x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG VX8350 User Reviews

6 Based on 23 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality2/10
Text input2/10
Everyday usage2/10
UI speed2/10
Camera2/10
Multimedia2/10
Internet2/10
Call quality2/10
Battery2/10
Reception2/10
Display2/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

joey reeder
posted on 29 Jul 2011, 10:13

2

no one has a clue

joey reeder has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

they have been sending me a replacement phone for three months its in the mail ive been told well the us postal service is slow they arent that slow you have to yell in the phone for the other end to hear you also i recommended a person for a free month and cannot get them to give it to me truwireless sucks it should be screwwireless

Build quality 2/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 2/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • none so far

Cons

  • pisspoor service dept

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

a pissed off girl
posted on 07 Apr 2010, 19:26

3

AHHHH

 i get an upgrade in 2 weeks.... THANK GOD!! dont be fooled by this phone, it seems really nice at first, maybe the first month, not even, but give it a while and you will begin to notice its many flaws. For one thing, the front keys don't light up when pressed like they are supposed to. The only time they light up is when i have a text message/phone call. That is the ONLY time they are functional... unless you hold them down for about a minute. Also, the paint on the side buttons chips very easily. Its not such a big deal but it doesn't look nice, ya know? Furthermore, the hinge is UNBEARABLE!! it squeaked all the time and eventually the right hinge broke! which is a common problem apparently.I have also noticed that the battery life is excellent at first, but then it dwindles. I did not have texting for the first year or so and i came to notice that the battery life was still horrible without texting. The screen cracks easily too. Along with that, the back case, over the battery, is very thin and flimsy. Not that it has to be thick, just a little durable would be nice! You can't really personalize this phone either, it holds only 100 text messages and when you call, the battery goes in a flash. This phone is not worth it, even if it is free... which mine wasn'tPS. there is no flash... 

Design 2/10
Features 3/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • NOTHING!!

Cons

  • ALL OF IT

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Laura Strauss
posted on 09 Feb 2010, 19:37

4

piece of junk

 I had my LG VX8350 for 14 months and the right hinge broke. I do not use the phone that much and am very careful with it.Verizon was not helpful at all. LG refused to fix it for free because it was out of warranty. Verizon told me that LG had sent out a bulletin saying that the right hinge had a manufacturers defect, LG denied this. So who is the liar. The first customer service person I spoke with at LG admitted there was a problem with the phone. Searching the web I have found many individuals who have had the same problem in a much shorter time period. This is a cheaply made phone. I am now using my old Samsung which has a much plastic. I would not recommend LG products to anyone, they are cheap and their customer service is terrible.

Design 3/10
Features 6/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • small, thin, has bluetooth

Cons

  • cheaply made, breaks easily , terrible customer service

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Renee
posted on 25 Sep 2009, 23:18

4.7

Poor Design

I'm on my second LG VX8350 and now looking for a new phone.  Both of my 8350's had the same problem...the cheap plastic hinges broke, I'm careful with my phones.  Other cell phones I've had in the past lasted for years with no problems.  I've gone through 2 of these in two years.  This seems to be a flaw in the design and materials used in the phone rather than my being careless or rough in handling the phone.  I'm now on the hunt for a new phone.  I wont buy another 8350.  I don't suggest you buy one either. 

Design 1/10
Features 7/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • slim design
  • video/camera

Cons

  • cheap plastic hinges flex too much when the phone is opened
  • camera/recorder comes on unexpectedly when left in your pocket

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vzwfann15
posted on 11 Jun 2009, 22:04 (Posts: 16; Member since: 10 Jun 2009)

4.3

Ok Free Phone But Just Doesn't Cut It

When I got this phone about a year ago, I was very pleased with the look and feel of the phone, considering it was FREE! But since using it alot (I text alot and multimedia message alot) I have found that the hinge is very weak and already I have had 3 replacements from the hinge snapping off and the screen breaking. The phone has a cheap plastic frame which is disappointing, but even with many drops, still is difficult to scratch. The camera quality is poor only slightly better than most 1.3 megapixel cameras. There is no flash and few customizations for the menu (same boring Verizon interface). But, I have been quite impressed with the battery life even after heavy txting and calling use. The voice quality was average at best, voices on the other end sounding staticy. Finally, I do like the idea of reading txt messages on the front of the phone, it being very convenient.

Design 4/10
Features 3/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • Good Battery Life, even with constant use
  • Txt Message readout on the external screen
  • Doesn't Scratch Easily

Cons

  • Cheap, plastic feel both inside and out
  • Same Verizon Menu interface
  • Voice quality was average (slight static noise)
  • Few customizations (no games, small selection of included wallpaper and ringtones)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Owner
posted on 07 Jan 2009, 23:44

4.3

I recently just switched from this phone to an LG Decoy. However when I had this phone I had to have it replaced twice because the plastic around the hindges broke and the screen came off. The first Time this happened Verizon charged me to get a replacement...however the second time they did not because they found it to be a problem that was beginning to pop up. I do not throw my phone and I did take care of it but due to my job I guess I just opened it to much. I found that the volume was also terrible with the phone as well.

Design 3/10
Features 5/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • got a good signal for an internal antenna

Cons

  • Breaks easily

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

LG VX8350 User
posted on 01 Jan 2009, 18:04

8.3

Good Phone.

It's a great free phone.  I have had mine for almost a year (as in, 1 week short) with no problems.  I use my phone mainly as a music player and for calling (I don't text).
The camera is great for its class.  Considering that it is 1.3 MP, the image quality is very good.  Its camera lens has good color balance, and images are generally better than expected for a 1.3 MP camera.  Digital zoom only works on lower resolutions, which is a con.  Also, there is no flash, so night shots are terrible, even in night mode.  A convenient side button providing access to the camera is quite convenient, and it is designed so that when closed, the camera will be activated only by holding it down.
The music player it ships with is the standard, Verizon VCast player, which isn't great.  The external buttons are nice and volume is good with the phone, but with headphones, the volume could be improved.  Verizon's software isn't the best -- when the phone is closed, the music will continue to play (which is good), but the inside screen continues to be lit, thus wasting battery.  If you open the phone, the external display will remain lit with the Verizon logo.  Again, the external controls must be pressed down to activate the music player, which is a plus.  If you're trying to check the time or something simple like that, pressing any of the buttons will show the information -- you do not have to open the phone.
Call quality is good. ...  

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Good value.
  • Good call quality and signal strength.
  • Camera lens is good.
  • Convenient external keys.

Cons

  • Bulky.
  • Limited choices in colors. (Only red and gray -- get red, I have gray and its a little dull.)
  • Poor design of music player drains battery.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Terry Kramer
posted on 26 Dec 2008, 13:07

4.3

Owner

This phone is terrible!.  I upgraded from the 8300.  The antenna is a joke.  I live .9 of a mile from the cell tower, but in the mountains.  My old 8300 would always get 2bars evdo and 1-3 bars 1X.  The 8350 gets no bars on either network.  Yet if I plug the 8350 into my Wilson power booster, it get 4 bars on both networks.  The poor signal also is the case of the super quick battery draining that many people have compained about.  If it is on the fringe of the EVDO network, it will constantly attempt to connect, which is big power drain.  I get 6 hours max on a charge.  I have two phone numbers on my account and the second number is still using a old 8300, so I can compare antennas side-by-side in various locations.  Many locations my 8300 will produce 4 bards EVDO and 1X, while the 8350 gets zero on both! Fortunatly I'm within the 30days of purchase, so the phone is being returned to Verizon.  Stay away!

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • external antenna jack

Cons

  • worthless internal antenna

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nickavl
posted on 12 Nov 2008, 00:01

8.3

good and bad

this phone when i first got it was great i loved it.  I had the phone for  almost seven months barley any problems, the speakerphone button being so close to the clear button is annoying though. then it died due to idk i just don't leave it in the bathroom with steam.  after the about seven months before it died it did slag some times on button response.  after it died they sent me another one and that's the one i have problem with.  It doesn't get as good of a signal as the old one.  i had used the replacement for a day and then upgraded to the phone i wanted.  the glyde.  I recently went back to this phone (read review of glyde to find out why) and i just think that at times the reception could be better and it could be a bit thinner but over all if you want an average music phone and u like lg then this is for you.  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • design
  • almost everything

Cons

  • plastic feel
  • clear button location
  • would be nice if had flash

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 04 Nov 2008, 20:19

8.3

Best LG I've owned so far...

At first I though this phone was real basic but it funtions better than the Motorola RAZR 2.  The software is fast and has a Titanium UI theme which is pretty cool.  Although the software is nice the newer phones on the market has better software.  But for when this phone came out its real good.  It doesn't lag or freeze like alot of phones now days.  The battery lasts a long time and reception is great.  Very few places (if any) do I have low signal. Vcast loads real good, doesn't have to buffer as much as the RAZR 2 did.  Internal memory is good, could be better if you like lots of downloads.  Wish it had a 2MP camera but it has a 1.3 MP.  Stereo speakers on the back make ringtones and music sound good.  If you like Loopt Mobile don't download it to this device it'll crash it!  I've had this phone for several months and I'm sure its soon going to be replaced by the 8360 but I thought I'd give it a good word before I upgrade.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Reception
  • Battery
  • Software
  • Memory
  • Screens
  • Voice quality
  • Sound
  • Vibrate mode
  • SD memory card slot on side of phone, not behind battery door.
  • Flash UI theme. Only one but still a cool one.

Cons

  • Keypad backlight is real dim
  • Using downloaded wallpaper on external screen not good, cuts edges off.
  • Loopt software will crash phone! Maybe an update will fix it.
  • Wish it had micro USB charger.
  • Default wallpapers and animated wallpapers...same as older models

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hurricane8350
posted on 16 Oct 2008, 17:52

7

8350

Hi,
After reading the first few negative feedbacks I started second guessing my choice of the 8350. Yes the outside feels a bit cheap, like it may not survive its first drop on the ground. But a leather phone cover may help with that. For the 3 weeks or so I've had it, I cannot complain. I'm hoping that I don't see the day that the hinge and other potential problems occur (as mentioned in prior ads). But aside from the potential problems as listed earlier in this post, I like the phone, and should it continue performing as it has, I'd rate it an solid 7.
I got the phone because my girlfriend's 8300 was nice and had a nice feel, so I figured it was an upgrade to her 8300, but I think, minus the 8300's antenna, her phone had a stronger build.

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kyle
posted on 28 Jul 2008, 20:30

3.2

Stay away from this phone

I had an 8300 for over a year. I was exceptionally satisfied with this phone because it was completely glitch free. When i accedently smashed it i got the upgrade (more like downgrade) to the 8300. At first i was satisfied with the 8350 but it only went downhill. After about a month it just stoped working, it could no longer get a signal. I got it replaced hoping it was just a manufacture defect. My second 8350 had the same problem and i got it replaced. Im now on my 3rd 8350 and once again its having the same problems. I cant wait to get it replaced tomorrow with a completely knew model. I had high hopes for this phone and i now regret ever choosing it. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PHONE.

Design 2/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 2/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

G
posted on 14 Jun 2008, 16:27

4

5th LG owned - worst so far

I've owned and continued owning LG phones for the past several years. After using my wife's 8300, this seemed like the natural next step for my upgrade. Worst move so far. I've gone thru 4 phones and 2 batteries so far. Battery life at first seems great, then something happens and you get less than a day on a charge. Seems odd.
The phone itself is simple and easy, but the lack of an external key shut-off baffles me. If this phone was meant to be kept in your pocket, ANYTHING will turn the music player on. Sit down - music on, stand up - music on, turn left - music on.. you get the point.

Design 2/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 4/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 05 Jun 2008, 22:14

6

ehh

i loved this phone for the first day then it went downhill. it didn't hold a charge for over 3 hours, and that is with only texting, and maybe one or two short phone calls. the hinges would creak every time i open and close the phone and the phone dents very easily, even when in a case.

Design 4/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 4/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Timothy
posted on 01 May 2008, 20:48

5.2

If you're moving up from the VX8300, find another route.

I had my VX8300 for two years and loved it. This VX8350 seems to have regressed. The software on the phone is similar to the earlier verizon phones, but with tacky colors.

One thing that bugs me is that the user can't assign a different text alert sounds to different contacts. All text messages have one general tone. So if you receive texts your significant other, your family, friends, co-workers, boss, teachers, etc, you won't be able to tell them apart audio-wise.

The camera isn't as good as I expected. The picture quality is fuzzy and warm, and obviously doesn't have a flash.

If you want an easy to use phone, then this will work. If you're into taking pictures and video, and slightly being organized and customized, then check out what else Verizon has, because you won't be happy with this one.

Design 4/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 3/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Martha M
posted on 16 Apr 2008, 08:44

2.2

a great disappointment

I upgraded my 8300 to the 8350, having been extremely happy with the 8300. The 8350 is a great disappointment. After 3 months the hinge broke and after only 2 months, the replacement phone hinge also broke. I am on 8350 #3 right now. I am 52 years old and have never been abusive to my phones. In over 12 years of cellular use, I have never had a problem with a phone like I am having with the 8350. I talk and text. The plastic is terribly cheap on the 8350. I occasionally get voice cracking so the reception is not great. I also have people complain that when talking, my voice fluctuates from very loud to unable to hear. The battery is also not as good as the 8300. Battery life is very, very poor. Overall, on a scale of 1 to 10, I give this phone a 2!

Design 1/10
Features 2/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 1/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

betty
posted on 26 Mar 2008, 18:19

5.6

Expected more from an LG

This phone is ok...if you don't want or need a bunch a features then its fine...but otherwise it sucks. It feels so cheap and is all plastic. It breaks pretty easily...good sound quality but thats the best i can say. With all the cool phones out there this one is near the bottom of the list. SAVE your money and buy a better one. I got it for Christmas and i'm stuck with it and i'm so unhappy. DON'T BUY!!!

Design 4/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

TOTO
posted on 01 Feb 2008, 20:24

9.8

Gotta Love It!

I love it!

Pros:
Great battery life, I hardly ever charge it.
The Red and Grey colors are very eye catching!
The quality of voice is great, everyone sounds loud and really clear.
The phone is easy to use and understand.

Minor Issues:
Somewhat difficult to open one handed.
Camera is a little laggy.
The keypad tones are loud even set to the lowest level.

Cons: NONE

I would recomend this phone to anyone!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ken
posted on 28 Dec 2007, 09:45

8

Good Value!

Overall, a very nice phone. It uses a tried and true flip phone design, which may not be the best for media use, but is best for it's primary function, a phone! To help facilitate the flip phones use as a music player, there are control buttons on the front. You will have to open the phone to put it in music player first though, so opening the phone is still a necessity.

There is a wide assortment of tech gadgetry on the phone which makes it fun (Internet, Bluetooth, music player, video player, memory card slot up to 4GB, etc.). Some of the functionality is limited though, so you may be disappointed. Pushing and pulling calendar events and phone entries with Bluetooth seems buggy with outlook2K7 and a plugin. I'm not sure if it's the phone or the Outlook 2K7 plugin. Regardless, you can get around it by exporting info from OL2K7 and then pushing the files manually. A pain to be sure, but better than nothing.

My gripes lie mostly with with the software and it's apparrent design to inhibit the free transfer of music, video, or ringtones. I also dislike the proprietary phone connector. The directories that hold music and video are not accessible by Bluetooth, only the proprietary USB cable. You have to do some work with a PC and proprietary USB cable, or a memory card and card reader, to make things work.

The bottom line is, you can make it work regardless of limitations. For the technically inclined, this phone is a great value!

One word of advice regarding 4GB SD cards....  

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

BAZFONE
posted on 12 Dec 2007, 12:34

9.2

Best Value in Verizon Phones

Coming from the perspective of a former RAZR V3c owner who is satisfied with the value of the VX8350…

Pros:

- Effective and competent form factor is less prone to mechanical flexing damage in a pocket when compared to the thin RAZR style phones.
- Supports simultaneous ring and vibrate call alerts.
- Std. Battery is 1000 mAh – 20% more than the VX8700 or RAZR. A 1500 mAh battery is available.
- Better battery life than the standard RAZR
- Better reception in difficult areas than the RAZR
- Support for up to 4Gb of additional memory for music, video, images etc.
- Good sound from stereo speakers on back of the handset
- Better low-light performance of the 1.3Mp camera (compared to RAZR)
- SD Memory card slot is external and easy to access w/o removing phone battery
- Voice commands work from the Bluetooth headset.
- Bluetooth device support is more extensive and menu structure on the phone is easier to use (compared to RAZRV3c)
- Excellent audio quality and excellent reception in marginal signal areas. I hold calls much better with the VX8350 than with the RAZR V3c. Also better than my son’s VX8550 Chocolate.


Cons:
- Tiny plastic covers over phone connector & memory slots are easy to lose.
- Screen resolution is OK, but could be better, esp. if you use the WAP browser much.
- Non-standard plug form factor for USB connection requires proprietary cable. (Unlike RAZR or KRZR that use industry standard micro USB connectors)
- Great Phone...  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dave
posted on 01 Oct 2007, 18:51

8.8

Good value

I would classify myself as an early adopter - buying phones when they first come out just to say that I had the latest thing. But now, with all the choices out there, and all the functionality, I found myself asking what I REALLY needed in a phone. My answers were something small, lightweight, with an easy to use interface, quick silence, and a great speakerphone.

I wasn't really looking at LG - but I have had their phones in the past. I have also had Samsung phones, Motorola phones and 'VERIZON' phones. I have to say that a number of things brought me back to LG: the interface is intuitive - easy to use and navigate through. Also, the speakerphone is GREAT. Stereo sound quality and good clarity. I love the fact that I can put into vibrate mode with one button (the * key). The older LG models had a one key locking function which I would LOVE for LG to bring back. That is probably the only thing lacking from this basic phone. Good value for the money. Making me consider my early adopter status as now - more pragmatic. :)

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

CellAddicto
posted on 22 Sep 2007, 14:06

8.2

It's Suffice

I've had the phone just under 2 wks and I like it (excellent reception, sound, speakerphone, UI responsiveness).....BUT.....the exterior feels a little cheap. More importantly, I'm really disappointed in the screen display quality: the pixelation and colors blow! The exterior screen looks washed out when displaying anything. The interior needs a better resolution as it makes the text and some images look "fuzzy". Other then that, I'm really satisfied.

I traded in the LG 8550 (new chocolate) for this one because I couldn't stand the key sensitivity, size/spacing of actual keys, and the unresponsive speaker button. But I guess I my opinion is tainted in that the chocolate looks so much better, is thinner, and has way better screen resolution.

I've had a run of bad luck in retaining phones. I had the Moto e815 2 yrs ago and really liked that one, then I lost it. I replaced it with the LG VX8300 (predecessor) and was pleasantly surprised with that one, but I lost it a couple of months ago. If I had my way, I would have stuck to the 8300 and waited for some other phone to come out with Verizon. And as a result I got the 8350 out of sheer frustration with the chocolate.

Overall, I recommend the 8350....but if you want the 8350 and already have the 8300, it really doesn't have anything outstanding to offer over the 8300 except maybe bluetooth stereo and 4GB capacity storage.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ricci
posted on 20 Sep 2007, 13:42

8.2

new LG user

Just coming from a verizon e815 and i was a little nervous about picking up the LG (even though the sales person told me that this was the phone to go to coming from the 815) After about a week of use, i'm all about it. Getting used to the txt entry (not quite like motorla's itap) was the only step, other than that the phone is great!

I give it two thumbs up in initial quality, it fits great in my pocket, sleek design, no bulky antenna, GREAT call quality and as good as (if not better) RF than my old e815.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories