x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Motorola ATRIX 4G Review

Motorola ATRIX 4G 9.5

Posted: , by

Tags:

Pages
Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
Introduction:

Let’s reminisce for a bit shall we? It was roughly a year ago when we were all finally entertained as AT&T ushered in the era of Android as the carrier introduced the socially right round Motorola BACKFLIP. Being the last of the major carriers to enter the Android game, customers were probably hoping to be entertained by some kind of high caliber device, rather, they were only subjected to the mid-range offering. Since then, and up to the beginning of the New Year, customers had to endure and wallow with a sea of forgettable devices from Motorola’s camp – such as the BRAVO, FLIPSIDE, and FLIPOUT.

Call it an injustice or whatever you want, but now they aim to erase all prior memories as we open up our arms and embrace all the loveliness that the Motorola ATRIX 4G is about to offer. Not only it is the first truly respectable offering from Motorola’s camp for AT&T, but it’s gunning to position itself as the best smartphone device in its class amongst the carrier’s lineup. Naturally, there are plenty of goodies strapped in for the ride. But it’s taking things into new territories that haven’t been explored yet. But in the end, will these new ventures actually transition to something that consumers want?

Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The package contains:

  • Motorola ATRIX 4G
  • microUSB Cable
  • Wall Charger
  • microHDMI Cable
  • Quickstart Guide

Design:

With all the impressive hardware under its hood, one can easily overlook the less than tasteful design it’s sporting. There’s no arguing about it, but when it’s compared to some of Verizon’s babies, say the Motorola DROID X, the ATRIX 4G doesn’t come off as boasting a stellar design. Rather, it resorts to a minimalistic approach that’s rounded on the corners and is constructed out of some marginally acceptable plastics. At the same time though, it’s very lightweight (4.76 oz.) thanks to its plastic housing, while still tucking away easily in the pockets due to its slim (0.43” thick) looks.  However, we do find its back cover intriguing thanks to the pattern painted on here that provides a shimmering effect when the handset is tilted at various angles. It’s not sexy by any means, but its design is tolerable enough to accept.

The Motorola ATRIX 4G resorts to a minimalistic approach that’s rounded on the corners - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The Motorola ATRIX 4G resorts to a minimalistic approach that’s rounded on the corners - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The Motorola ATRIX 4G resorts to a minimalistic approach that’s rounded on the corners - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The Motorola ATRIX 4G resorts to a minimalistic approach that’s rounded on the corners - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review

The Motorola ATRIX 4G resorts to a minimalistic approach that’s rounded on the corners


Motorola ATRIX 4G Review

You can compare the Motorola ATRIX 4G with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Looking past its design, our eyes are greeted to an illustrious 4” qHD (540 x 960) LCD display that packs plenty of crisp details that make even the tiniest of text extremely visible to the naked eye. Moreover, color output is fantastically natural looking and luscious to behold without having the over-saturated looks of an AMOLED display. In outdoor settings under the gaze of the sun, it’s still workable without the need of being shielded thanks to its strong luminance output. Plus, viewing angles are actually good with the handset since colors retain their level even at some extreme angles. And lastly, the display is quite receptive in registering all of our gestures and presses.

The Motorola ATRIX 4G has a 4” qHD LCD display - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The Motorola ATRIX 4G has a 4” qHD LCD display - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The Motorola ATRIX 4G has a 4” qHD LCD display - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review

The Motorola ATRIX 4G has a 4” qHD LCD display


Viewing angles - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
Viewing angles - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
Viewing angles - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
Viewing angles - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
Viewing angles - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review

Viewing angles


As always, the usual set of capacitive touch Android buttons line the bottom area beneath the display. Though, we still had a tendency of accidentally pressing on them since they’re placed somewhat close to the edge. Next to the earpiece, the 0.3-megapixel front facing camera is perched nearby, while the proximity and light sensors are there as well.

Front facing camera - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review

Front facing camera


Placed alongside one another, we find the microUSB and microHDMI ports built into the left edge of the phone. The tandem enables the handset to offer some new innovative features that truly deliver in making the ATRIX 4G a great handset, but we’ll explain more about that later on.

Now the only thing found on the right side is the ample sized volume rocker that provides a reasonable amount of feedback when pressed.

