x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Kyocera Rise Review

Posted: , by Brian K.

Tags:

Go to page
Kyocera Rise Review
Introduction:

Kyocera is not usually the first name you think of when smartphones come to mind, but they have an admirable track record of keeping costs low while offering solid if not top-tier products. Formerly Sanyo, Kyocera has had their share of innovative designs and they have held their own in the entry-level market. The Rise embraces this philosophy, bringing Android 4.0 and a sliding QWERTY keyboard at a low price. Packaged with the Rise you’ll find a microUSB cable, AC adapter and a 2GB microSD card.


Design:

Unlike the peanut-shaped Milano, Kyocera has taken a more traditional approach to the Rise. The top and bottom are curved and finished with soft touch plastic, making the device very comfortable and reassuring to hold in landscape mode. It’s a good design choice, as you’ll likely be sliding out the keyboard while doing most anything on the Rise. Around back the silver battery door houses the 3.2 megapixel camera and LED flash. The back is curved to naturally fit the contours of your hand, making the Rise quite comfortable to hold.

The Kyocera Rise is quite comfortable to hold - Kyocera Rise Review
The Kyocera Rise is quite comfortable to hold - Kyocera Rise Review
The Kyocera Rise is quite comfortable to hold - Kyocera Rise Review
The Kyocera Rise is quite comfortable to hold - Kyocera Rise Review

The Kyocera Rise is quite comfortable to hold


Kyocera Rise Review

You can compare the Kyocera Rise with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The keyboard is almost very good, with adequate key spacing and feedback. The space bar is a bit too small and stiff for our liking, though we will admit that it feels like it will break in with continued use. They keyboard slides open and closed with a very reassuring and heavy spring assist, but it does wobble a bit while closed. It is not as good as we saw on the Milano, but at the same time we’re not worried about long-term stability.

The keyboard - Kyocera Rise Review
The keyboard - Kyocera Rise Review

The keyboard


Camera - The back of the Kyocera Rise - Kyocera Rise Review
Battery compartment - The back of the Kyocera Rise - Kyocera Rise Review
microSD card slot - The back of the Kyocera Rise - Kyocera Rise Review

Camera

Battery compartment

microSD card slot

The back of the Kyocera Rise



Kyocera Rise Review
Display:


Otherwise the design is fairly non-descript, with a 3.5” HVGA IPS display sitting above four capacitive keys (the Rise adds a menu button to the three tradition Android 4.0 keys.) The display is again a weak spot on the phone, even though the resolution has been bumped from the Milano. At just 165ppi images are grainy and text is far from sharp, and while viewing angles are good the display washes out in bright light.

Kyocera Rise 360-degrees View:



18 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 03 Sep 2012, 03:59 6

1. Veigald (Posts: 230; Member since: 13 Jan 2012)


5 seems a bit harsh when reading the review. Even the call quality was rated at 7.5 individually, so why the 5 overall?

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 05:40 6

3. neutralguy (Posts: 1152; Member since: 30 Apr 2012)


here's how you rate a device.

Get phonearena's rating + 1 or 2, boom. There you have it. the real rating ;)

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 19:25 3

11. OptimusOne (Posts: 694; Member since: 22 May 2012)


so palm pre gets 11.9?

posted on 04 Sep 2012, 01:37

13. Raymond_htc (Posts: 430; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)


NO. Palm pre gets such a high mark due to phone arena reviewer being tooo biased. personally i give it 7.5...

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 04:20 2

2. Raptor9142 (Posts: 41; Member since: 15 Apr 2012)


it does wat it is costed for.
for normal use, its quite a decent phone with fine battery.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 10:48

7. 305Bucko (Posts: 506; Member since: 07 Aug 2011)


Yea, I mean really, 5 is generous considering this is not a high end device. I wouldnt even consider this a mid range.

Its a low end Android that I would give to a Kid as a first smartphone. For a low-end Android it scores a very high-5

Rating is on point

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 14:08

10. Contreramanjaro (Posts: 153; Member since: 04 Dec 2011)


The review is of the product and how well it works, not how it compares to other phones.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 20:58

12. 305Bucko (Posts: 506; Member since: 07 Aug 2011)


scales are based on comparison. ratings would be pointless if you cant compare to others in its class.

pretend for a second the kiocera rise is the only phone in the world. It would score a 10. Nobody would complain because theres nothing better, nothing worse.

However, the moment just one new phone comes out that is better, the old phone becomes a 1 and the new one becomes a 10.

The 5 point rating in this review is suitable. This is neither the worst phone in the world, nor the best. It is simply right in the middle. A midrange phone.

posted on 05 Sep 2012, 02:27

15. Mittal (Posts: 427; Member since: 14 Dec 2011)


cant agree totally with that...
yes ratings are relative, but relative with devices of similar class in the similar period....
u cant compare this to the Galaxy Nexus and say that if the Gnex got X, i will give it X/2

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 06:55

4. squallz506 (banned) (Posts: 1075; Member since: 19 Oct 2011)


$100 ics slider off contract (vm) isnt bad at all

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 08:12

5. Jonathan41 (Posts: 526; Member since: 22 Mar 2012)


Good phone for the price. I accidentally clicked on this. I've learned to ignore PA reviews all together.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 08:59 3

6. loken (Posts: 462; Member since: 09 May 2012)


looks like xperia mini dont u think..

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 12:32

8. sadaivadai (Posts: 156; Member since: 22 Nov 2011)


The keypad exactly looks like xperia mini pro ..

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 12:56 1

9. downphoenix (Posts: 2293; Member since: 19 Jun 2010)


Well I didnt think it was gonna be as low as a 5, but it seems for what it is, it will suit my wife. It certainly sounds better than her Intercept was. Then again, it is a pretty new phone, its tough to say if this phone will maintain the performance it has or if it will degrade over time.

BTW, this review just proves that Phone Arena doesnt know what its doing when it comes to reviews. They gave the Intercept an 8. It was a crappy phone even when it first came out, LOL. This may be a crappy phone too but there's certainly worse ones that have been released within the past few months. I've had to do a couple factory resets on her due to the very slow performance on it, 3G drop offs, freezing, etc. Never got bad enough that we had to contact Sprint to replace it, but it got pretty close to that.

posted on 25 Sep 2012, 13:49

16. laneglee (Posts: 1; Member since: 25 Sep 2012)


A lot of the dropped 3g and slow performance has more to do with the carrier than it does with the phone.

posted on 04 Sep 2012, 21:40

14. grumpytowne (Posts: 1; Member since: 04 Sep 2012)


I think 5 is a little harsh. I couldnt be more happy with my rise. for the price it does everything I need it to and the battery lasts me through the day. I'm way more satisfied with this then my Marquee. The best part is with the trade in program I got to get rid of most my old phones and didnt have to renew a 2 year contract!

posted on 29 Nov 2012, 14:39

17. tearjay (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 Nov 2012)


I like this phone, its my first android phone and though you can tell its a bit slower this phone is a good deal it was 100 then 80 now its 70 on amazon i got it for 30 at target for the black friday deal. My friend has a high end phone and the biggest diffrence between this and his android is the multi tasking other then that this phone will work well. You cant do tons of stuff at the same time and some of the 3d games just wont work well but as a phone to surf the web listen to music download 2d games and apps its cool. I havnt even turned the phone part on yet its a virgin mobile rise and i just lay in bed and use it like a tablet withmy wifi. I saw a tablet on sale at office max or office depot i cant remmeber what store it was and they had a tablet with the exact same a8 proccessor on it that this phone had and it was on sale for 200 the biggest diffrence was the storage an d the screen size with was 3.5 inches more it was a 7 inch tablet. If you just want a cool phone that can download aps and dosnt have to do everything i say get this phone.

posted on 01 Dec 2012, 10:23

18. tvleaf (Posts: 1; Member since: 01 Dec 2012)


i have had my rise for two days and i do not have many complaints about it. ive downloaded apps, watched videos, and the servie is pretty good, i like the messaging setup. only complaints i do have are that its a little bit slow and it doesnt feel like the most durable phone ive ever had. but overall it is a good phone, especially for someone getting their first smart phone. it is also very cost efficent for what it does.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Kyocera Rise

Kyocera Rise

OS: Android 4.0
view full specs
Display3.5 inches, 320 x 480 pixels (165 ppi) IPS LCD
Camera3.2 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2 MSM8655, Single core, 1000 MHz
512 MB RAM
Size4.45 x 2.38 x 0.56 inches
(113.0 x 60.5 x 14.3 mm)
4.23 oz  (157 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 8.6 hours talk time

Latest stories