x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia N82 Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82 Review
Introduction:


In the middle of November, the new Nokia N82 was announced. Being a 80-series model, it is not among the top-of the-line Nokia phones (90-series), which is logical as its features are very similar to the 9-month old N95. The next high-end model which will be the successor of the N95 (including the 8GB version), is expected to be presented in the first quarter of the 2008, either on CES or 3GSM expos.

The N82 is Nokia’s first cameraphone equipped with a Xenon flash, instead of a standard LED one. This is what Sony Ericsson has been using in its top cameraphones since the K800 and has proved to be the best such technology. Flashes of this type have also appeared in the recently released high-end cameraphones of Samsung (G800) and LG (Viewty).

Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82 Review


The Nokia N82 is targeted not only as a high-end cameraphone but as an all-in-one multimedia device. It can also capture high-resolution (VGA) clips, manage audio and video as well as office files, as it is a Symbian 9.2 S60 smartphone.


Design:

Just a look is enough to see that the new N82 is … let’s say different. It doesn’t remind us of any previous Nokia phone, has very different style and design-language as a whole. We may characterize it as hate-it-or-like it style and as a whole it is not among the attractive phones. The entire phone’s body is made of plastic, but unfortunately there is a cheap feeling when using it, although the construction is solid. Still, the weight is pocket-friendly, which has been the idea of the manufacturer.

Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82, LG Viewty, Samsung G800, Sony Ericsson K850 and Nokia N95 8GB - Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82, LG Viewty, Samsung G800, Sony Ericsson K850 and Nokia N95 8GB - Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82, LG Viewty, Samsung G800, Sony Ericsson K850 and Nokia N95 8GB - Nokia N82 Review

Nokia N82, LG Viewty, Samsung G800, Sony Ericsson K850 and Nokia N95 8GB



Model Dimension (Inches) Dimension (mm) Weight (oz) Weight (Gramms)
Nokia N82
4.40" x 1.97" x 0.68" 112 x 50.2 x 17.3 4.02 114
LG Viewty
4.07" x 2.14" x 0.58" 103.5 x 54.4 x 14.8 3.95 112
Samsung G800
3.97" x 2.00" x 0.74" 101 x 51 x 18.8 4.90 139
Sony Ericsson K850
4.01" x 1.88" x 0.66" 102 x 48 x 17 4.16 118
Nokia N95 8GB
3.89" x 2.08" x 0.82" 99 x 53 x 21 4.51
128
You can compare the Nokia N82 to many other phones, using PhoneArena's Visual Size Compare tool.

In the upper half of the phone are situated the lightning sensor, the QVGA secondary camera, the earpiece and the 2.4” display. Although it is smaller than the huge 2.8” one used in the N95 8GB, it is bigger than the K850’s 2.2” which is a success. Although it is not the brightest one, it is still perfectly readable in any environment, something typical for a contemporary Nokia.

Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82 Review


Packing a large display and a keyboard into a body not that huge, isn’t exactly the easiest thing to do, so compromises must be made with both of them. The N82 isn’t huge, the display is large, so the logical conclusion is that its keypad is small. There is some space between it and the display but obviously the technology still does not allow the developers to use it for a larger keypad. As a whole it is not really bad but the numeric buttons are very tiny, and must be pressed with the tip of a finger. Their type is similar to those of the Sony Ericsson K850, but the latter are more convenient to use as they are bigger and with larger space between each.

Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82 Review
Nokia N82 Review


Untypically for Nokia, the bottom side houses only the microphone and the connectors are moved to the other sides. On the left are the charging connector, the microSD slot (covered with protective door) and the microUSB for connecting the phone to a computer. On the top is the 3.5mm jack, which allows connecting standard headphones and the typical for Nokia power key, while on the right similar to the N95 are: the volume rocker, the gallery shortcut and the shutter key. As they are illuminated, it is easy to find them by looking, but it is not so by touching.

The microphone - Nokia N82 Review
microUSB, microSD slot and charging connector - Nokia N82 Review
Power key and 3.5 mm jack - Nokia N82 Review

The microphone

microUSB, microSD slot and charging connector

Power key and 3.5 mm jack


Shutter and gallery keys - Nokia N82 Review
Volume rocker - Nokia N82 Review
Camera module - Nokia N82 Review

Shutter and gallery keys

Volume rocker

Camera module



As usual, the camera lens and flash are located on the back side. Next to them is a small slider that opens/closes the lens cover; it is not very comfortable but we prefer it to the bulgy cover used in the Samsung G800 for example.



8 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. jigs (unregistered)


hi.. i think this one gud fone..which balances wrk n play.. gives u all the features u carve for.. ..how evr i wait for the black edition which is expected in feb.. 1 thing is for sure..this phone..is a upgrade to n73...n a vry gud upgrade.. A BUY U WILL NEVER EVR REGRET..

posted on 30 Dec 2007, 20:29

2. Persia (unregistered)


About this phone I have to say that It is just perfect at all :D

posted on 28 Feb 2008, 06:45

3. Rupansh (unregistered)


what is expandable memory limit

posted on 06 Apr 2008, 08:47

4. N82 user (unregistered)


Lucky you for having found this. Pay attention as this is the real deal as I have an N82 and don’t work for Nokia yada, yada. Sorry though, I’m going to try not to write the very long review this device requires. Mainly going to focus on the negatives that nobody else will tell you to save your having to buy one to find this stuff out. Problem number one: the user manual is too short by tenfold. Tenfold. At least. And often you only get something like: “Blue Water Widget Mode: enables blue water widget mode”. Sure. Over half your N82 usage knowledge will be from trail and error and educated guessing. No page or jump scrolling button function (that anybody like me knows of—see problem number one). Without a mouse, the four way button (I’m sure it has a tech name but you know what I mean) moves the cursor one pixel at a time. So so for web pages, but not so good for maps. Pretty obvious deficiency that they could have easily solved. Lock and Roll is here is stay, it will never die. Excuse me. As a candybar, you need to lock the keys. However, some events unlock the keys auto and some temp unlock them and some trigger but you have to remember to unlock the keys first. What, you think this all would be stated in the user guide? Reread problem number one. $%^&ing backlightless. Since the backlight stays off, no way of telling if the keys got unlocked or not (see above). Hey, I’m cheap, but I’m sure I’m not the only one who checks the call duration meter so as to talk fast and hang up before hitting that next minute. No good on the Nokia as the backlight goes off in 60 seconds max with no possibility of a reprieve. (Yeah, I know about the workaround app that you have to remember to start and then terminate.) This issue hits you all kinds of places over and over again. Best I can do (given the lack of documentation) is the double suck of hitting the power/mode button. This will force the backlight on but sucks once because of course doing so every 59 seconds is a big pain and sucks twice because if you press it wrong the phone thinks this means you want to power off. Now and without confirmation. Someone wrote, “…runs on a needlessly complex OS that buries useful apps.” Okay, sure. I’ve had to actually “type” into the find feature to track down apps like the calculator that I know are there but I’ll be damned if I can find them anywhere. The six softkeys are very handy but with this full-featured beast, I need 20 (and then I’d need softkeys to organize the 20 softkeys…). Hmmm, maybe some documentation would help. App parameters for amateurs. Found out (remember, inadequate documentation), that the recorder app happily pauses without notice when you go away to something else like the maps app. It’s still there and running, just no longer recording like maybe this is why you ran the recorder app. The video recorder doesn’t care that you are a power user who has plugged in an 8GB card, you get one hour of recording at a time no ifs ands or buts. And if you weren’t a power user like me, why would you get this phone? Integration disappoints me. I guess convergence just is not here yet even though a device like this is. I can’t tag a GPS lat long to a contact. I can’t properly tag a note (or a doc like a PDF or image showing how to get to their home) to a contact or, heaven forbid, tag a note to a stored GPS location (that the phone calls a landmark). How about recording something via the recorder app and attaching this to a calendar event? I could go on and on and on. That it offers less in this regard than the 10 year old Palm Pilot I was using does really surprise me. It also does not seem that everything, literally the hundreds of settings along with all the data can be backed up for fully recovery. As a sane person I don’t want to have to go through all the setup work again. There is a whole bunch of other stuff, but you have the high points here and after all, there are professional reviews out there. On the good side, the camera works really well…for me. I suppose photophiles would scoff, but the 3mp works fine for me and meets one of my purchase goals to always have a camera handy. Same too for the video recording. Not great, but not bad and meets my needs. The true flash works out really well. I use my N82 more as a camera than anything else. From my N82 experience, I’d rather have an N95 (bigger screen, sexier, no key locking issues with the slider I presume) but that flash thing led to the N82. I’ve taken to using the flash and close-up mode to use my N82 as an always on me document scanner. Thank you, thank you, yes, I know I am starting yet another trend. Those forms the doctor’s office made me fill out, I now have a pretty decent copy. The GPS is slow starting (as all the reviews say, perhaps slower), but I live with it. (Note that I don’t have a data plan—just use WiFi and USB—so this makes things different in a number of areas for me like no AGPS, YMMV). Oh, pay attention to this. Navigation, not Voice Navigation as everyone reports, is a (pretty hefty IMO) extra charge per time option. I thought that I would just navigate looking at the screen and skip the voice and save the money. You don’t pay, YOU GET NO, NO, NAVIGATION. It seemed pretty cool during the brief trial period with issues like you might expect like sub-optimal routing in strange ways. I miss it and would use it if I had it (with or without the voice talking) but I have no problems just navigating like I had for 34 years before I got my N82. WiFi is fine, web browsing okay (remember, only tedious one pixel scrolling). It will connect to hidden access points (and I wish my laptop did so then I would hide my wireless router). Bluetooth works okay. But—I tried for grins to link to my Bluetooth mouse and this did not work and then my mouse started tracking poorly. Bluetooth stereo headphones were fine. Another parameter nit, Bluetooth-PC xfers way too quickly timeout. Like when, gee, imagine this, you have a bunch of photos or some video that you want to xfer to the PC—get the USB cable out. I mean, I don’t care if the xfer takes all night, let it run! Oh, of course, the phone works. People say it is the clearest they have ever heard, wireless or wired. I say, who cares. It works okay, fine. Voice dialing I find useful along with voice known caller announcement. Just keep the damn backlight on so I can see who is calling or what my call duration is, etc. Just one more thing, its locked up twice so far requiring power cycling. I’d rather it

