x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Revolution Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
LG Revolution Review
Introduction:

Completing the trifecta of 4G LTE smartphones first presented to us way back at CES early in the year, LG’s presence is largely going to be known even more on Verizon’s lineup now that the LG Revolution VS910 is finally here. Needless to say that its next-generation 4G LTE connectivity is indeed revolutionary, but considering that it’s following after the HTC ThunderBolt and Samsung Droid Charge, there are literally going to be more things required to keep in fresh from the pack – and more importantly, capture the jaded attention of consumers. Timing is obviously crucial to garner success in this heated market already, and taking into account the back-to-back release nature of Big Red’s 4G LTE smartphones, the LG Revolution might have some challenges in its path in what can be perceived to be an already saturated market.

LG Revolution Review
LG Revolution Review
The package contains:

  • LG Revolution
  • 16GB microSD card preloaded
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Product Safety & Warranty Brochure

Design:

Gazing upon the LG Revolution for the first time, it doesn’t stray far from the design philosophy that we’ve seen thus far with Verizon’s 4G LTE smartphones – meaning, they’re rather big, bulky, and undeniably contemporary. Visually, there’s nothing really new to boast about with its design, especially when it’s straightforward with its plastic construction, hard lines, and soft touch matte back cover. Naturally, it’s relatively clean looking for the most part, but it doesn’t quite exhibit the solid build quality of the ThunderBolt – though, it’s slightly ahead of the Droid Charge. Honestly, the LG Revolution doesn’t come off as being a memorable looking handset.

The LG Revolution has a straightforward design with plastic construction, hard lines, and soft touch matte back cover - LG Revolution Review
The LG Revolution has a straightforward design with plastic construction, hard lines, and soft touch matte back cover - LG Revolution Review
The LG Revolution has a straightforward design with plastic construction, hard lines, and soft touch matte back cover - LG Revolution Review

The LG Revolution has a straightforward design with plastic construction, hard lines, and soft touch matte back cover


LG Revolution Review

You can compare the LG Revolution with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Even though it might not be as glorified as the Samsung Droid Charge’s Super AMOLED Plus display, we’re still nonetheless mesmerized by the Revolution’s 4.3” WVGA (480 x 800) LCD display with support for 16.7 million colors. Actually, it looks ever so much better than the ThunderBolt’s display, and at the same time, it’s capable of delivering some sharp looking visuals, high contrast, and saturated looking colors. At first, we question if it’s simply a regular LCD display or something better, but in any event, its luminance is able to capture our attention right from the start – while making it quite useful outdoors under direct sunlight. Additionally, it does exhibit some good viewing angles, though, it does begin to fade at extreme angles.

The LG Revolution boasts a 4.3” WVGA LCD display - LG Revolution Review
The LG Revolution boasts a 4.3” WVGA LCD display - LG Revolution Review
The LG Revolution boasts a 4.3” WVGA LCD display - LG Revolution Review
The LG Revolution boasts a 4.3” WVGA LCD display - LG Revolution Review
The LG Revolution boasts a 4.3” WVGA LCD display - LG Revolution Review
The LG Revolution boasts a 4.3” WVGA LCD display - LG Revolution Review
The LG Revolution boasts a 4.3” WVGA LCD display - LG Revolution Review
The LG Revolution boasts a 4.3” WVGA LCD display - LG Revolution Review

The LG Revolution boasts a 4.3” WVGA LCD display


Beneath the display, we find the usual suspect of touch sensitive Android buttons, but the extra spacing between them and the bottom edge reduces the amount of accidental presses. Oppositely, you can use the 1.3-megapixel front-facing camera for things like video chat and shooting self-portraits.

Touch sensitive Android buttons - LG Revolution Review
Touch sensitive Android buttons - LG Revolution Review

Touch sensitive Android buttons


Placed along the chrome accent on the left edge of the phone, the handset’s microUSB port is hidden behind the plastic flap. Meanwhile, the separated volume keys are laid flush along the right side, but still offer a nice tactile feel when pressed. Also, we find a microHDMI port on the same edge, which provides a mirrored experience when connected to a high-definition television.

Unfortunately, its tiny sized dedicated power button is just too flat to make out with our finger – thus causing us to fumble around before pressing it. Additionally, the 3.5mm headset jack is placed customarily at the top edge as well.

The sides of the LG Revolution - LG Revolution Review
The sides of the LG Revolution - LG Revolution Review
The sides of the LG Revolution - LG Revolution Review

The sides of the LG Revolution


Turning it around to get a peek at its rear, the 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash and various logos are all located on a mirrored finished strip. Plus, the narrow looking speaker grill is perpendicularly placed next to the same strip with a directional microphone nearby. Finally, yanking off the plastic back cover provides access to the 1,500 mAh battery, SIM card, and microSD card slots – albeit, the latter two require the battery to be removed before gaining access to them.

Back - LG Revolution Review
Back - LG Revolution Review
Back - LG Revolution Review

Back



LG Revolution 360-degrees View:



14 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 30 May 2011, 06:26 2

1. doubler86 (Posts: 309; Member since: 26 Jan 2011)


I think it should've even been lower to be honest. That low of a battery life and trading in Google for Bing WTF! Worst LTE phone out.

posted on 30 May 2011, 19:31

5. mr. droid (Posts: 278; Member since: 21 Aug 2010)


so what? bing is bing, and actually better than lousy ass commercially saturated google. Google is an evil giant. i have said it before and will say it again, they are like walmart. a money hungry giant.

aside from battery, i think this phone puts every other phone verizon has ever carried up to this day to an embarrassing shame. build quality is flawless (well, almost, aside from the micro usb port cover) screen that is only rivaled by super amoled plus and iPhone..

BUT lets not forget that phone arena is BIAS. it pisses me off to even read anything from them. if its not apple.. then get out of our bed time relationships.

posted on 01 Jun 2011, 18:09 1

9. lovemg2012 (unregistered)


Sorry have you used the Revolution with to test its battery life and Bing? Make useful comments

posted on 18 Sep 2011, 04:44 1

14. Mark_Washington (Posts: 8; Member since: 05 Sep 2011)


I bought this phone the day it came out and so far i have no regrets. the phone is quite big but feels good in hand, has good build quality. the display is very nice and bright. i like the LG UI, most people may not but i think it's pretty easy to use, pretty plain and simple. in the apps menu the icons are in separate catagories that you can expand and minimize so you dont just have 3 pages of junk to scroll through, you can also add, delete and rename catagories and move your icons between them.

I thought it was a nice touch because i cover my home screens in large widgets and don't have many shortcuts so it saves me from searching through all my apps. the 1Ghz processor handles everything with ease, there's a little lag from time to time but i've seen that from dual core phones as well. of course there are some things i don't like, the main dislike being the keyboard, don't care for swype either, but no big deal downloaded gingerbread keyboard for free in market. another downside is the camera, only 5 MP, again no big deal, i have two cameras that are better than any phone camera.

Also the battery life is a little shorter than on my droid and i don't have 4G in my area yet so it is only going to get worse, but right now it's good enough. as far as the weight, i don't seem to notice any extra heft, it's only 6 ounces. great phone definitely recommend.

P.S. If you will buy the LG Revolution I suggest for best deal at:www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0051HASEA/phonearena.com-offer-20

posted on 30 May 2011, 06:44 2

2. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 2864; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


I have been mostly very disappointed with all of the Verizon lyrics phones. To me having to pay 250/300 dollars for a phone I would expect much better. They are jokes compared to what the samsung galaxy s2, htc evo 3d, and sensation are.

posted on 30 May 2011, 12:02 1

3. dodgerfan (unregistered)


I got the Revolution. I love it. the battery seemed to be ok. I used the phone for 4 hours after it was fully charged then left it alone when it was at 50 percent battery life. didnt use the phone for the next 4 hours and it made it through with about 6 percent left. Also ran speedtest and i am hitting speeds over 12.5 mb and 5 upload every test. I even hit 15 a couple times. IN Vegas i get full bars and 4g. its insane.

Again its a really good phone. very fast in my area. Plus with all the memory it comes with I have downloaded over 90 apps already and still have over 15 gb left.

well worth the money.

posted on 30 May 2011, 14:17

4. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


the only good thing i'm really feeling from this handset when i handle it is it's snappy processor. i know the Thunderbolt has the same one but out of the three LTE phones this one easily feels like the most powerful but it's still not a winner to me for all of the reasons stated in the Review.

posted on 31 May 2011, 08:42 1

6. dodgerfan (unregistered)


I actually dont mind using bing. all those babies out their crying about bing are retarded. I still havent heard anything that is wrong with bing just that it has bing. still waiting. to me its a copy cat of google. if that is your only other excuss of why you think this phone sux go play with your icrapper phone. Droid is better in every way. oh did i mention i get about 14 or so megs on every speedtest. yeah have fun with your 3g icrapper phone.

posted on 01 Jun 2011, 04:59

8. winsaki234 (Posts: 63; Member since: 30 Mar 2011)


droid charge best!

posted on 11 Jun 2011, 11:17 1

11. Revolution owner (unregistered)


I own the Revolution. In my opinion it looks nicer than the Charge but not as nice as the Thunderbolt. Although I love the amoled screen on the Charge, I was turned off by the physical buttons below the screen. My battery lasts longer than the Thunderbolts battery, too. My only complaint is the low volume on speakerphone, watching netflix and even the alarmclock!
The complaints about the phone coming with Bing are just plain silly. It works with Bing AND/OR Google! I have the choice of either one. I also downloaded Launcherpro to get the Revolution to look more like my old school Droid. I love it.

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 02:14

12. Bingtards (unregistered)


I don't know why the fact that the phone comes pre-loaded with bing is an issue at all. just drag the bing apps into the trashcan and download the google equivalents from the android market and use those. You never have to use those horrible bing apps ever again! the whole process takes like 2 minutes. guh...

posted on 10 Sep 2011, 21:34

13. risabean (unregistered)


I have had the revolution for three days now before i owned a htc phone that i loved....
The Lg is fast and nice and the hot spot is awesome and i dont think the battery life is as bad as some people state, but im not sure if its me the touch screen responce is not that great.

posted on 27 Sep 2011, 20:29

15. CWKnotts (unregistered)


I bought this phone for my wife and my chief complaint is that I can not hear her when she talks to me from this phone. Has anyone else experienced this?

posted on 12 Nov 2011, 07:08

16. alocowboy (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Nov 2011)


Well, I just got the LG Revolution for free at Target dot com. Upgrading from my original Moto Droid, it's going to be blast. And, yes, I live in a saturated 4g LTE neighborhood.

I will pick up a quad core for free in 18 months.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

LG Revolution

LG Revolution

OS: Android 2.3 2.2
view full specs
Display4.3 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (217 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2 MSM8655, Single core, 1000 MHz
Size5.03 x 2.63 x 0.52 inches
(128 x 67 x 13 mm)
6.06 oz  (172 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 7.25 hours talk time

Latest stories