x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Spectrum 2 Review

Posted: , by FAUguy

Tags:

Go to page
LG Spectrum 2 Review
Introduction:

LG Spectrum 2 Review
LG Spectrum 2 Review
With the Holiday Season fast approaching, Verizon has introduced the new LG Spectrum 2, which is a follow-up to the original LG Spectrum that was released earlier this year. This time around, the device is more in line to compete with other mid-level smartphones, as it comes running Android 4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich and features a 4.7” 720p display, a Qualcomm 1.5GHz dual-core Snapdragon S4 processor with 1GB of RAM, and an 8MP rear camera. But what makes the LG Spectrum 2 most attractive is its reasonable price, coming in at $100 with a 2-year contract.

Included in the retail package is the LG Spectrum 2 VS930 smartphone, 2150mAh battery, two NFC Tags, wall charger with detachable microUSB cable, and user guides.


Design:

Calling on elements of the LG Optimus line, the LG Spectrum 2 is a bit more refined than the original Spectrum phone, though it looks like the “monolith” from 2001 A Space Odyssey. Despite this, the Spectrum 2 feels solid and well made (almost brick-like), with black on the front and back being framed by chrome accents around the edges. We welcome the textured soft-touch battery cover on the rear, as it provides a firm grip.

The LG Spectrum 2 feels solid and well made - LG Spectrum 2 Review
The LG Spectrum 2 feels solid and well made - LG Spectrum 2 Review
The LG Spectrum 2 feels solid and well made - LG Spectrum 2 Review

The LG Spectrum 2 feels solid and well made


LG Spectrum 2 Review

You can compare the LG Spectrum 2 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The front of the Spectrum 2 is mostly occupied by the display, above it is a 1.3MP camera, and below it are four capacitive buttons with blue LED backlight. Around the sides we find the microUSB port, 3.5mm headset jack, as well as the volume and power/lock buttons – which have a distinctive feel to them since they are raised from the surrounding edges. While on back is the 8MP autofocus camera with LED Flash. The microSD memory card slot and SIM slot are hidden by the battery cover.

The front facing camera - LG Spectrum 2 Review
Capacitive buttons - LG Spectrum 2 Review
Left side - LG Spectrum 2 Review

The front facing camera

Capacitive buttons

Left side

Top - LG Spectrum 2 Review
The 8-megapixel camera - LG Spectrum 2 Review
Battery compartment - LG Spectrum 2 Review

Top

The 8-megapixel camera

Battery compartment



Built into the battery cover is NFC (near field communication) and wireless inductive charging. To make use of the NFC, the Spectrum 2 includes two LG Tag+ stickers, one for the car and one for the office. The car tag will active the Google Maps app on the phone, while the office tag will place the phone in vibrate mode and turn on Bluetooth. But in order to use the wireless charging, you have to purchase the wireless pad separately, which still requires a wall outlet connection.

Display:

One nice improvement with the LG Spectrum 2 is that it is using a larger 4.7” True HD IPS display, up from 4.5” on the original model. It comes with a 1280x720 pixel resolution, and uses the more favorable RGB arrangement instead of PenTile. Overall, the True HD display on the Spectrum 2 is sharp and crisp, with text and images having fine detailed edges, and color accuracy is spot-on, though not as eye-catching as AMOLED displays.

We’re also pleased by the brightness of the display, using LED backlighting, which makes it plenty bright enough to view in sunny conditions. However, it is unfortunate that the display suffers from poor viewing angles; as when not viewed from the dead center, there is noticeable loss in contract and color saturation.

LG Spectrum 2 is on the left and on the right is the Samsung Galaxy S III - LG Spectrum 2 Review
LG Spectrum 2 is on the left and on the right is the Samsung Galaxy S III - LG Spectrum 2 Review
LG Spectrum 2 is on the left and on the right is the Samsung Galaxy S III - LG Spectrum 2 Review

LG Spectrum 2 is on the left and on the right is the Samsung Galaxy S III





LG Spectrum 2 360-degrees View:



10 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 19 Nov 2012, 09:17 1

1. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 2964; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Kind of boring going through the review on this one!
And the set of four capacitive buttons now looks cramped since we've seen phones donning the lesser 3 buttons...

posted on 25 Dec 2013, 08:31

10. Leonard-Davis (Posts: 5; Member since: 13 Mar 2012)


This phone has surprised me. I have owned lots of Android phones and this one might be my favorite yet. I NEVER thought I would say this about an LG phone. To put it in perspective, I have owned the Galaxy Nexus, S3, Rezound, Razr and Razr M.

The one area where this phone really shines is reception. The Galaxy Nexus literally could not pick up a signal at my house, the S3 was not much better and the Motorolas had a solid 3G signal but barely picked up a 4G signal. This phone has been on a 4G signal over 90% of the time. Calls are crystal clear too. Not sure why the LG has a stronger signal at my house than any of the other phones but it does.

The IPS HD screen is awesome too. Much better screen than some of the more expensive phones...

It comes with some delivered themes. The Thor one is especially cool.

It runs fast too. It had some delays when I first started using it but that has cleared up. I deactivated quite a few of the delivered apps that I do not need.

The GPS locks on fairly quickly but not as fast as the Razr M did.

The battery life is average but good enough for me. I am constantly around a charger if needed. If you need great battery life and do not have access to a charger regularly, this might not be the phone for you. On the positive side, the battery is user replaceable if needed. There might be after market options for a different battery but I have not seen one yet. It also comes with a micro sd card slot for expansion. So many phones these days do not have either of these options.

The overlay that LG uses does not bother me. You could always use a launcher if needed.

The phone would be even better with Jelly Bean. Hopefully this will happen sooner than later but I doubt it since the sales of this phone will be small and not likely a priority for Verizon. Plus LG has not been known for quick updates in the past.

In my mind, LG has come a long way since even last year. If you want a great HD screen and excellent reception on a budget, this phone is a great option.

P.S. I suggest to check for best price at: mobilephonesuper.wordpress.com/lg-spectrum-ii/

Enjoy!

posted on 19 Nov 2012, 13:57

2. KingKurogiii (Posts: 5488; Member since: 23 Oct 2011)


nice phone, well designed although it's a little too large. i love the Thor theme that it comes loaded with. o:

posted on 19 Nov 2012, 14:21 1

3. OptimusOne (Posts: 694; Member since: 22 May 2012)


is it me, or does this seem on par with the galaxy s III minus the camera.
I know the UI's are different but you could easily get it in a custom rom.

personally, I would prefer the droid DNA even for the extra 100 dollars
I wish LG would add a stock ics theme with stock ics icons and other stuff. that would be pretty awesome. it would be like stock aosp without the aosp custom rom

posted on 19 Nov 2012, 14:43

4. NOLEFTHERE (Posts: 4; Member since: 19 Nov 2012)


The Spec 2 DOES support MHL

posted on 19 Nov 2012, 18:53

5. FAUguy (Posts: 77; Member since: 09 Apr 2008)


The specs listed on the LG site and their PDF does not list MHL for the Spectrum 2, but they do list it for the original Spectrum. Have you been able to try the Spectrum 2 with a MHL HDMI cable?

posted on 20 Nov 2012, 09:17

6. NOLEFTHERE (Posts: 4; Member since: 19 Nov 2012)


Yes, I tested my Spec 2 and MHL works perfectly. Why its not listed, I dont know. But i do wish the reviewer tried it out instead of just stating that it does not have the featurell

posted on 20 Nov 2012, 13:34

7. FAUguy (Posts: 77; Member since: 09 Apr 2008)


We have corrected that section, thank you.

I asked LG about it last week, but never heard back. Since I don't have an MHL adapter or cable here, I wasn't able to test that part, but relied on the specs that LG had posted, which doesn't list MHL.

posted on 20 Nov 2012, 23:01

8. NOLEFTHERE (Posts: 4; Member since: 19 Nov 2012)


Not sure why myself, but I got curious and plugged it up anyway to see that it works. :)

Thanks!

posted on 11 Dec 2012, 05:42 1

9. AplhaMale (Posts: 8; Member since: 11 Dec 2012)


Why are these clowns still making phones? LG should stick to tv's and fridges!

Want to comment? Please login or register.

LG Spectrum 2

LG Spectrum 2

OS: Android 4.0.4
view full specs
Display4.7 inches, 720 x 1280 pixels (312 ppi) IPS LCD
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Plus MSM8960, Dual core, 1500 MHz, Krait processor
1024 MB RAM
Size5.31 x 2.69 x 0.36 inches
(134.8 x 68.3 x 9.2 mm)
5.22 oz  (148 g)
Battery2150 mAh, 10.4 hours talk time

Latest stories