x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Lumia 810 Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Introduction:

Wasting no time in building up its latest army, T-Mobile is being graced with its very own Lumia device – admittedly though, we’ve seen them already get the Lumia 710 way back earlier in the year. Seeing that Microsoft’s mobile platform has been updated to Windows Phone 8, it’s only fitting to see T-Mobile receive one of its first devices sporting the new platform in the form of the Nokia Lumia 810. Although it might be overshadowed by its beefier sibling in the Lumia 920, just remember that it doesn’t necessarily require premier specs and features to prove itself as a worthy competitor.

Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Nokia Lumia 810 Review
The package contains:

  • microUSB cable
  • Wall charger
  • User Guide
  • Product and Safety Information
  • Limited Warranty Information

Design:

Quick! Someone call the ambulance, the Nokia Lumia 810 has been sucked dry of any intriguing design elements to make it a device that embodies the “look” of a Lumia branded device. Honestly, we’re not flattered by its boring and ugly design, which is considerably more boxy in appearance, but at least we appreciate its clean body thanks to its soft touch coating. Combining its hollow feel and average build quality, it doesn’t particularly convince us that it’ll endure two whole years of usage.

The Nokia Lumia 810 is boxy in appearance - Nokia Lumia 810 Review
The Nokia Lumia 810 is boxy in appearance - Nokia Lumia 810 Review

The Nokia Lumia 810 is boxy in appearance


Nokia Lumia 810 Review

You can compare the Nokia Lumia 810 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Being the Windows Phone it is, we’re given the usual trio of capacitive Windows Phone buttons beneath its display, which are spaced evenly to reduce accidental presses. On the complete opposite edge, we find its earpiece and front-facing 1.2-megapixel camera that can shoot video in 720p.

Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Windows Phone buttons - Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Front camera - Nokia Lumia 810 Review
 

Windows Phone buttons

Front camera


Quickly glancing around its trim, it’s remarkably a Lumia device seeing as it’s donning the usual buttons and ports typical of any device in the family – these include the power button, volume control, shutter key, mic, speaker, microUSB port, 3.5mm headset jack, and noise-canceling microphone.

Although it’s not attached with the PureView name, the Lumia 810 isn’t a slouch in the camera department, since it’s packing a respectable one in the rear. Specifically, it’s an 8-megapixel auto-focus camera that features Carl Zeiss options, F2.2 lens, dual-LED flash, and 1080p video recording. Lastly, ther hard to remove back cover grants access to its internal 1,800 mAh battery and the microSD slot for memory.

Right edge - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 810 - Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Bottom - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 810 - Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Left - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 810 - Nokia Lumia 810 Review

Right edge

Bottom

Left

Top - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 810 - Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Back - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 810 - Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Rear camera - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 810 - Nokia Lumia 810 Review

Top

Back

Rear camera

The sides of the Nokia Lumia 810




Display:

Surely it’s not as impressive as the one found on the Lumia 920, but nevertheless, the 4.3-inch WVGA (480 x 800) ClearBlack AMOLED display on the Lumia 810 is still pleasant enough to enjoy. With its 217 ppi pixel density, it doesn’t offer the sharpest details, which is evident by the garbled fine text in the web browser, but we’re able to make out other details with relatively few issues. And considering that it’s employing AMOLED technology, it has that wow appeal with its saturated color production and deep black color.

Viewing angles of the Nokia Lumia 810 - Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Viewing angles of the Nokia Lumia 810 - Nokia Lumia 810 Review
Viewing angles of the Nokia Lumia 810 - Nokia Lumia 810 Review

Viewing angles of the Nokia Lumia 810





Nokia Lumia 810 360-degrees View:



20 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 13 Nov 2012, 08:59 3

1. -box- (Posts: 3794; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


John, how can your description of the 810 be so different than Ray S's description of the 820, essentially the same phone?http://www.phonearena.com/reviews/Nokia-Lumia-820-Review_id3188
At least they both got the same score...
I thought the 810 had expandable memory up to 64GB MicroSD, just like the 822 and 820?

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 09:06 1

3. -box- (Posts: 3794; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


Yes, SlashGear confirms:http://www.slashgear.com/nokia-lumia-810-review-12256622/

Also removeable back cover AND battery!

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 09:15 2

4. PhoneArena Team (Posts: 238; Member since: 27 Jun 2006)


You are correct! We've fixed the mistake.

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 09:18

5. -box- (Posts: 3794; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


Great, thank you!

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 23:58

13. shandesilva (Posts: 73; Member since: 28 Mar 2012)


how about fixing the mistake of saying "ugly and boring design"?...what is ugly & boring to you may not be to someone else. the word "boring" is passable, but, "ugly" is unacceptable. so much for a fair review! and none of you guys notice the boredom inflicted by the almost non changing ios !

why dont all of you guys get jobs at apple and let the readers, write as guest writers!

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 09:01 1

2. tigermcm (Posts: 718; Member since: 02 Sep 2009)


um this is the only site I've read that there is no expandable memory, even Tmo's site has expandable memory

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 09:35 2

6. husfus (Posts: 62; Member since: 21 Oct 2012)


Boring design? Really? What about iPhone5?

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 10:32

8. bbblader (Posts: 579; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


Even I'll say that the i5 has a good design,even though it is now old it's still good.

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 10:25 5

7. Whodaboss (Posts: 176; Member since: 18 Nov 2011)


This is what I like about choice. The author says it's a boring looking device. And yet the design is exacty (that plus some other factors) why I'm purchasing this device. It reminds me of my HD2. Though I wish this device was as heavy as my HD2. I luv the design look. This old adage never grows outdated - "It's in the eye of the beholder". And I think it looks great!

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 10:40 4

9. Jabarkas (Posts: 18; Member since: 05 Jul 2012)


I agree. A much nicer (not to mention better) version of Lumia 820. They say boring, I say elegant. I hope, that this will come to my country as well (T-mobile is in here, so there is hope).

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 12:23

10. aco96 (Posts: 193; Member since: 12 Oct 2012)


This phone is so beautiful, I really like it. I wish I could buy one in Serbia :(

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 18:09

11. MC1123 (Posts: 1241; Member since: 12 Nov 2012)


lol...ugly and boring design?! are you for real!!! a lot of people actually like the looks of 810 than 820!

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 20:31

12. raphz (Posts: 35; Member since: 22 Oct 2012)


ugly and boring design.... oh please.... it so subjective

posted on 14 Nov 2012, 00:01

14. shandesilva (Posts: 73; Member since: 28 Mar 2012)


and mr. john v., its getting reallly boring to see your face in all of your video reviews !

posted on 18 Nov 2012, 22:24

15. Joshing4fun (Posts: 1047; Member since: 13 Aug 2010)


Holy bezel batman! I could take a big bite out of the bottom of that phone and not even get the screen. Deal breaker.

posted on 19 Nov 2012, 18:42

16. epdm2be (Posts: 164; Member since: 20 Apr 2012)


You guys are so easy pleased.

Another phone with crappy photo quality. All the pics are of typical HTC oversharpened unrecognizable blobs. Who made this piece of crap? This is NOT a Carl Zeiss optics!

Crappy speakers AGAIN! Come on!

posted on 21 Nov 2012, 09:30 1

17. odin09 (Posts: 4; Member since: 21 Nov 2012)


Of the 810, 820 and 822 the 810 is the best looking in my opinion. I agree with those who said that it is elegant.

posted on 04 Feb 2013, 12:33

18. JackD3ath (Posts: 2; Member since: 01 Sep 2012)


I am very happy using this device after being on Android from the beginning. My google life transfered easily and all services that i need are there...the looks had me from the start. Camera and speakers work great for me.

posted on 11 Feb 2013, 10:24

19. ceduka (Posts: 1; Member since: 11 Feb 2013)


(in spanish)
hola, soy Carlos de Perú y estoy pensando en comprar este celular a través de Amazon. Mi pregunta es si el lumia 810 esta bloqueado a T Mobile o también acepta otras operadoras, como MOVISTAR o CLARO. Un saludo a todos los amigos de PhoneArena desde Perú Lima.

posted on 07 Apr 2013, 18:51

20. djm63401 (Posts: 10; Member since: 17 Sep 2012)


I bought two of them and love them great phone but i bought them under the impression that they were going to get lte update it has same chipset as lumia 920 but tmobile is pushing i phones now so well they just for got about the windows phone wich is outselling apple in many countries it is truley a great product just wish tmobile would step up the other down fall is internal memory, people say well it has sd expansion which is great for pics or music. You cant put apps on sd card so 8gb internal memory is weak. But besides that awesome phone nokias apps are spectaculair love them.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia Lumia 810

Nokia Lumia 810

OS: Windows Phone 8
view full specs
Display4.3 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (217 ppi) AMOLED
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Plus MSM8960, Dual core, 1500 MHz, Krait processor
1024 MB RAM
Size5.03 x 2.69 x 0.43 inches
(127.8 x 68.4 x 10.9 mm)
5.11 oz  (145 g)
Battery1800 mAh, 10.3 hours talk time

Latest stories