x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

Nokia C6-01 Review

Posted: , by Basil K.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia C6-01 Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with T-Mobile USA and AT&T.

Introduction:


Nokia C6-01 Review
Nokia C6-01 Review
If you want to go touch screen phone, have used Symbian S60 your entire life and don't want the hassle of learning how to use a new OS, then Symbian^3 is the best Symbian iteration to date. Of the launch line of Symbian^3 phones, we've had a look at the N8, the mobile camera extraordinaire, the C7, a touch of elegance, and now it's the turn of the Nokia C6-01, the most affordable of the line with a smaller screen and a thicker form-factor. Despite being the lowest spec'd of the three phones, it still boasts some great functionality such as the same 8MP camera found on the Nokia C7 with twin LED flash and the same connectivity options. It is also the first handset we've tested to utilize Nokia's new CBD (Clear Black Display) technology. So can this phone retain the core features that make the C7 a solid performer, or have Nokia left too much out of the C6-01? For all the answers, read on.


Design:

The Nokia C6-01 is a chunky little thing. It's considerably thicker than the C7 and feels very squat. Also, despite a metal chassis, the device feels hollow with uneven weighting. Picking up the Nokia N8 in contrast, with its anodized aluminium body is a dense, solid pleasure, and the Nokia C7 despite being plastic feels evenly weighted and physically satisfying to hold. The Nokia C6-01 in stark contrast feels hollow, more like an empty metal tin than a well spec'd smartphone. The reality is, Nokia is a victim of their own success as we have high hardware expectations of the Finnish manufacturer, even from their lower to mid range phones such as the X3 Touch and Type and E5. Unfortunately, the C6 doesn't cut the mustard.

The Nokia C6-01 has a metal chassis - Nokia C6-01 Review
The Nokia C6-01 has a metal chassis - Nokia C6-01 Review
The Nokia C6-01 has a metal chassis - Nokia C6-01 Review
The Nokia C6-01 has a metal chassis - Nokia C6-01 Review

The Nokia C6-01 has a metal chassis


Nokia C6-01 Review

You can compare the Nokia C6-01 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

On one hand, the capacitive screen of the Nokia C6-01 is its best asset and on the other, its biggest downfall. Both endowed with Nokia's CBD technology and being sharper than that of any other Symbian^3 handset, it looks undeniably good, though measuring in at 3.2 inches, it renders Symbian^3 a challenge to use comfortably. Colours on the Nokia C6-01 are beautifully vibrant and have good punchy saturation levels, thanks to the AMOLED technology in use. Blacks are deep, with the standby Symbian^3 clock showing just how deep (with a fine line-art clock illuminated in white atop the jet black screen), and detail is good overall. At a resolution of 360x640 pixels, 3.2 inches do make for good clarity, but nevertheless, for sheer usability, we would choose to sacrifice some sharpness and make the screen take up more of the fascia, as is the case on the Nokia C7 for example.

The phone has 3.2 inch AMOLED display - Nokia C6-01 Review

The phone has 3.2 inch AMOLED display



Below the screen are three physical buttons, call, end and menu. They feel a tad loose to press, but nevertheless do the job. At the base of the Nokia C6-01 is a microUSB port, a 3.5mm headphone jack and a 2mm proprietary Nokia charging port. To the upper left side are two volume buttons, a hold slider in the middle and a single-stage camera button below. With no keys on the left hand side, jumping to the back, you'll find the 8MP fixed-focus camera, twin LED flash and loudspeaker. Slide off the metal battery cover, which feels pretty hardy, to reveal the battery with a SIM card slot underneath. To the right hand side of the battery is the microSD card slot, with a 2GB card in the box.

