x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III

Posted: , by Daniel P.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III
Introduction:

The Nokia 808 PureView has the smartphone camera we've all been waiting for, and the Samsung Galaxy S III is probably the most hyped and popular Android phone this year.

If you are considering those two for one reason or another, we are pitting both devices against each other to see what's what and help you choose.

Can the blazing fast Samsung Galaxy S III with its thin, light design and beautiful 4.8” HD display drop out of anyone's wish list for the chubby kid Nokia 808 PureView with a beautiful 41MP soul? Read on our quick comparison to find out...


Design:

The Samsung Galaxy S III is undoubtedly a leap forward in chassis design, considering the internals it sports and the huge display it is accommodating. The compact body that is less than 9mm thin makes the Nokia 808 PureView look like, well, we'll say it again, Quasimodo in comparison. Not only does it have a large hump on top of the 14mm thick body, but the bar underneath the screen where the navigational keys are, and the coarse plastic of the body make it look like any of the army of Symbian handsets of years past.

The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III
The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III
The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III

The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (right)


It does feel more solid than the Galaxy S III, though, which is very light, and is easier to operate with one hand thanks to the smaller display. Yet Samsung's phone also has a microSD slot, removable battery and HDMI-out capabilities, so the 808 PureView can't even muster an advantage in expandability, so the design part clearly goes to the Galaxy S III.

Left - The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (bottom) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III
Right - The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (bottom) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III
Top - The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (bottom) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III
Bottom - The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (bottom) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III

Left

Right

Top

Bottom

The sides of the Nokia 808 PureView (top) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (bottom)


Backs - The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III
Rear cameras - The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III
The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (right) - Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III

Backs

Rear cameras

 

The Nokia 808 PureView (left) and the Samsung Galaxy S III (right)



Display:

Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III
The only slight advantage the Nokia 808 PureView 4” AMOLED screen has before the 4.8” Super AMOLED of the Galaxy S III is that it appears brighter thanks to the ClearBlack anireflective layer Nokia has put on top. In everything else, like colors and especially resolution, the 4.8-incher beats the 808 PureView screen by a huge margin.

The 360x640 resolution typical for Nokia Belle handsets makes for a lousy pixel density on this size, whereas the 720x1280 pixels on the Galaxy S III make for crisp and distinct imagery, regardless of the PenTile pixel matrix used compared to the regular RGB on the 808 PureView. Viewing angles are comparable on both handsets, as in very good, but the color gamut appears way more tame on the Galaxy S III, when placed next to the 808 PureView, where the reds can easily turn eye-piercing at full brightness.

Nokia 808 PureView 360-Degrees View:



Samsung Galaxy S III 360-Degrees View:



83 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 03 Jul 2012, 02:54 10

1. andro. (Posts: 1970; Member since: 16 Sep 2011)


Its always going to be the case that the likes of the s3 would massively outcasts the 808 in every aspect except the camera. The 808 isn't being picked up by carriers so for a phone of its type and a price of 400+ bucks it'll sell only to a very small niche group of people,you themselves will be quite happy with the device no doubt. After being talking to a Nokia rep recently who was saying preview was years in development for symbian only and that it will not be compatible with wp for the foreseeable future you wonder is it future money and r&d times ultimately lost again by Nokia as the resultant end sales income will be quite small.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 12:51 3

17. Extraneus (Posts: 10; Member since: 02 Jun 2012)


"and that it will not be compatible with wp for the foreseeable future"

The opposite of what Nokia has officially announced: The Pureview tech will be incorporated into the coming WP8 devices, expected sometime this fall...

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 03:08 10

2. THEAXE (Posts: 5; Member since: 03 Jul 2012)


This review seems of no help as everybody knows Galaxy S3 is superior to Nokia 808 in every aspect except the camera dept......Just waste of time .....

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 09:05 4

12. bbblader (Posts: 581; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


well yes but I would still pick the 808 to have than the s3
I need that kind of cameraphone right now
but if the s3 had the same camera of course I would choose the s3
but the luckyest people are the ones that want both and have both

posted on 12 Jul 2012, 16:50 3

81. Jaris (Posts: 3; Member since: 12 Jul 2012)


Indeed this is like comparing apples to oranges. Yet, I still bought the Nokia 808 due to its superior camera. Galaxy 3 did not offer anything special over iphone 4S that I had, but Nokia 808 sure did. The camera is awesome, nothing you have ever seen in mobile devices. And the latest Symbian Belle OS is fairly good and in many respect as good as ios or anroid. Ok maybe you cannot load all the hundred thousand apps, but who needs all of them anyway.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 03:14 6

3. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 3040; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


Nokia needs to make a windows mobile phone put of this and maybe then consider. But I'll take the SGS3 over this any day of the week, it's camera is excellent as well.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 03:31 5

4. imran_khan0786 (Posts: 61; Member since: 21 Jun 2012)


My friends using s3 worst camera in s3 than he take 808 superb camera and performance wise also too good. Its just a single core but its perfect working. Don't wast money in Samsung. Better to wait. And take i5.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 09:03 7

11. SleepingOz (unregistered)


Cool story bro!

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 22:57 7

25. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 3040; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


Lmao good one troll you must be blind if you think the SGS3 has the worst camera ever and even more blind if you think this Nokia phone has smooth performance. Look at the simply sliding through home screens it lags like crazy. Keep trolling tho Nokia fanboy, the truth hurts I know.

posted on 06 Jul 2012, 13:28

71. OptimusOne (Posts: 694; Member since: 22 May 2012)


man iphone camera is worse

posted on 29 Jul 2012, 07:30

86. cootbtyt (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 Jul 2012)


Have you tried belle fp1 before? I know sgs3 is much faster, but it doesn't mean that belle fp1 is laggy :/

posted on 10 Aug 2012, 23:16

87. mancom (Posts: 1; Member since: 10 Aug 2012)


well maybe nokia 808 has the advantage on the camera but who care's? samsung has the clear advantage on all aspects. right now a lot of user already switch to samsung why? because of it's superb performance compare it to the lousy nokia symbian unit

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 04:16 10

5. sid07desai (Posts: 268; Member since: 03 May 2012)


Galaxy S3: Phone and UI (Android) 9/10; Camera 7.5/10
Pureview 808: Phone experience (Symbian) 5/10; Camera 9.5/10

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 05:16 7

7. Birds (Posts: 1017; Member since: 21 Nov 2011)


I agree. Nokia 808 gets basic phone needs done but the camera is amazing. The GSIII gets basic phone needs done with many luxuries along the way with a pretty decent camera.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 12:51 9

16. rnk.khch (Posts: 86; Member since: 30 Jan 2012)


Isn't the 808 camera 20/10?!!!

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 14:00 5

21. SleepingOz (unregistered)


No, it isn't. Still the best camera featured on a phone but far from being as good as a LEICA.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 15:44 6

22. rnk.khch (Posts: 86; Member since: 30 Jan 2012)


Well first of all, the point is how smartphone cameras compare with each other!! Second of all, Nokia 808 PureView ties with the Canon EOS 5D Mark III, the knig of DSLR. It' the first example of the new PureView technology, and the future would see dumping of all traditional camera technologies, such as leica, in favor of PureView.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 16:03 7

23. SleepingOz (unregistered)


Still 9.5 is the right score! 10/10 would be perfection but as we all know perfection doesn't exist. Now talking about 20/10, sounds so BIASED!(and that's probably the case)
"Nokia 808 PureView ties with the Canon EOS 5D Mark III, the knig of DSLR." Really?????? And FYI, EOS 5D ain't no king of DSLR. It's not even the best of the EOS series.
"and the future would see dumping of all traditional camera technologies, such as leica, in favor of PureView." ROFLMAO!
You should do some research before stating such crap, bro! no kidding!

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 22:14 4

24. rnk.khch (Posts: 86; Member since: 30 Jan 2012)


I have done my research!! Can you illuminate us as to what the king of DSLR is? Here is the web address of the canon EOS series. (http://shop.usa.canon.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servl​et/subCategory_10051_10051_-1_12164). Where is the one you think is better than Mark III in the EOS series?!!!

Have you even seen the shots taken by Nokia 808 PureView?!! Do you even know what you are talking about?!!

The point of 20/10 was to say that no other smartphone camera can even come close to Nokia 808 PureView in terms of picture of video quality. I don't know how you mesured this to be 9.5!!! Maybe you can illuminate the world on that too!!

posted on 04 Jul 2012, 14:04 7

31. BiN4RY (Posts: 82; Member since: 22 Jun 2012)


"Nokia 808 PureView ties with the Canon EOS 5D Mark III"

lmao

posted on 10 Jul 2012, 01:49

77. Killer_Instinct (Posts: 22; Member since: 26 Jun 2012)


LOL...KEEP TROLLING...

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 04:49 10

6. steelicon (Posts: 313; Member since: 02 Apr 2011)


As far as connectivity goes, the Samsung Galaxy S III calls everything that the Nokia 808 PureView offers but FM transmittance, and raises with 21Mbps 4G and Wi-Fi Direct. It is not pentaband, though, so you have to get the special version for T-Mobile in the US if you subscribe to that carrier, for example.

You forgot to mention 3.5mm AV out to SD TV, standard microHDMI instead of MHL, Offline Maps, Offline GPS, Offline Navigation, Offline Voice Command, Offline Voice Dial.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 05:28 1

8. B3BLW29 (Posts: 237; Member since: 02 Mar 2012)


Wait till Pureview comes on WP8. A fair comparison would be WP8(With pureview) against GS 3 or anything new in android.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 06:50 5

9. PhoneArenaUser (Posts: 5490; Member since: 05 Aug 2011)


"Nokia 808 PureView vs Samsung Galaxy S III"

In my opinion Samsung Galaxy S III is the winner.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 09:44 6

14. SleepingOz (unregistered)


No contest!

