Android Oreo Beta for Galaxy S8/S8+ enters phase 2, now available in India, Germany, France, and other countries


The long-awaited second phase of the Android Oreo Beta program for the Galaxy S8 and S8+ is finally here! Phase two doesn't bring any updates. Rather, it introduces the Android 8.0 beta to several new countries.

Although Samsung hasn't made any official announcements at the time of writing, there are numerous reports suggesting that the program has expanded to the following markets - India, Germany, France, Spain, and Poland. Chinese users are also supposed to get in on the action, and even though we haven't heard anything from the People's Republic, we suspect that the rollout will happen there soon as well. 

Samsung has been doing public tests of the latest major version of Android on its 2017 flagships for a while now, but the beta was only available in three markets - South Korea, Great Britain, and the US. With the latest additions, the total number of countries eligible for the beta rises to 9. 

How to enroll

If you're a Galaxy S8/S8+ owner living in one of the above markets and would like to sign up, download the Samsung Members app. From there, go to Home > Notices > Register for Galaxy Beta Program. After you complete the registration, go to Settings > Software updates > Download updates manually

Keep in mind that the spots for beta testers are limited and the program works on a first-come-first-served basis. Also, there could be some carrier restrictions, so the beta might not be available for everyone. The beta patch is 1.4GB, so make sure that you're connected to a Wi-Fi network and charged up before proceeding.

Recommended Stories

Loading Comments...
FCC OKs Cingular\'s purchase of AT&T Wireless