The sides of the Nokia C6-01 - Nokia C6-01 Review
The sides of the Nokia C6-01 - Nokia C6-01 Review
The sides of the Nokia C6-01 - Nokia C6-01 Review
The sides of the Nokia C6-01 - Nokia C6-01 Review

The sides of the Nokia C6-01


Nokia C6-01 Review
Nokia C6-01 Review


Overall, we're not too enamoured by the C6-01's design. Sure it's metal on the outside and we haven't got cause for concern regarding longevity, but the weighting is off and the proportions make the phone feel squat. All this coupled with the screen being a bit on the smaller side (considering today's standards), albeit sharp and vibrant, and it’s all kicking off to a mixed start.

41 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 22 Nov 2010, 06:53

1. Stoli89 (Posts: 333; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)


If the reviewer thinks a 3.2 inch screen is too small, that's OK. But at least understand that some companies tailor product portfolios to those who prefer a smaller, one handed device. IMO, the thicker device actually feels very ergonomic under single-handed operation.

The reviewer should also understand the performance of the browser has little to do with the hardware and everything to do with outdated code. This is why the phone will get a completely NEW browser based on Qt webkit in about one month. In the mean-time, he should at least mention the performance difference using Opera Mobile 10 and Opera Mini.

posted on 22 Nov 2010, 08:26

2. ymob (unregistered)


it can't be too small for that kind of resolution because with a bigger screen you would see the pixels easier and thats not good

posted on 22 Nov 2010, 11:27

3. Rev (Posts: 12; Member since: 19 Oct 2010)


The scoring seems a bit harsh if the main problem was the small screen. I would think this is about the best device in this price range.

The S^3 T9 keyboard is bit misunderstood I think. There is no way you could use a portrait qwerty on a phone like this and even on it N8 will probably be cramped and hard to use. That is because the screen aspect ratio is a more standard 16:9, which is more narrow than on other phones. From my view Nokia really screwed up the default settings on the T9. If you set predictive, error correction and suggestion options correctly, you can type really fast. This is most likely the ideal input method on C6-01 too. Too bad most users won't find the settings :(

I would also to add the CBD to the plus side. Now that even the new wave doesn't have super amoled, that is pretty good benefit against competition.

posted on 22 Nov 2010, 12:34

4. Richard (unregistered)


It gets a better review here: http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/reviews/item/12307_Nokia_C6_part_2-Is_this_the_so.php

posted on 22 Nov 2010, 23:49

5. JlJ (unregistered)


And what about the sound in the music.. its like the 5800 or better??

posted on 22 Nov 2010, 23:50

6. lawrence (unregistered)


reviewer is dumb one. he has given c7 a rating of 8 and this device which is the better one he is given 6

don't give your personal rating here if you have not liked it just mention it.

i would recommend and give a rating of 9

posted on 23 Nov 2010, 05:47 1

7. PhoneArena Team (Posts: 238; Member since: 27 Jun 2006)


Thanks for the feedback.

@Stoli89: We agree, Opera does provide an improvement and this is in the written review. We have to go on the grounds of the device we have in our hands, and web just wasn't up to scratch when compared to other phones, we look forward to the update.

@JlJ: Sound through the 3.5mm headphone jack was pretty good, not as round as some handsets out there (Desire HD), but good nonetheless.

@lawrence: We assure you, the reason it got this is because input was so difficult and inaccurate when compared with other handsets, it's markedly worse as an overall experience then the C7.

posted on 09 Feb 2011, 05:07

20. achyutish (Posts: 3; Member since: 22 Oct 2010)


@PhoneArena Team: i shall be glad if you confirm your views about the loudspeaker quality and the quality of the nokia CBD......i ahve read that it is almost as good as the Super AMOLEDs of samsung.....it is so???....and also a word about the divx and xvid playing capability of this phone.....is it good than S8500 in video playback, recording or the display????.....i currently have wave s8500 and was thinking to swap it for the c6-01.....please reply!!!!!

posted on 14 Apr 2011, 17:08

29. diogorva (unregistered)


Nokia CBD is just as good as Super AMOLED, at least that's what GSMArena tests proved. Also, C6-01 got plenty of codec support for the video playback, and the video-recording got smart digital zoom, that let's you do 2x zoom without stretching the video.

posted on 14 Apr 2011, 17:03

28. diogorva (unregistered)


What do you mean by "not as round as some handsets out there (Desire HD)"? You are saying that Desire HD got better sound-quality? Are you kidding right? Take a look at the GSMArena review, they do technical analizying about sound quality and they proved that Desire HD got terrible sound quality through headphones and the C6-01 audio quality is extremely good just like almost every Nokia phone.
About the user-experience, PhoneArena is the only one that complain about the "overall experience", I think that this phone is simply too small for your hands, but I rather this than a phone like HTC Desire HD that you can't even put properly on the pocket or use with one hand.
In the end, you recommend phones with smaller screens and much worse functionality (also, the X10 mini is even thicker), that makes me think that the review is so biased. This phone deserved alot more.

posted on 23 Nov 2010, 10:04

8. rohu (unregistered)


i like d phone a lot can any one tell me when this will be launched in indian market??

posted on 28 Nov 2010, 23:07

13. modibimal (unregistered)


India launch in Jan'11.

posted on 23 Nov 2010, 11:06

9. fslg9 (unregistered)


The guy reviewed the phone with a preconceived negative idea about the phone. No other review I've seen ever where you can clearly see where the reviewer is biased in.

And what does the 6.5 score mean. In which criteria? Multimedia functionality, web experience or only on its look? Does it have any meaning at all?

I agree with Richard. Other websites have lot better and "Professional" reviews. Not like here where a boy only plays with his toys and he likes one toy better than the other.

Learn kid, learn how to review. Try being concise and not only put a wholesome description about what is what. Only a good looking review style does make you an actual reviewer.

posted on 24 Nov 2010, 09:15

10. ps (unregistered)


Its thick becouse of the 3.2" screen. Hardware is basically same in C7 but with smaller screen there is less space for the components. Thats why its thicker.

posted on 25 Nov 2010, 13:49

11. nakul (unregistered)


I really like this phone...the only doubt in my mind is its camera.......so can u please review a bit more on this.....

posted on 28 Nov 2010, 23:05

12. modibimal (unregistered)


Reviewer said 8GB on board memory, thats not correct. It has only 2GB memory card comes with it.

posted on 23 Dec 2010, 07:42

14. Anup (unregistered)


In this price mark, it has got everything one need. A decent quality 8 MP camera, HD video recording, and playback, dvix and xvid support, and everything else one can demand in a Phone of this price tag. And I don't know how much 0.3" will make difference. This is much compact phone. You don't like this doesn't mean others won't like it. Its going to rock the market.
Can you tell me one phone coming in this pricetag having better(or same) screen resolution, technology, colour depth. and having xvid support, GPU, BT 3.0, 3.5G, wifi, usb on the go, fm and metal finish body.
Only con I can find here is earphone and missing BT HID profile. both of which can be upgraded without much effort.(Just buy wh-701 and upgrade to symbian 4).

Moral : Be happy by what you get, Don't be sad about what you don't.

posted on 06 Jan 2011, 00:39

15. rusai021 (unregistered)


can i ask when will the c6-01 be launched in the philippines?

posted on 09 Jan 2011, 21:52

16. sudarshan.24111990 (Posts: 1; Member since: 11 Dec 2010)


Here is the reply which i get from Nokia India..
show details Jan 4 (5 days ago)
Hello Sudarshan,

Thank you for contacting Nokia CareLine.

I understand that you want to know the launching date of Nokia device C6-01 in India.I know that how important it is for you to get this information immediately and the rest assured I am here to provide you to necessary assistance.

We are glad to inform you that expected launching date of Nokia device C6-01 will be in Second week of January 2011.Right now we are unable to provide you the exact date of relies of availability or information of this phone.All current and upcomind models that nokia plan to release in India are posted on our website i.e.www.nokia.co.in However, we have taken as a valuable feedback and we have forwarded the same to the consumer feedback division for thier due consideration. Any update in this regard will be posted on our website.
(website removed)

Thank you for choosing Nokia.

posted on 13 Jan 2011, 20:08

17. G.M.C. (unregistered)


Hi. Pictures I've searched for of the C6-01 can have a slide out full qwerty keyboard.

Are these not accurate? Or is the qwerty a more expensive choice of some, for this phone, where the review is not of the the qwerty keyboard option?

posted on 20 Jan 2011, 07:42

18. xBoi (unregistered)


Honestly, i thought that the reviewer was being unfair in the review. Just raging about how small the screen is.
Well, I went and tried using the Nokia C6-01. I walked away frustrated. I honestly cannot type anything on it. I end up using the portrait T9 Keypad to type.
The QWERTY is honestly one of the WORST ones around. It was okay on a resistive screen as i could easily hit the tiny buttons with my nails or something. Here, I'm jabbing at the screen with my fingers. And my hands are pretty small. Smaller than the reviewers by about an inch. And I STILL can't type anything.
I know im ranting rite now. But I'm okay with this screen size, but Nokia needs to make a better keyboard for this phone in a software update.

posted on 14 Apr 2011, 17:10

30. diogorva (unregistered)


You only need some time to get used to it.
I tried N8 on the store and I couldn't type anything, now I got the C6-01 with even smaller screen and I can type really fast already. So you only need some time to get used to it.

posted on 23 Jan 2011, 07:20

19. MR DEAN (unregistered)


Sorry but the issue regarding of the QWERT virtual keypad is hard to used is NOT TRUE. There's a new application of SWYPE for the phone. Find it in the Nokia's Beta Lab new application. It also support many languages. Dear reviewers and commentors, have a positive mind and please give a positive + alternative rather than downgraded this little angel.

posted on 22 Feb 2011, 10:08

21. jai (unregistered)


hi,
may i know the indian price of this mobile

posted on 24 Feb 2011, 07:30

22. hardeep0591 (unregistered)


its Rs.16.600

posted on 08 Mar 2011, 15:11

23. PRIME (unregistered)


Is it just me or this C6-01 really has an impossible and highly unusable lock slider? Is it the same as all the other C6-01 or do I have it replaced? Or is there a mechanical solution for this?

posted on 22 Mar 2011, 17:48

24. diogorva (unregistered)


I have to disagree with both "cons" that the reviews have mentioned.
About the thickness: with a phone of this size, I guess if it were slimmer, it wouldn't be so confortable to handle it, take the X10 mini por example, it's even smaller and even thicker.
About the text entry: the phone is clearly aimed for young teenagers, not for mans with giant hands, if that's your case, there's the E7 for you. So the text entry might not be unconfortable for some people (while a giant phone that you can't operate with one single hand may be).

posted on 26 Mar 2011, 16:59

25. maheswar_m (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Mar 2011)


As mobidimal said
"Reviewer said 8GB on board memory, thats not correct. It has only 2GB memory card comes with it."

The reviewer has no idea about the specs of this phone and yet he has managed to put together a negative review.

People, this is a very good multimedia smartphone. I agree entering text is a bit clumsy due to the size of the onboard qwerty keypad but everyone will get used to it after a few days using it. holding it is heaven. it fits compactly in your hand and one hand operation is breezy.

Upgrade the firmwire to version 014.002 as soon as you buy it. It definitely makes using it more user friendly.

posted on 27 Mar 2011, 20:43

26. nick (unregistered)


I have two questions which this review does not clarify:

1. Does this model (the C6-01) have a trackpad? If not then it is pretty useless for gaming and editing texts, etc.

2. Pictures I have seen of the qwerty keyboard suggest that it has the $ symbol instead of the £ one. I hope this is not true in the UK. What the hell would we want the $ symbol for??? They may as well give the symbol for the currency in Timbuctu. Can UK users please clarify. Thanks.

posted on 08 Apr 2011, 08:32

27. The Wolf (unregistered)


I actually own one of these and find it quite nice to use. Camera works better than you'd expect from a phone, loudspeaker isn't as tinny as other phones and as far as screen size and keyboard goes, yes i admit the qwerty can be annoying, however, if you go into settings>phone>touch input and turn OFF "adaptive search" it seems to work faster and more accurately. For me anyway and i have long skinny fingers. I bought this phone over others beacause I didn't want a 3.5" slab in my pockets. I much rather the thicker phone. For long fingers it doesn't feel like you're going to drop it all the time, unlike my ipod touch.
I guess each is entitled to their own opinion.

posted on 15 May 2011, 11:50

31. bishnoi (unregistered)


howz the sound quality of c6-01?

posted on 21 May 2011, 08:10

33. The Wolf (unregistered)


Excellent.. the C6-01 has a speaker in the back plate that is quick loud and very clear for music and ringtones and speakerphone... compared to an iphone much much louder and clearer.. my friends and i tested this..

posted on 18 May 2011, 14:17

32. chaitanya karanam (unregistered)


i'm in a bit of dilemma considering the buying of Galaxy Ace or Nokia C6-01.While I find Galaxy excellent with its android,build, it lacks the camera that C6-01 has. While C6-01 has a good camera it doesn't have the software X factor.So could you just suggest me taking into all the factors, the best phone between C6-01 and the Galaxy Ace.

posted on 02 Jun 2011, 00:18

34. sunny kumar (unregistered)


i think the reviewer has something like dilemma regarding this device. this is the best phone in its price.

posted on 03 Jul 2011, 00:13

35. Manchester United 99 (unregistered)


Really this reviewer sucks big time....He is so dumb to give a rating of 6....I feel that this mobile is far better than c7....And voice clarity , S^3 interface and also in-built graphic accelerator to play HD games like NFS Shift , Hawx, Avatar makes it to the top notch...

Ratings: 9.5/10

posted on 09 Jul 2011, 02:38

36. sattu (unregistered)


hi i buy this phoneyaar everythik is fine but battrybackup is bad yaar . nokia phone battryis good then other mobile but c6 battry worst...

posted on 25 Aug 2011, 03:01

37. allwyn (unregistered)


can anyone tellme how much is the internal memory and and what capacity memory card they arre providing

posted on 31 Aug 2011, 13:37

39. bhaijaan (unregistered)


500 mb int memo. and a 2 gb card provided with extendable to 32 gb

posted on 31 Aug 2011, 13:35

38. bhaijaan (unregistered)


on 1-9-11 i hav option to choose c6-01 with sym. anna HD 600mhz processor 8mp cam and video calling AMOLED for Rs. 13500 or sony xperia mango with android 2.3 gingerbrad with microsoft mango OS 1 Ghz processor nd a slider qwerty HD bravia 5 mp video calling for Rs. 15000 or HTC salsa 800 mhz processor full touch HD 5 MP android 2.3 with ultraslim body and fine colours bt no video calling for Rs. 15400 or samsung galaxy ace with andoid 2.3 1ghz processor 5mp cam AMOLED HD video calling for 14000......in kota rajasthan.........what do u think, ishould do ????

posted on 13 Sep 2011, 09:03

40. jose (unregistered)


just i have one doubt is this original from finland

posted on 13 Sep 2011, 09:05

41. jose (unregistered)


i want t buy this

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia C6-01

Nokia C6-01

OS: Symbian Belle Symbian^3
view full specs
Display3.2 inches, 360 x 640 pixels (229 ppi) AMOLED
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 680 MHz, ARM11 processor
256 MB RAM
Size4.09 x 2.07 x 0.55 inches
(103.8 x 52.5 x 13.9 mm)
4.62 oz  (131 g)
Battery1050 mAh, 12 hours talk time

Latest stories