x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Asha 311 Review

Posted: , by Victor H.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia Asha 311 Review
Introduction:

Nokia Asha 311 Review
Nokia Asha 311 Review
The Nokia Asha 311 has arrived in our office and we received it with mixed feelings. It’s part of the Asha lineup, a series of feature phones that is largely keeping Nokia afloat at the moment as it struggles selling enough Windows Phone smartphones. The Asha has gained some momentum in developing markets like India and this here Asha 311 is one of the best touchscreen phones in the series.

The Nokia Asha 311 packs a 3-inch low-res capacitive display and a 1GHz processor, both working in concert to bring the best out of the revamped interface of Series 40. Still, as affordable as the device is, low-end Android smartphones are now available for less and fighting against Android seems like an order way too tall for the Nokia phone. Let’s see, however, how the phone actually performs before jumping into conclusions.

In the box, you get the usual pair of horrid Nokia earbuds that distort sound so much we wouldn’t even try listening to music on them.


Design:

There is nothing impressive about the design of the Asha 311. It’s a thick little phone with a good build quality, with no creaky moving parts. It comes in five different colors showing most in the fully colored back cover and less in the matte inward chin on the front. Fingerprints are definitely an issue with the glossy back cover.The screen (more on it later) is encircled with a hefty bezel that looks almost unusual for those accustomed to the narrower framing on smartphones.

The Nokia Asha 311 is a thick little phone with a good build quality - Nokia Asha 311 Review
The Nokia Asha 311 is a thick little phone with a good build quality - Nokia Asha 311 Review
The Nokia Asha 311 is a thick little phone with a good build quality - Nokia Asha 311 Review

The Nokia Asha 311 is a thick little phone with a good build quality


Nokia Asha 311 Review

You can compare the Nokia Asha 311 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The element that makes the phone easy to recognize are the the two physical buttons placed on a contrasted chromed plastic strip right below the screen. We wouldn’t say it adds much to the aesthetics of the phone (rather the opposite), but we loved the two physical buttons, both very responsive, easy to press.

Front - Nokia Asha 311 Review
Buttons below the screen - Nokia Asha 311 Review

Front

Buttons below the screen


Unlike the front buttons, the side keys we just couldn’t get used too - they were too rigid, too hard to press to the point of inconvenience. Not a dealbreaker, but definitely something to keep in mind.

Charging is done via either a proprietary Nokia port which is on top or a microUSB port right next to it. On top, there is also a 3.5mm headphone jack.

Volume and camera keys (right) - The sides of the Nokia Asha 311 - Nokia Asha 311 Review
Left edge - The sides of the Nokia Asha 311 - Nokia Asha 311 Review
Top - The sides of the Nokia Asha 311 - Nokia Asha 311 Review

Volume and camera keys (right)

Left edge

Top

The sides of the Nokia Asha 311


Finally, the phone does feature an ambient light and proximity sensor, that kick in during calls to dim the screen.

Ambient light and proximity sensors - Nokia Asha 311 Review
Back - Nokia Asha 311 Review
Camera - Nokia Asha 311 Review

Ambient light and proximity sensors

Back

Camera

Nokia Asha 311 Review
Battery compartment - Nokia Asha 311 Review
 

Battery compartment



Nokia Asha 311 Review
Display:

The Asha 311 is a touchscreen phone and one of the best in its family. The 3-inch LCD display with a resolution of 240x400 pixels is capacitive and much more responsive than the one on the younger Asha sibling, the 305. It comes with Gorilla Glass protection, which is great news.

Viewing angles are pretty average so colors only wash out slightly at extreme angles. Nokia is including a polarizing filter for better outdoor visibility, and with it we found outdoor visibility to be around average.

24 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 19 Sep 2012, 07:53 8

1. ogy_dogy (Posts: 453; Member since: 29 Jun 2012)


I say not a bad phone for the price, for my mum or dad, who want a relatively modern phone but would be lost in the world of useless android features...

posted on 19 Sep 2012, 08:24 5

2. -box- (Posts: 3729; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)


WHY ARE YOU COMPARING THE ASHAS TO ANDROID, AGAIN? You said yourself it's a *bleep*ing FEATURE PHONE. This compares to devices like the Pantech Pursuit & Swift, Samsung Solstice2, Flight2, Evergreen, LG Xpression, HTC Freestyle, etc, NOT ANDROIDS, which, as we all know, are [ta-da!] SMART PHONES, even the basic ones you included in your comparison.

Try again.

posted on 19 Sep 2012, 09:23 7

6. neutralguy (Posts: 1152; Member since: 30 Apr 2012)


"Mostly due to the more responsive capacitive touchscreen, but also to more RAM memory (128MB) and a 1GHz processor, this device is almost lag-free. Still, speaking about smoothness, even the cheapest Android smartphone easily blows it out of the water in terms of performance."

Wow, are the cheapest android smartphone easily blows this in terms of performance? Last time I checked, one of the laggiest phone i have was galaxy y. Not even the cheapest one.

posted on 20 Sep 2012, 06:15 1

10. Chang7 (Posts: 3; Member since: 21 May 2012)


TOtally AgrEe WiTh YoU!

posted on 20 Sep 2012, 21:07 2

11. Sharky (Posts: 99; Member since: 24 Jun 2008)


One of the alternatives they mention is the Optimus L3... The same phone that they said "Apparently, one of the most significant compromises that LG had to make is the screen, because not only does it lack in terms of resolution, resulting in a paltry 125 ppi, but this is actually one of the ugliest TFT displays we've seen." Also in the review they say that it has terrible call quality and is overpriced... IDK... seems strange.

posted on 25 Sep 2012, 04:21 1

12. btao99 (Posts: 4; Member since: 25 Sep 2012)


Even my sony ericsson xperia ray, a mid-range android, is vey laggy

posted on 19 Sep 2012, 10:04 8

7. Veigald (Posts: 230; Member since: 13 Jan 2012)


Don't really agree with you here, you have to compare the price more than the supposed category of phones. If a phone costs 100 dollars, you have to compare it with other 100 dollar phones, imo.

That said, I highly doubt androids at that price level offer a better user experience, with a much heavier OS running on the same and lower-specced hardware. Also, the design of this phone is much more inspired than low level androids, imo.

posted on 19 Sep 2012, 08:36 10

3. sadaivadai (Posts: 156; Member since: 22 Nov 2011)


A rating of '5' .. It deserves a better score ..

Compared to the competition Asha 311 has a better screen , a better camera , a fast processor , better ram , Gorilla glass , a decent design with good colours etc etc ..

Yeah it doesn't have Android and it is not a smartphone ... But still i don't think Android mobile at this price are efficient enough .. They lag , not compatible with many apps ..

posted on 25 Sep 2012, 04:23 2

13. btao99 (Posts: 4; Member since: 25 Sep 2012)


This PA sems to give nokia phones low ratings, like the nokia x7 (The score was 5 as well)

posted on 19 Sep 2012, 08:41 3

4. hkxm8 (Posts: 45; Member since: 08 Apr 2012)


For the first time i agree with PA. Just spend a little more and you got LG L3, Galaxy Y,... Don't forget that 1Ghz CPU on S40 is very unnecessary.

posted on 19 Sep 2012, 08:54 5

5. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 2997; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Yes, i agree. I would really appreciate it if PA treat a feature phone as it is... And not compare it to the living Androids. S40 is an old timer and Nokia is trying to keep it alive, and well, they pretty much are doing great at that. If you want to campare it with an Android, compare the Froyos and Eclairs...name them and the S40 will outlive them.
GSMarena's reviews are much better and thorough...and i read it about 3 days back.
Really deserve better rating, at least a 6.8.

posted on 19 Sep 2012, 17:34

8. ramoman (Posts: 17; Member since: 12 Apr 2012)


nice review but where the xperia tablet s

posted on 20 Sep 2012, 06:14 3

9. Chang7 (Posts: 3; Member since: 21 May 2012)


I'm still a student right now and I think that Nokia Asha 311 will be a good phone for me.This phone just have everything I need.If I compare this phone with Samsung Galaxy Y or Samsung Galaxy Pocket(That I've used before),I will definitely choose Nokia Asha 311.Moreover,Nokia Products last longer!If you want a cool feature phone and not ready to change to a smartphone yet,I personally believed that Nokia Asha 311 will be a good option!

posted on 03 Oct 2012, 20:34

14. buyer (Posts: 1; Member since: 03 Oct 2012)


I need to raise this alert !!! I bought an Nokia Asha 311 2 months ago in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia and now it crashed. Once you open it it only show the date and time on a grey background screen. Its strange for a phone that has just been released in the market really new to crash. This phone is made in India. I really do not know what to do with it. Please do not buy this type of phone that has a Palestinian guarantee. I want to return this from the seller but in the middle east they are ignorant of the "International Guarantee" which states the replacement of unit if it stops working. I know they will refuse. the seller is Mashal Al Majd.

posted on 04 Oct 2012, 20:28

15. AppForNokia (Posts: 2; Member since: 04 Oct 2012)


This App contain Thousands One Line Jokes. Free and Free ads :D
For all Nokia Phone
http://store.nokia.com/content/311892

posted on 14 Oct 2012, 11:21

16. dcpl_bros (Posts: 5; Member since: 14 Oct 2012)


Beware : WIFI is defective, will end up with high data usage charges

posted on 14 Oct 2012, 11:25

17. dcpl_bros (Posts: 5; Member since: 14 Oct 2012)


WIFI is DEFECTIVE, Updates 3.9 cannot be installedeven by Nokia Care Staff though mentioned on Web site and even by Call centre

posted on 04 Nov 2012, 21:22

18. sallu (Posts: 11; Member since: 12 Sep 2012)


A better Phone as compared to SS galaxy Y and Pocket..

posted on 05 Nov 2012, 10:34

19. dcpl_bros (Posts: 5; Member since: 14 Oct 2012)


Please be specific. Maybe Wifi doen not matter to you. You can afford to pay extravagant 3g charges

posted on 06 Nov 2012, 06:13

20. sallu (Posts: 11; Member since: 12 Sep 2012)


WiFi matters me most that's y I had buyed 311, and it is working fine..

posted on 13 Nov 2012, 19:54

21. iphoneizgr8 (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Nov 2012)


Please DO NOT buy this phone !!!! , i purchased in today and i noticed that you cant :

Play youtube
internet browser is so slow.. even my wifi is 20mbps
You cant rewind or forward any video in that phone LOL
most of the apps will not work..

DOnt waste your money on the looks of that phone..

posted on 16 Nov 2012, 09:29

22. graykerr (Posts: 1; Member since: 16 Nov 2012)


does this phone have dual sim?

posted on 03 Jun 2013, 07:16

23. johnherry (Posts: 1; Member since: 03 Jun 2013)


Hello frnds!! Mostly due to the more responsive capacitive touchscreen, but also to more RAM memory (128MB) and a 1GHz processor, this device is almost lag-free. Still, speaking about smoothness, even the cheapest Android smartphone easily blows it out of the water in terms of performance." gadgetbuzz.in/

posted on 24 Sep 2013, 05:27

24. geetanjali (unregistered)


Hi,i have Nokia asha 311 but cannot use internet..Some days ago it was working ..but now not working.showing "service not available" ..can u please anyone help??

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 240 x 400 pixels (155 ppi) LCD
Camera3.2 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 1000 MHz
128 MB RAM
Size4.17 x 2.05 x 0.51 inches
(106 x 52 x 12.9 mm)
3.35 oz  (95 g)
Battery1110 mAh, 7.2 hours talk time

Latest stories