x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Tablet P Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
Sony Tablet P Review
Introduction:

For a company that’s still getting its foot established in the US smartphone market, we were surely impressed with the Sony Tablet S when it was released for too long ago, which was remarked as Sony’s first step into the Android Honeycomb realm. Following in suit, the Sony Tablet P sports nearly the same hardware specs, but there’s something visually different about it. Of course, we know that Sony is all about making statements – and they’re surely doing it with this. Donning a foldable design, stuffed with two 5.5-inch displays, it’s obviously going to stand out amongst the crop for being, you know, different. Well, its fresh appearance is seemingly eye-catching, but let’s find out if it’s practical for a tablet.
Sony Tablet P Review
Sony Tablet P Review

The package contains:


  • Wall Charger
  • Quick Start Guide


Design:

Simply, we have to say that the Sony Tablet P is a quirky  little one – that’s because our curiosities are stirred upon gazing it for the first time. Thinking about it more, to us, it seems as though Sony has reinvented the clutch bag because when it’s closed,  it really looks like some kind of modern one. Thankfully, its unusual design contributes to its allure, but at the same time, we’re content with its overall sturdy build quality – even despite its all-plastic body. Unlike most of its rivals, the Sony Tablet P is easily tucked away in a bag due to its smaller footprint when it’s closed, thus, making it extremely travel friendly. Ultimately, we have to give kudos to Sony for concocting something that easily captures our attention, especially when it’s one of the few tablets to stay away from the usual slab design.

The unusual design of the Sony Tablet P contributes to its allure - Sony Tablet P Review
The unusual design of the Sony Tablet P contributes to its allure - Sony Tablet P Review
The unusual design of the Sony Tablet P contributes to its allure - Sony Tablet P Review

The unusual design of the Sony Tablet P contributes to its allure


Sony Tablet P Review

On the left edge of the Tablet P, there’s a lonesome notch that’s used for its internal speaker, while on the right side, it lays claim to most of its buttons and ports. Specifically, it consists of the flush dedicated power button, proprietary power port, microUSB port for data connectivity, microphone, and volume control.

Left edge - Sony Tablet P Review
Right edge - Sony Tablet P Review

Left edge

Right edge


Although it’s difficult to see, that’s a strip placed in the lip of the tablet that helps us open up the tablet, and in that lip lies an LED light that pulsates in green whenever it receives notifications.  Placed near the hinges of the tablet, there are latches that enable us to remove its rear cover, which then allows us access to its 3,080 mAh battery and microSD card slot.

A strip placed in the lip of the Sony Tablet P helps open up the tablet - Sony Tablet P Review
A strip placed in the lip of the Sony Tablet P helps open up the tablet - Sony Tablet P Review
A strip placed in the lip of the Sony Tablet P helps open up the tablet - Sony Tablet P Review

A strip placed in the lip of the Sony Tablet P helps open up the tablet


Sony Tablet P Review
Sony Tablet P Review
Sony Tablet P Review

Back - open - Sony Tablet P Review
Battery compartment - Sony Tablet P Review
microSD card slot - Sony Tablet P Review

Back - open

Battery compartment

microSD card slot


For those wondering about its cameras, there is a VGA front-facing one placed in the top right corner when it’s fully opened, while the other 5-megapixel auto-focus camera is placed oppositely in the outer casing.

Rear camera - Sony Tablet P Review
Front-facing camera - Sony Tablet P Review

Rear camera

Front-facing camera



Display:

Much like the long forgotten Kyocera Echo, the Sony Tablet P also comes to the table bearing two displays sizing up at 5.5-inches a piece. Considering that each 5.5” TruBlack LCD panel boasts a resolution of 1024 x 480, it’s detailed enough to make out fine text without much fluff. Along with that, it’s true to its name because the color black is prominently, you know, really dark in tone. Furthermore, its cooler production enables colors to jump out at us – though, its viewing angles are questionable since distortion is evident at moderate angles.

Viewing angles of the Sony Tablet P - Sony Tablet P Review
Viewing angles of the Sony Tablet P - Sony Tablet P Review
Viewing angles of the Sony Tablet P - Sony Tablet P Review
Viewing angles of the Sony Tablet P - Sony Tablet P Review
Viewing angles of the Sony Tablet P - Sony Tablet P Review
Viewing angles of the Sony Tablet P - Sony Tablet P Review

Viewing angles of the Sony Tablet P


Unfortunately, the biggest distraction we see is the over 1/4" bezel separating the two screens, but even worse are the 1-inch sized bezels surrounding both sides of its displays. Essentially, they make it very difficult to type messages seeing we have to extend our fingers even further to press something. Frankly speaking, the dual-screen form factor is effective in garnering attention, but it simply doesn’t work out because we have more frustration just trying to handle it.

17 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 21 Mar 2012, 08:02 8

1. kshell1 (Posts: 1143; Member since: 05 Oct 2011)


for the love of God phone arena its a tablet stop putting down the cameras!!!! NOBODY in their right mind will casually see something and be like oh s**t i have to take a pic of that with my tablet!!!!!! and on the choppy performance, its honeycomb not ics or gingerbread what do you expect?

posted on 21 Mar 2012, 08:47 3

3. SuperAndroidEvo (Posts: 3981; Member since: 15 Apr 2011)


I agree with you, I really do BUT my problem with this tablet is the performance. I love the design but tablets have been out for some time & to have performance issues is clearly not tolerable.

If I was a Sony exec I would not release anything that doesn't perform correctly. I know it's a tablet so I will excuse the camera, but the choppiness & battery life I can’t excuse. The 2 major things all tablets must excel in are performance of its OS & battery life. If Sony could have had these 2 things right the score would have been maybe an, 8 to a 9. What is the point of having a mobile device with poor battery? What good is it? Sony should know best about portable battery life because they have the PSP & PS Vita. Also they make great cameras with their Cybershot line so why not implement even their basic tech to their tablets/smartphones because then their cameras would be average at best if not above average.

I just feel like they dropped the ball on this tablet. The idea was great idea, the design is sharp but the execution was VERY poor. I just don’t know how or why Sony would release anything that is not on par with an Asus Eee Pad Transformer. Even the original Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.0 with its 1GHz Humming bird processor delivered better in performance & battery life. I feel like the premium look of this tablet was wasted with its poor implementation of the OS & the inexcusable battery life!

If something is made to looks premium, then it should also work & perform like it’s premium right? That’s where Sony failed!

posted on 21 Mar 2012, 08:13 2

2. buggerrer (Posts: 286; Member since: 21 Sep 2011)


Tablet Pee!

posted on 21 Mar 2012, 10:46 4

4. sorcio46 (Posts: 395; Member since: 27 Jul 2011)


Tell me iPhonearena, why?
"we’re able to get to the 10 hour mark on normal usage before it’s completely tapped out" is an "Horrendous battery life" ?

posted on 24 Mar 2012, 23:18 1

7. xtremesv (Posts: 208; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)


I'd like to know the answer to that also. So the "magical" iPad has "horrendous" battery life, uh?

posted on 21 Mar 2012, 14:58

5. -RVM- (Posts: 329; Member since: 19 Oct 2011)


Actually i liked this tablet. Both design and the idea.

posted on 23 Mar 2012, 12:54 2

6. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 3009; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


I don't like it!! It looks nice but it's not all about how it looks is it??
What's the use of the two screen??? And it's separated by a huge beezel!!! That's disgusting!!

posted on 25 Mar 2012, 12:01

8. yourfather (Posts: 5; Member since: 24 Dec 2011)


It seems like a fine concept, it's just that there could be less bezel, and from what the pros/cons say, it has terrible battery life, well that could be improved upon. I think, though, that maybe in a year or so, after the bugs are worked out of it, I might just want to buy this. :)

posted on 25 Mar 2012, 12:02

9. yourfather (Posts: 5; Member since: 24 Dec 2011)


It seems like a fine concept, it's just that there could be less bezel, and from what the pros/cons say, it has terrible battery life, well that could be improved upon. I think, though, that maybe in a year or so, after the bugs are worked out of it, I might just want to buy this. :)

posted on 27 Mar 2012, 08:08

10. c.hack (Posts: 505; Member since: 09 Dec 2009)


Another junk droidblet. $199 on Woot in a month

posted on 27 Mar 2012, 15:26

11. downphoenix (Posts: 2302; Member since: 19 Jun 2010)


Im shocked at the price. I just didnt see this being more than $350, maybe $400 no contract. This will drop in price quick.

posted on 28 Mar 2012, 08:58

12. thinking (Posts: 130; Member since: 19 Jan 2012)


It's a tablet, so I'm sure you'll have problems if you try to type assuming it's a phone.

posted on 03 Apr 2012, 05:54

13. DawsonLee (Posts: 26; Member since: 03 Apr 2012)


You know, it's a piece of masterpiece by Sony, might just buy it for the "Wow" factor, provided the price is right~

posted on 03 Apr 2012, 08:39

14. yourfather (Posts: 5; Member since: 24 Dec 2011)


Yeah, I would probably be purchasing one of these in the future, after all of the bugs are worked out of it. For now, I'll let the early adopters buy it, and let some time pass. But it does seem like a good product, however, there are a few design flaws that could be worked out. :)

posted on 29 May 2012, 16:00

15. elf.elf.baby (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 May 2012)


I would really like to know if the Tablet P changes orientation from dual landscape to dual portrait. Anybody know? My main use of this would be to have email open on the upper screen, or leftside screen, go thru a bunch, one by one, still on upper, click a link in each, and see the result in a browser in the lower screen, or rightside screen. Anybody tried this?
I have this feeling that email is going to hog both screens...

Thank you.

posted on 30 May 2012, 08:11

16. umarlone (Posts: 1; Member since: 30 May 2012)


very very nice and a pleasant thing.

posted on 30 Jun 2012, 19:04

17. fenwar (Posts: 1; Member since: 30 Jun 2012)


I've had one of these for a couple of weeks now and despite its many flaws, I love it.

Don't underestimate how much of a killer feature that hinge is. it allows a multitude of comfortable viewing/holding angles and when sat on a table top it is effectively a tiny netbook. Depending on the size of your fingers you may not quite be able to touch type but Hacker's Keyboard configured to fill the lower display works extremely well. The hinge also makes it ultra portable (although not quite pocket sized) and allows me to prop it next to wherever I happen to be and keep tabs on whatever live sport I happen to be watching - :)

elf.elf.baby - if you're still wondering, it does auto rotate (and this is easy to toggle), the built in email app then uses a straightforward "list on the left, open item on the right" view. I haven't found a way to have two apps on separate displays, although task switching in android is so seamless it's not a problem.

Top 3 negatives possibly overlooked in the review above - does not charge off USB; rubbish speaker; non-rounded corners are uncomfortable to hold.

It's probably not for everyone, but it suits me down to the ground.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Sony Tablet P

Sony Tablet P

OS: Android 4.0.3 3.2
view full specs
Display5.5 inches, 1024 x 480 pixels (206 ppi) IPS LCD
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
NVIDIA Tegra 2, Dual core, 1000 MHz
1024 MB RAM
Size7.09 x 6.22 x 0.55 inches
(180 x 158 x 14 mm)
13.12 oz  (372 g)

Latest stories