posted on 20 Jun 2008, 13:39

5. msh_Kinger (Posts: 1; Member since: 19 Jun 2008)


camera recording N82 Please:x....

posted on 17 Jul 2008, 16:49

6. ghola (unregistered)


I have this phone and it comes down to user smarts, I read these reviews and they don't scratch the surface of what this can do. All I can say if you don't know how to use it this smart phone may just be smarter than you. -30 fps 640 480 vid anyone, plus camera(nothing competes with thing at the bar. -Hate calling to check yopur messages? Install an answering machine! -Agile messenger anyone? -send video, voice, text(of course) and to your MSN Yahoo what ever.. now! not later -Need games, I like EEMAME personally; install it!, no quarters needed. -Sports Tracker really rocks if you get into it. -Have the latest DIVX/XVID movie? you can watch it with your GF/BF's on any RCA jack'd TV. No need to burn discs or hook up the computer. -Installed a 8GB microSD($50). This phone retired my mini-disc player. I'll stop here.....I think you may be getting a clue. Oh and its a really good small phone, almost forgot about what we were talking about.

posted on 14 Aug 2008, 14:00

7. morteza_bahaly (unregistered)


hi... i have a 5610 not to bad but n82 very very good cell phone ,i need to camera recorder to see. in this base not camera rec.. for see. thanks for your msg...

posted on 21 Sep 2011, 13:38

8. roz (unregistered)


.وبازی های آنN82تم های زیبای گوشی

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia N82

Nokia N82

OS: Symbian 9.2
view full specs
Display2.4 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (167 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 332 MHz, ARM11 processor
128 MB RAM
Size4.40 x 1.97 x 0.68 inches
(112 x 50.2 x 17.3 mm)
4.02 oz  (114 g)
Battery1050 mAh, 4.33 hours talk time

Latest stories