x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung GALAXY Note Review

Samsung GALAXY Note 7

Posted: , by

Tags:

Pages
Samsung GALAXY Note Review
This is a review of the European version of Samsung Galaxy Note. Click here for the review of the AT&T LTE variant

Introduction:

Have you ever wondered how big could phone screens get? Judging by recent trends, manufacturers seem to be constantly raising the norm as they continue to produce bigger and bigger handsets. We've already seen many such offerings, sporting 4+” screens, like the Samsung Galaxy S II and the Motorola DROID X2, but one product easily overshadows them all, in terms of size.

Of course, we're talking about the Samsung Galaxy Note. This beast of a phone actually carries a 5.3” display – the biggest you can find on a device, marketed as a “phone”. We can already see the debate over whether the Galaxy Note should be considered a giant phone or a mini-tablet, however, we'd prefer to stay away from this, and rather focus on the unique capabilities of the handset, in order to see if it has a chance in this cruel world. After all, not many smartphones today come with a special stylus of their own, designed to ease the process of note-taking. Unfortunately though, none of the U.S. carriers has announced plans to carry the Galaxy Note yet.

Anyway, let's see if Samsung's Galaxy Note has the potential to become the next big thing in wireless!

The box includes:

  • Samsung Galaxy Note
  • Wall charger with detachable microUSB cable
  • Handsfree headset with three pairs of eartips
  • Some papers


Design:

So, um... what should we say? The Samsung Galaxy Note is one monster of a phone! It is gigantic, and it doesn't feel like anything you've used before. And if you're the type of person who'd say that the Galaxy S II is just too big, then wait until you see this guy. Don't think you'll be able to use it just like you use your typical smartphone – you can't fit the Galaxy Note comfortably in your pocket. Well, you can carry it in your pocket, but don't try to sit while it's in there. It's by no means heavy, but it is too cumbersome to handle normally. This “phone” is designed for the biggest of hands, but we don't believe that it will fit well even in such hands.

The Samsung GALAXY Note is gigantic and designed for the biggest of hands - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
The Samsung GALAXY Note is gigantic and designed for the biggest of hands - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
The Samsung GALAXY Note is gigantic and designed for the biggest of hands - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
The Samsung GALAXY Note is gigantic and designed for the biggest of hands - Samsung GALAXY Note Review

The Samsung GALAXY Note is gigantic and designed for the biggest of hands



The Samsung Galaxy Note is made of plastics, but it doesn't feel cheap at all. The device is solid, and even the capacitive stylus stays very firmly in its spot, and requires a bit of force to be removed. No wiggle whatsoever.

Now, let's turn our attention to the gargantuan 5.3” display of the Galaxy Note. It is, of course, of the capacitive type and utilizes the Super AMOLED technology, which translates into rich colors, deep contrast levels wide viewing angles and... a bluish tint on top, mostly visible when displaying white. Having so much real estate however, means that screen resolution should also be abundant, in order to keep a respectful pixel density. This is one area where the Galaxy Note performs admirably, having an 800x1280 pixel res, which translates into 285 ppi. We're happy to say that everything on the screen is very clear and easily readable.

The Samsung GALAXY Note uses a gargantuan 5.3” display - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
The Samsung GALAXY Note uses a gargantuan 5.3” display - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
The Samsung GALAXY Note uses a gargantuan 5.3” display - Samsung GALAXY Note Review

The Samsung GALAXY Note uses a gargantuan 5.3” display


Apple iPhone 4 (left, top), Samsung GALAXY Note (center, bottom), Samsung Galaxy S II (right, middle) - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
Apple iPhone 4 (left, top), Samsung GALAXY Note (center, bottom), Samsung Galaxy S II (right, middle) - Samsung GALAXY Note Review

Apple iPhone 4 (left, top), Samsung GALAXY Note (center, bottom), Samsung Galaxy S II (right, middle)


All the keys around the device are comfortable to press, while the special capacitive stylus is positioned at the bottom of the device. As we said, it requires a bit of force to have it removed, but that's fine, as it wouldn't have been better if it was wiggling. The stylus itself is long enough, and more importantly – isn't too thin, so overall we are happy with its design.

The special capacitive stylus is positioned at the bottom of the device - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
The special capacitive stylus is positioned at the bottom of the device - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
The special capacitive stylus is positioned at the bottom of the device - Samsung GALAXY Note Review

The special capacitive stylus is positioned at the bottom of the device


Volume rocker (left) - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
Power key (right) - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
microUSB jack (bottom) - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
3.5 mm jack (top) - Samsung GALAXY Note Review

Volume rocker (left)

Power key (right)

microUSB jack (bottom)

3.5 mm jack (top)


Back - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
Camera - Samsung GALAXY Note Review
Battery compartment - Samsung GALAXY Note Review

Back

Camera

Battery compartment



Samsung GALAXY Note 360-degrees View:



112 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 02 Nov 2011, 12:00 36

1. Eingild (Posts: 203; Member since: 19 Apr 2011)


A 7? Seriously? This tablet/phone hybrid is a beast.

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 16:55 5

28. shayan (Posts: 159; Member since: 09 Sep 2010)


and galaxy note is the top phone right now in gsmarena.com user ratings...

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 17:47 3

30. xtremesv (Posts: 298; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)


Yeah true but none of them has had it in their hands. That's the only credit I can give to this review but everything else is totally out of place. They should have reviewed the Note as the niche device it is, not as a normal smartphone or an iPhone 4S wannabe.

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 17:05 16

29. buggerrer (Posts: 306; Member since: 21 Sep 2011)


who is Ray S. anyway to review such great device and give it 7/10 !

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 18:29 5

33. xoatomxo (Posts: 57; Member since: 26 Apr 2011)


I want this phone and cant wait until this phone launches in America. What other phones did Ray S. reviewed anyway. I am very curious.

posted on 03 Nov 2011, 07:08 7

55. HTCiscool (Posts: 449; Member since: 16 Jul 2011)


What every1 is ignoring is the price, I would rather have an iPad 2 32GB than this thing. It's too small to be a tab and too big to be a phone, its very expensive, it sucks at being a phone, and it doesn't have the size advantage of a tablet.

posted on 03 Nov 2011, 11:23 13

60. xtremesv (Posts: 298; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)


You said it right, YOU don't want it. The Note is a niche product not meant for everyone. It's a concept phone.

posted on 13 Nov 2011, 13:08 1

90. mills0806 (Posts: 37; Member since: 13 Nov 2011)


I know seriously just buy a galaxy tab if you want to take notes or whatever. Then when you want to use a phone, just use your smartphone.Not that hard to sync data between your tablet,and whatever devices you use.

posted on 03 Nov 2011, 23:38 5

68. tmcr7 (Posts: 180; Member since: 02 Nov 2011)


Looking at his video, he hasn't even shown why typing on the Note is poor because of the big screen. It really doesn't make sense. But in this video,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AKk9RZLmoBw

The reviewer clearly demonstrated how thumb-typing on the Galaxy Note is very, very easy. He can also easily touch the keys in the middle of the keyboard without any problems.

And the video also showed how the browsing experience is significantly better, just by holding the device in a landscape position.

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 12:08 1

2. hunted (Posts: 403; Member since: 21 Sep 2011)


Does this mean no use in buying this phone? The mark says SII is better

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 12:26 21

3. AppleSux (banned) (Posts: 20; Member since: 12 Mar 2011)


well, i have read the other reviews, where they say that the call quality, and speaker performance are awesome, n very impressive, even engadget (which is considered pro-apple) talked abt the impressive call quality, and speaker performance of the Galaxy Note. either iPhonearena is totally biased (which it is most of the time), or they have got a faulty unit. one other thing, when phonearena talks about the battery life, they just mention the manufacture's stats, but they should mention the battery life according to their own experience and usage and their own special battery tests. simply quoting the official stats cant be cosidered a good review. dont trust phonearena reviews ever. techradar and gsmarena reviews are way better and comprehensive.

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 12:49 14

6. Mazhh (banned) (Posts: 6; Member since: 02 Nov 2011)


Ray S is on apple's payroll.. !!! phonearena sucks !!!

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 13:34 18

13. Vinopantoz (Posts: 1; Member since: 02 Nov 2011)


They are not phonearena..they are iPhonearena...

posted on 03 Nov 2011, 16:09 2

63. bucky (Posts: 2686; Member since: 30 Sep 2009)


or maybe you cant handle the truth

posted on 09 Apr 2012, 02:41

112. minkhantkyaw (Posts: 5; Member since: 09 Apr 2012)


No , you sucks !!!

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 12:26 8

4. district11 (Posts: 125; Member since: 17 Apr 2011)


Snappy performance

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 12:50 4

7. metoyou (Posts: 279; Member since: 19 Oct 2011)


Ouch!

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 13:01 16

8. leftheodo (Posts: 100; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)


If it's not Apple it's not good enough, right? This is getting annoying and iDiotic!

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 13:29 10

10. snowgator (Posts: 3599; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


That's just crap. They rated the $99.00 Atrix 2 a 9, ahead of the iPhone 4S. They ooze all over themselves over the Samsung Galaxy 2 series. Let it go- they just didn't like this guy.

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 16:38 11

27. xtremesv (Posts: 298; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)


Actually, no. PhoneArena clearly stated on their iPhone 4S review: "Right now, we believe the Apple iPhone 4S is deserving a rating of 9/10, when we consider its overall quality, features and price (...)".
That sounds to me like “we desperately want to give a 10 (overall quality?) to the iPhone 4S but we cannot because we would lose our credibility as reviewers”.
Someone commented that if the Note had an Apple logo on its back then it would have got a 10. Perhaps he is right after all.
I think PhoneArena should disclaim what phones they personally own.

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 13:02 14

9. ph00ny (Posts: 1263; Member since: 26 May 2011)


Shouldn't there be at least a whole page or two dedicated to all the functionalities tied to the stylus (S-pen)? Isn't that point of this device?

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 13:30 3

11. snowgator (Posts: 3599; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


Totally agree. Maybe if it does come stateside, they will.

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 13:32 7

12. snowgator (Posts: 3599; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


Told my Wife about this beast, and she drooled all over herself. She WANTS a tablet/smartphone hybrid, and I would jump all over an unlocked version of this as a Christmas surprise for her. Here is hoping I get that shot....

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 13:38 1

14. snowgator (Posts: 3599; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


Also notice they mentioned the HTC Sensation at 4.7" as an alternative, but not the 4.7" HTC Titan, the Windows Phone. I can understand it as this is an Android Tablet... er, phone.. um - whatever. I just had to throw it out there!!

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 13:39 3

15. saiki4116 (Posts: 388; Member since: 31 Mar 2011)


they have released in india today for 35k which translates to ~700$

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 16:27 2

25. SJisaBitch (Posts: 8; Member since: 02 Nov 2011)


and...????

posted on 02 Jan 2012, 05:28 1

104. Jshrd (Posts: 3; Member since: 02 Jan 2012)


And You don't deserve it.. Go troll somewhere else

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 13:50 8

16. Sjael (Posts: 4; Member since: 02 Nov 2011)


The stylus on the Note is NOT capacitive. It uses electromagnetic resonance. EMR blows away capacitive styli for accuracy and features.

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 14:03 5

17. anirudhshirsat97 (Posts: 408; Member since: 24 May 2011)


It costs 35k in india and knowing samsung trends,it will fall to 30-32k in a few months...for 30-32...theres nothing better..

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 16:28 4

26. SJisaBitch (Posts: 8; Member since: 02 Nov 2011)


who cares about what goes on in IINNDDIIAA???

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Samsung GALAXY Note

Samsung GALAXY Note

OS: Android 4.1.2 4.0.4 4.0.3 2.3.5 2.3.4
view full specs
Display5.3 inches, 800 x 1280 pixels (285 ppi) Super AMOLED
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
Samsung Exynos 4, Dual-core, 1400 MHz, ARM Cortex-A9 processor
1 GB RAM
Size5.78 x 3.27 x 0.38 inches
(147 x 83 x 9.65 mm)
6.28 oz  (178 g)
Battery2500 mAh, 26 hours talk time

Latest stories