x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Pantech Crux Review

Posted: , by FAUguy

Tags:

Go to page
Pantech Crux Review
Introduction:

Pantech Crux Review
Pantech hasn’t been a major player for Verizon Wireless, usually releasing just one or two phones per year, of which most have been texting devices, such as the Pantech Jest, Razzle, and Blitz. Now that touchscreen phones have become all the rage, Pantech’s answer is the new Crux, a thin and lightweight feature-phone with a 3” touchscreen, coming in at a low price. But does the Pantech Crux have what it takes to become the next big thing in the feature-phone mainstream arena?

Included in the retail package is the Pantech Crux phone, pre-installed 1GB microSD memory card, 1100mAh battery, wall charger with detachable microUSB cable, and user guides.


Design:

The look of the Pantech Crux is very minimalistic with an all black plastic construction and chrome accents around the sides, though we found the rear of the phone to feel a bit cheap and flimsy with the battery cover. The device is quite thin at only 0.50” and comes in at just 4.3oz, making it easy to hold for long phone conversations or tucked away in skinny jeans.

The Pantech Crux is quite thin at only 0.50” and comes in at just 4.3oz, making it easy to hold - Pantech Crux Review
The Pantech Crux is quite thin at only 0.50” and comes in at just 4.3oz, making it easy to hold - Pantech Crux Review
The Pantech Crux is quite thin at only 0.50” and comes in at just 4.3oz, making it easy to hold - Pantech Crux Review
The Pantech Crux is quite thin at only 0.50” and comes in at just 4.3oz, making it easy to hold - Pantech Crux Review
The Pantech Crux is quite thin at only 0.50” and comes in at just 4.3oz, making it easy to hold - Pantech Crux Review
The Pantech Crux is quite thin at only 0.50” and comes in at just 4.3oz, making it easy to hold - Pantech Crux Review

The Pantech Crux is quite thin at only 0.50” and comes in at just 4.3oz, making it easy to hold


Pantech Crux Review

You can compare the Pantech Crux with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

On the front of the Crux is the 3” 240x400 pixel resolution capacitive touchscreen, which responds to the slightest touch, unlike the LG Cosmos Touch that uses a pressure resistive screen. But due to its low resolution, text and images aren’t going to be nice and sharp, but instead look a bit jagged and pixelated around the edges. You have to lock and unlock the device by sliding the screen up or down, and our concern here is if the internal mechanism may break over time. Under the display is a touch home key that will take you back to the home screen regardless of which task you are currently in. Pressing it while you are already in the home screen will show an overview of all three home screens that you can move through (more on that later). Around the sides of the phone are the volume rocker, microUSB port, dedicated music playback keys, 3.5mm headset jack, camera, voice command, and power keys, and the microSDHC memory card slot (32GB supported). On the back is the 3MP camera and external speaker.

The 3” 240x400 pixel resolution display - Pantech Crux Review
The back hosts the 3MP camera and external speaker - Pantech Crux Review
Pantech Crux Review

The 3” 240x400 pixel resolution display

The back hosts the 3MP camera and external speaker

 


Pantech Crux 360-degree View:



12 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 08 May 2011, 18:10

1. person (unregistered)


i was wondering if there was some fun simple and easy games for the pantech crux????

posted on 10 Jul 2012, 16:28

9. karic (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Jul 2012)


no, just 'millionaire' something , and it doesnt even work.

posted on 18 Aug 2011, 16:20

2. kathryn =) (unregistered)


Its really hard to text on this phone.

posted on 26 Aug 2011, 21:47

3. oliia (unregistered)


i love this phone it has great features not the best texting phone but if you get really used to it its pretty easy

posted on 28 Sep 2011, 01:15

4. MattRoach (unregistered)


DONT GET THIS PHONE! I have had it for about 7 months now and it sucks. I love the sleek look and little functions it has but it never works right. The touch pad is very un responsive, it takes forever to scroll and makes you backtrack a lot because it things you clicked it half the time. This also makes texting a pain. It has many windows that it can switch around on but you never really use any but the first. Also, this phone gets Uber slow with just normal text usage. Sometimes it took me up to 4 seconds to do open a message. ( and no i didnt have more than 75 messages in my inbox). Everything is acceptable to work with, just makes it a pain using it. Another thing that made me hate this phone is that the screen keeps glitching out on me. For no reason it would go all fuzzy or the whole screen would stay black. It stayed like that for a whole day even. Finally, this phone continuously turned off stating that it needed a "genuine" battery, even though the battery was the one i got with the phone from the verizon store. It should have worked fine.
If I were you, i would not get this phone at all.
I would rate this 2 stars out of 5.

posted on 28 Sep 2011, 23:11

5. Roger (unregistered)


can this phone work on a reg plan with no data

posted on 09 Jul 2012, 12:00

8. karic (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Jul 2012)


this phone is not a data phone, you couldn't get it, even if you wanted

posted on 30 Sep 2011, 17:07

6. baileyjo (unregistered)


I would not recomend this phone. It works great and has awesome speed, but if you are into texting this is not the phone for you. The keyboard is never calibrated good enough so it thinks you types something that you really didn't. It also doesn't remember the words you type in, so you have to look through the list until you find the word you actually want. It's just a major pain..

posted on 04 Oct 2011, 16:16

7. Sam (unregistered)


NEVER BUY THIS PHONE! i didn't listen to any of the reviews, but they are all right. there is no way to calabirate the touchscreen so it sucks. most of the time people don;t get your texts for a long time. and unless you turn the phone on and off constantly during the day, dont count on getting your texts, cause unless you do turn it on and off or call your voicemail you wont get your texts for hours. this phones is horrible! anyone who says its good is crazy and obviously doesnt use it that much or just got it. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

posted on 26 Jul 2012, 10:51

10. jasonaldeanisamazing (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Jul 2012)


DON'T BUY THIS PHONE!!! It is terrible to text on, the music sounds grainy and the words are not clear, it freezes and shuts down a lot, when I go to the beach sand gets stuck in the sliding part and makes an annoying noise and its harder to slide, there are not any good games.... AND IT SUCKS. DO. NOT. BUY.

posted on 13 Aug 2012, 21:06

11. stonebleeds (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Aug 2012)


DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. Texting / keyboard interface is horrible and sluggish. Call quality sucks. You're better off not using the speakerphone. Bluetooth sucks. SMS only works when it wants. Sometimes does a random tap when you don't want it to. Menus are often slow. Pantech has done a great disservice to mankind by even thinking of releasing this crap, much less making so many of them...

posted on 21 Nov 2012, 18:15

12. phonwee123 (Posts: 1; Member since: 21 Nov 2012)


Here We Go: When I first bought this phone a year and a half ago, i thought it was the best thing.... Dammnn was I wrong. This phone is terrible. I went from a samsung allis2 to this and I should of kept my allis for 4 years . The keyboard sticks and you can't recalabrate it. I rather have a corny flip phone.
PRO: camera
CON; Battery Life, keyboard, locking switch up. service, menu button,

PRETTY DAMN SUCKYY DONT WASTE YOURR MONEY

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 240 x 400 pixels (155 ppi) TFT
Camera3 megapixels
Size4.30 x 2.30 x 0.50 inches
(109 x 58 x 13 mm)
4.30 oz  (122 g)
Battery1100 mAh, 5.2 hours talk time

Latest stories