x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung UpStage User Reviews

7 Based on 17 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera8/10
Multimedia10/10
Internet5/10
Call quality10/10
Battery10/10
Reception7/10
Display9/10
Build quality10/10
Text input3/10
Everyday usage10/10
UI speed9/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

angelxdope
posted on 29 Jun 2012, 20:30 (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 Jun 2012)

10

My Fav Phone

angelxdope has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone was one of my first phone and I miss it so much. This phone was prefer for me it was compact it did the job that a phone was made for. This is the one phone that I would give up any other phone for its weird but I fell in love with it.

Build quality 10/10 It was a small unibody device in a time were all the phones were huge
Reception 7/10 Well its sprint that should sum it up.
Call quality 10/10 Great call quality and light weight in the hand.
Internet 5/10 Never got around to use it.
Multimedia 10/10 Well one side was an iPod the other a phone now idk about you guys but this was my first iPhone lol
Camera 8/10 It was an average camera for its time.
UI speed 9/10 It was a pretty advanced UI for its competition at the time.
Everyday usage 10/10 It did the job without any back talk or hickups
Text input 3/10 Texting was not the easiest to txt on lol
Display 9/10 For its time it was a pretty good display
Battery 10/10 Never gave me a problem.

Pros

  • MP3 Features
  • Thin Profile
  • Unibody
  • Camera could be used as a current day front facing cam

Cons

  • Text Input
  • Which it was touch screen

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jenn
posted on 05 Apr 2009, 22:54

1

Not so great actually

I had this phone for two years. When it first came out i thought it was going to be great.. then i got it.The constant fliping of the phone gets annoying fast, and the touch pad was useless. It also had a softwere issue that would restart the phone when you looked at your photo album and fill it with ghost files. It was  durable though i threw it once before i upgraded and it was fine. I would not recomemend the phone to any one though and will never own another phone with a touch pad.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Matthew Lake
posted on 09 Jul 2008, 04:34

8

Smallest Phone I've ever held!!!

Small, narrow, light weight...

This phone was obviously designed with size being its selling point and focus. Sure the dual screens are cool, the tones are nice and the personalized touches you can program for yourself are great. However, its the phone's dimunitive size that attracted me.

Cell phone holsters are really unfashionable and if you wear fitted clothing most phones are too bulky or heavy. Not this baby!!

Go out on the town, drop the UpStage in any pocket and you'll forget its there (this can be disasterous if you are prone to losing your phones!). Still, I love that it never cramps my style.

Actually, it turns heads.

The only negative was that I was working outside one winter and it stopped working because of the cold. This could be a glitch they've worked out. Still, get the insurance. If anything happens and it stops working you can just go into a Sprint store and they'll give you a brand new one. Takes about 5 minutes. The insurance is just 7 bucks a month. (Though I'd recommend this with any phone for persons leading an active lifestyle.)

Awsome phone! Hope they don't discontinue it!


Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 8/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 14 Mar 2008, 17:51

4

Anonymous

I purchased this 2 phones of this model 7 months ago - one for me and one for my son. I have had to have mine replaced twice. My son's has had to been replaced once.

The Good: It is very slim and stylish and the MP3 function is a nice addition so long as you have time to let the software load the data on your memory card.

The Bad: You shouldn't mess with a lot of songs on the memory card because of the loading time. Likewise, the flip feature becomes a nuisance after a while and the software for the smaller front screen could really use an upgrade to allow you to pull past texts from that side.

The Ugly: The slim design makes the battery basically useless and you absolutely have to have the battery pack (which is equally prone to damage, considered disposable thus uninsurable and is ridiculously expensive and hard to find when trying to replace). The slim design also makes this phone incredibly fragile. I finally met one honest cell phone salesman/customer service agent at a local shop who told me the Upstage, without question, is the most problematic phone his company carries and that most technicians won't even open them to try to repair them because of their intricate and fragile design.

Bottom line, the cool factor is not worth the hassle.

Design 3/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 2/10

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 20 Jan 2008, 21:49

3.4

Hunk Of Junk

This is the worst phone that Sprint has. Without the extra battery pack the battery life if horrible. You may get 6 months out of this phone before the battery decides to stop charging. PLEASE get insurance, you will need to get it replaced a couple of times before your contract runs out. The external memory card slot is a plus, but don't buy it you will regret it.

Design 1/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 1/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

George
posted on 27 Dec 2007, 00:33

10

Great Phone

Great Phone and when I went to buy it I had no idea it came with a battery wallet which in my mind made it even better, protection for your phone and extra life....My word man this phone has it all, Internet, Music, Texting, I would be lost without it...I originally wanted a smart phone but this is...One Smart Sleek Classy phone....Good work Samsung and BTW Flipping is not annoying or bothersome....It's unique.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Erika
posted on 14 Dec 2007, 23:55

4.8

upstage...not so great...

i was so excited to get this phone last week, as of now its on its way back to sprint. it read the reviews about this phone and i really should have listened. After charging i talked on it for less than five minutes and it started getting hot. Its only stays charged for a short period of time so you have to keep it the wallet ALL THE TIME. WHATS THE POINT!!!!! why get a small phone just to have to keep it in a bulky leather flimsy wallet. Its better just to get a seperate mp3 player and phone.... also the signal strength sucked it was always on 1 or no bars... the internal antenna is at the bottom of the phone so you have to hold it a certain way... to much effort.... the touch pad will make you want to break out pen and paper and just write letters to people you want to talk to .... so aggravating.... im getting a rumor in its place.....

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Cameria G
posted on 14 Oct 2007, 10:50

9

Way better than COOL!!!

This phone really speaks for itself. The updated technology is beyond unique and a better than any other phone out in the market. It never freezes and never really dies, the extended battery pack is the work of a true artist. No other company but samsung could come out with such a elegant but exciting model.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

jordan
posted on 02 Oct 2007, 00:05

9.6

good phone

this is the best phone i have ever owned... even tho flipping can be a hastle, everything works smoothly... i txt a lot and the small screen is not an issue at all, small screen easily fits 3 lines of text and if needed the flip button can be pressed to review the entire text ( and the same goes for reading texts). on the mp3 player side, the moving around is a little glitchy( but what phone doesn't have a glitch here or there?). the headphone plug they give with the phone works for any type of headphone using a normal jack, and the quality is just as good as any other mp3 player...the phone is also the thinnest phone i have ever owned. if i was buying the phone today, id still buy it, even after owning it for a while.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Gregorey
posted on 25 Sep 2007, 01:32

8.4

The Best!!!

I love this i've had it for about a month and i never get tired of the flipping i think its cool and so does everyone else that plays with it....... I switched from the raggedy krzr k1m, that phone was horrible!!! super slow!!!But the upstage never lags and the external battery is genius!!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

di
posted on 31 Aug 2007, 11:36

5.8

so so

just listing things to watch out for:
1. Key lock switch is bad design imo. To answer the phone, first you have to find it, switch it, then press talk. With my old candybar phone, you just press talk when phone rings, even when keys are locked. (with just pressing and holding "clear" key.
2. Low Battery sound alert plays a jingle constantly when power becomes low. It really intervenes into conversation disabling the speaker and mike.
3. When phone rings only display lights up and no buttons making it harder to press the right key to answer.

Design 3/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

alexy
posted on 24 Jul 2007, 18:45

10

the best phone evr!!!!!!!!

i love dis phone because its the only phone 2 sided they should make more cell phones wit this view so far its good and beats the razr,krazr,rizr,rokr

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mark
posted on 20 Jul 2007, 11:40

2

Worst buy I ever made

The flipping thing gets real annoying. When I had this phone on average I would flip it 10-15 times a day. Yes it is stylish but style isn't worth everything. The back side is realy annoying. The tapping thing is very sensitive, the phone is so small that my other fingers would touch it and i would choose the wrong icon. I hate this phone also because it had horrible signal i could never call anybody, and when i did get bars i had horrible reception. And the phones battery, it was horrible i had charge my phone every 5 hours, the only way not to, was the extra battery case. So my new beutiful phone was always in a ugly case. Lastly the phones camera it is a pretty good camera, my only problem was when i clicked the middle button, it would pause for a couple of seconds and then capture the picture. I have had a samsung before and the other one was much better so i was dissapointed about this phone. I traded this phone for a krzrk k1m and it is awsome, DON'T GET THE UPSTAGE SAVE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY.

Design 3/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Carlos T. (El Guevon)
posted on 19 May 2007, 13:30

8.2

Da Best

Thiis Phones talks for itself, the features, the style. Everywhere i walk people stop me to ask what type of i got in my hands. The battery case helps a lot, i time of a chage.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Jason
posted on 06 May 2007, 23:14

10

"Two Faced"

Having two sides is an excellent look. There is all types of cell phones out there. Ones that flip all kind of ways or slide but there are no two sided phones. this is very unique. I like being able to text while listening to music. The battery wallet is great to. The only thing that could have been better is it needs more menu options on the phone side and more battery life for just the phone.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Mark
posted on 02 May 2007, 23:42

9.2

Unique

Just got this phone yesterday, so I'm not a veteran upstage phone user, but i love it so far. The double sided thing i love it works great for me being that student that every teacher hates and texts in class, because all the teachers think this is an "iPod" so they don't even think twice about it when im texting and then when they come to look at it all they see is the MP3 player side. But on the non-rule-breaking student side, the phone is great, and the battery wallet that comes with it is so awesome, the idea to add a battery to the case that you carry your phone in is probably the most ingenous thing EVER. The only thing i have a problem with is the signal, it gets amazing signal, that is if your hand isn't on the bottom where the aentenna is. and the phone is so small that it's kind of hard not to put your hand on the bottom. Another thing i like is the MP3 player, I'm a music fanatic and never went anywhere without an iPod at least with me, but now i can save some room in my pockets and just carry my phone and earphone with me. The reason i got this phone was because no one else had it and i wanted to be diffrent, but now I'm glad i got it because (in the famous words of Gym Class Heroes) "Cupid's got me in a chokehold".

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Dean
posted on 22 Apr 2007, 00:06

6

Who needs a dual screen?

The Dual sided screen seemed liked a good idea at first but switching back and forth to go into the web/menu is annoying. The txt messaging screen is small so that you would have to constantly scroll to re-read your message. If you want an mp3/cell your better off just getting a one sided phone. Nothing really special about this phone, the dual screen just makes it unique but not any good.

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories