x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Lumia 610 Review

Posted: , by Nick T.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia Lumia 610 Review
Introduction:

Until recently, consumers who wanted to get a cheapo smartphone had little other options than a selection of low-end Androids, with a few Symbian and bada offerings also lying around. Yet here came MWC 2012 and the Nokia Lumia 610 was unveiled – an inexpensive representative of the Windows Phone breed. This is a platform known for buttery smooth performance and high user satisfaction ratings, so such a budget offering was more than welcome to the smartphone market.

The modest internals are the cause for the device's price advantage. The processor inside it is a 800MHz single-core accompanied by the measly 256MB or RAM. Nevertheless, the lightweight Windows Phone 7.5 Refresh should run just fine despite the modest hardware, or so does the maker claim. Curious to see how it stands in reality? Then let's give the Nokia Lumia 610 a full-on review treatment.


Nokia Lumia 610 Review
Nokia Lumia 610 Review
Box contents:

  • Wall charger
  • microUSB cable
  • Wired headset with in-ear headphones
  • Replacement rubber tips for the headphones
  • Quick start guide


Design:

The Nokia Lumia 610 comes in four different colors: white, black, magenta, and cyan, which is great news for picky users. We have the black one on our hands today – arguably the most boring hue available, yet the smartphone still looks presentable. We have no complaints about the device's build quality as it feels well put together, with attention to detail and without neglecting ergonomics. The back cover, however, could have been made a bit better. Although it sports a soft touch finish, dust and finger smudge stick to it fairly easily.


The Nokia Lumia 610 feels well put together, with attention to detail - Nokia Lumia 610 Review
The Nokia Lumia 610 feels well put together, with attention to detail - Nokia Lumia 610 Review
The Nokia Lumia 610 feels well put together, with attention to detail - Nokia Lumia 610 Review

The Nokia Lumia 610 feels well put together, with attention to detail


Nokia Lumia 610 Review

You can compare the Nokia Lumia 610 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

All buttons on the Nokia Lumia 610 work as expected. The trio of capacitive Windows Phone keys are well positioned so pressing them by accident should be a rare event. On the right side we have the 2-button volume rocker, the lock key, and the 2-stage shutter button. All three provide sufficient feedback, and the shutter key is really comfortable to use.

Nokia Lumia 610 Review
Speaker - Nokia Lumia 610 Review
Capacitive Windows Phone keys - Nokia Lumia 610 Review
 

Speaker

Capacitive Windows Phone keys


Camera, power and volume keys (right) - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 610 - Nokia Lumia 610 Review
3.5mm jack and microUSB port (top) - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 610 - Nokia Lumia 610 Review
Left edge - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 610 - Nokia Lumia 610 Review

Camera, power and volume keys (right)

3.5mm jack and microUSB port (top)

Left edge

Back - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 610 - Nokia Lumia 610 Review
5MP back camera - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 610 - Nokia Lumia 610 Review
Speaker grill - The sides of the Nokia Lumia 610 - Nokia Lumia 610 Review

Back

5MP back camera

Speaker grill

The sides of the Nokia Lumia 610



Display:

Nokia Lumia 610 Review
To no amazement, the display on the Nokia Lumia 610 has a resolution of 480 by 800 pixels, which is the norm for Windows Phone handsets. Spread those dots across 3.7-inches of screen real estate and you get a really decent pixel density of 252 ppi. That is why even small text is clearly legible and graphics look nice and smooth. The display's color reproduction is really good on most occasions, but since it can render a palette of only 65,526 colors, color look dithered when gradients are being drawn. Another issue was that when using the smartphone on a sunny day, at times we had to cover the screen in order to see anything.

16 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 06 Jun 2012, 05:51 6

1. Muhannad (Posts: 455; Member since: 20 Sep 2011)


At the right price the Lumia 610 can be serious competition to the Galaxy Y.

posted on 08 Jun 2012, 10:04 1

8. Roomaku (Posts: 278; Member since: 06 Feb 2012)


Yeah if only it had more internal storage :(

posted on 06 Jun 2012, 06:11 4

2. bobfreking55 (Posts: 866; Member since: 15 Jul 2011)


Thanks for this, but a little too late. I refused the offer already. Lol. I'll wait till Windows Phone 8.

posted on 06 Jun 2012, 06:19

3. amaranth (Posts: 3; Member since: 28 May 2012)


So, when the budget Lumia 710 is £99.90, unlocked, instore at Carphone Warehouse or online, with free Monster iems, free £20 Marketplace Apps and a free 6 month Zune pass, will this 610 sell for £60 unlocked?

Or perhaps less?

posted on 06 Jun 2012, 06:28 4

4. rizvi (Posts: 3; Member since: 27 May 2012)


Better go to lumia 710 if you insist buying budget windows phone. At least you would find better performance. For me I won't buy any windows phone anytime soon until nokia free up zune restriction. I think windows phone may would popular in USA but not in Asian countries. People in Asia prefer easy USB transfer and bluetooth file transfer. That's why symbian very popular in Asia.
IMO Nokia should keep their symbian market in Asia and middle east and focussing their windows phone in USA.

posted on 06 Jun 2012, 06:46 1

5. Izzat (Posts: 5; Member since: 16 May 2012)


if only bluetooth was available on mango. or well

posted on 06 Jun 2012, 07:31 1

6. mercorp (Posts: 971; Member since: 28 Jan 2012)


Perhaps this phone should have never been released.The galaxy w and lumia 710 cost $50 more ,and give you a better experience.
Please spend the $50 more!
you will not regret it!

posted on 06 Jun 2012, 09:04 1

7. 7thspaceman (Posts: 1099; Member since: 14 Feb 2011)


Hmm Nokia I think wont sell many of these smart phones I am stunned microsoft would lower the specs for WP& smart phones to allow one this weak to be sold because it could make People who buy it think that WP7 smart phones Stink when for a few dollars more they will get a better Windows smart phone experience a Nokia 710 with an added front facing camera and Windows 8 would be great to have it would not cost that much more than the current 710 and would give folks a great experience maybe Nokia will make one.

posted on 25 Jun 2012, 12:20

9. hunted (Posts: 336; Member since: 21 Sep 2011)


Hey does windows phone allow us to transfer files via bluetooth? can some one tell me, because i am planning to buy lumia 710.

Thanks!!

posted on 18 Jul 2012, 01:32

10. asna_eram (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Jul 2012)


@hunted: no. Currently WP is lacking OPP, FTP and BIP Profiles which enables to send files via bluetooth. But rumours are that by the end of year it might come...

posted on 19 Aug 2012, 14:50

11. charnellebester (Posts: 1; Member since: 19 Aug 2012)


Phone is incredibly slow and lacks basic features such as Voice Recording (even the most basic phones have this), it does not support USSD, the camera quality is appallling Had to download my own bluetooth application. Dont particularly want to go through all my FB contacts to find a number, unable to find where to change from Bing to Google (Very Annoying). Whats App takes ages to respond.

This phone is more suited for your younger target market due to its facebook and windows live features.

My advice - Wait for Windows 8 or do not buy the phone.

Coming from the Nokia N8 which was a great phone!

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 10:11

12. prashantsingh (Posts: 1; Member since: 03 Sep 2012)


Lumia 610 Bluetooth Not Working It's True...

posted on 25 Dec 2012, 07:54

14. theresa42 (Posts: 2; Member since: 25 Dec 2012)


i am using the nokia lumia 610 it has the beta version of viber it will allow to text but not call which i believe you can call mine wont i also have the sony j experia same promblem text not call help can some one help this must be a technical problem mine is covered by 3g both are and all you can eat data

posted on 03 Jul 2013, 11:27

15. TinCity (Posts: 5; Member since: 07 May 2013)


The Nokia Lumia is a really awesome phone, but don't take my word for it. Amazon has the best reviews from people who actually bought the phone. Here's a list of the best reviews and discounts for the Nokia Lumia and it's accessories: w ww.amzn.to/18vTebm. Done all the research for you. Hope this helps.

posted on 12 Oct 2014, 21:07

16. edelxander (Posts: 38; Member since: 01 Oct 2013)


the worst nokia phone i've ever had.

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia Lumia 610

Nokia Lumia 610

OS: Windows Phone 7.5 Mango
view full specs
Display3.7 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (252 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S1 MSM7227A, Single core, 800 MHz, ARM Cortex-A5 processor
256 MB RAM
Size4.69 x 2.44 x 0.47 inches
(119 x 62 x 12 mm)
4.64 oz  (132 g)
Battery1300 mAh, 6.5 hours talk time

Latest stories