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 13:06 3

18. Extraneus (Posts: 10; Member since: 02 Jun 2012)


That really depends on your needs...

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 22:59 6

26. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 3040; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


If you want the best camera, buy a camera. If you one one of the best cell phones money can buy with a great camera for a phone, get the SGS3.

I'm sorry but other than its camera this phone is crap. Needs WM OS at least.

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 07:44 3

10. ajac09 (Posts: 1367; Member since: 30 Sep 2009)


next they will do Nokia 808 vs a piece of trash trash still wins

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 09:08 3

13. bbblader (Posts: 581; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


since when did the iphone 4s win the last time?

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 09:59 5

15. Dark4o90 (Posts: 205; Member since: 20 Feb 2011)


just useless comparison i won't give 6 or $700 dollars for a camera S3 is way better if i want a camera i'll bye one for $300 or even less

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 13:07

19. Extraneus (Posts: 10; Member since: 02 Jun 2012)


And if I want a tablet, I'll get one with a bigger screen...

posted on 03 Jul 2012, 13:55 4

20. SleepingOz (unregistered)


You can't carry a tab in your pocket. I'm pretty sure you'd love the GSIII screen if it was featured on a Nokia device.

posted on 04 Jul 2012, 00:24 5

27. jakeeramesajero (Posts: 3; Member since: 17 Jan 2012)


Basically NOKIA 808 wins....on the fact that NOKIA made this phone for demonstrating a superior camera. Thats the main goal of this phone and they actually got it with an amazing run!

posted on 10 Jul 2012, 01:53 2

78. Killer_Instinct (Posts: 22; Member since: 26 Jun 2012)


LOL...808 WINS BECAUSE OF THE CAMERA FEATURE ALONE..LOL KEEP TROLLING...

posted on 05 Jul 2012, 14:35

54. dana247xx (Posts: 10; Member since: 03 Jul 2012)


not bad at all..

posted on 07 Jul 2012, 10:00 2

76. EmreBoncuk (Posts: 1; Member since: 07 Jul 2012)


Hi everone,i dont hink that this is a fair comparison,firstly,sgs3 has a quad core cpu and a gig of ram,,808 has 1.3 ghz single core cpu and 512 mb of ram...i think if 808 had a same hardware of sgs3 would be an awesome device...in this video 808 has a terrible browser compared to sgs3 :)

posted on 17 Jul 2012, 01:23 1

83. Mfa901 (Posts: 66; Member since: 14 Jul 2012)


Nokia 808 was an experiment by nokia to test 41mp.

may s3 has fast prossers and ____________.
but nokia is the father of smartphones
and this android,ios,etc are new in this game

posted on 22 Jul 2012, 00:11 1

84. tanjunse (Posts: 5; Member since: 21 Jul 2012)


Nokia 808 is a camera with some phone functionalities.

Samsung Galaxy S3 is a phone with some camera functionalities.

You make your choice. I buy phones. If I want a camera, I'll get one of those with high speed like Casio which has everything that Nokia 808 has plus more.

posted on 25 Jul 2012, 15:19

85. arunvincent (Posts: 1; Member since: 25 Jul 2012)


i like nokia n808 ..... Camera , sound also good nokia n808 a good all rounder phone

posted on 13 Aug 2012, 02:33 2

88. mulleady (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Aug 2012)


The majority of people on this blog who label the Nokia 808 'crap' have obviously not seen or used one. I have the 808 & S3 and both are excellent. Symbian Belle works fine and includes maps for loads of countries. If anything the Nokia 808 is tougher and better made and the S3 has a much better screen. Apart from that, you are comparing 'chalk & cheese' and it is pointless. However, the Nokia has superb GPS and mapping, great call quality, superb HD stereo video and photos that outshine my {Panasonic Lumix TZ7 compact in colour & detail. I love the Samsung Galaxy series but calling the Nokia 808 'crap' just shows ignorance and lack of knowledge. Don't offer categorical opinions until you see and try something. The Nokia 808 is certainly not for everybody but that doesn't make something rubbish by default..

posted on 06 Oct 2012, 02:25 1

89. mcfee (Posts: 5; Member since: 06 Oct 2012)


LOVE my Nokia 808...wanted it before they mess it up with Windows and hope they don't go totally windows.... My only compliant is it is not a dual SIM that will work unlocked on Verizon and Sprint type non-SIM cell networks.... Other than that I love everything about it.... T Mobile has great-unlimited rates here but needs more towers connections in the US. Will confess already dropped my 808 face down on the concrete at the Best Buy the other night and Nokia is still made like a tank...only a tiny barely seen make as a result of that hard fall and still works great! I do think they charge enough to keep making it in Europe with well-treated and skilled workers.... Not looking forward to the plan to increase Asian manufacturing of Nokia unless of course they are treated as well and are just as skilled as the European workers. My Nokia seems to pair easily with most everything but the IPhone...My IPhone 4s seems to have problems pairing with a number of things that I have that are bluetooth.

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories