x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
This version of the phone is intended for Verizon, there is also one for Sprint. An identical one, called Bold 9900, is for T-Mobile.

Introduction:


When you hear the word bold attached to a smartphone, one would easily surmise something that’s daring, adventurous, and openly intrepid. Looking back at the original BlackBerry Bold 9000 from a few years back, there’s no kidding that RIM wanted to bring something remarkably tantalizing to the table – and since then, we’ve seen the Bold family expanding with many elegant devices under its belt. Still, one has to ask how RIM is going to get back into relevancy when the original Torch fizzled to accomplish that perennial feat last year.

This time around, rather than concocting a totally new smartphone from the ground up, RIM is summoning up some inspiration from past memorable devices. Ladies and gentlemen, without further ado, they bring to us the iconic looking BlackBerry Bold 9900/9930 – the next evolutionary BlackBerry that actually intends on showcasing RIM’s strengths. Indeed, this is going to be their primary workhorse in the foreseeable future seeing that it packs some impressive specs for a BlackBerry device, while retaining that acclaimed design that we all know and love. Not surprisingly, it should spark the interest of loyal BlackBerry users, but will it also entrance new users?

RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
The package contains:

  • RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Polishing Cloth
  • Swivel Holster
  • Quick Reference Guide
  • Safe & Product Information Kit

Design:

Gorgeous! That’s basically what best sums up the design of the BlackBerry Bold 9930. On the surface, it does bear a lot of resemblance to previous Bold handsets, but RIM is able to improve it just enough to warrant a resounding amount of adulation. Premium is yet another thing that it embodies seeing that they didn’t skimp out on high quality materials. Combining its plastic casing, it’s supplemented handsomely with its stainless steel band, soft touch accents in the rear, and solid glass like back cover. Not surprisingly, RIM delivers a handset that is solidly built to grab the attention of bystanders from afar. Moreover, we’re mesmerized by its wickedly streamlined appearance (0.41” thick) and light weight (4.59 oz) feel in the hand. Some might lament over the classic looks, but in all honesty, this is exactly the direction that RIM needs to embark on more.

The RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 is very streamlined and light weight - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
The RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 is very streamlined and light weight - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
The RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 is very streamlined and light weight - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review

The RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 is very streamlined and light weight


RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review

You can compare the with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Considering that we’re now presented with a touchscreen, we find the move to a larger 2.8” VGA (640 x 480) display to be fitting in allowing better ease with navigation – and it shows profoundly in its execution. Crunching down the numbers, it offers an impressive pixel density of 287 ppi, which is able to produce some stunning looking details and clarity that exceed our expectations. At the same time, colors are vivid and robust looking at almost every angle to ensure that nothing goes unnoticed. Initially, our natural inclination is to navigate with its optical trackpad, but it’s not that long afterwards that we find ourselves relying on the touchscreen more for the sake of convenience. Without question, there’s no arguing that the touchscreen is undoubtedly the piece de resistance that solidifies the handset’s evolution.

The RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 has a 2.8” VGA display - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
The RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 has a 2.8” VGA display - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review

The RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 has a 2.8” VGA display


Viewing angles - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
Viewing angles - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
Viewing angles - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
Viewing angles - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review

Viewing angles


Naturally, the handset employs all of the characteristics found with the Bold family, but there are distinctive changes that make it a refreshing device – such as the chrome trimmed buttons clinging to its stainless steel bezel. Besides that change, we see all the usual ports and buttons with the handset – like its optical trackpad, microUSB port, and 3.5 mm headset jack.

The sides of the RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
The sides of the RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
The sides of the RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review

The sides of the RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930


Hands down, the BlackBerry Bold 9930 has the best keyboard ever to grace any of RIM’s products! Since the handset is longer and wider than other recent Bold smartphones, the keyboard is naturally expanded to offer plenty of room to comfortably type. In addition to the spacious layout, buttons have increased in size as well to offer better distinguishability. Actually, it didn’t take us very long to adapt seeing that we were thrilled by the awesome clicky response that’s accompanied with each button press.  Not only are we able to accurately press the correct letters, but our rate is impressively consistent while typing out long passages of text. If we had to enter a texting contest of some sort, we’d totally prefer to use the Bold 9930 for it.

Keyboard - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
Keyboard - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
Keyboard - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
Keyboard - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review

Keyboard


As much as we adore the larger 5-megapixel camera with LED flash in the rear, we’re saddened to know that it’s simply a fixed focused one – as opposed to the auto-focus found with the Bold 9650. Could it have been too much to ask for? Or maybe it could’ve conflicted in keeping it razor thin? Obviously, the glass-like back cover exudes yet another premium finish to the handset, but its bigger function is that it holds the handset’s NFC chip. Considering that mobile payment is expected to explode in the coming year, it’s nice to see the Bold 9930 offering it from the onset – despite not having much function in the near term. Removing the rear cover provides access to its 1,230 mAh battery, SIM card slot, and unoccupied microSD card slot.

Back - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
Back - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
Back - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review
Back - RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 Review

Back



RIM BlackBerry Bold 9930 360-degrees View:



27 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 16 Aug 2011, 10:47 1

1. WirelessCon (Posts: 309; Member since: 11 May 2010)


What's a Blackberry?

posted on 16 Aug 2011, 11:09 2

2. vzwbb21 (Posts: 33; Member since: 05 Jun 2010)


I don't know if you mentioned it in the camera section, but the camera is always in focus with EDOF. and also, you should put on image stabilization on the video capture if you hadn't done so already. good review though.

posted on 05 Sep 2011, 12:45

19. dontmatter (unregistered)


EDOF??? to lazy to type it out!!!! hire someone to type it out for you next time!

posted on 16 Aug 2011, 15:16 5

3. aztaxia12295 (Posts: 264; Member since: 22 Nov 2009)


platform still feels dated is not a good con to state, cuz ios is definitely stale and dated and it isn't hampered bc of that.

posted on 16 Aug 2011, 16:10

4. Joshing4fun (Posts: 1044; Member since: 13 Aug 2010)


Just saying... If you showed me this phone or a blackberry from 4 years ago it'd be hard for me to tell a difference. And at $250? I'm not sure who sucks more here, Verizon or RIM.

posted on 16 Aug 2011, 22:27 7

5. Artax (Posts: 7; Member since: 28 Jul 2011)


haha you could also say the same thing about a 3GS compared to the original iPhone.

posted on 17 Aug 2011, 07:01 5

6. snowgator (Posts: 3187; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


That is all three reviews you have posted something bad about Blackberry (Torch 2, Torch 9860, and this one.) Got it out of your system yet?

posted on 17 Aug 2011, 07:04

7. snowgator (Posts: 3187; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


If you cannot wait on Blackberry to put out QNX devices next year, this is the iconic device for you. Let's face it: most Crackberry fans are dying for a new device. RIM has kept them waiting far to long.

posted on 17 Aug 2011, 08:03 1

8. Maxwell (Posts: 1; Member since: 17 Aug 2011)


So this is BlackBerry's last BB OS device, what happens in a years time? Will i still have support if i buy this phone?

posted on 20 Aug 2011, 01:00 1

11. CoolBB (unregistered)


I agree that this phone's design is GORGEOUS. Wow. I do notice many talking about the similar stainless steel band around the side of the phone as well as the glass-like cover on the back, but nevertheless, this beats the iphone design. HOWEVER, there are some disappointing things about it too... no flash support, no 4G capability, no auto focus camera, and WORST of all... $250 WITH 2-year contract? UHHH... I DON'T THINK SO. Even $199 is asking too much. There are several devices out there that are topping the cellular market and blackberry is still missing too many features to compete with the top models. Just because it's now touch screen and upgraded to OS7 (which is not too different from OS6), doesn't mean the price has to sky rocket. I think I'll either wait until this mind-shocking jaw-dropping price falls or get an android.

posted on 21 Aug 2011, 12:26

13. heyhey (Posts: 8; Member since: 20 Dec 2010)


T-mobile's is 4G.

posted on 12 Oct 2011, 16:42

25. alx33 (Posts: 32; Member since: 07 Oct 2011)


No its not its HSPA

posted on 20 Aug 2011, 14:00 1

12. orlandotommy (unregistered)


1.
Very well designed (keyboard, display, processor) phone but it ends there...
2.
With the addition of RIM's new OS7 on this device virtually all apps are incompatible, couldn't even load Pandora or the Fox News Icon, nothign is compatible (yet).
3.
BlackBerry App Store is a complete joke. Pathetic.
4.
The phone STILL only has support for "1" Exchange/ActiveSync account. Anything else needs to be POP or IMAP which is great if you use GMAIL and YAHOO for business but most don't. I have 3 Exchange accounts that work beautiful on the iPhone or Android but i guess RIM just doesn't get it.
5.
I've had this new BB 3 days now, and i really thought i had finally been able to find a reason to switch back to BB but sad to say, this phone is a zero against the iPhone or a decent Android based phone.
6.
RIM, you had a good run, but it's time to pack up and call it a day...

posted on 21 Aug 2011, 12:39

14. heyhey (Posts: 8; Member since: 20 Dec 2010)


I like how the only non-opinion con ("dated", "pricey" - which btw is due to carriers, what does that have to do with the actual device?) is about the camera and it's rated a 8. Why do I even bother with this $hit biased site?

posted on 24 Aug 2011, 17:57

15. cupcake (Posts: 106; Member since: 15 Apr 2010)


WTG blackberry! This phone is nice to use, look at. Easier to navigate than the previous models and the screen is very vibrant. I'm not going to buy it because I'd miss android, but, I may if I required a phone for business use.

posted on 26 Aug 2011, 09:03

16. lucius81pt (unregistered)


So... No flash?

posted on 26 Aug 2011, 09:10

17. hello (Posts: 25; Member since: 21 Jan 2011)


This would be so much better if blackberry's ran Android apps. And had an auto focus camera.

posted on 27 Aug 2011, 21:16

18. jlbnaz (Posts: 5; Member since: 22 Aug 2011)


Cant believe i waited 6 months to upgrade waiting on this ! i thought it would knock my socks off, always had a BB, battery life sucks even standby, BB apps haven't changed, same junks as always, camera was really disappointing, beautiful phone but disappointed overall with a lot of things, think i will keep 12 days & take it back to Verizon & wait for the new I-phone -( BTW i emailed Verizon a week before i bought it & told them it was overpriced & they were price gouging, customer service called me & offered the phone for the $199.00 & they would give me the next month service free, so price ended up at about $110 bucks.) still dont want to deal with it for 18 more month, back to the old bold till first of October.

posted on 05 Sep 2011, 12:52 1

20. dontmatter (unregistered)


blackberry does this stuff on PURPOSE, and they wonder why there suffering, they made a very nice phone this time, but they refused to put a flash and focus capability on the camera so they hope you will look forward to the 'next model' (next screw up model) next newest model will have corrected the mistakes of the previous models and intentionally let out a touch screen or add focus and forget a flash, etc, blackberry should be past these 'silly' mistakes like a child still wetting there bed!

posted on 05 Sep 2011, 12:53

21. dontmatter (unregistered)


blackberry does this stuff on PURPOSE, and they wonder why there suffering, they made a very nice phone this time, but they refused to put a flash and focus capability on the camera so they hope you will look forward to the 'next model' (next screw up model) next newest model will have corrected the mistakes of the previous models and intentionally let out a touch screen or add focus and forget a flash, etc, blackberry should be past these 'silly' mistakes like a child still wetting there bed!

posted on 12 Sep 2011, 07:00

22. maro (unregistered)


it's not a standard FIXED FOCUS camera it's an EDOF camera that takes a lot better photos than a standard fixed focus camera and the quality of pics is not bad at all actually the only issue is just close up shots

posted on 26 Sep 2011, 08:51

23. PRITAM (unregistered)


Could you please tell me that when will Blackberry Bold will launch it's new model for video conferencing.

posted on 27 Sep 2011, 20:16

24. Icom (unregistered)


After owning every Blackberry with Nextel service and most of the Sprint (CDMA) Blackberry's and selling them as well I can say that 8 out of 10 users didnt have a clue how to utilize most of the features they provide. I will admit Im not a big fan of watching TV, playing on Facebook or putting my Gym workout in my device. I do keep tack of the weather frequently, demand security and password word protection with a total wipe if violated by a predetermined attempts, and the same features within the device for the password keeper. Email filters so I can selectively forward e-mails from one of my email accounts available via the Blackberry Web Client. Shortcut keys, auto on auto off, unlimited secure worldwide messaging, fast email turaround. The querty keyboard and so on. There are a few things that I wish I had occasionally but the same holds true with my house, my car, my life in general. What really matters is consistiency and dependability. Technology moves so fast most people cant afford to keep up with the latest greatest. I want a device that is supported for at least a couple of years and then when I upgrade I want most of the core applications along with the data to transfer. Ok I'll shut up now. I just got my 9930 and I have do do the switch device wizard.

posted on 25 Nov 2011, 22:32

26. phreemovement (Posts: 1; Member since: 25 Nov 2011)


if any new or existing verizon customers wants this phone for $200 off retail w/ 2 yr contract, hit me up!!
foamposite0o1@gmail.com
glad to help out.

posted on 25 Feb 2012, 01:14

27. Titan500 (Posts: 4; Member since: 10 Feb 2012)


I have used my wife’s Droid 2 allot. It's ok but it’s cumbersome to use and it’s heavy. There are lots of apps which I'll probably never use. Good browser though. I have tried the BlackBerry 9930 and I like it. I like it allot. I now have a lowly Curve 9330 and with the exception of its browser can out perform the Droid 2 with options ease of operation and efficiency. It is ok that you don’t like BlackBerry’s, not everyone is able to use one properly. Remember it is about doing business. I’m not saying that there should be no Droids or I Phones or they suck any such nonsense. Just next time you criticize BlackBerry please understand that your I.Q. is being rated.

posted on 12 Apr 2012, 20:57

28. sherman3913 (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Apr 2012)


im an alltel customer and want this phone the bb 9930 alltel doesnt offer it but my question is if i bye one from verizon sprint or any of them willi be able to actavate the phone i dont know if theres anywa to make this work but if so i'll do it

posted on 04 Jun 2012, 17:34

29. tommyb3 (Posts: 1; Member since: 04 Jun 2012)


I had a Blackberry Bold and felt I was missing out on life, so bought a Droid 4.
Everything seemed out of whack with the Droid. 4G doesnt matter if you can't use the phone well and the keypad keeps sliding out. Also the power drain was intense. I don't recommend buying one until they solve the batter problem. I was never so happy to buy another Blackberry, the new Bold, 9930 in this case. It works well and if they keep on making them, I will keep on buying them.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display2.8 inches, 640 x 480 pixels (286 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 1200 MHz, QC 8655 processor
768 MB RAM
Size4.53 x 2.60 x 0.41 inches
(115 x 66 x 10.5 mm)
4.59 oz  (130 g)
Battery1230 mAh, 6.6 hours talk time

Latest stories