x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10a User Reviews

7.3 Based on 9 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality6.4/10
Text input4.7/10
Everyday usage5.1/10
UI speed6.1/10
Camera8.1/10
Multimedia6.4/10
Internet8.1/10
Call quality6.6/10
Battery7.9/10
Reception7/10
Display9.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ucancallmenickk
posted on 13 Aug 2012, 19:20

5

Don't be tempted to buy it.

ucancallmenickk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Xperia X10 was beautiful when I first saw the ad for it. I wanted it so badly, but when I bought the AT&T version used, it was awful. The call quality was the worst, the camera was great outdoors (but slow), the phone wasn't durable, and it got viruses from downloading music. I will look twice next time I buy an Android.

Build quality 7/10 Easy to break and cheap materials
Reception 6/10
Call quality 3/10 Could barely hear the other person on the other line, had to put headphones in.
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 8/10 Pretty nice 8MP camera, although no front one.
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 2/10 Froze often and some features stopped working.
Text input 2/10 TERRIBLE.
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Design, especially in white
  • Navigation
  • Amount of Apps

Cons

  • No front camera
  • Battery is so-so
  • Call quality
  • Durability
  • Doesn't work with Macs and Beats.
  • Viruses are possible
  • Speed
  • Swype is terrible btw.

ucancallmenickk alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

SauronTallous
posted on 04 Aug 2011, 02:52

8

Much better

SauronTallous has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I was pleased with the phone from the start even though it only had OS 1.6 but was able to upgrade to 2.1 shortly after getting phone (rooted). 2.1 was a game changer; everything was better and now that I have OS 2.3.3 (rooted) it's even better with Facebook integration. My only beef is the short battery life when doing a lot surfing and gaming.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

maria0123
posted on 26 May 2011, 18:49

7

xperia x10

maria0123 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone seemed really awesome when I first got it, although a bit confusing as to how everything worked! But then after I got my phone, and everyone else got their phones... my phone sucked. You can't do any live wallpapers, the texting is weird (you have to press a letter sometimes 3 times before it will press. especially 'a' or 'l').
The only real awesome thing about the phone is the camera.
Also, something else that's really stupid, it's such a process just to call somebody! even if they're on your favorites, you have to press the dialer, then press favorites, then press the person, then press the number. after all that, i don't even want to talk to them anymore because the phone is so slow in trying to figure out what you want to do.
and sometimes when you try to delete certain messages from people, the phone will delete the entire thread.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10 It's AT&T, the reception cant be perfect.
Call quality 8/10
Internet 6/10 not that fast
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 4/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • the camera quality
  • it's a nice phone... it's just stupid.

Cons

  • texting

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

cke 321
posted on 24 Mar 2011, 21:10

6

sony xperia x10

cke 321 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I hate this phone!!! Have only owned for 2 1/2 months and have used it for 1 1/2 of those. Been sent back to be serviced for the third time for charging issues. Used an upgrade to get this phone from best buy. 2 weeks later they discontinued the phone. or at least they wont sell it anymore.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • great display

Cons

  • not an iphone

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mcolson
posted on 17 Mar 2011, 10:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Mar 2011)

8

its not bad

mcolson has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The phone is not bad,love watching videos on it. Texting is an issue because the buttons tend to lose sensitivity as u use and i find myself pushing a letter three or four times to get it to register. battery life is very good in my opinion. when trying to call somone you have to go through three steps,which is really annoying,i think Sony really tried too hard to make a cool phone and they really made it difficult to use,it took me a month at best,just to learn the basics.....they need to simplify the next one

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 2/10 texting is an issue,the buttons have lost sensitivity and u have to push them two or three times to get them to register
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • camera is very good
  • long battery life
  • big screen for watching movies

Cons

  • texting is an issue sometimes
  • almost too complicated to use when u first get it

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Caleb Smith
posted on 08 Feb 2011, 15:46

9

xperia

Caleb Smith has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Amazing phone everybody should have one I love it. It is a social and multimedia machine. It has an amazing camera with flash and HD video. I love the size and the display. It has a fast 1ghz processor. You have to get this phone it also has a very long battery life get it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • camera is awesome
  • amazing internet
  • multimedia is amazing
  • extremely fast

Cons

  • has no .com on virtual keyboard
  • no multi-touchor voice command

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

DJ Darshan
posted on 05 Nov 2010, 08:49

4

Okay Phone

DJ Darshan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Got the phone over the summer. Was okay at first but has SOOO many drawbacks. 1) NO multitouch 2) tremendously low amount of RAM (only 256 mb) 3) 1 ghz processor but horrible speed because of the amount of ram 4) comes with 1.6 stock. 2.1 JUST came out...when most phones are upgrading to 2.2 and soon 2.3.

honest opinion - sony EFFED up. save your money and don't buy the phone. There's SOOO many other better options available.

Build quality 2/10 crap quality
Reception 2/10 horrible call volume
Call quality 2/10 call volume sucks
Internet 10/10 great to tether with though
Multimedia 2/10 timescape and mediascape = completely useless and kill batery
Camera 3/10 horrible. 8 mp slow ass camera and barely working autofocus on videos (available only through update to 2.1 -- no autofocus for vids at all on 1.6)
UI speed 2/10 256 mb ram. what do you expect
Everyday usage 2/10 for an advanced user, theres so much this phone should have that it really doesn't
Text input 2/10 stock keyboard sucks ( i replaced mine with the one from HTC)
Display 10/10 probably the nicest thing on this phone
Battery 4/10 decent battery compared to other phones it competes withbut still not great

Pros

  • 1) none

Cons

  • too many
  • no multitouch
  • 256 mb ram
  • android 1.6
  • shit input
  • shit camera
  • shit phone period

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fordy1us
posted on 03 Aug 2010, 14:07

8.3

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10

Excellent phone but it is a shame on sony ericsson to make such nice phone with a cheap material for the back cover. I notice that the heat from battery can make the writing on the back of the phone disappear. I really don't why did they use a better material for that back cover or another way to etch the name and logo.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • *Small icons and can't change the size of icons
  • *Can't change the background color of the applications screen
  • *The heat from the battery can make the writing on the back of the phone disappear, etching method is cheap
  • *The silver frame around the phone should be made of steel instead of plastic
  • *you need to do 3 clicks to call one contact even if you bring up from your favorites list. Hope this can be fixed in the next update

Cons

  • *lots of cool multimedia features
  • *faster phone

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

htainlintha
posted on 03 Jun 2010, 12:08 (Posts: 34; Member since: 20 Mar 2010)

10

William HT

Wow...Sony has made it again they've made another anroid phone with 1GHz snapdragon proceesor phone,very very fast, though it is upgraded version of 1.6 it can accept all of the apps in the android market. Moreover it is expandng, and has at least 30k + apps now. 
The more I use,the more I feel like it very much. it is much more better than HTC nexus one and desire. They are good too, I mean X10 is just better in a way of design and camera. :) 
They are getting 2.1 andriod update soon 2. Waiting for it. (http://blogs.sonyericsson.com/products/2010/05/05/sony-ericsson-xperia™-x10-to-get-uxp-upgrade-in-q4-2010/)

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • fastest of all in both browsing while compare with many other HTC phones, WVGA screen resolutions suits for entertainment,fast rotation response rate,love its QWERTY keyboard

Cons

  • No multi-touch,no voice-command

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories