x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

HTC One V Review

HTC One V 8

Posted: , by

Tags:

Pages
HTC One V Review
Introduction:

You didn't think that after reviewing the HTC One X and HTC One S, we will disregard their little brother – the HTC One V, did you? Well, here it is, folks! We have taken this little munchkin for a spin and we cannot wait to share our experience with you.

But before we begin, a little background: the HTC One V comes with a 3.7-inch display, single-core processor clocked at 1GHz, 5-megapixel camera, and Beats Audio enhancements, all of that locked within a metal unibody of under 10 millimeters. And that seems pretty good for a mid-range smartphone that will set you back only about $370 off-contract. Okay, enough talking. Now let us tell you how the HTC One V performs in real life.

HTC One V Review
HTC One V Review
Box contents:

  • Wall charger
  • microUSB cable
  • Wired headset
  • User manual on paper and CD

Design:

If the HTC One V looks familiar, that is because it sports the same curved-chin design that was present on the international version of the HTC Hero. And that does not only add a dose of uniqueness to the smartphone's looks, but it also should make it easier to hold. Sure enough, we like how the One V fits in the palm, but that is mostly due to its compact dimensions. It is nearly 9 millimeters thin and weighs only 115 grams, which is why we can barely feel it while it is resting in our pocket. Two thumbs up for that! Moreover, our thumb can effortlessly reach every corner of its screen, so if you are among the people who like using their smartphone with a single hand, the HTC One V will surely fit your preference.

Due to its compact dimensions, the HTC One V fits comfortably in the palm - HTC One V Review
Due to its compact dimensions, the HTC One V fits comfortably in the palm - HTC One V Review
Due to its compact dimensions, the HTC One V fits comfortably in the palm - HTC One V Review

Due to its compact dimensions, the HTC One V fits comfortably in the palm


HTC One V Review

You can compare the HTC One V with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The HTC One V sports a curved-chin design - HTC One V Review
The HTC One V sports a curved-chin design - HTC One V Review
The HTC One V sports a curved-chin design - HTC One V Review

The HTC One V sports a curved-chin design


The 2-button volume rocker and the lock key, which are located on the device's right and top sides respectively, are not too hard to feel and respond with a nice click when pressed. Underneath the smartphone's display we see a trio of Android buttons: one that takes you back a step, one that takes you to your home screen, and one that brings forth recently opened applications. Thankfully, physical capacitive buttons have been used instead of the virtual ones that Android 4.0 supports, which allows for the pretty limited display real estate to be put to greater use. We cannot complain about their responsiveness and we did not experience any accidental presses during use. Something that HTC is known for adding on its smartphones is a notification light that can glow in green or amber, and in the case with the One V, it is located on its top side. That allows it to be seen even when the handset is lying with its display down, which is a design touch that we surely won't pass on.

HTC One V Review
Android buttons - HTC One V Review
HTC One V Review
 

Android buttons

 

microUSB port (left) - The sides of the HTC One V - HTC One V Review
Power key, 3.5mm jack and notification light (top) - The sides of the HTC One V - HTC One V Review
Volume rocker (right) - The sides of the HTC One V - HTC One V Review

microUSB port (left)

Power key, 3.5mm jack and notification light (top)

Volume rocker (right)

The sides of the HTC One V


HTC has decided to go with anodized metal for the One V's unibody: a wise choice, we must say, for it is a feature that we don't get to see very often when mid-range devices are concerned. That is why the smartphone has a distinct, premium feel to it – a feel that most plasticky mid-range devices lack. Also, the handset's surface is extremely resistant to fingerprints, which is more than welcome.

Back - HTC One V Review
Camera - HTC One V Review
Speaker grill - HTC One V Review

Back

Camera

Speaker grill



Display:

Sadly, we cannot say the same about the touchscreen's surface. It collects finger smudge fairly easily, and overall, using it feels a lot like swiping your finger across a piece of plastic. In other words, the display's surface is not quite as smooth as the glass touchscreens on most high-end devices we are so spoiled with nowadays. Nevertheless, we have no complaints whatsoever about its sensitivity as it accurately registers every tap.

HTC One V Review
The HTC One V comes with a 3.7-inch display of the Super-LCD 2 kind. It has a resolution of 480 by 800 pixels, which gives us the respectable pixel density of 252ppi. As a result, we rarely notice any pixelation whatsoever. Graphics look nice and detailed, and small text does not require much effort to be read. Just like we expected, the Super-LCD 2 display treats us to great-looking, saturated (but not overly) colors and very impressive viewing angles. Additionally, we are quite satisfied with its outdoor visibility as it is bright enough to remain easily legible even in broad daylight. In case you are wondering, it may not be as bright as the Super-LCD 2 panel on the HTC One X, but nevertheless, the One V's display is really good considering the smartphone's price point.

HTC One V 360-degrees View:



78 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 06 Apr 2012, 09:21 9

1. moyourBB (Posts: 6; Member since: 05 Apr 2012)


wow!! Even One V can beat One X !!! What a joke !!

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 09:30 7

2. androidsbiggestfan (Posts: 76; Member since: 09 Aug 2011)


Yeah, we need to have a non-iFan review the One X because that dude was totally biased.

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 10:59 4

8. saket.shrivastava (Posts: 55; Member since: 02 Apr 2012)


dude this is a mid ranger
one x is a high range phone it is competing in it's own category.................

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 11:25 3

10. Berzerk000 (Posts: 4275; Member since: 26 Jun 2011)


Sigh. The One X needs to be re-evaluated for a review. It was not given a just score for what it is because of Ray's bias, and people are angry about it.

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 11:42 1

11. biophone (Posts: 1980; Member since: 15 Jun 2011)


Who gives a flying f***. Everything he said in his review was fine just read it and don't play attentiom to the score if your that enamored by it.

posted on 08 Apr 2012, 06:46

27. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


But it's not about category. These reviews are silly because weaker phone scored higher than the better one.
And it's obvious that ONE X is better (I don't like htc and ONE is an example how not to make a future proof phone...htc rushed into things like lg did with 2x...not optimised, not polished enough phone...the point ios to be the very first with quad core).
Let alone PA doesn't control writers and reviews such like this above are a proof that there is no integrity nor cohesion in scoring phones.

posted on 09 Apr 2012, 01:27 2

30. Crossblade (Posts: 211; Member since: 21 Apr 2005)


http://www.phonearena.com/howdowerate

"Class: The class of each cell phone is defined by the targeted customers` preferences regarding the cost, the luxury level, the multimedia features and so on. We rate the phones depending on the class they are in, and that is why e.g. lack of high-tech features is not a problem for luxury or budget phones. You are probably wondering why some entry-level phones have the same excellent score as the latest top shelf smartphone. This means that they both are very good, but only for their class. Could you compare a convertible with an SUV? Not really, because obviously they belong to different classes and are intended for different purposes. It is the same with cell phones."

posted on 09 Apr 2012, 00:42

28. rajendra22 (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Apr 2012)


Do not purchase this one,,,,,Blutooth is not working properly also gets heated early ....you cant talk more than 10 min....

posted on 17 Jun 2012, 12:32

67. shayanhussain (Posts: 3; Member since: 17 Jun 2012)


but my one v is working.

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 09:42 8

3. eaxvac (Posts: 328; Member since: 15 Jan 2012)


That chin looks ugly.

posted on 29 May 2012, 09:54

66. Raymond_htc (Posts: 430; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)


it pays homage to the illustrious and great HTC Android Phone- Legend. so i say, ITS NICE!

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 10:22 3

4. Roomaku (Posts: 278; Member since: 06 Feb 2012)


video review?

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 10:49

5. saket.shrivastava (Posts: 55; Member since: 02 Apr 2012)


i am buying it
can somebody tell from where can i get a cover for it ????????????

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 10:54 3

6. mercorp (Posts: 1030; Member since: 28 Jan 2012)


can we have a review between this phone and ace two?

posted on 28 Apr 2012, 07:17

62. dbparipsa (Posts: 20; Member since: 18 Oct 2011)


I also want the detailed comparison review of Ace 2 and One V just like PA did with One X and One S. Which screen is better overall?

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 10:57 4

7. RamyRamz69 (Posts: 390; Member since: 12 Dec 2011)


I think the Xperia U is better than the One V.

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 11:04 2

9. saket.shrivastava (Posts: 55; Member since: 02 Apr 2012)


xperia u ships with 4gb non expandable

u still want it ?????

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 15:54 1

12. Aaron_R96 (Posts: 198; Member since: 22 Jan 2012)


8gb actually with 4gb user accessible (for music & multimedia etc) some of the remaining 4gb is saved for apps and sms messages aswell as the rest for the os and overlay, which, on the xperia s anyway, is much nicer than sense ergh.

Oh and also Sony offer 50gb free storage through Box when you get a NXT-gen smartphone, its personal preferance at the end of the day

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 22:56

14. saket.shrivastava (Posts: 55; Member since: 02 Apr 2012)


well i personally dont prefer cloud storage
the data connection speeds in my part of world is usually very slow............
and isn't it like u get free cloud storage for a limited time and otherwise it costs ????????????
( one v has 25gb clud storage for two years)

posted on 07 Apr 2012, 17:02

25. Bangthering_007 (Posts: 36; Member since: 21 Feb 2012)


You are absolutely r8. This thing (OneV) for god's sake doesnt have a front facing shooter!!

posted on 06 Apr 2012, 17:06

13. ahonda55 (Posts: 11; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)


MORE than perfect review, i have been looking for such review for a week!
Thanks a lot guys good work, good work phonearena.com

posted on 07 Apr 2012, 00:19 1

15. Abhilash123 (Posts: 4; Member since: 07 Apr 2012)


I bought one yesterday. Was having problems with bluetooth(4V) connectivity to my headset(2.1V) .
Has anyone faced this issue.
Will there be a problem if handset uses V4 bluetooth and the headset im using is 2.1?
Specs of bluetooth 4 tells it should be backward compatible.
Did anyone face this issue earlier?

posted on 07 Apr 2012, 02:58 1

17. rossemiel (Posts: 3; Member since: 07 Apr 2012)


I am having the same problem. It doesnt work with the car stereo nor with bluetooth handsets i tried. Strangly bluetooth audio (music) is working great. If they dont fix this with an update soon, I will have to return it.

posted on 07 Apr 2012, 04:33

18. Abhilash123 (Posts: 4; Member since: 07 Apr 2012)


today evening a htc guy is supposed to meet me to explain what is going on. Bluetooth 4 works well in iphone 4s , not with this phone. HTC customer care sucks atleast in india.

posted on 07 Apr 2012, 07:00

21. rossemiel (Posts: 3; Member since: 07 Apr 2012)


Would be nice if you keep us updated.

posted on 07 Apr 2012, 12:02

23. Abhilash123 (Posts: 4; Member since: 07 Apr 2012)


they tell its a known issue with the HTC one V.
They promised to replace the set if they are not able to find a resolution in 10 days.
Lets wait and see .

Do let me know if you find something useful

posted on 07 Apr 2012, 15:11

24. rossemiel (Posts: 3; Member since: 07 Apr 2012)


Good to know that its a known issue. At first I thought i had a defective device. I will keep searching for a solution and post it here if I find anything.
I could also return it but I really like the phone and its the only phone with this format and android 4.0.

posted on 15 Apr 2012, 10:38

40. hddos (Posts: 5; Member since: 15 Apr 2012)


Apart from the bluetooth issue, could you pls confirm how is the phone's performance. Several online reviews have said that the browser of the one v has a significant lag and have given it a thumbs down. Is it preferable to go for a samsungh galaxy s plus which I am getting for Rs 19.5k ?

posted on 14 Apr 2012, 08:43

38. ravkjain (Posts: 4; Member since: 14 Apr 2012)


I bought this phone a few days ago. Even I'm facing the same issue with bluetooth. Music works, but not the phone in car. :( And in addition, when disconnected, the phone's mic stops as well. Only resort remains is RESTART! Have reset this phone 3 times since last days. This seriously needs attention.

posted on 16 Apr 2012, 03:08

41. mlommers (Posts: 4; Member since: 16 Apr 2012)


I got an software update last friday which solved the bluetooth issues for me :-)

Want to comment? Please login or register.

HTC One V

HTC One V

OS: Android 4.0.3
view full specs
Display3.7 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (252 ppi) S-LCD 2
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2, Single core, 1000 MHz, Scorpion processor
0.5 GB RAM
Size4.74 x 2.35 x 0.36 inches
(120.3 x 59.7 x 9.24 mm)
4.06 oz  (115 g)

Latest stories