x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson W880 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Anonymous
posted on 28 May 2010, 12:27

8.3

Aside from no camera flash and VERY high SAR value (why?!?), it is an excellent phone. Switched to Z770, but I still love the slim size of it... quite unique!!!                                                                                                     

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Size
  • Weight
  • Styling
  • Excellent battery life

Cons

  • SAR value at 1.47, among the top 20 highest in the US!!!
  • No flash
  • Keys are small and take a little time to get used to them

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

akis
posted on 20 Aug 2009, 10:38

10

after 2 years now i am changing my w880 and i can say for sure that is the best phone i've ever used..
 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • battery
  • weight
  • performance
  • very good construction

Cons

  • lack of flash

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

MATTHEW
posted on 06 Jun 2008, 13:33

6

NOT BAD BUT...

I LIKE THE WALKMAN SERIES A LOT.
BUT THIS PHONE WAS A BIT DISSOPOINTIG.

1. IT HASNT GOT A FLASH.
2. THE BUTTONS ARE DODGEY (SOME PEOPLE MIGHT LIKE IT?!)
3. TO THIN. (NOT A NICE HOLD)
4. SMALL SCREEN.
5. NOTHING SPECIAL.

ITS THE SAME AS THE W850I BUT A CANDY BAR SHAPE AND THIN.
BUT WITH NO FLASH.
I WOULD RATHER GET A DIFFERENT WALKMAN.
LIKE THE W580I.
CHEAPER AND COOLER. WITH THE SHAKE CONTROL AND THINGS.

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 5/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Matthew
posted on 27 Dec 2007, 13:22

5.4

not that good of a walkman

this phone is not very good camera and it hasnt got a flash. the music quality is not bad and the 1gb memory card is useful. also it is thin. a bit to thin. personally i dont like this phone and i would rather get a differeent walkman like he w810i.

Design 2/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 17 Oct 2007, 22:13

10

Great phone!

This is the only phone on the market that is thin and still really solid. Why waste money on an iPod Nano. 8GB memory sticks are available and if you like me think that a good music-player and a phone that you can text, call people and browse the net on is all you really need to carry around in your pocket, then this is the phone for you. and you don't need a very big pocket.
The buttons are really great once you get used to them =)

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

t44n3st
posted on 15 Sep 2007, 01:15

10

there's nothing better than the W880

I've had the W880 for 8 months now, and even though it's been out for so long - I still get the "oohs" and "ahhs" from people who see the phone. For me it has been the most functional device, from the aspect of voice/video calling, text-messaging, listening to music, taking beautiful photos - nothing stands in its way, the battery even runs for hours on end! Great design and solid construction (and excellent materials) of the device means I could still pass this phone off as 99% new, I haven't used any plastic/silicone casings, nor have I used scratch-resistant screen-guards - not a single scratch on the phone. For people looking into a functional device that's pleasing to the eye and every other aspect of your life - there's nothing better than the W880. 10/10

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

James
posted on 10 Sep 2007, 00:42

10

The SE w880 is great phone

The SE w880 is great phone. some people complain about camera/flash, radio, buttons etc. I'm mostly surrounded with radios and have a 10mpixel digital camera. plus its a Walkman! load your music onto it! so those two aren't problematic for me. regarding the buttons... they are new to get use to in the beginning but aren't such a big deal as most people make it out to be. if u got very chubby fingers then maybe consider something else in that department. the standby battery life is great but if you is allot like i do it lasts for a day or two. :(

Otherwise, thanks SE for a wonderful piece of technology! I doubt i will ever consider anything else.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Rich
posted on 06 Sep 2007, 03:11

10

Highly Recommended

I have been phone for a long while now and its a great phone to have. Very slim and small form factor and is great when you slip the phone into your pocket you can hardly feel its there.

Good: Form factor, brush metallic feel on front, back cover is more rubberized and feels good. Great features on it and has a good 3G and reception. Good UI and good sound for phone calls. Lot of friends have commented on the phone. Ladies love it and can insert into their purse. Excellent bluetooth

Bad:
Buttons takes some getting used to. If you have large fingers this is not the phone for you. Ring volume is not that loud and you may miss a call. Vibration is also not that good. Camera is not that great but its not made to be a camera phone.

Its a very well built phone and has a solid feel. I would highly recommend.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

George
posted on 06 Sep 2007, 03:04

10

love w880

I've just got this phone today and it's great! The only down side is the keypad's too small - but I'm sure people will get used to get over a week or so. I am on Vodafone and my W880 came a long with a whole bundle of free accessories! Including 1Gb memory card, bluetooth headset, normal headset, mini-speakers, USB data cable and car charger.. And Vodafone took less than a day to deliver it to me after my online order!

this phone is sleek; the camera is good however what good is the camera if the screen is small?? they could've made the screen a bit bigger!!! i thought the buttons would be difficult to use as they are really small but after a day or two you get used to it

once again, love the sony walkman phones!!! funky and stylish'


mwa

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Tariq Aziz
posted on 06 Sep 2007, 03:01

10

sleek god

At first I was told by my friends not to buy this phone. According to them it is not worth of its value and price. It is a piece of junk. But I took this risk and bought this phone. It is one of the best phones available in the market today.
Even being slims its battery performs excellent. Rest of its features are essential
and working.

it is the most stylish phone around and it is so small and compact!!my frens who owns nokia Nseries are so envious whenever plp try to get a hold on my new W880i, compared to N series, W880i is sleek god

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ALIII
posted on 06 Sep 2007, 02:58

10

I LOVE W880

some ppl like it some dont like it.....well everyone has its own choice but i ll go for it bcoz to me design does matter alot and no doubt its a very sexy looking set ...ppl who would see u having this set would definitely want to have a hold this in their hands ..dats what i want ............and yes its not a bad features set too. 2mp camera ,walkman and 1 gb memory is not bad, do miss flash , fm radio, small screen but its ok to me...............I LOVE SONY ERICSSON, yeah baby u rockkkkkkkk

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Dark Lordz
posted on 06 Sep 2007, 02:55

10

SE W880 rockz

Hi guys.... This phone is just so amazing.... The walkman and the sound is so good... And as for the looks, this phone is just fantastic and wonderfulllll. Too sexy and slim..... No problems encountered till now... SE W880 rockz

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

dEviLz
posted on 06 Sep 2007, 01:56

10

The best in SE

has 3G.It is very thin and light.
Brilliant display (great resolution)
Great memory space (1Gb + phone)
Easy menu navigation
Good in-ear headphone (I can use it inside my helmet!)
Has a very great battery life
This is a Walkman-phone, have 2.0 megap. camera (take good pictures in the daylight)! Very thin phone. I just Love IT!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

dEviLz
posted on 31 Aug 2007, 02:33

10

W880 Rocks

Amazing phone... unique in it's kind.... great sound... Camera just so good... The slim and sexy look will make heads turn everytime you are using the phone... One of the best SE phone i've used so far... You should just buy it..

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Craig
posted on 21 Jul 2007, 00:28

7.4

EXCELENT...besides no flash

sexy & slim design, nice screen quality.. 2 cameras..its internal memory is a minor disappointment.. however its memory card function soon fixes this as it comes free with a 1GB memory card.. if you are worried about the keys being too small to press for the average male with possibly "giant" fingers.. do not worry becos sony ericsson has smartly and generously placed keys a bit further apart, making it alot easier thna one thiks at first

the sound and speaker quality should be commended as, when ringing, you can hear it from many rooms away..and then some!

both ringtones and msg tones can be customized with mp3...



final word....."WOW" :O

the only bad point i have about it is that THERE IS NO FLASH OR LIGHT FOR THE CAMERA!

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 7/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

polar
posted on 29 May 2007, 19:07

10

The one and olny

This phone is one of the bests phones ever... in the smallest space and weight.. you can be sure.. you wont miss anything.. because it has a very good camera..

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

alejandro
posted on 29 May 2007, 19:04

10

best phone

all the features you need in the smallest space...why do you need more... 2 mpx in a very small case.. a ver good screen and all the things you hope to have on your cell phone.. plus the battery lasts a lot!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ali
posted on 28 Mar 2007, 05:52

9.4

THE BEST

It is a great phone full of features and cool applications. But this is what we expect from Sony Ericsson. Trust me you should buy it no questions asked.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories