to the top.

posted on 13 Feb 2011, 07:58

15. guest (unregistered)


@johndru , N8's image quality tend to be realistic not overly saturated. Please make your facts straight.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.7 inches, 480 x 854 pixels (265 ppi) TFT
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
TI OMAP3430, Single core, 720 MHz, ARM Cortex-A8 processor
256 MB RAM
Size4.56 x 2.40 x 0.43 inches
(115.9 x 60.9 x 10.9 mm)
5.64 oz  (160 g)
Battery1390 mAh, 9 hours talk time

Latest stories