The sides of the Motorola ATRIX 4G - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The sides of the Motorola ATRIX 4G - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The sides of the Motorola ATRIX 4G - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review

The sides of the Motorola ATRIX 4G


While on the top, we’re presented with the 3.5mm headset jack with the dedicated power button placed awkwardly towards the back and at angle. Rectangular in shape, some might be thrown off by it, but it actually doubles as a finger print reader which is used to unlock the device. Definitely adding yet another level of peace of mind, we like its tactile response and ability to unlock the device – which is still rarely found on most of today’s smartphones. Additionally, the noise cancelling microphone is found close-by as well.

The dedicated power button doublesas a finger print reader - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review

The dedicated power button doubles
as a finger print reader


Turning it around to its rear, we’re greeted with its unmistakable 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with dual-LED flash, while the speakerphone grill is found towards the bottom portion. Removing the back cover is simply done by yanking it off from either the top or bottom edges, and once that’s done, you have access to its larger than normal 1930 mAh battery, SIM card slot, and microSD card slot.

The back of the Motorola ATRIX 4G - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The back of the Motorola ATRIX 4G - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review
The back of the Motorola ATRIX 4G - Motorola ATRIX 4G Review

The back of the Motorola ATRIX 4G



Motorola ATRIX 4G 360-degree View:



61 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 01 Mar 2011, 07:35 10

1. protozeloz (Posts: 5396; Member since: 16 Sep 2010)


9.5!! I'm i seeing things here? same as iPhone 4!? wow

now stop comparing everything with the iPhone do few more phone smack downs using other phones an I'll stop calling you biased

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 09:28 6

5. superpooburger (Posts: 31; Member since: 17 Feb 2011)


why compear everything to iPhone, its becouse iPhone does give best costumer satisfaction.

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 09:39 7

6. protozeloz (Posts: 5396; Member since: 16 Sep 2010)


it alright to compare one device with the iPhone but if you read this page more often you will find out every device is compared with the iPhone witch it not even fun, for example comparing this phone with the iPhone will be dumb but a compare with the optimus 2x can be appreciated as you can see witch you can choose. its not that I don't want them to skip apple comparison but to add more different product comparison

posted on 19 Mar 2011, 07:26 1

49. assajdsad (unregistered)


zssdsdfdsf

posted on 19 Mar 2011, 07:26 1

50. assajdsad (unregistered)


sdfdsfsfddsf

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 18:13

23. clevername (Posts: 1436; Member since: 11 Jul 2008)


They don't compare it to the iPhone.

posted on 02 Mar 2011, 07:33

27. protozeloz (Posts: 5396; Member since: 16 Sep 2010)


its an extra comment related with phone comparison... usually done around review times

posted on 08 Mar 2011, 06:46 1

41. protozeloz (Posts: 5396; Member since: 16 Sep 2010)


LOL just happened.... I win candy for that

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 08:18 3

2. Falcon (unregistered)


You forgot to add poor sound quality during calls as a con in your conclusion. I think that is an important point.

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 13:42 6

15. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


and you forgot this is a Motorola product, they ALWAYS have crystal clear sounds during phone calls, i know, i've had the Razr, the Devour and the Droid X and 2 and NONE of them disappoint. the problem here might be AT&T.

posted on 02 Mar 2011, 02:31 1

26. max (unregistered)


you had the devour....

posted on 08 Mar 2011, 15:32

42. zuno gyakusatsu (Posts: 257; Member since: 16 Mar 2010)


sounds like your just used to the horrible call quality that comes from motorola devices. every phone you named off is from the same septic tank flowing from the motorola plant.

posted on 08 Mar 2011, 20:49 6

43. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


i've had smart phones from other manufacturers as well and the only other one that can compare to Moto is HTC, the reason why i know the finer differences is because my dad drives a car carrier and there's a lot of background noise on both ends and of all the smartphones we've had Motorola comes out on top in sound quality.

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 09:18 1

3. Prodigy (unregistered)


Poor sound quality, poor reception, 1 and half day - above battery life???

9.5??? What???

Was that an Atrix prototype or is it an ending smartphone?

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 09:19 3

4. superpooburger (Posts: 31; Member since: 17 Feb 2011)


in rewiev told taht can hear static in background, and did not mention it in cons..
Shame on you, Device primary function, Phone, and it not very good at it... so need to mention...

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 09:41 7

7. protozeloz (Posts: 5396; Member since: 16 Sep 2010)


I really hate to bash on phone companies but i think AT&T is to blame Motorola is well known for call quality

posted on 03 Mar 2011, 09:11

33. snowgator (Posts: 3599; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


That may be true (actually would put money on it being AT&T's network that caused the poor sound quality) but since it is an AT&T only phone, the review should have reflected it. If it made it a 9.0 instead of a 9.5, would that really have kept anyone from buying it?

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 10:06 1

8. Allday28 (Posts: 283; Member since: 19 Nov 2010)


What about all the lag with the device because of BLUR that all the other sites are reporting!??

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 13:45 3

16. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


BLUR lagging a phone with a Dual Core Tegra 2 Processor and a Gig of DDR2 RAM? i'm sure that's not right, i think everybody is just prejudice of the BLUR UI.

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 14:12 5

19. Allday28 (Posts: 283; Member since: 19 Nov 2010)


Oh know its right. Just cause it has dual core doesnt mean its the king of phones. Go look at some other reviews and you will see. Plus froyo isnt optimised for dual core and neither is gingerbread. Not a big fan of motorolas smart phones. iphone and htc is where its at.

posted on 16 Apr 2011, 14:03

53. therygy (Posts: 94; Member since: 24 May 2010)


thumper, you do not know what your talking about. just because it has a dual core proccessor doesnt mean motorblur wont lag, it is not optimized for a dual core proccessor yet. I returned it because the battery overheated and because i expierienced lag with motoblur. stop thinking your such a big shot and thinking you no what your talking about.

posted on 21 Apr 2011, 21:00 1

54. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


did you have any widgets on your homescreen that were updating too quickly? because i almost burned up my Droid 2 because of that. well you obviously know more about it than i do because you bought one and i didn't but i'm sure you didn't think the phone would lag at all before you bought it, maybe you played around with one. i'm sure it didn't lag then because of all of the ones that i've played with there is no lag at all. i think before you go blaming Blur for whatever happened with your phone then you should be entirely certain that there was no user error at fault oh and i'm not sure i understand what you mean when you say i think i'm a big shot but when i comment on these posts i'm only sharing my experience and knowledge on the matter at hand, so just go to school, learn some grammar and get off my jock.

posted on 02 Mar 2011, 12:15 4

30. DJLegacy2k5 (Posts: 212; Member since: 28 Jan 2011)


There is ZERO lag on this phone

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 10:36

9. WirelessCon (Posts: 311; Member since: 11 May 2010)


Is AT&T working on the call quality issue with an OTA update?

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 10:39

10. WirelessCon (Posts: 311; Member since: 11 May 2010)


"So if you’re looking for a smartphone right now, there is no reason why the Motorola ATRIX 4G should be on the top of your list."

9.5 out of 10? Then why do you end the review telling people NOT TO BUY?

That last sentence of the review is very misleading.

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 13:49 3

17. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


yeah, that was a real fail, they probably really meant shouldn't. xD

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 10:51 1

11. cj100570 (Posts: 204; Member since: 12 May 2009)


Why do you insist on referring to HTC Leap as Helicopter View? At no point has HTC ever referred to it as that! And I also must agree with protozeloz on the constant comparison of every phone to the iPhone. Review the phone in front of you and stop dragging the iPhone into everything. It is not and never has been the benchmark to beat!

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 11:57 1

12. Hi (unregistered)


I think "should" be "shouldn't" in your last sentence

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 12:02 3

13. Jason1212 (unregistered)


Who the hell paid them to give this POS a 9.5.......so laggy and motocrap makes the phone unusable

posted on 01 Mar 2011, 13:50

18. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


well have you ever had a phone with Blur?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Motorola ATRIX 4G

Motorola ATRIX 4G

OS: Android 2.3.6 2.3.4 2.2
view full specs
Display4.0 inches, 540 x 960 pixels (275 ppi)
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
NVIDIA Tegra 2, Dual-core, 1000 MHz
1 GB RAM
Size4.64 x 2.50 x 0.43 inches
(117.75 x 63.5 x 10.95 mm)
4.76 oz  (135 g)
Battery1930 mAh, 8.8 hours talk time

Latest stories