x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Microsoft Lumia 735 Review

Nokia Lumia 735 7.5

Posted: , by


Microsoft Lumia 735 Review

Microsoft Lumia 735 Review
Microsoft Lumia 735 Review
Microsoft Lumia 735 Review
Microsoft Lumia 735 Review
Microsoft Lumia 735 Review

This summer, thus far, has proven to be fruitful with popular mid-range smartphones from the Android side. Devices like the Alcatel Onetouch Idol 3, Asus Zenfone 2, and Huawei P8 Lite have shown us that you can snag a quality smartphone for around the $200 to $300 mark, something that’s suitable for consumers who don’t need rich, power packed things. As we’ve seen, though, the majority of these ‘premium’ mid-rangers are Android – with very few from the Windows Phone camp.

Nowadays, anything Windows Phone related comes from Microsoft, as the Nokia moniker has been put to the pasture. For Verizon customers, it seems as though they’re getting a doozy of a phone in the Microsoft Lumia 735 – a mildly spec’d $192 off-contract offering. Considering that there’s been a lot of buzz around this price point, it’ll be intriguing to see if the Lumia 735 has what it takes to pull people away from thоse polarizing Android mid-rangers.

The package contains:

  • Microsoft Lumia 735
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall charger
  • Quick start guide
  • Product and safety information


Compact and stylish, there’s a good balance with the Lumia 735’s design.

After checking out the Lumia 640, we realize how drastically different looking it is from the usual crew of Lumia-branded smartphones that have come out. With the Microsoft Lumia 735, however, it favors the style we’d most say is typical Lumia – one that’s available in an assortment of bright colors, and bears a resemblance to some of the high-end Lumias of the past.

Primarily consisting of plastic, our particular model has a matte finish that offers a pleasant grip in the hand – while also doing a good job of repelling dirt and debris. The left and right sides are rounded for comfort, but the top and bottom are uniformly flush to allow it to stand upright on its own. What’s nice, though, is that the plastic casing can be removed relatively easy, allowing owners to interchange it with other colors.

So, it all boils down to a fun and refreshing design that we like. Better yet, it’s compact to make it the perfect size for one-handed use.

While the usual ports and buttons are found around its sides, it’s just missing a dedicated camera/shutter key for quick convenience to the camera. Rarely do phones in this price category offer built-in wireless charging out of the box, but this one does, which is a pleasant treat to find. Moreover, the battery is removable – while also offering us memory expansion via its microSD card slot.

Nokia Lumia 735
5.3 x 2.7 x 0.35 inches
134.7 x 68.5 x 8.9 mm
4.74 oz (134 g)

Nokia Lumia 735

Microsoft Lumia 640
5.56 x 2.84 x 0.35 inches
141.3 x 72.2 x 8.8 mm
5.11 oz (145 g)

Microsoft Lumia 640

Huawei P8 lite
5.63 x 2.78 x 0.3 inches
143 x 70.6 x 7.7 mm
4.62 oz (131 g)

Huawei P8 lite

Asus ZenFone 2 (ZE500CL)
5.83 x 2.81 x 0.43 inches
148.1 x 71.5 x 10.9 mm
5.47 oz (155 g)

Asus ZenFone 2 (ZE500CL)

To see the phones in real size or compare them with other models, visit our Visual Phone Size Comparison page.


It might still be over-saturated, but this OLED can turn heads.

In keeping its compact size, the Lumia 735 is fashioned with a reasonable 4.7-inch 720 x 1280 OLED display with ClearBlack technology. Much like the other OLEDs employed by other Lumias, this one follows in true form with its iridescence and overblown colors. Even though it’s not color accurate when looking at the sRGB color spectrum chart, the overly-saturated tone of the display helps to give it that polarizing glow to enamor us from afar.

And of course, it exhibits all of the characteristics that are typical of OLED technology – like its true to life black color reproduction, wide viewing angles, and punchy color tones. In terms of its brightness output, it maxes out at the luminance mark of 341 nit, a weak tally that makes it tough to view outdoors.

We can talk about how inaccurate it is, or how the display exudes a colder tone with its ~7000K color temperature, but we can’t neglect to say that the entire package just looks surprisingly good – it’s definitely more attractive than the Lumia 640's display, that’s for sure!

Display measurements and quality

Maximum brightness (nits)Higher is better Minimum brightness (nits)Lower is better Contrast Higher is better Color temperature (Kelvins) Gamma Delta E rgbcmy Lower is better Delta E grayscale Lower is better
Nokia Lumia 735 341
Microsoft Lumia 640 352
Huawei P8 lite 380
View all

  • Options

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 06:14 5

1. hafini_27 (Posts: 888; Member since: 31 Oct 2013)

Have been using this as my second phone for a while. Surprisingly, i enjoyed it more than i expected. Sharp screen and fast web browsing. I don't play games much on phone so this served me really well. Money well spent there. Can't wait for WP10.

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 09:28 1

7. waddup121 (unregistered)

sweet review!

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 06:47 1

2. Settings (Posts: 1650; Member since: 02 Jul 2014)

It's predecessor, the Nokia Lumia 720, scored 9/10 in their review. Then this device gets 7/10,how?

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 09:47

8. medtxa (Posts: 1133; Member since: 02 Jun 2014)

Like how galaxy ace should get better score than galaxy s2 just because it is actually a better phone? Lol

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 07:01 1

3. hound.master (Posts: 1044; Member since: 27 Feb 2015)

Wtf haven't you review this phone before isn't 735 the same 730.
And also it's outdoor readability is great as good as flagships like S6 930 and iPhone.
And antutu for WP is not the same with Android results should not be compared.

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 07:10 1

4. hound.master (Posts: 1044; Member since: 27 Feb 2015)

Well don't know about this 735 but my Lumia 730 takes pictures twice as fast maybe even more so are you sure you know how to take a picture?

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 07:15

5. Super3310 (Posts: 91; Member since: 06 May 2014)

stop arguing.my 3310 can do better

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 08:03

6. gaming64 (unregistered)

The 3310 is not a smartphone.

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 21:50

13. aksa123 (Posts: 320; Member since: 30 Jan 2014)

Yep, it's a superphone :p

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 12:51 2

9. NitishNK (Posts: 36; Member since: 03 Jul 2015)

F**k PA. You should know that the AnTuTu BMs are different for WP and Android.
And coming to the brightness of this phone... its too much bright even at the lowest level, they should have kept that even lower. While using it at night, eyes just cant tolerate. Now coming to the camera, it has got one of the best cameras,. The reviewer does'nt know how to take shots. I bet even flagships will fail to compete with its camera performance.
I compared it with a samsung galaxy s4's 13MP camera. Poor Galaxy's camera just failed to compete with that of 730's. Flagships would fail to compete with its night photography. Just have a look at the samples here. bloggernitish.blogspot.com . Some of them were screenshots that of exposure and that traffic (shutter speed) section. Rest you can easily identify its own shots. 7.5 was just too much less for a device of this kind. It has no such problem like crappy build quality of Moto G or poor signal reception like Zenphone and a number of others to name, then why the f**k 7.5??
Its closest competitor is Moto G 2.0..... 730/735 has got a better display, better camera, better battery life, better build quality, only chipsets are all same. So which one is better?? Then how the f**k, 730/735 gets poor score than Moto G??

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 12:55

10. hound.master (Posts: 1044; Member since: 27 Feb 2015)

Yeah PA not only review this phone twice but it sucks at both camera speed is more than twice from the real think and also the sunlight readability of this phone is among the flagships like S6 and iPhone 6 the brightness is not everything.

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 16:50

11. Landmarkcm (Posts: 505; Member since: 11 Aug 2009)

I don't have this device but I did pick up a lumia 640 for free & really enjoying it. Sadly though John V is missing the mark in his reviews.. It seems he really does not like WP & will find anything to have some negative that's really not true! Case in point & he rated the db output as lacking on the 640 & it's just not true! It is surprisingly loud! & gets even louder with the nice equalizer I was pleased to find. Other sites like GSMarena & phonescoop gave the 640 much higher marks in sound, screen, and camera etc then here. It's fine if you dont like the platform but again I think it's said when you just can't trust the reviews here because of your bias.

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 18:09 2

12. icesick06 (Posts: 30; Member since: 03 Nov 2009)

I use this phone as a daily driver now. Went from a Galaxy S5 to this. I am amazed at the price point to performance ratio. The phone just simply works. Yeah there are a few things here and there that I would like to see get better but given that Windows 10 is right around the corner, I believe a lot of those wants will be filled. I was an early adopter to Windows phone 7 but shortly after switched back to android as there were many things that needed to be done to get the OS up to snuff. I can honestly say they've been putting in the work to make these phones great. Now lets get people talking about it and maybe well begin to see phones moved off carrier shelves. Ive been into my local Verizon store many times and when you mention Windows phone, they just cringe. Have you even tried it? I bet 90% of salesmen/women have not even really used the phone. Just my two cents.

posted on 03 Jul 2015, 22:05 2

14. NitishNK (Posts: 36; Member since: 03 Jul 2015)

Landmarkcm and icesick06, well said. I have been using it since last 6 months. At First, I felt that i have spent some extra bucks but as the time passed and i installed some amazing apps one by one, got a good connection and i realised that the choice was right. I had a 32 Gb card inserted in the device. Right now, I have over 50 games and around 200 apps installed on the device. I wonder if u can do the same on an android device. When, learnt using its camera (it took me some time), i realised that i have got much more than the bucks i spent. Just loved the experience with the WP OS given that u get updates without any problem. The reviewer John V, has given less marks because of stereotyping of the device. Had he used the phone with all the necessary apps and spent a few weeks, I bet he would not have given less than 9. You just cant give marks based solely on bench marks. Real world performance does matter.

posted on 08 Jul 2015, 08:44

15. BROWN (Posts: 24; Member since: 08 Aug 2014)

Unlocking your Nokia Lumia Windows phone has never been easier with VIST on SITE (JAILBREKWIZZ) Our Nokia Lumia Unlocking process is safe, easy to use, simple and 100% guaranteed. This is the same method Networks and Carriers will use and charge you $ and over to unlock your phone. Once you receive our 8 or 20 digit Nokia Lumia Unlock code and easy to follow instructions, your Nokia phone will be unlocked within hours and be using a SIM card of your choice! Once your Nokia Lumia device has been unlocked it is permanent, even after updating the firmware.
If you have any more questions feel free to email us : Support@jail-break-wizz (com)

Kind regards,
AT&T iPhone Unlock Shop Team

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia Lumia 735

Nokia Lumia 735

OS: Windows Phone 8.1
view full specs
Display4.7 inches, 720 x 1280 pixels (312 ppi) OLED
Camera6.7 megapixels
Qualcomm Snapdragon 400, Quad-core, 1200 MHz, ARM Cortex-A7 processor
Size5.30 x 2.70 x 0.35 inches
(134.7 x 68.5 x 8.9 mm)
4.74 oz  (134 g)
Battery2220 mAh, 22 hours talk time

Latest stories