x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

LG ARENA User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Justy
posted on 03 Aug 2010, 05:22

7

Still good for a cheap dolby mobile!

So I bought this mobile 2 months ago. I had enough time to test it out, and I can say that, this phone is far better, than any other phone with closed operation system (OS), because it know more, than any other phone like this...I have to say, I never had any touch screenie phone before this. I love the capacitive screen, easy to handle, but sometimes it could make surprise. I think there is no need any foil on the screen, because it's make the screen low sensed. I experienced only once the screen vibration phenomenon. The S-Class user interface is simple. Easy to use it, and you learn it very fast. Sometimes very boring. Anyway, it's a good looked phone. There is a 5mpx camera, and it makes nice photos, but only in daylight! In the evening you have to use another camera ( like digital ). The dolby digital sound is the best I've ever hear!!! I got Sony-Ericsson Walkman mobile, so I know what I say. With a better headphone you could make your best music center, because it's very prodigious!!! For film, the dolby is an essential feature! The films in a high res very beautiful!I think that, this divx misery is a very nice scam from LG...Fortunately,  you can convert your divx/dvd to an mp4 file, after you can watch movies easy!I I love the phone's calendar function. When I bought this mobile, I knew this is a Java based phone, so I didn't surprised, when I saw what programmes can install to the phone. If you say this is a contra, I say you are stupid, because...  

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Nice 5mpx camera daylight
  • Dolby is the best for a movie
  • Looking
  • Easy S class
  • Still cheap!!!

Cons

  • Wifi misery - this phone isn't see some router type ( like D-Link )
  • Useless flash on the camera
  • DivX scam ( yes I can say this is a scam!!! )

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tim.
posted on 14 Apr 2010, 09:25

8.3

Good features, but very limited apps

Bad thing, crashes and restarts randomly, especially when connecting to computer using a USB cable. The music rocks with Dolby Stereo, even better than my ipod touch's. The max volume should be increased though. Very low battery life, need to charge it every 2 days. However, video and camera capabilities are superb. Better than 8mp phones i can say. However, this phone is very slow when swiping through the S class interface. The worst thing is, despite having a 480x800 resolution, it only has a 3 inch screen? This is ridiculous. The HTC HD2 has the almost the same resolution, yet look at how it shines with a 4.2 inch screen. And games and apps are not fully developed to take advantage of the screen quality. There is also a very limited source of games and apps for you. Call quality is very high though. DivX is totally useless on this phone as it supports a 288*-344* resolution? The high resolution seriously becomes a joke here.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • 800x480 resolution
  • Dolby Stereo
  • S class User Interface
  • Video playback is great
  • Wifi

Cons

  • DivX fails
  • Low battery life
  • Firmware never gets updated
  • Limited games and apps

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Unkown
posted on 01 Apr 2010, 06:07

9

Good phone.

for 2180HKD or about 286CND, this phone's performance and functions destroys the other in its price range.The 5MP camera is amazing at taking photos and video, the only problem with the camera is at night.The battery life is a bit low, you need to charge it every 2-3 days.S-Class interface is very fun to play with and has a good design. The only downside is it is a bit slow or laggy.I read other reviews saying it sucks and it crashes... my cousin and i have this phone, we have only encountered out phone freezing once.. never "10 times a day"Wifi is awesome! i used my friends other phone to go on wifi and he is simply jealous of this phones functions.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Brushed metal finish
  • 5MP camera
  • Wifi
  • inner camera isnt too bad
  • S-Class interface
  • Price
  • 3.5mm jack

Cons

  • Battery life
  • very few apps/games

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DavetheMan
posted on 18 Jan 2010, 15:44

6.3

Disappointing

Great if it was as slick and usable as the advert but it isnt. Most annoying thing is that it is very slow the interface runs fine(on newer firmware versions) but the Java speed is abismal, its like watching a slideshow.
S-Class interface is alright, but that cube is a waste of space, texting is fine but to slow, Youtube finally works over wi-fi FINALLY! DivX support is basic requirement only. Camera is rubbish at night, crashes randomly it seems when exiting apps. Really annoying thin is that if you scroll down any list and enter something then go back to the list it returns you to the beginning of the list!! not good when youve got 200+ albums on there.

In the end a nice looking phone with poor CPU and poorly implemented software (buggy). The worst thing is that LG support dosent even aknowledge the problems and refuses to fix them.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • Asthetics
  • Screen resolution
  • Features

Cons

  • Slow performance
  • Bad camera at night
  • Buggy software
  • Bad LG customer support
  • Pretty much the whole phone.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

P.N.Ramkumar
posted on 13 Jan 2010, 17:43

8.7

LG Arena a Balanced Phone

I have been using this phone for 3 month its good to use but what i feel is the processor speed has to be increased and some app ie useful app the camera and video recording performance is good if we call and speak for more than half an hour it get heated up the LG should take care of that.Multimedia performance is good but headset provided by LG not so good and i am using sony ericsson headset ie bud its really good.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Good Looking
  • Camera,Video Recording
  • color
  • Simple to use

Cons

  • speak for more than 1/2 an hour heat producing
  • divx resolution shold be increased only 352*288 limited support
  • more app
  • Battery
  • processor only 400MHZ

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ofir
posted on 01 Jan 2010, 03:16

9

nice balanced phone

the phone is really nice nice almost everthing abot him is good the camera the music the wifi the 3" touch screen really good but the 3d s- class isnt the best lg ttried to make something nice but it isnt smartphone so if you exapt iphone games and apps then dont buy it cuz it java phone also, there are allot of things in this phone every day you find something new

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • 5m camera
  • good music dolby mobile
  • nice touch
  • nice wifi
  • really nice design isnt too much big and isnt to much small you can put it in your pucket easly

Cons

  • 3d s-class isnt the best
  • java games and apps

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

P Broom
posted on 29 Dec 2009, 16:24

5.3

LG Arena - not quite what I expected

I got this phone in August, and have probably only used it for three weeks in total - the rest of the time it has been in for repair. I only upgraded to it as I liked my LG Viewty. My Viewty has been invaluable as my back-up while the Arena has been sent back and forth. It crashes all the time, loses information, and generally can't cope with simple usage. Am now trying to get out of my contract and start afresh somewhere else with a better phone. Fingers crossed!

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Good camera
  • Enjoys spending time back at the phone shop
  • Looks nice
  • Nice shape

Cons

  • Cannot turn phone to view a picture sideways - the screen tilts automatically
  • Difficult to make telephone calls as your skin/face touches the screen and hangs up
  • Sending a text is very long-winded, finding the contact etc
  • Freezes at the most annoying moment
  • Forgets its own memory

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Joeymcf
posted on 09 Dec 2009, 12:08

9.7

A great phone with a massive amount of features

A fantastic phone that has lots of good features, like a 5 mp camera, a capacititve touch screen, an excellent music player and a genrally well designed layout and build. I found out easy to use and have had no problems with it, except putting videos on, which was easily fixed by using the video converter that came on the disc. I love the phone and its amazing amount of features. only problem is the lack of an app store for me, but there is one in asia and i hear one is on its way to Europe soon. :D

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Excellent Camera
  • Easy use
  • Very Responsive, capacitive touchscreen, with a very high resolution
  • Good music player, with a good set of free earphones
  • Sleek design
  • Some fun fancy stuff :)

Cons

  • Screen a teeny bit small. Could probably be a bit bigger (especially since the resolution is so high).
  • Lack of app store for LG (which could possibly soon be fixed).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

suhani
posted on 06 Nov 2009, 00:14

10

nice model

Overall a nice phone with great features and good camera. Music player is not that good. But dolby sound is added feature. Memory is also great with 8GB internal and 32 GB extendable external memory. better than many other mobiles like Samsung star etc

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • GOOD FEATURES
  • WIFI
  • GOOD CAMERA

Cons

  • HANGS UP
  • IMAGE RETENTION

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 05 Oct 2009, 07:17

3

LG blows

This is oficially the worst phone I ever had. Every second of using this phone is agony. It delivers nothing the ads promise. Ridiculous waste of money. Don't buy this phone if you don't want to end up tearing your eyeballs out.

Mine died during factory reset preceeded by file system corruption resulting in music player becoming even more unsuable than ever before.

Avoid LG at any cost.

Design 5/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Good design
  • Quality highres screen
  • 3.5mm audio jack
  • 7GB internal memory + microSD slot
  • Good 5MP camera

Cons

  • Crashes at least 10 times a day
  • Screen rotation extremely slow
  • Homescreen and 3d cube menus are useless
  • Doesn't play all mp3 files
  • Doesn't open all JPEGs
  • Doesn't play any of the supported video file types
  • Battery dies in an eyeblink
  • Dolby Mobile is useless
  • 120fps video camera is a complete lie
  • Youtube doesn't work, not even with UMTS
  • Browser impossible to use
  • Firmwares introduce new problems rather than solve existing ones
  • Dies during factory reset (mine did)

13 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Swordfishskin
posted on 07 Aug 2009, 08:59

9

LG Arena now and forever..

Better than other similar touch screen phone. Very impressive, this is not my 1st touch screen phone but this will be the first phone that will always go with me. PC Suite very convinience especially the SMS / text messaging direct from your laptop attached USB. Huge internal storage and you can buy additional memory card to attach into it..fun games include. Music player with superb interface..picture image setting and the whole lot more you can do with this phone.. recently download Opera Mini to this phone and it works perfectly as well..

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • 1. Huge internal storage for video cam enough to cover whole day recent visit at Hong Kong Disneyland.
  • 2. We bring loads of fun picture and clear ones too... you can rely on this phone instead of your bulky digital camera..
  • 3. Movie maker option is awesome.
  • 4. 5 megapixel...eh, love every moment taken from this phone.
  • 5. Got that on your phone, plug the phone USB to your plasma / LCD tv connector and play it direct from your phone and share with our family and friends..

Cons

  • 1. Battery life span is low..look forward for best replacement battery..
  • 2. yup, touch screen not so sensitive especially for a big guy like me and always in a hurry..
  • 3. Other than that...just don't want to go to that part because everyday you will find interesting thing with this phone..

24 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kevin clark
posted on 19 Jul 2009, 08:40

1

LG Arena sucks!

this phone crashes for no reason, the reception is very bad.......the interface is not touch sensitive.
it is a very difficult to use phone.
the magic cube application is just a gimmick with absolute no use at all.
 

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • nil

Cons

  • crashes
  • bad reception
  • cube design is a waste of time
  • bad battery life
  • can even see anything under the sun
  • very bad phone worst of all mobile phones in the world

9 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jethrogibbs
posted on 19 Jul 2009, 08:36

2

buy at your own peril

straight out from box, the phone freeze and crashes 3 times a day!
this phone only looks nice and is a complete write off!!
went back to singtel to change to a different phone and of course a different brand!
LG sucks!

Design 4/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • design

Cons

  • unusable phone, it freeze and crashes!
  • bad os
  • bad appiications support
  • not a phone to consider

6 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

G4MB1T
posted on 29 Jun 2009, 16:37 (Posts: 2; Member since: 16 Feb 2009)

10

good phone

i bought this phone and its so great really everything in that phone is so Cool
i suggest ppl that want to buy the best capacative touchscreen phone buy this one its so good

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • camera=Fun
  • camera options
  • messaging
  • High speed wifi
  • The shortcut,multimedia,Contacts,Widget​s

Cons

  • You have to pay only for watching videos in browsing
  • they charge you for video watching
  • if they didn't include that in the phone it would be the best phone out there
  • [Expensive but worth it]

14 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anny ae
posted on 07 Jun 2009, 02:11

10

LG ARENA is the best mobile phone

i like LG Arena very much and i will buy it  soon because its the best mobile phone i heard about it

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

19 out of 84 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories