x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 700 Review

Posted: , by Daniel P.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia 700 Review
Introduction:

Dubbed the company's most compact smartphone to date in terms of cubic inches overall, the Nokia 700 is indeed a neatly packed tiny handset running the new Symbian Belle.

The phone has a pretty good laundry list of specs for its price point, and should appeal nicely to those who like their phones in small sizes with a variety of colors to choose from. Is this enough to battle formidable opposing hobbits like the Sony Ericsson Xperia ray? Read on to find out...

Nokia 700 Review
Nokia 700 Review
In the box:

  • In-ear headphones
  • Wall charger
  • microUSB cable
  • Warranty and information leaflets

Design:

We mentioned the Xperia ray in the intro, since that's exactly the phone that the Nokia 700 reminded us of when we grabbed it at first. The 700 is slightly thicker, but shorter and less wide, thus indeed stuffing the least cubic inches of all smartphones, although the difference is minimal. As you can imagine, it is very easy to handle and operate with one hand, and even gets lost in your palm if you have larger hands.

The Nokia 700 is very easy to handle and operate with one hand - Nokia 700 Review
The Nokia 700 is very easy to handle and operate with one hand - Nokia 700 Review
The Nokia 700 is very easy to handle and operate with one hand - Nokia 700 Review

The Nokia 700 is very easy to handle and operate with one hand


Nokia 700 Review

You can compare the Nokia 700 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The 3.2” ClearBlack AMOLED display boasts nice, saturated colors, great contrast and viewing angles, and good pixel density at 220ppi, courtesy of the typical for Symbian 360x640 resolution. To top it off, the screen is pretty bright, ensuring above average visibility outside, which we don't see often with Super AMOLED displays, for instance.

The 3.2” ClearBlack AMOLED display boasts nice, saturated colors - Nokia 700 Review
The 3.2” ClearBlack AMOLED display boasts nice, saturated colors - Nokia 700 Review

The 3.2” ClearBlack AMOLED display boasts nice, saturated colors


The Nokia 700 has a metallic battery cover, which comes in different colors, always matching the variety of colors the phone chassis is offered in. The chrome-like lock button, volume rocker and camera key on the right  also add some pizzazz, but are too smallish and flush with the surface to be found comfortably, and their travel is pretty shallow, especially the lock key. Below the Gorilla Glass screen protection in the front we also have three physical buttons - call, end and menu - positioned on a plastic bar. They have a good travel and click to them, but again come smallish for larger digits. The loudspeaker grill is frontal and recessed, making the phone look like a slider.

The loudspeaker grill is frontal and recessed, making the phone look like a slider - Nokia 700 Review
The loudspeaker grill is frontal and recessed, making the phone look like a slider - Nokia 700 Review

The loudspeaker grill is frontal and recessed, making the phone look like a slider


Volume, power and camera keys (right) - Nokia 700 Review
Charging port, 3.5 mm jack (top) - Nokia 700 Review
Left edge - Nokia 700 Review

Volume, power and camera keys (right)

Charging port, 3.5 mm jack (top)

Left edge


Back - Nokia 700 Review
Camera - Nokia 700 Review
Battery compartment - Nokia 700 Review

Back

Camera

Battery compartment



Nokia 700 360-degrees View:



10 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 30 Nov 2011, 09:41 11

1. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


It's enough. Are you people from PA blind or something?
What the hell ist that: "but lacking in 3rd party apps."??
How you ever searched apps for Nokia?
I seriously doubt.
I repeat it once more.
I have every app on my N8 which you can get on your android phone.
Period.
And no, they are not worse in terms of quality.
So what the hell? Can't you dig a LITTLE big deeper before skip to the conslusion??

One more thing.
Every Nokia phone reviewed in last couple weeks got score below 8.
No matter was it N9, Lumia 800 (the best what Windows phone can offer), 701 or 700.
You don't like Nokia, Microsoft or what?
And don't tell me that every single android phone is better than those mentioned above.

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 09:49 4

3. LordBonztie (Posts: 51; Member since: 14 Nov 2011)


symbian is the most flexible and customizable os.
try doing that you'll see that 32GB worth of memory isnt enough.

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 09:46 3

2. HTCiscool (Posts: 449; Member since: 16 Jul 2011)


Its simply too small, the Xperia Ray was the smallest anyone would accept at 3.3"
Its simply too tiny. Its quite cute though =D

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 10:42 6

4. BlazinEmperor (Posts: 35; Member since: 24 Nov 2011)


I have over 300 3rd party apps on my Nokia N8, so I really don't understand what you reviewers are up to? Everybody musn't own an Android powered phone... And only 40% of those apps on Android App Store work fluidly on mid-range spec... The rest are either not supported or R.A.M intensive & crash constantly.... With a Nokia Symbian phone, you're sure that 100% off all apps in Nokia Store will work perfectly... Nokia optimises Symbian, just like Apple does with iOS.. But Android phones are not optimized, some of them even die within a year because the hardware has been over-used & over-stressed... So if you can afford this phone, don't hesitate to get it.. Flash lite 4.0 plays flash videos too, these reviewers are lying... If you doubt me, then Google IT!

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 11:00 3

5. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


Amen brother.
I can play youtube using native app.
And...can anyone android/iphone user tell me absolutely honestly...how many apps do you really use? In a daily basis.
You really need 1000+ apps to operate your phone properly?

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 12:58 3

6. ReturningToNokia (Posts: 130; Member since: 09 Jul 2011)


It's not so much that someone needs hundreds, or thousands of apps; it's quality, high end, top tier apps be it games, productivity, or utilities. Look, I have a N8, and only a handful of apps installed. Why only a handful, because I don't find that the Nokia store has desireable apps!

Where's Kindle? Where's IMDb? PvZ? Evernote? Netflix? These are just a few, and NO, 3rd party, so called 'equivalents' don't count as far as I'm concerned. Yes, I knew these apps weren't available at the time of my purchase, but these apps are still no where to be found in the Nokia Store, and it has nothing to do with the 'announcement'. Millions upon millions of Nokia customers, and these developers never wanted to bother 'cashing' in on this platform even before the announcement...says a lot.

So, be it iOS, Android OS, or Windows Phone, the apps at Nokia Store fall short. Don't get me wrong, I like my N8, but I will definitely be retiring it once the Nokia Apollo devices are released on U.S. shores.

Besides, did you really expect this, obviously, low tier Nokia device to have a rating of a 8,9, or 10?

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 13:09

7. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


Why not 8? Is it so much worse than mid range android phones?
And sorry but....you can use google, right?
I can give you at least 2 sites where you will probably find what are you looking for.
I don't use Nokia Store. Sure, it's more comfortable to have everything in my i-net store, but you can do a little bit more effort to get what you want.
And you see. IMDB...I prefer great maps to IMDB because I don't use it (I don;t need that kind of widget..I think your point was about widgets). And if I want sth from the movie world I simply use my browser (opera mobile/mini or native)

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 15:44

8. needamob (Posts: 1; Member since: 30 Nov 2011)


Hmmm..
Well.. even I fell in love with this phone.. much so much.. that I actually wanted to get.
BUT.. I must say.. I was truly disappointed with the phones loudspeaker.
The reviewer mention that it packs quite a punch.. which is far from reality. And to confirm my worst fears.. I tested the phone from different vendors.. and it was far from awesome.
I must say.. I loved the phone.. completely.. BUT why would I ever buy a phone.. that I cannot hear when it rings?
WHY Nokia? Why would do such a sick deed? Build an awesome phone.. with a lamespeaker?
I guess the reviewers score was well deserved.. period!!

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 18:08

9. 7thspaceman (Posts: 1080; Member since: 14 Feb 2011)


hmm maybe Windows phone 7 Tango can be put on this phone and it sold as a budget windows phone 7 device. it may seem far fetched but tango is going to be on some windows phones soon

posted on 02 Dec 2011, 03:49 1

10. utopium (Posts: 5; Member since: 02 Dec 2011)


It's a lovely little phone, got one for my wife. Quite a lot faster than my N8 (with Anna - so maybe mine will get faster with Belle too), even the stock browser is a lot more fluid - quite usable. Opera Mini also a lot more fluid, perfect for use. Interface is very fast, the screen is absolutely great. The weakness is the photo camera, the video camera seems pretty decent to me (I must still make more samples). The screen is too small for people with big hands, portrait QWERTY might not be easy for them. But for the ones which want a small and elegant phone, I would say that this is a very good choice.

About the apps, N8 has indeed lots of apps, I have about 300 installed on mine and they cover well everything I need ... Gravity is a VERY good Twitter (and Facebook) client, better than the original one ... fMobi a very good Facebook client (better than the one I have on my iPod), Youtube Downloader is pretty decent too (now that you can watch videos without downloading them), Opera Mini very fast, a lot of very useful Nokia Apps like Nokia Situations, Maps, Bubbles, Play To, Drop, Big Scren, Sleeping Screen, Trailers, Chat, CNN, WRC, Skype, Nimbuzz, Whatsapp, dictionaries, converters, Quick Office, Picsel Office, etc, the games are quite good: Sparkle, Dungeon Hunter 2, Asphalt 6, Spiderman, The Settlers, Need for Speed, Real Golf, Incredible Circus (this is only available for Nokia) and of course Angry Birds/Fruit Ninja. It is true also that 700 does not have all those available, there are still some of the N8 titles which are not available in the store for 700 (Sparkle for example), but that is probably due to the lack of testing on the new phone.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia 700

Nokia 700

OS: Symbian Belle
view full specs
Display3.2 inches, 360 x 640 pixels (229 ppi) AMOLED
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 1300 MHz, ARM11 processor
512 MB RAM
Size4.33 x 1.97 x 0.38 inches
(110 x 50 x 9.7 mm)
3.39 oz  (96 g)
Battery1080 mAh, 7.16 hours talk time

Latest stories