x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola RAZR V3a User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Fad
posted on 02 Sep 2010, 10:46

6

I loved it, despite all the disappointed things!

 Hello, yeah i was in love with this mobile,, great slim design with light weight also and can come up with great colors "mine was sweet violet ;;)",,, but having so many problems I have to say:very poor quality camera/video recording. being stuck so many times and without a known reason!can't view large-sized photos.but in the same time, it is somehow friendly to use with some features of its own.. so i recommend it for those users who prefer to have an elegant mobile and can sacrifice some of other extra options... but in the main options any mobile has to offer: texting and calling: it is very good device :)

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • very elegant, super slim mobile.
  • friendly to use

Cons

  • very poor quality camera/video recording. "1 mp !!!!"
  • being stuck so many times and without a known reason!
  • can't view large-sized photos.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Kasandra
posted on 30 Dec 2009, 09:06

8

Razr is supa smooth

The Motorola Razr V3a from Straight Talk is a must have phone for Motorola / flip phone fanatics. The super thin design is great and surprisingly durable; I've dropped mine a few times and it doesn't even show. The colour screen is a light to be reconed with and the flat keypad is probably the phones second best feture.

The camera is good enough while not being of the highest technology, it does have a  video recorder which makes it very desirable to me. The menu's interface is intuitive which makes it simple to navigate. The sound quality on calls is especially good and the speaker phone is loud and clear although the caller can hear that they are on speaker which is a slight negative. The battery life is good, only needing a charge every two to three days.

I like the Straight Talk prepaid options especially the unlimited minutes, texts and data for $45 per month; all on Verizon's network nationwide. Which means no additional charges like roaming or long distance and no bills at the end of the month.

Overall, I love my Razr and wouldn't give it away.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Super thin design
  • flat keypad
  • Good sound quality
  • Straight Talk's unlimited option

Cons

  • Speaker phone not a secret
  • Camera could be more advanced

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

irockyourworld
posted on 20 Nov 2009, 11:45

7

IT F'IN ROCKED MY WORLD!!!

 THIS PHONE FREAKIN ROCKS!! the keypad is amazing for fast texters like me...(: and the ringtone quality was amazing. It was very durable and mine even lived thru a washing in the washing machine. a friend of mine threw his at a tree and it survived. it made it thru a toilet and lake dropping.. so its basically water proof. the camera isn't to great, but it gets the job done. basically this phone rocks.. nothing to technoligically hard to figure out. it was simple and basic. 

Design 8/10
Features 4/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • great keypad
  • good screen quality
  • great ringtone quality
  • many covers too choose from

Cons

  • camera quality
  • not many features

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JamesTheGreat
posted on 31 Jul 2009, 11:59

7.7

Good Phone!

I like this phone I got one for free about a week ago and I enjoy it.
I got music to download to it using a six dollar program I found on Ebay!
It cant use custom ringtones which makes me sad. :(
but the camera works good (in the  right Light)
and the video is ok.
Overall I say its a pretty good phone after using a tracphone. :)
 

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • alarms
  • good battery life
  • Camera

Cons

  • Cant use custom ringtones
  • Cuts off (rarely)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Casey
posted on 30 Oct 2008, 20:47

4.7

Junk

I had one of the original RAZR enjoyed it, but the new RAZR V3a is junk, extremely poor signal, I also use a data card on my laptop, my phone will say no service while it is sitting beside my computer that is sending and recieving with no problem.  And the battery, you will probably want to buy 3 or 4 extra ones so you can make it through the day.  I start every day with a full charge, talk about a hour or two a day, but the battery will be dead within 6 to 8 hours of coming off the charger, not sure how this fits into the specifications that motorola gives, 3 hour talk time and 307 hours standby time, must have been smoking crack.

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Performance 1/10

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

redstu36
posted on 02 Oct 2008, 22:16 (Posts: 37; Member since: 28 Sep 2008)

5.7

Why make such a bad phone?

That is the real question. I bought this phone back in May through alltel. At first I was surprised at the functons that it had, bluetooth, gps, nice design. But that camera won't take a picture of still life on a stick. That has got to be the worst cell camera in the history of man. After a while, I got bored with it really fast. So I decided to spruce it up a bit with a theme and custom ringtones. BIG MISTAKE!!!! I did something to the phone and it got stuck in a theme that replaced the original blue theme and it wasn't even halfway nice looking. I took it back to alltel and they couldn't help me. So I contacted motorola and they sent me software that would fix the phone. Well it got all the things back that were missing, like the menu key, the date on the inside, and the original blue theme. But the celltop function was missing and the phone would switch off by itself, also it would switch off if I left it closed for awhile and would restart when I opened the phone. I mean I realize that a lot of the problem was my own stupid fault, but they could at least make the phone more personal. Most people's phones reflect who they are and what they like. Nowdays they aren't just communication devices. It makes me sick that they won't let you use custom ringtones on these phones. Come on what gives? Just give us a little something, you know. Next time make a better phone. One that people can really make their own and not just what motorola and alltel want to sell you.

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Size
  • Price(its cheap all right)

Cons

  • Can't use custom ringtones
  • Camera(if you wanna call it that)
  • Software

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

An Alltel Customer
posted on 07 Jul 2008, 11:54

4.6

Absolutely awful.

I got this phone about a year ago. I've NEVER dropped it, and the firmware is screwed up. I'll be in the middle of a text, and it will randomly reset itself.
It gets great reception
The only reason it has great value for money is because I got it free at my local Wal-Mart store.
Don't even waste your time on this phone.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

johnny
posted on 24 Jun 2008, 22:19

2.2

horrible phone

i bought my razr in december...to begin with the ringer was very quite and always roamed never got a good signal..to put this even more the phone only lasted me 2 month then goin to where the ringer didnt work at all and the screen went blank and woundnt come back on..i got a new replacement to where it happend again. this time they sent me a another new one to where it never had a signal always roamed couldnt make or recive calls, ringer didnt work, vibrater didnt work..overall a piece of crap i think

Design 1/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 2/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jack Macqueen
posted on 21 May 2008, 06:33

4.4

Nightmare

Worst signal EVER!!! But the design is good it doesn't take up much room. The features aren't to bad but the sound is quite bad.

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 4/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jeff
posted on 07 May 2008, 14:47

8.6

I just got this phone yesterday and it seems to be a really nice phone for the value.Signal strength seems to be good and so is reception.My only complaint that i noticed was it doesnt have mp3 player kinda sucks.besides that i love the phone . It does smudge easy but hell i have had 2 kyocera phones and hated them.Motorolas are made better imho.If you are into big toys dont get this but if you want practicality and easy use this is it.I though the design is nice lookn too.

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jennifer
posted on 13 Apr 2008, 18:19

5

ish

i have this phone, and i find it to do most things i want.

the worst things are;

1. Crashing? Why?
it just keeps going to the start up picture, and then it restarts. Am I the only one?

2. Camera?
extremely disappointed.

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 5/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

connielynreturns
posted on 29 Feb 2008, 08:46

9.2

Excellent phone for the practical user!

The RAZR V3a was not intended for electronic gurus looking to port their PC and IPOD Nanos in one mechanism. Its a lower priced phone intended for the more practical user who does not desire to play games, listen to music, or view movies. I have always admired the RAZR for its sleek appearance and wonderful portability, but assumed it would break easily. After using someone else's quite often and many inquiries, I have found many have gouged, dropped, and slammed their RAZR's a multitude of times with no problems.

I was given my V3a as a gift 2 weeks ago and very pleased with it. The recaption and dropped call ratio does not differ from my previous phones. I am able to do just as I intend to which is access email, IMs, surf, and have an easy camera/video at my access as need be. The addition USB to PC insures easy transfer of videos, photos, and easy d/ls. The picture quality is impressive, the Zoom option better than most phones. My only complaint that on speaker the distance of audibility is limited compared to my Nokia.

I have yet to hear quality music from any cell equipped with MP3/MP4 Ipod Nano capabilities - so these feature are not something I wanted. My provider has made Web surfing unlimited and this phone does the job. Overall I give it a 4.75.





--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Worthy
posted on 28 Jan 2008, 14:46

7.6

fine

its a fine phone, but not a whole lot more. the V3m would be a better choice for modding. the v3a uses BREW instead of JAVA, so programs must be purchased (at the moment) not just installed with P2K or bowser. reception for me is excelent, and battery life is excellent. for people with battery problems either the battery is no good or needs to be reset. to reset its capacity memory, talk or use untill its completly dead, remove battery, wait a few minutes, put the battery back in and charge with the phone off. with lithium ion the capacity is kept track of but can get off. anyways, its been a great phone for me, but the v3a is the newest of the razor v3 series, and they cut down some of the moddable features to make it cheaper to produce.

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 13 Jan 2008, 13:50

3

Very poor

I had this phone, and was very disappointed.

Fist off, the battery life is horrible, I left it on (not talking) in standby, for 8 hours, and it died, after being fully charged.

The sound quality is TERRIBLE, I could not understand a single thing anyone said.

The design is alright, the thin shape is nice, but it also breaks very easily.

The signal strength is also very bad, I can almost never get more than 3 bars, even in the city.

All in all, this is a very poor phone, and I would NOT recommend it.

Design 7/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 2/10

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hal king
posted on 01 Jan 2008, 13:25

9

quality first

I read these reviews and the only thought that comes to mind is ROOKIES. I bought my first cell phone in 1992 a nokia floor mounted in my car. For you who dont't know in those days we had follow me roaming you might or might not get your call. My first Motorola was a Startac. I was hooked, have used nothing else since, tough as they come, easy to use and will make calls from places an LG or Samsung can't possibly get out, if you can't do this why do you need a cell phone, you can always listen to music on your mp3.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ashley D
posted on 09 Dec 2007, 19:36

6

The Rzr's are not good at all! the signal is fine, but the battery strenght is very poor! I would talk on it for literally 5 minutes and one bar would go down.

Design 8/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 3/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Dec 2007, 01:47

6.4

breaks easily. the headphones that you can plug in usb jack from best buy which are $29.99 only last a few months. I would not recommend this phone, even though i got mine free with carrier. Also does not play all mp4 videos properly/ Properly one of the worst phones out their on the market.

Design 10/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Art
posted on 21 Nov 2007, 10:32

4

I dont Know

I remembewr when everybody was going crazy bout the Rzs well i got mine last year and I really dont like it its super slow the camara suck and one thing i hate bout it is that you cant put headphones unoles they are blutooth wich are real expensive (129.00) but beisdes that its an ok phone I mean its costs alot more than what it gots to offer luckely i got mine for free lol ok well i think thats it and i would not recomend for people to buy it

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Archie M
posted on 11 Oct 2007, 12:11

8.6

A great Phone At The Price I've Been Waiting For

For the $49.95 I paid for this phone through Alltel (with rebate and service plan), I'm very impressed and pleased. While this may fit the bill as the "next big thing", it doesn't have to be. It was a trendsetter-still is in many ways. It has the best feature set for my needs (would have been nice to have the mp3 player)

Bluetooth, GPS, Open-Wave Browser, VGA camera , Digital video-recording and all the Motorola features that have been available in Motorola's archetecture in some form for years? What's not to love? If you've been a Motorola user before, this phone invites you back in like and old familiar friend. Durable as all get out! I love mine. At age 47, I feel that adding something new is no more than a bunch of marketing hype and uneccessary excess anyway. This phone comes through in groves with the usual high Motorola build quality I've come to expect. I give it a 9 overall.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alltel rep
posted on 24 Sep 2007, 21:49

7.8

Pretty good phone

The motorazr v3a is a pretty good phone, although alltel stripped the mp3 player capabilities from this phone, unlike the v3m.
Overall the phone is pretty well made; i have dropped mine numerous times and still works great. Hope it helps !

Design 9/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

R
posted on 22 Sep 2007, 14:38

5.4

disapointed

I just got mine. Tried to put the battery in, and nothing. Seems a poor design when it comes to installing the battery. Doesn't make a connection or something. And why no instructions on how to install the battery? What's with all the layers of plastic on the battery? They come off? Nothing to tell you yes or no........................

Design 6/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 3/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Shorty
posted on 20 Aug 2007, 15:22

9

Great Phone

I was told the phone has been broken by people sitting on the phone with it in their back pockets, but I have dropped this phone and smushed it sooo much that I can't believe that its still working. It has been the best phone for me yet. I have had this phone for 5 months and usually before that time, something goes wrong with it, but it hasn't had anything yet. Love the features and easy to use. Slim and sleek design. I give it an A+

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories