x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Star WiFi User Reviews

7.5 Based on 22 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality6.7/10
Text input6.7/10
Everyday usage8/10
UI speed5.3/10
Camera6.3/10
Multimedia7/10
Internet6.3/10
Call quality7.7/10
Battery9/10
Reception6.7/10
Display8/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Kanha52642
posted on 3 days ago, 11:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 3 days ago)

8

Overheating of phone not battery.

Kanha52642 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Hey ya guys,umm I am using this phone for over 2 years.It is a great phone.But recentlyit is getting overheated & displaying that device temp. is above 45' C, & auto shuts off. So i want help.The battery works just fine.It's the phone that is not working good & does not keep the charge for long time.Please help..
My e mail id is kumarjay95@rediffmail.com.Please Help, I love this phone cz it was my first touchscreen & has some great memories.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 6/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • camera

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kiko
posted on 16 Mar 2011, 07:52

8

great phone

kiko has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

i bought my samsung star wifi christmas day of 2009...and overall it work just fine ......wi-fi is good browsing is fast...youtube is good also.......the camera is good if you know how to take pictures by settings....the only thing that star lack is the video editing unlike the lg cookie.....the battery last long.........money worth for this kind of phone....i love my samsung star....... kiko from philippines...

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TryllZ
posted on 11 Mar 2011, 02:00

5

Bada OS

TryllZ has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Hi,

IS IT POSSIBLE TO INSTALL BADA OS ON SAMSUNG STAR WIFI, ANYBODY TRIED, DOES IT WORK ?

Good phone, but too slow UI, specially if you are playing multimedia

The 3.2 MP camera works fine during daylight but not so good at night because it does not have a flash. Well, we can't have it all considering the price but...it has smile recognition and other features like photo stitching, panorama, night shot, portrait, multi-shot, and most of all video recording.

The Radio and Music Player is good and produces above average sound quality. You can leave your Ipod behind.

The Smart lock is ingenious! Unlocking the phone and going straight to your favorite phone menu. Great idea from Samsung.

The handwriting recognition is by letter, great if it can recognize an entire word or phrase but hey, remember the price?

There are features comparable to Iphone like the Accelerometer - tilting to either side and photos slide to that direction, the qwerty keyboard, the rotating display (portrait or landscape) for photos, videos, or sending msgs or email.

Great call reception and long battery life. I roamed around a museum and used the video camera for 2 hours nonstop and took almost a hundred photos but only a single bar was reduced.

Hope this helps.

Build quality 4/10
Reception 4/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 5/10
Display 5/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • Tooooo slow UI

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

C-anne
posted on 23 Sep 2010, 05:37

10

Cool phone for an affordable price!

hey! I'm from the philippines..and I too have the samsung star s5233w wifi, Mine is actually pink. Base upon my usage experience, its really cool! I don't know why some say that this phone can't play youtube but it actually does! The wifi is working great, and speaking of youtube, it doesn't buffer at all! Internet surfing is fast too! As for the phone tools, its superb! Nothing hard to configure at all,..Its battery also has a long life, for the camera, its great if you know how to use it! though it dosen't have flash! And overall for the touchscreen feature, its exellent! Its very responsive! So 100% THUMBS UP for this phone!!This is actually my first time using samsung brand. And I'm very impress.. Always have been a NOKIA user ever since..;p

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jan
posted on 17 Jul 2010, 11:08

6

Awesome phone, poor Software!

 Just baught my star wifi three days ago and still trying to figure out how to sync with iSync on my mac, plug-ins don’t exist nor from Apple or Samsung or third party software does not work with this phone. So I transferred all contacts and appointments to windows 7 on the bootcamp partition of my mac and tried to install the Samsung PC Studio software, that was a no go due to 32bit. So I download the latest version of PC Studio for Win7 and that software does not work either due to a bug, so I downloaded a fix but still no go. Why do they sell new version phones which don’t work with modern versions of software, be it Mac, Win7 or Linux ??? An organizer should be able to sync no matter what OS these days, if I"m not able to sync I'm selling, no matter how good the phone is.

Design 8/10
Features 1/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Good phone with nice build quality and good OS.

Cons

  • Poor software

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nero
posted on 13 Jun 2010, 19:18

8

Good.

Star is Samsung's model in counterpart of LG's Cookie.Go for cookie (the original one or the wifi version):- you like transitions and effects with most of the 'touch' you made- handwriting recongnition is BEST. It can recognize 'by word' and supports up to 30 languages.- better Audio Quality- *cheaper- 3 rotating Cube Like homescreens (including speed dial)Go for star (wifi):- appealing design- better Image Quality- you consider battery life- 3 sliding homescreens- widgets! (many)

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Utkarsh Bais
posted on 04 Jun 2010, 23:33

7.7

Awesome Camera

This is the photo i promised although it is compressed. As phones arena don't allow to upload more than 500 KB 
Well the Pictures is nice as you can see and has been captured using
Matrix Metering Mode with SunSet Settings & Without any exposure setting.
Utkarsh

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Touch Screen
  • Stylus
  • Camera
  • WiFi

Cons

  • No Flash
  • No 3G
  • Average Sound

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lord_RED
posted on 28 May 2010, 14:12

8

thumbs up over-all

I have this unit ever since 20Nov09. At first, I was having a problem connecting to a Wifi. But i had consulted with a direct Samsung Cust care Rep on one of their hubs on a mall. After teaching me how to do it, i haven't had any problems connecting at all at any Wifi hotspots...not unless there's too much people connected on a single server.Touchscreen, though resistive is pretty much OK. I'm only having a hard time when i have to press something near the edges since it doesn't accurately register a response. Sometimes none at all. Other than that, every part of the 3" screen is good to go! SMS, held vertical is the 12-key matrix, otherwise, if held horizontal is the QWERTY keyboard thanks to the accelerometer!Videos & pictures are very crisp specially if theres a good lighting ambience. Otherwise, nightmode is a bit of problem. Although i really don't find it that much of a problem since i've now kind of gotten used to on how the night mode works. I would have to really hold on the unit focusing on the subject until the picture really loads up. Otherwise, the outcome of the picture is blurred.Audio quality is also a thumbs up, more importantly when you're wearing a headset, the DNSe kicks up and further enhances the sound output! I've had some Java applications and games that i've downloaded, wether it be touch based or button based, it's no problem! Sometimes there are some compatability issues here and there, but really doesn't pose a problem to me at all.Some of...  

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • too many to mention

Cons

  • compatability issues regarding java apps and games
  • sunlight legibility
  • touch-screen on edges and corners
  • Phone lags if memory's almost full

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Utkarsh Bais
posted on 19 May 2010, 10:39

8.7

Awesome Camera Quality !

I Have read reviews and i am sorry to say that they are wrong about Camera Quality, 3.2 MP camera Works flawlessly if you just know how to use it.I own Samsung Star WiFi and have taken Beauty Shots from it some photos even went to size of 2.8 MB now that tells it all about the camera.And the night mode is a seamless feature use it during night and see the magic.I am posting one of my shots taken from it.the photo i am posting is absolutely original & without any editing and is of size 1.90 MB.Hey and let me solve one more confusion:Stylus comes only with Samsung Star WiFi GT S5233W                 utkarsh

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • WiFi
  • 3.2 MP
  • 3.0'' Touch with Stylus

Cons

  • No 3G !
  • No Auto Focus for Camera

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bill Ikshwaku
posted on 10 May 2010, 11:00

7

Can't get Youtube to work

Everything about the phone is impressive except...
1. I just cannot get YouTube to work (even on Wifi); neither does the iPlayer
2. Hate not having a QWERTY key board!

I have lost every bit of patience in me trying to get Youtube to work. There seems to be no way to upgrade the flash version as well - if someone figured it out, let me know!

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Youtube does not work.

Cons

  • No QWERTY

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

catheline
posted on 27 Feb 2010, 18:13

7

unsupported

Wifi conction was good easy to use but Im not satisfied of this phone cz everytime i download some software i wont supported would you please help us to work it out i want to download Fring, Nimbuzz and Uzzzap here in the philippines but not supported device...and also i cant play you tube videossssssssss..plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz improved this.....thnx

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 7/10

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alex chong
posted on 18 Feb 2010, 01:09

5.7

Quite smart phone with non smart phone price!

I bought my samsung star wifi yesterday and by today, I have connected to wifi and surfed the internet without problem. I don't like the default browser though, so I have downloaded opera mini 5 beta and surfing with it since, no problem . opera mini 5 beta worked well on samsung star.

my solution for wifi connection. 
1. There are some problem with wifi connections. If you are connecting to wifi at home with other computer connected too. There was an instance when I tried to connect the phone to the same wifi, there was an IP conflict with other computer connected, not sure why. So I switched off the computer connection and let the phone to connect. After connected with the phone, then I allow the computer to make the connection. 
2. Set the browser profile: I found that I need to do that by going to Menu>Settings>Application settings>Browser profiles. There you see all the connections, etc wap and wifi, Select the wifi connection that you want to connect to. When I first tried the connection, the browser profile where set to connect to wap by default. That's explained why the browser don't work. 

Hope it will help.

Design 6/10
Features 5/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • Very responsive phone, fast startup.

Cons

  • limited apps downloads and customization.
  • The buttons tone start go get annoying after some time.
  • no gps.
  • Still can't get the video / youtube to work on the phone.

23 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anonymousity
posted on 12 Feb 2010, 09:53

7

samsung star wifi

i bought a samsung star wifi and for a few days, i could not connect to the intrnet, but one day, i tried the wifi again and suddenly it worked! i don't know how that happened and i did not change anything with it but it just suddenly worked. now the wifi works but sometimes, it is stubborn and refuses to work again, but when i try it again later, it now works. haha sorry if this review was confusing... i really like my star wifi but i hate the fact that almost all of its games are trial version and you have to buy the full version... and you can play the trial versions for only about ten seconds!!! i also don't like the fact that i cannot download any apps for my fone... if any of you know where to download apps for star wifi, pls pls pls post it here. thanks!!! well that's all i really have to say for the star wifi..... haha sorry if its confusing and too long :)

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Performance 8/10

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

curious
posted on 10 Feb 2010, 14:03

8.3

curious and needy

Hi,
I wanted to use my samsung star wifi, for the internet, but failed with all the options. can you tell me what I missed. Or it is just like that. I have to live with that. I guess I can use it. I tried the wifi or even the homepage options neither worked for me. But though it could identify the home page, but didn't open the page.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

macmac
posted on 14 Jan 2010, 19:15

4.7

wifi star

i thought this is an amazing phone.... lately i realized that i just wasted my money...
--- i was thinking of returning it----

anyways, my issue is that I COULD NOT CONNECT TO THE INTERNET AT ALL.. tried to google some answers,.... tried them but still could not connect... its ridiculous,,,, it says connected but it is either UNAUTHENTICATED, NO AP FOUND, SERVICE UNAVAILABLE... i mean what the heck.. i got the settings right ... but still no go... any answers............


--

Design 5/10
Features 6/10
Performance 3/10

17 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aLIYAS
posted on 10 Jan 2010, 06:01

6

Camara quality is very poor

I bought it in Mumbai. though this is a user friendly mobile and all required features are available, the 3.2 mp camera picture is very very very poor quality. Those who wants to take photos on using this mobile, please do not buy it.Aliyas

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

Cons

  • The 3.2 mp camera picture is very very very poor quality.

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ritu A
posted on 19 Dec 2009, 00:06

8.7

Amazing...

this is my first touch screen phone nad its amazing..didn't have to go through the manual also!

wi-fi is amazing...suond quality is also good...

smile detector is also good...

great phone...at a great price..!
 

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andy_From_Ukraine
posted on 15 Dec 2009, 15:54

8.7

when?

I like that,the WiFi is working pretty much nice,and these modification is worth buying it..but i saw it in Sweden,and i want it in Ukraine,cause i live there,and i can't take the handy from Europe..
Please,tell anyone - will it be in Ukraine,how much it can be cost,when we will se it in Ukraine and Russia?What price have you payed for that and what country in?
Please,anyone who owned it,tell me something about it's price on my e-mail: mighty_hamster@ukr.net
Thank you very much!
(Please,don't delete my post,we all waiting for this modification,and hundreds thousands of people can't decide - is s5230w worth waiting for?)

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Design is serious but nice
  • the performance is good
  • i like this screen,it's really good
  • the cell phone plays the videos as my TVset at home =)

Cons

  • there are not so many programmes and java applications can be compatible with this cell phone
  • there's no 3G here...

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shrey
posted on 12 Dec 2009, 02:33

9.7

hey im using this phone and i m quite satisfied, though the processing speed is not much but its design and features 
make it an over all champ . trust me this phone offers you quite a bit for its price tag.. i give it a 10 for design and features each and a 9 for performance.....that makes it 9.67 overall .

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

amar
posted on 23 Nov 2009, 14:08

5

not so good

its not such a good phone overall as compare to the hoop-hoopla created...u cant open menu during a call...during call taking others in conf is cumbersome..battery life is gud..screen resolution looks dull in light...camera quality gud..it should have been made more user friendly...nothing is new in this phone...

Design 6/10
Features 3/10
Performance 6/10

5 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ron
posted on 18 Nov 2009, 13:27

9.3

this phone is great!

This is my first Touchscreen phone and it pretty much hits all the features I need, just disregard the 3G and .3GP this is an absolutely great phone.  If I would recommend a touchscreen phone to anyone this would be it, easy to navigate and wifi features is awesome.  I am definitely a happy customer!!! Ü

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • the drag icon menu is awesome.
  • the music is crisp.
  • the panorama and smile pictures are Cool
  • great phone for browsing
  • light and easy to use

Cons

  • no flash and daylight pictures seems to be dim
  • less phone capacity
  • games are normal .jar files
  • setting of pictues as wallpaper to full screen is a bit confusing
  • no available themes for downloads

34 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Noel Marcos
posted on 16 Nov 2009, 05:00

8.3

Amazing touch screen phone for its low price

I am using this phone for 3 weeks now and I am completely satisfied.

For my first touchscreen phone, I find it easy to use even without reading the manual.  The added wifi feature is great because I can connect to youtube or facebook while having lunch or dinner whenever there is a hotspot.  I don't mind not having the 3G.  If I need to really surf the web, then I just bring out my netbook and USB modem.  

The 3.2 MP camera works fine during daylight but not so good at night because it does not have a flash. Well, we can't have it all considering the price but...it has smile recognition and other features like photo stitching, panorama, night shot, portrait, multi-shot, and most of all video recording. 

The Radio and Music Player is good and produces above average sound quality.  You can leave your Ipod behind.

The Smart lock is ingenious!  Unlocking the phone and going straight to your favorite phone menu.  Great idea from Samsung.

The handwriting recognition is by letter, great if it can recognize an entire word or phrase but hey, remember the price?

There are features comparable to Iphone like the Accelerometer - tilting to either side and photos slide to that direction, the qwerty keyboard, the rotating display (portrait or landscape) for photos, videos, or sending msgs or email.

Great call reception and long battery life.  I roamed around a museum and used the video camera...  

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

154 out of 159 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories