x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Verizon MiFi 2200 Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Verizon MiFi 2200 Review
This review has been updated on 11 May, 2009

Verizon MiFi 2200 Review
Over the past few months Verizon Wireless has introduced two  interesting devices, the Network Extender Femtocell and Hub home phone system.  Now comes the Verizon MiFi 2200 mobile hotspot, manufactured by Novatel Wireless.  It is very compact, measuring only 2.3”H x 3.5”W x 0.4”D and weighing a mere 2.05oz.  Included with it is a micoUSB data cable, wall charger, 1150mAh battery, carrying case, and quick start guide.


The MiFi 2200 is basically a mobile broadband data relay device, which connects to the Internet via Verizon’s EVDO Rev A network, but it can also use EVDO Rev 0 and 1X depending on your coverage area.  Once it’s turned on you can connect up to 5 devices wirelessly to it via Wi-Fi or one device via the microUSB data cable.  When connecting through Wi-Fi, you have to enter in the password that is printed on the back of the device, or when using USB, you have to install and run the ZV Access Manager software,  which supports Windows 7, Vista, XP, 2000 and Mac OS X 10.4 or higher. 

Verizon MiFi 2200 Review
Verizon MiFi 2200 Review
Verizon MiFi 2200 Review

Verizon MiFi 2200 is very compact - Verizon MiFi 2200 Review
Verizon MiFi 2200 is very compact - Verizon MiFi 2200 Review
Verizon MiFi 2200 is very compact - Verizon MiFi 2200 Review

Verizon MiFi 2200 is very compact



We first tested the device with our Windows 7 PC using the microUSB connection, and was up and running in a few minutes after the VZ Access Manager software was installed.  We performed several speed tests in our EVDO Rev A area and would get anywhere from 800Kbs to 1.3Mbps download and an average of 500Kbps upload.  Downloading a 99.5MB file from the nVidia site took a little over 12 minutes and had a transfer rate of 134KBs.  Most web sites will load in a reasonable 5 seconds, depending on how complex they are. Though this is not as fast as home broadband services, it is still good enough for most people while they are out in the field. We then used the Wi-Fi feature and connected two notebook computers to the MiFi 2200 simultaneously. The download and upload speeds were about the same as when using the USB, but the more devices that are connected and sharing the bandwidth, the speed of the connected devices will start go down.  The included 1150mAh battery is rated to provide up to 4 hours of usage time with one Wi-Fi device connected to it, or 40 hours of standby time.

Verizon MiFi 2200 Review
Verizon MiFi 2200 Speed test - Verizon MiFi 2200 Review

Verizon MiFi 2200 Speed test




The Verizon MiFi 2200 is easy to setup and use, and is small enough to be placed anywhere.  The device will be released on May 17th and cost $99.99 after a $50 rebate  with a new 2-year contract agreement.  You then have to choose between a $39.99 monthly access plan with 250MB monthly allowance (10 cent/MB overage) or a $59.99 monthly access plan with 5GB monthly allowance (5 cent/MB overage).  However, if you purchase the device at the full retail price of $269.99 (without a contract), you can then opt for the Mobile Broadband DayPass, which is $15 for 24 hour usage.


Pros

  • Easy to set up
  • EVDO Rev A
  • Can connect up to 5 Wi-Fi devices or 1 with USB

Cons

  • Only 4 hours of usage on a charge
PhoneArena rating:
9
User rating:
Not rated

14 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. jskrenes (Posts: 209; Member since: 11 Dec 2008)


$39.99 for 250 MB? I thought it was only 50 MB. Are they upping the 50 MB plan? 250 is still a bit low, and 5 GB isn't great if you're connecting wifi devices.

posted on 08 May 2009, 17:50

6. Striker13084 (Posts: 126; Member since: 30 Mar 2009)


I researched it and there is a 250 MB plan. It is available though customer care only and it is only available to long time customers as a save tool.

posted on 11 May 2009, 10:39

11. remixfa (Posts: 13935; Member since: 19 Dec 2008)


the 250mb plan IS NOT availible to customers as a sales tool. you are correct, it is ONLY availible through customer service as a SAVE tool, and ONLY when they have data overages on that silly 50mb plan, that just needs to go away. really it should be like 1gb for 39 and 5 for 59. 50mb is a joke.

posted on 21 May 2009, 18:40

12. idiotwind13 (Posts: 80; Member since: 29 Dec 2008)


The 250 MB plan is now available at 39.99 for new customers as well, the 50mb is gone. Still not much but reasonable for a very light internet user or as a secondary source.

posted on 10 Aug 2009, 19:10

13. crashpeltzer (Posts: 1; Member since: 10 Aug 2009)


This is COMPLETELY not true. I happen to be the store manager of a Verizon Wireless Premium Retailer in Washington state and the 250 MB plan is $39.99 / mo with no restrictions on who can or cannot get this. Verizon replaced their 50 MB plan with this 2 months ago (becuase 50 MB seriously was a joke and something like 95% of customers who set up with this had massive overage). You can start servie with this plan, switch to it as an existing customer not using the full 5 GB or even start this on a month to month plan. As for the Mifi Device itself, it is exceptional and one of the best Mobile Broadband devices I have sold.

posted on 08 May 2009, 11:35

2. Osukaru (Posts: 68; Member since: 02 Jul 2008)


well the way i see it 50mb for 39.99 right now. So they are giving you 250mb or "50mb per device that can connect". no i know its not that way but ill take 250 over 50 any day but honestly i have 5gb so i guess its a good value for those people who need a bit more than 50megs but less than 250

posted on 08 May 2009, 14:04

3. Mayday3420 (Posts: 61; Member since: 11 Dec 2008)


Here is my problem with this website.... verizon came out with a new product that no other cell phone company has. It apparently works as portrayed if not better. No compliments to verizon for being creative and coming up with something new or even on a great new product. If any other company came out with this product it would have gotten a higher rating this website would have singing their praises..... This is far too biased of a site and it's sad when you can tell just on a basic review. Shape up phone arena.

posted on 08 May 2009, 16:37

4. Osukaru (Posts: 68; Member since: 02 Jul 2008)


Not Quite... Its just A router/data card combo, i have a router already for my data card thats roughly twice the size + data card on it and its fairly decent so its somethign already out there im just glad vzw finally combined it. the battery life is pretty bad so it justifys the 9.... Thats pretty high. before you flame me i work for the company and IMO the review and rating of 9 is justifyable. i could see a 9.5 though.

posted on 09 May 2009, 08:09

7. jmweekes (Posts: 14; Member since: 28 Aug 2008)


With Verizon fannies out there trying to talk all intelligent when vzn does something relatively impressive and like a bunch of raving, ill-behaved, caustic locker room yahoos with jock itch when another company does something good, it's kinda hard for anyone who is not with Verison and whose parents aren't paying for their wireless service to have an unbiased opinion of the company. I realize not all Verizon customers are this way (including possibly you, Mayday); however, there are enough of these bad eggs out there to make me want to have nothing to do with the company. If at some point they came out with a project that I liked, had use for and which was reasonably priced (initially and for on-going use), I would likely give them a chance, but thus far that has not happened. I think this is a pretty impressive device and, as far as I know, unique to the market, and slick to boot. I think the review was unbiased and very positive--how can you complain about a rating of 9? And, the whole basis of unbiased reporting is NOT singing praises but stating the facts and pointing out the positive and negative aspects of a product. (For the record, Me: originally AT&T -> Sprint -> now T-Mobile for cost/benefit and, primarily, [universal] GSM and their phone offerings)

posted on 09 May 2009, 17:15

8. Legion (Posts: 397; Member since: 12 Dec 2008)


So another persons opinion completely unrelated you governs which cell phone company you go with?? Concentrate on yourself rather than your posts!

posted on 10 May 2009, 23:15

9. Kiltlifter (Posts: 742; Member since: 11 Dec 2008)


Mayday... you are pathetic... which store do you work at... or are you at the Irvine call center... grow up. This is a fair review... 9!!!!

posted on 11 May 2009, 10:08

10. Mayday3420 (Posts: 61; Member since: 11 Dec 2008)


They actually changed the ranking on it. When this review was first posted it was actually a 7. And I don't work at any of those. Sorry pal. And with how imature your comment was, you're telling me to grow up? ummmm... ok.

posted on 08 May 2009, 16:39

5. smartpill (Posts: 1; Member since: 08 May 2009)


So is this the kind of thing you could use in your car or walking and use with the wifi in an iPod Touch? Obviously it's not a phone, but I could see this being handy for travelling.

posted on 14 Oct 2009, 18:22

14. AlbusD (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Oct 2009)


I beg to differ with one point of the review. Today (10-14-09) I spent over an hour on the phone with 3 Verizon techs to get a MiFi 2200 to work with a Lenovo 3000 N100 (built-in Broadcom 802.11g adapter). The latest VZ Manager version 7.0.10.1 is NOT Windows 7 compatible, according to Verizon, and no release date of the software is known. The MiFi2200 DOES work if it is connected to the USB port, but cannot connect wirelessly (including with no firewall running). BTW, I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate just installed during a Microsoft Loadfest event. This is the final retail version, not RC. C'mon Verizon, get on it.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories