x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Focus 2 Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung Focus 2 Review
Introduction:

As we all know, the Nokia Lumia 900 kicked Windows Phones into the stratosphere by bringing 4G LTE into the mix with the platform, and soon after that, HTC brought to the table its offering in the Titan II. Strangely though, Samsung’s presence was absent as its competitors moved up one step ahead of them. Thankfully, we don’t have to wait much longer as the Samsung Focus 2 is set for arrival, bringing the Korean based company up to snuff, but more importantly, it’s aiming to stiff arm the competition with its tantalizing $49.99 on-contract price. Will its tempting price point be enough to sway consumers to it?

Samsung Focus 2 Review
Samsung Focus 2 Review
The package contains:

  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Stereo Headphones
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Safety & Warranty Guide

Design:

At its core, the Samsung Focus 2 follows firmly to the design principles found with previous Samsung devices, since it sports that all too conspicuous sturdy all-plastic body that makes it lightweight. However, we find its design on the adorable side thanks to its pristine white paint job and rounded curves. Adding more love to its design, we really like how its slick feel enables it to maintain a clean appearance at all times – meaning, it doesn’t exhibit any smudges or fingerprints. Having to compete against the Nokia Lumia 900 and HTC Titan II, we’re happy to see the Focus 2 finding a sweet spot with its balanced approach.

The Samsung Focus 2 sports a sturdy all-plastic body that makes it lightweight - Samsung Focus 2 Review
The Samsung Focus 2 sports a sturdy all-plastic body that makes it lightweight - Samsung Focus 2 Review
The Samsung Focus 2 sports a sturdy all-plastic body that makes it lightweight - Samsung Focus 2 Review

The Samsung Focus 2 sports a sturdy all-plastic body that makes it lightweight


Donning the typical trio of Windows Phone buttons, they’re able to catch a lot of attention due to their piercing backlighting. Meanwhile, above the display, we find its earpiece, front-facing VGA camera, ambient light, and the proximity sensors.

Samsung Focus 2 Review
Windows Phone buttons - Samsung Focus 2 Review
Front-facing camera - Samsung Focus 2 Review
 

Windows Phone buttons

Front-facing camera


Peeking around the sides, there is nothing out of the ordinary as we spot its 3.5mm headset jack, noise cancellation mic, shutter key, microUSB port, volume controls, and power button. With the latter two, however, we don’t like they’re rather indistinct to the touch.

Power and camera keys (right) - The sides of the Samsung Focus 2 - Samsung Focus 2 Review
microUSB port (bottom) - The sides of the Samsung Focus 2 - Samsung Focus 2 Review
Volume rocker (left) - The sides of the Samsung Focus 2 - Samsung Focus 2 Review
3.5mm jack (top) - The sides of the Samsung Focus 2 - Samsung Focus 2 Review

Power and camera keys (right)

microUSB port (bottom)

Volume rocker (left)

3.5mm jack (top)

The sides of the Samsung Focus 2


Around the rear, we’re greeted to its 5-megapixel auto-focus camera, LED flash, and two notches for its internal speaker. Prying off the plastic rear cover from one side, we’re able to gain access to its 1,750 mAh battery and microSIM slot.

Back - Samsung Focus 2 Review
Battery compartment - Samsung Focus 2 Review

Back

Battery compartment



Display:

Neither too large or too small, the Samsung Focus 2 actually employs the same identical display found with its predecessor. Specifically, it’s a 4” WVGA (480 x 800) Super AMOLED display, which is nothing to write home about nowadays, but it’s still nevertheless a pleasant looking thing. WVGA resolution is hardly a surprise, even more when it’s used by all Windows Phones thus far, but it’s enough to make out some fine details thanks to its 223 ppi pixel density. Without a doubt, its high-contrast, wide viewing angles, and luscious color production all combine together to provide us with a visual treat.

Samsung Focus 2 360-degrees View:



13 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 17 May 2012, 08:22 1

1. -box- (Posts: 3752; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


Good review. About as expected, given the introductory price point compared to the other WP7.5 LTE devices

posted on 17 May 2012, 08:26 1

2. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


"Cons

Shoots terrible photos
Poor calling quality"

In particular the last one. It's a phone so if it doesn't have at least a good calling quality does it deserve 7,5?? I doubt.
Moreover, Lumia 900 has great calling quality and shoots much better photos and was scored only half a point higher.

posted on 17 May 2012, 08:29

3. lonestrider (Posts: 85; Member since: 31 Mar 2012)


I think this is just another Windows Phone device. With no something new. All the specs is just like the others.

posted on 17 May 2012, 08:30 1

4. Muhannad (Posts: 455; Member since: 20 Sep 2011)


It's ironic that there's review of a Windows Phone when just the previous article is titled "101 reasons not to buy a Windows Phone"

posted on 17 May 2012, 13:42 2

5. Mobile-X-Pert (Posts: 565; Member since: 20 Dec 2010)


Yeah Phonearena made a great mistake by posting that article.

posted on 17 May 2012, 23:11 1

6. Sangeet (Posts: 232; Member since: 21 Apr 2012)


Who has the white theme on in a Windows Phone Device which has an amoled screen, switch to Black theme and then see the beauty of the screen not like the one in this review, this one makes it look so bad, same happened with the nokia lumia 900 review

Windows Phone 7.5 (with black theme, ofcourse) is a joy to be used on the Amoled Display cuz it has the deepest blacks, and the white one really sucks bad on the amoled, looks bad and eats up all the battery

posted on 18 May 2012, 00:32

7. Sangeet (Posts: 232; Member since: 21 Apr 2012)


Why the heck just a Windows Phone can't have a microSD card?
i mean that is a feature that is being given in a phone since the late 1990's. What the heck is happening to all these companies, HTC has the one X, but with a limited storage of 16gb out of which only 11 GB is practically accessible by the user, why not just include a micro SD slot and have the user to have more memory,
And having a HD screen in the one X and so contrast and other things, it is a joy to watch movies in it but can't get enough of it as once transferred some movies then everything is dead.
If the companies continued on doing things like this i think they have no better future as the demand for more memory is increasing

posted on 18 May 2012, 17:14

8. snowgator (Posts: 3200; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


Okay, I have really done some questioning on this, especially with WP devices only having 8 or 16 G of storage. The best explaination I got was from a tech at the Champaign IL AT&T shop. The story he heard was the use of the storage card really changed some software features that caused a ton of "bricking" during tests. The orignal Focus used a stroage card, but the way it was incorporated more or less turned it into "hard" stroage- once in the software, you could not pull it without really messing with the phones performance. It was expensive to manufacturer, and a headache for all involved. So, future WP devices of the first and second Generations skipped it.

WP8 devices will allow for storage cards, as the software will be optimized.

posted on 18 May 2012, 17:17

9. snowgator (Posts: 3200; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


My Focus S isn't great in camera, either. But the bad call quality is strange, as my "S" easily is among the better phones I have owned.

Overall, this will be down to 20.00$ or cheaper fairly quick, and it will be a steal at that price. I think it is a great looking phone, and a great LTE option.

No, not better than the 900, but it is not intending to be.

posted on 21 May 2012, 20:56 1

10. Saamic (Posts: 119; Member since: 20 Feb 2012)


As far as design it looks simple and practical yet awesome

posted on 31 May 2012, 16:03

11. Meemomof7 (Posts: 1; Member since: 31 May 2012)


My granddaughter graduated from USMC boot camp in February and before she left for MCT she purchased a Samsung Focus Flash cell phone thru AT&T at Walmart (March). She dropped her phone yesterday and the screen shattered. When she purchased the phone, she was not asked if she wanted insurance, and since this is her first cell phone, she didn't think to ask about it.
How can she get a replacement without having to pay full price?
Thank you!

posted on 18 Jan 2013, 06:47

12. lindsayorum (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Jan 2013)


I am as disappointed as can be with this device, can not update without home PC, volume sound is lousy, I have always had an android device phone and after switching to windows I see why. I could do everything rite from my cell phone, including downloading music to my library, again with this phone it must be connected to a home PC. My next phone purchased will definitely have more background done on it, I am not pleased with my phone at all. And there is no slot for an sd card. Can't change the font size in text messaging either, print is very small and hard to read at times, just not very many handy features on this device, it is eye captivating but looks van be deceiving!

posted on 28 Jul 2013, 10:48

13. Stormswift (Posts: 2; Member since: 22 Jul 2013)


love it, especially since it is easy to turn off all the bells and whistles that eat up data when you are in a wifi environment. Always loved windows phones, ever since I got my first Pocket PC. This one has just the right software I need for work and play. Like the battery life, love how it fits into my hand. Had to cut down and "shave down" the SIM card with nail file (hint dudes, raid your GF's cosmetics cabinet) but it worked . Lets hope this one lasts as long as its predecessor Blackjac kII (RIP after 5 years). Good phone decent price (bought it without contract)

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Samsung Focus 2

Samsung Focus 2

OS: Windows Phone 7.5 Mango
view full specs
Display4.0 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (233 ppi) Super AMOLED
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 1400 MHz
Size4.79 x 2.47 x 0.43 inches
(122 x 63 x 11 mm)
4.30 oz  (122 g)
Battery1750 mAh, 6 hours talk time

Latest stories