x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile USA.

Introduction:
Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review

There was quite a fuss surrounding the release of the Nokia 5800 XpressMusic, because this was the first device of the manufacturer featuring touch sensitive display. And until recently, it was the only one as well. With its affordable price tag and good overall functionality, the 5800 turned out to be a success, which must have tipped off the manufacturer that they could bite off a larger chunk of the lucrative market. Today we are introducing the Nokia 5530 XpressMusic, the second touch screen model of the company’s music series. We can definitely call it a younger sibling of the 5800 or its lighter version if you will. The 5530 also runs Symbian S60 5th Edition, but sports a smaller display, 4GB microSD card (the 5800 comes with 8GB), has no GPS and doesn’t support 3G.

What´s in the box?

•    The Nokia 5530 XpressMusic
•    Charger
•    Short microUSB cable
•    Nokia WH-205 stereo headset
•    4GB microSD expansion card
•    Software MiniDVD
•    User manual


Design:

The quality of workmanship of the Nokia 5530 XpressMusic is definitely higher than with the 5800 and the phone doesn’t feel cheap when you hold it, but nice and solid. Of course, the metal edging also contributes to the overall feel about the handset, although it doesn’t look as appealing as the transparent plastic of the 5800. Still, we like it better anyway.

The quality of workmanship of the Nokia 5530 XpressMusic is definitely higher than with the 5800 - Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review
The quality of workmanship of the Nokia 5530 XpressMusic is definitely higher than with the 5800 - Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review
The quality of workmanship of the Nokia 5530 XpressMusic is definitely higher than with the 5800 - Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review

The quality of workmanship of the Nokia 5530 XpressMusic is definitely higher than with the 5800


Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review

You can compare the Nokia 5530 XpressMusic with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The Nokia 5530 XpressMusic measures a smaller overall size, but is not much lighter. Compared to its elder, it´s definitely more compact and comfy to carry around in your pocket. Well, everything comes at a price in life and although its display features the same resolution of 360x640 pixels, it is physically smaller, just 2.9 inches alongside the 3.2 inches of the 5800. The color support remains the same (16mln) and image quality in artificial light is decent. However, things get quite bad the minute you take out in direct sunlight. You can´t see almost anything no matter the viewing angle. Throw its love for fingerprints into the deal and things cease to be as appealing as they might seem initially. At least display sensitivity has been seriously improved alongside of the Nokia 5800. The manufacturer has incorporated resistive technology again, but we got used to handling the phone really fast. You still need to press firmly, but this feels much easier now and doesn’t require much pressure.

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review
Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review
Left side - Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review
Right side - Nokia 5530 XpressMusic Review

Left side

Right side




Just like with the Nokia 5800 XpressMusic, both the microSD and SIM card slots are on the left hand side. The volume rocker and the slider that locks and unlocks the phone screen and touch sensitive keys are on the opposite side, along with the camera shutter. We do not have any complaints about any of them. The 3.5mm jack that´s mandatory for all music-oriented devices these days is on the bottom side, with the microUSB and charger ports on either side. Finally, the bottom left corner hides the plastic stylus that is not telescopic, but is long enough.

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic 360 Degrees View:


12 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. DontHateOnS60 (Posts: 860; Member since: 20 Apr 2009)


And why was there no mention of kinetic scrolling in contacts and the music player?

posted on 05 Oct 2010, 09:33

8. azizima (Posts: 1; Member since: 05 Oct 2010)


i got screwed!!! bought the phone, AP set, in bukit bintang (M Future Enterprise) last saturday for RM630-00. the battery only work for 1 day standby with only 1 or 2 quick calls when it should be at least 300 HOURS....pretty sure a FAKE battery was given to me. was also told that the phoine having GPS and can load in the garmin software but later notice there arent any. worst the serial number printed on the phone box does not match with the serial number on the phone. going to confront the outlet tomorrow for at least an original battery. else going to bring this CHEATING to the Consumer Tribunal. Any Comments??

posted on 05 Sep 2009, 06:51

2. deepak_nr (Posts: 26; Member since: 31 May 2009)


Is it possible to play Flash video files (.FLV) without having to convert them on this ph- for that matter any touch ph???

posted on 16 Sep 2009, 11:19

3. sd-dubai (Posts: 1; Member since: 16 Sep 2009)


TOO GOOD SMARTPHONE, VERY CAPABLE AND AN IPHONE "KILLER". Hi, I purchased the 5530 a few days back. Black/Red model. Used it vigorously and let me assure you that it is a "fantastic device", a charm to interact with AND definitely an IPhone KILLER! Here's my user opinion of it: PROs: -Slim & trim -Good Looking [head turner] -Great memory [16 Gb] -Quality shooting (pics & vids) [3.2 Mp cam] -Lovely music [+good online store] -Easy user interface -Easy messaging [nice virtual QWERTY pad] -WiFi -Value-for-money [low priced] CONs: -None. INTER-COMPARISON: -Vis-a-vis Nokia 5800, this is a better phone. More sleek & faster. And cheaper too. -It doesn't have 3G & GPS. But I didn't feel the need of both since the time I used phones. -It has Wi-Fi; and that suffices for internet. -Due to no GPS & 3G, the Nokia 5530 got to lose weight & size. And that's what drew me to it. -5530 is definitely better than Samsung-Star (Tocco lite). MY REVIEW: Besides having all the bells & whistles (the specs. are available in every site, so technicalities avoided here & speaking of ground realities) it's a thriller phone, which is capable of doing everything that we need / look-for in today's mobile phones. It's thrills are in: a) Super-Slim body, b) deadly user interface, c) great shooting capability (both pics & vids), d) top-of-the-line music quality, e) No 3G (its's a boon, it made the phone slimmer & most of us do not need 3G, WiFi being enough) AND e) Amorous Price Tag. Dear IPhonites, my Nokia 5530 beats you guys all the way thru (I do own an IPhone and am done with it). Why shell-out that dough? The 5530 is better (cheaper) having all it's functions and upscaled! (16Gb card, 3.2Mp camera, good stocked nokia music store that is cheaper than ITunes ...etc. LAPTOP INTERFACE: A nice factor of the 5530 is it's ease at managing thru the laptop. There is a cool USB Cable (in box) that connects it with the laptop and thru the OVI Suite (DvD in box) I have downloaded / uploaded all the files (pics, vids, music, contacts, messages and touched every part of the phone, arranged them, modified them without any qualms at all. And the Vids shot looked good too, contrary to what others say. Overall, I am deeply satisfied with this lovely product. It's getting rave reviews too from my pals & colleagues. And my wife adores it. What more do we need? So much so that I have put-up my Black IPhone 2G 8 Gb for sale / Gift, rather than getting the new 3G model. Mainly because I never needed 2G / 3G capability during my 1 yr. of usage (Wi-Fi being enough) and I do not wish to shell-out further (and huge) amount just to get more memory. Note, IPhone doesn't have secondary storage capability (Micro SD cards, like the 5530). And then IPhone's cam (2 Mp) is also well beaten by 5530 (3.2 Mp). PHOTOS: I say, "the 5530 cam is good enough". The pics are absolutely stunning. Though low light is a bit wanting, so does all camphones. And IPhone was poorer. The pics shot with my 5530 were flawless even when blown-out in my 42" LCD TV. Thus, I do not see the requirement of 5 MP & more cams in the other models. Vids were good too, for a phone shot. Better than lots of other smart / camphones. And then, for a dedicated movie shoot I do not see the usage of a phone. We would rather use our camcorders, no? I do so with my JVC HD-7 (another great FHD camcorder, whatever the websites say, it beats all. -No, I am not dwelling on it here further). END NOTE: I find the 5530 a wholesome package, fully loaded smartphone, too good for its price tag. And well above the requirement of any other present models, including the other Nokias. It is beyond value-for-money. Actually, the Nokia pricing is a surprise, they could have easily priced it higher. COMPARISONS: I have, as you see above, compared the 5530 basically with the IPhone. As that seemed to be the most "wanted phone" by everyone. I have also compared the 5530 on ground with Nokia 5800 (which is good, but bulkier and not as smart looking as the 5530). This phone [Nokia 5530] is "Classy". And again compared it with similar models of LG, Samsung, HTC and Palm, while doing my market research for an IPhone replacement. I found all the others were "very similar" to the Nokia 5530, Albeit at a "heftier price", which to my opinion, is a pure farce. If Nokia could do it, sure can others. That prompted me to assert that the other brands are "not selling right". Which is why, I definitely advocate the Nokia 5530. It is the Best in the market. FINAL SAY: Thus, my friends, I say, "Go for it... now", before the 5530 is sold out of the market; or Nokia re-thinks on it, takes-it of the shelf and brings-out a modified 5530 with another name (model no.) & higher price tag. I HOPE THE ENTHUSIASTS GET MY POINT. ***HAPPY 5530ing, Friends***

posted on 22 May 2010, 03:25

4. mehdihabibi (Posts: 1; Member since: 22 May 2010)


Hi how are you? thanks for your information about mobiles that give to us. i bought a 5533 nokia . it is so good mobile . i had many kind of mobiles but it is so good. with thanks mehdi habibi

posted on 09 Aug 2010, 21:42

5. disgruntled (unregistered)


The phone has a problem with shutting down when making or receiving calls you have to send it in and it works for only a little while after you get it back. Do not buy this phone.

posted on 14 Aug 2010, 20:37

6. Aamer (unregistered)


it is a good phone with every angle, except camera lenz quality & GPS not available.

posted on 05 Sep 2010, 15:44

7. rfrapp (Posts: 77; Member since: 10 Jun 2010)


For this phone it is possible to play flash video on a free app you can download off of the Ovi Store. It is called Skyfire, and it performs really well on a phone that wasn't really intended to play flash 10.

posted on 16 Nov 2010, 22:28

9. vikki (unregistered)


very good and impressive. prossesing speed of this phone is very fast. i am very happy with that phone. nokia doing very exelent job. for more information of this phone. you can mail me. hemantk015@gmail.com.

posted on 15 Feb 2011, 09:29

10. minik (unregistered)


it's ok except that display is unusable in direct sunlight

posted on 06 Mar 2011, 05:56

11. Locki (unregistered)


DON'T BUY!

I dropped it one day and it would not let go on a new message for a least 5 day's. Also it has funny thing about airports because someone rang and it decided to shutdown. Last of all the camera has a mind of it's own because I locked it with camera on and when i unlocked it said i had to restart it.

posted on 12 Oct 2011, 19:59

12. Pradeep Sankaran (unregistered)


Heh guys am using nokia 5530 for more than 1 year, its good experience with smart phone. Its good. The prob only i face is regarding the documents cos i cant open open office or adobe files. Other than tat, everything s fine!!

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display2.9 inches, 360 x 640 pixels (253 ppi) TFT
Camera3.2 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 434 MHz, ARM11 processor
128 MB RAM
Size4.09 x 1.93 x 0.51 inches
(104 x 49 x 13 mm)
3.77 oz  (107 g)
Battery1000 mAh, 4.9 hours talk time

Latest stories