x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

CES 2016 schedule: What happens when

Posted: , by Chris P.

Tags:

CES 2016 schedule: What happens when

Inaugurated nearly five decades ago, the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) is a spin-off from the Chicago Music Show and having made its debut in New York, it has since taken permanent residence in Las Vegas where it first appeared in 1978 under the Winter Consumer Electronics Show (WCES) name. Today, we know it as simply CES, occurring in January of every year in the vast Las Vegas Convention Center in Nevada.

In 2015, CES attracted some 3,600 exhibitors and over 170,000 attendees—including media and industry professionals—spanning some 2.4 million square feet of exhibitor space. In total, some 3.2 million square feet are dedicated to the enormity of an even that is CES. At such a scale, you just know that PhoneArena.com will be there, covering everything from major announcements to niche new gadgets and accessories. Here's a quick rundown of what's scheduled to happen, and when:

January 4, Monday


AT&T Conference (Developer Summit)

Live stream HERE
Event begins: All day

CES 2016 schedule: What happens when
AT&T's annual Developer Summit Event is already halfway through, with the past weekend having been focused on the so-called Hackaton where coders can turn their ideas into apps and show off their skills in various competitions for cash and other prizes. The AT&T Conference mentioned here will focus on AT&T's agenda for 2016, with various executives and industry insiders sharing their views and goals for the new year.

January 5, Tuesday


LG Press Conference

Live stream HERE
Event begins 8 am PT | 9 am MT | 10 am CT | 11 am ET

CES 2016 schedule: What happens when
While LG hasn't shared any specifics with us so far, we do know that the company will have a few device announcements for its press conference at CES 2016. Company representatives have noted that new accessories will also be made available for demo purposes before entering the consumer market.

Huawei Press Conference

Live stream HERE
Event begins 10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 am CT | 1 pm ET

CES 2016 schedule: What happens when
On the Huawei front, it's rather slim pickings as far as our intel goes. From what we know so far, it's almost assured that the Chinese giant will demo its gargantuan, 6-inch Mate 8, with which we'll likely have the opportunity to spend some hands-on time, and share our first impressions with you. 

Samsung Press Conference

Live stream HERE
Event begins 2 pm PT | 3 pm MT | 4 pm CT | 5 pm ET

CES 2016 schedule: What happens when
Of all the companies on the list, Samsung's been keeping on the hush-hush the most. We have absolutely no prior intel suggesting the company will have this or that device up on the stage, so we're as curious as you are. Still, given the scheduled press conference, we're guessing that we'll see at least one new smartphone from the Android leader.

ZTE Press Conference

Event begins 3 pm PT | 4 pm MT | 5 pm CT | 6 pm ET

CES 2016 schedule: What happens when
ZTE's is another slot on our calendar that we're not quite sure what to expect from. Still, an update to its new Axon line has likely been in the pipeline for a while now, so it's certainly possible that we get to see an upgraded model. 

Sony Press Conference

Live stream HERE
Event begins 5 pm PT | 6 pm MT | 7 pm CT | 8 pm ET

CES 2016 schedule: What happens when
Apart from a lonely invitation, Sony has shared nothing with us regarding its plans for its press conference—not that that's surprising. Given how the high-end Xperia Z5 family was only recently introduced, it's unlikely that Sony will have anything major, though we've been hearing rumblings of a possible Z5 Ultra that will continue the legacy of the now obsolete Xperia Z Ultra released all the way back in 2013.

January 7, Thursday


BLU Product Launch

Event to take place at 5 pm PT | 6 pm MT | 7 pm CT | 8 pm ET

CES 2016 schedule: What happens when
Miami-based BLU, known for its value-for-money devices, will hold a product launch event come Thursday at the Hakkasan. Specifics pertaining to said product(s) are not yet available.

15 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 04 Jan 2016, 07:37 2

1. TheBiz (Posts: 231; Member since: 13 Apr 2015)


waiting for asus ZF3 and LG flexible displays

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 07:42 3

2. dimas (Posts: 1804; Member since: 22 Jul 2014)


Get all the nerdy and techie popcorns. It will be a royal cheese rumble on PA comments starting tomorrow.

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 07:57 1

3. vuyonc (Posts: 983; Member since: 24 Feb 2014)


Dear Samsung

Please switch to full Magnesium or aluminium alloy frame with the S7 series, bring back the microSD card slot and eliminate burn in.

Dear Sony

Please cross the 10 hour screen on time/3 day battery line and fix your camera software.

Dear LG

Please make a POLED display that doesn't insult my eyes.

Dear Huawei

Please stick with 1080p when using the Kirin 950.

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 08:10 4

5. TyrionLannister (unregistered)


Samsung, Sony or LG isn't releasing any new high-end phone at CES. So your comment is kinda irrelevant.

And 10 hour SoT basically means 1 day of very heavy use. A phone with 10 hour SoT in 1 day will barely make 4 hours SoT over 3 days with internet connected(

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 10:29

12. vuyonc (Posts: 983; Member since: 24 Feb 2014)


It's obviously likely that few OEMs if any at all will release high end phones at CES. But can't a man dream :(?

Sorry I should have specified "10 hour SoT with 1.5 to 2 days mixed to heavy usage" or something like that.

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 08:17 3

6. SYSTEM_LORD (Posts: 305; Member since: 05 Oct 2015)


Had that with my Z3C when it was on a KK ROM...

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 08:48 2

8. buccob (Posts: 2490; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)


Well, depends a lot on your usage... I always get around 5 hours (still on KitKat) and I've never got above 7.... Though I do have Google Now active, Llama, Smart Connect, Lifelog, App Remote, and some other background services always active... so....

But the Z3C is definitely the best optimized and the longest lasting phone of its time...

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 12:50

13. drifter77 (Posts: 177; Member since: 12 Jun 2015)


Yeah on KK. Ever since I updated the Z3C to Lollipop and battery life has dropped. I still get nearly 9 hrs SoT on Note 5 with no gaming.

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 08:53 1

9. BigBoss10 (Posts: 264; Member since: 31 Aug 2012)


Dear Santa

I want a Lamborghini Aventador.

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 08:05 1

4. realjjj (Posts: 356; Member since: 28 Jan 2014)


Nvidia CES event on Jan 4 at 6PThttp://www.nvidia.com/object/ces2016.html
Faraday is showing it's concept car at 8pm PThttp://faradayfuture.com/ces2016/

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 08:44 1

7. ibend (Posts: 3153; Member since: 30 Sep 2014)


Faraday want to rival Tesla? where is Edison now? o.O

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 13:56

14. ShadowHammer (Posts: 88; Member since: 13 Mar 2015)


Well, there was the Edsel back in the late 50s...but it didn't go so well. ;)

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 09:02 1

10. Dude2014 (Posts: 433; Member since: 12 Feb 2014)


HTC is not relevent for CES anymore? :(

posted on 04 Jan 2016, 17:20

15. SuperMaoriBro (Posts: 520; Member since: 23 Jun 2012)


"we've been hearing rumblings of a possible Z5 Ultra that will continue the legacy of the now obsolete Xperia Z Ultra"
I wouldn't call the Z Ultra obsolete -https://youtu.be/FOAG-zPKDEA

posted on 07 Jan 2016, 04:08

16. altimo (Posts: 2; Member since: 27 Dec 2015)


Waiting for the LG G Flex 3 to be announced

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories