x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy S II User Reviews

9 Based on 70 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed9.1/10
Camera9/10
Multimedia9.2/10
Internet9.3/10
Call quality9.2/10
Battery7.9/10
Reception9.2/10
Display9.4/10
Build quality8.9/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage8.9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Odeira
posted on 02 Nov 2012, 02:50 (Posts: 232; Member since: 29 Jun 2012)

10

THE Best Mid-Tiered Smartphone. Period. (Just Carry a Spare Battery)

Odeira has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

As a Smartphone user who has had experience with using phones of practically all major Smartphone platforms (iOS, Android, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, Symbian), I was always on the hunt for the ultimate smartphone- the "One" smartphone that would be my cure for "Phone Hopping."

So I got myself a Galaxy S II before the June classes.

I would like to highlight a few things:

- I have yet to own, or get hold of, a device powered by a Krait or Tegra 3 CPU, but I can say that the Exynos processor in this phone shoots par- Very fast scrolling, smooth gameplay, solid web browsing performance on Chrome.

- This has some of the better color outputs on a display I have seen, nevermind that this has a rather paltry (if respectable) WVGA resolution- Black is Black, Red is Vibrant Red, Blue is Blue, White unfortunately is a muddy white, but that is a minor quiggle; Bottom Line- This is a very fine display.

- The 8MP Camera is a very solid camera- Shots produced exhibit somewhat noticeably more noisy images than a Galaxy S III, but overall this is a very good camera, definitely better than my other phone (T-Mobile (LG) G2x).

- Battery Life SUCKS. Three Hours tops when I am always on my phone. Four or Five hours when used as a Music Player and there is not much screen activity. Barely goes past three hours on web. Even on Airplane Mode and WiFi only, I can't get past 3:30 hours on this phone. Recommended: SPARE BATTERY.

- I have some good quality headphones (Sony MDR-ZX100), there is much...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Speedy Performance
  • Solid Connectivity
  • Great Camera
  • Android Ice Cream Sandwich Update (Faster General Performance)
  • Media Playback Excels
  • Super AMOLED Plus Display

Cons

  • Battery Life is Underwhelming
  • Touch Screen is not Foolproof to Scratches
  • Build Quality
  • Audio Output in Headphones Could be Better
  • Android Ice Cream Sandwich Update (Worsened Battery Life Consumption)
  • Camera Lens is Prone to Scratching

Odeira alternatives:

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AmitMajumder
posted on 14 Sep 2012, 03:09 (Posts: 177; Member since: 21 May 2012)

10

Master of All Droid

AmitMajumder has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The greatest phone I've ever had. Great display, not too large nor to small. Super Amoled plus, excellent camera, 1080p video with continuous auto-focus good not great battery and all over it's android....

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Every Dam'n thing about it

Cons

  • Battery LIfe

AmitMajumder alternatives:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nafiz
posted on 12 Sep 2012, 22:09 (Posts: 13; Member since: 12 Sep 2012)

9

I Love It.

Nafiz has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I love this phone,, but what I hate is the Camera and when browsing the battery is get my tens up. i love the display amoled, the thin this phone, but too big for my pocket, this phone SGS 2 is an awesome phone i've ever have :D

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Size, great for watching videos & movies
  • Display
  • Super AMOLED Plus display

Cons

  • Battery

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ricky0702
posted on 12 Jul 2012, 04:50 (Posts: 11; Member since: 09 Jul 2012)

8

Best mobile I have ever owned

ricky0702 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Best mobile I have ever owned. Never looked back after taking the drive from my iPhone. GS3 is out now and looking like

another winner. But really it's the Android Platform thats the winner. Android platform with Goolge's backing is always going

to win in the end. Android have over 60% market share of smartphone devices and growing while the iPhone stick with their

dated UI and static home screens. SG2 for me has been a bloody great mobile never looking back.That is why i decided to find

outhow much galaxy s11 are worth and why.
http://www.careace.net/2012/06/22/galaxy-s-ii-pric​e-guide-which-has-the-highest-resale-value-and-why​/

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cvdvds
posted on 28 Mar 2012, 11:49 (Posts: 6; Member since: 25 Mar 2012)

9

One of the best, if not the best phone even after a year

cvdvds has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Have not had any problems with it other than Touchwiz and poor feel in the hand. It's too thin/small for my hands, but that's easily fixed with a case. Other than that it's pretty much perfect. Came out almost a year ago and is still the phone I would buy. TouchWiz is easily removed with custom ROMs. One other phone that I'd buy is the Galaxy Nexus. Pretty much the SGS2 without touchwiz. ICS is awesome.

Build quality 9/10 Plastic. Best build matieral technology wise but it doesn't feel too great in the hand. Especially being as thin as it is.
Reception 10/10 The connection problems that I do have are probably my carriers fault.
Call quality 10/10 Had no problems with that.
Internet 10/10 Don't like the stock GB browser, other than that flawless.
Multimedia 10/10 I watch mostly YouTube and it plays everything I throw at it flawlessly.
Camera 8/10 Long Shutter time but takes great pictures.
UI speed 9/10 There's no place to rate UI design at so I'll substract points here because of TouchWiz.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 As good as it gets on a touchscreen.
Display 10/10 Looks amazing.
Battery 8/10 Not too amazing battery life. It drains pretty fast when browsing the web, since AMOLEDs use a lot of juice for bright/white colors. Couldn't have hurt to make it a little thicker to add a bigger battery.

Pros

  • Fast Processor
  • Amazing Screen
  • Fast Browsing

Cons

  • TouchWiz
  • White pages use lots of battery
  • Plastic
  • Speaker on the back

cvdvds alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Adithya7184
posted on 22 Mar 2012, 02:14 (Posts: 317; Member since: 05 Mar 2011)

10

The Best!!

Adithya7184 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

One of the best smartphone in India right now under 29k. its worth the price.
i am using it for around 6 months. and now the 4.0 ICS update made this handset more awesome. After the update , the battery performance increased drastically.
\Than You/.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 I am getting 2 days backup avg.

Adithya7184 alternatives:

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dragonnub99
posted on 23 Jan 2012, 02:46 (Posts: 14; Member since: 23 Nov 2011)

10

Awesome but could be better

dragonnub99 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The brightness of the galaxy s2 could be better since the super amoled steal make it a bit darker and the camera in the galaxy s2 is epic in photo capture but not as good in recording video since it dont have anti shake

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Awesome speed for webbrowsing and downloading apps from the app store
  • Good camera for photo
  • Build quality is good for a 4inch phone

Cons

  • bad camera for video recording
  • battery drain very fast

dragonnub99 alternatives:

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SPIDERMAN4
posted on 03 Jan 2012, 13:59 (Posts: 27; Member since: 13 Apr 2011)

10

good phone

SPIDERMAN4 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

In saudi arabia when there is sun and when I shoot photos or vedios the sun rays fall on cars and they show up very bright
At night when I shoot lighted shop signs the text of the sign does not appear only the white light appear
When I shoot yellow lighted shop sign the yellow light appears but the text dont appear
So I decrease the exposure

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Thin
  • Super amoled plus
  • Fast

Cons

  • No user defined scene mode in the camera
  • overheats
  • can not save an image in the facebook app
  • When you turn on blutooth, it does not become visible automatically. When you make it visible, it becomes visible for 2 minuites only
  • Can not edit song details
  • Can not delete vedios from vedios app
  • No history on the browser
  • The volume rocker is on the left side so when you open the camera and hold the phone in landscape (the touch and home buttons on the right)the volume rocker which is zoom buttons here become under the phone so you can not see them when you hold it in the other landscape (the touch and home buttons on the left the camera will be on the right which is a thing i am not used to
  • When shooting a vedio you can not pause shooting and then continue shooting like Nokia N8 and the vedio editor export vedio in 720p

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

verris24
posted on 09 Sep 2011, 13:53 (Posts: 6; Member since: 09 Sep 2011)

10

the best phone I've ever had as of yet.

verris24 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Everytime that I take out my phone, someone always wants to comment on it. (good things) of course. Like they want one and where can they get it. (www.immix.com). So far i have no cons, all pros. I would recommend this phone to all. The HD video recording and screen is unmatched as of yet.

Build quality 10/10 very thin and lite
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 lighting fast
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • All

Cons

  • Battery could be better, but with the way the screen looks and how big it is. it's expected

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sajithm
posted on 02 Sep 2011, 09:10 (Posts: 14; Member since: 28 Apr 2011)

10

Tremendous Smartphone

sajithm has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My old phone is Nokia N95 8GB so you can't compare both at any level. Display and Performance is really outstanding. Video is Superb even full HD is also playing very smoothly, but audio quality is not outstanding it's not upto the mark.
I have installed more than 150 apps even it's working outstandingly...

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 Video is Superb even full HD is also playing very smoothly, but audio is not outstanding it's not upto the mark
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Performance
  • Touch Response
  • ETC

Cons

  • Audio Quality
  • Battery

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jordanx
posted on 09 Aug 2011, 14:52 (Posts: 23; Member since: 20 Apr 2011)

6

not good at all

jordanx has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

When i buy the galaxy i was amazing how great is to have it, but its terrible tegra 2 is better has more technology, the super amoled is great, is to thin that i feel thats is going to break thas terrible. Htc sensation and moto atrix is better, see why: http://www.phonearena.com/phones#/phones/sort/popular/?ft=2&f[299]=1&f[301]=1&f[332]=1&f[271]=1&f[331]=1&f[488]=1640&f[354]=1&f[371]=1&f[387]=1&f[389]=1&f[171]=1&f[169]=1&f[207]=1&f[218][]=1492&f[462]=1&f[457]=1&f[325][]=1511

Build quality 7/10 I dont have much problem with plastic
Reception 8/10 Normal
Call quality 8/10 Normal
Internet 8/10 Normal
Multimedia 7/10 Not good
Camera 8/10 Normal
UI speed 6/10 Touch wiz is terrible
Everyday usage 2/10 Is to thin that i feel that i am going to break it
Text input 3/10 Copy of iphone
Display 9/10 I like super amoled
Battery 5/10 Is super bad

Pros

  • super amoled and thats all

Cons

  • a lot

jordanx alternatives:

3 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Deicide
posted on 02 Jul 2011, 14:17 (Posts: 82; Member since: 02 Jul 2011)

9

Beat Phone I've Ever Had

Deicide has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone has got to be one of the best if not the best smartphone out there. I recently got the Samsung Galaxy SII at Shenzhen, China(Guangdong). It is not a KIRF product. The store owner told me it was the last one, must be popular. When I opened the box and felt this was it. The Super Amoled + screen, Samsung's dualcore processor and Android 2.3.3 freshly installed. This phone is amazingly fast. The build quality is superb, some might feel that it feels cheap due to the plastic that entices the whole phone, as opposed to lets say Apple's iPhone 4 glass & aluminum casing, but I reAlly don't mind that much, it proves to be very light in my hand, my hand can hold this think forever. I lover the back as its a zig-zag like pattern that is anti-scratch, so.i don't have to buy a case or back film protector. I'm not a whole big fan of Samsung's modified Android OS, it really feels like iOS, a lot, there are few minor differences, but overall Samsung copied iOS' look. The screen for the Galaxy SII is amazing ultra bright, sharp, and crisp, almost matching Apple's Retina display, so very close,
not there already. The only 2 things that I have to complain about is the ventilation of the phone, it starts to get a bit warm after playing a game or two, it also gives me an alert.that i can't put the beautiful screen brightness all the way up to prevent overheating sometimes. The other thing would be that to insert the micro SD card you have to remove the battery first. GJ Samsung!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10 The browser is sometimes laggy to produce the page, might be the hotels wifi?
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10 Nokia N8 has a 12 mp camera.
UI speed 10/10 Fast and snappy.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 The . gets in the way of the space.
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Android 2.3.3
  • Superamoled +
  • Dualcore
  • 8MP Camera
  • 1080p videorecording

Cons

  • Gets warm fast, no problems though with system.
  • Take out battery to put in Micro SD.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

district11
posted on 20 Jun 2011, 09:12 (Posts: 125; Member since: 17 Apr 2011)

10

The big winner

district11 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best smartphone with amazing display, unbelivable fast browsing, great games, very good call quality, perfect camera, lightning fast phone. And it is razor thin and very light. Its the vest phone you can buy :)
I also think build quality is very good.
Samsung good job.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Internet

Cons

  • Price

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mateja94
posted on 02 Aug 2015, 07:36 (Posts: 1; Member since: 31 Jul 2015)

9

Samsung Galaxy S II Review Great Phone

Mateja94 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Maybe the revolutinary S phone and probably the best.UI works good but after 2 years of Gamer using starts to bug unbelivabely.Charges very fast but battery life is short.Also has the really good specification and camera.The best phone of 2011.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Good specification
  • Good camera
  • Good build quality

Cons

  • It can be really buggy
  • Battery life

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SterkMun
posted on 12 May 2015, 01:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 May 2015)

5

Bad phone.

SterkMun has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Restarts once or twice a day by itself, slow as hell, super buggy, TouchWiz, and many other reasons as to why this is a bad choice, I wouldn't even recommend this as a first phone. Freezes up and when you turn it off, then back on (screen) it's full brightness. Won't run certain apps, terrible storage.

Build quality 6/10 Reastarts, freezes, and TouchWiz
Reception 5/10
Call quality 6/10 Fuzzy voice both ends, able to be heard though.
Internet 7/10 Really slows though.
Multimedia 7/10 Did okay.
Camera 5/10 Fuzzy pictures.
UI speed 4/10 SLOW AND FREEZING GALORE.
Everyday usage 6/10 Used to check time, text, and use apps.
Text input 6/10
Display 4/10 Restarts twice a day for me.
Battery 4/10 Dies quickly after the first week or two.

Pros

  • Smartphone
  • Nearly Indestructible (For Me)

Cons

  • TouchWiz
  • Frequent Unannounced Restarts
  • Freezes A Lot
  • Full Bright Screen Randomly
  • Slow
  • Grainy Pictures
  • Prone To Adware (Hardly Any Internet Use)
  • Takes Forever To Execute Simple Tasks (I.E. Uninstall)

SterkMun alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

GordonInc
posted on 27 Dec 2014, 17:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Aug 2012)

10

It is a great phone for it's time.

GordonInc has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Currently I would not suggest it, because it's simply old.
However, at it's time it was really a great phone.
I still use one and it serves it's purpose.
Battery could be better when used with synchronization services.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • internal storage size
  • software
  • small size and low weight

Cons

  • no LED indicator
  • lack of nice accessories

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Amandamyerss
posted on 12 Sep 2014, 07:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Sep 2014)

1

WORST PHONE

Amandamyerss has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

worst phone i have ever experienced, its has no pros absolutley none i have had it for nearly two years and keeps dissapointing me everyday, firstly when ever it is cold eg rainy day, cold wind and if it has a cold screen , the screen wont work it gets lines all through it and takes away your ability to do anything with your phone, secondly battery life if actual s**t as well as the charger it just brakes ,im onto my third battery which is not good considering they cost over $50! i do not recommend this phone to anyone, plus i forgot to mention the signal drops out quite oftenly, the speed of the phone is ridiculously slow, the display is unclear half the time and the lowest setting for brightness is still really bright!! so annoying oh and the camera is so badddddddddd like really really bad

Build quality 2/10 cause i hate it
Reception 2/10 bad
Call quality 5/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 4/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

Cons

  • battery life
  • speed
  • camera
  • just everything

Amandamyerss alternatives:

2 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ovidiu_98
posted on 08 Sep 2014, 06:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Sep 2014)

10

Very good

ovidiu_98 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is a great phone. I have it for a week, but i am very impressed about it's performance. It has a good procesor, you can play any games without lag. The battery it's the problem, i have to charge it almost every day, but generally Galaxy S2 it's a great smartphone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

saraatoma
posted on 27 Feb 2014, 06:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Feb 2014)

4

Really bad

saraatoma has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Over the past two years of owning a samsung galaxy s2, i have experienced ALOT of internal damages in the phone especially the battery as well as the charging port. The build quality of samsung is really good, no damages, the real damage is in the internal part of the phone. The battery dies out too quick, camera quality not so great, most applications just shut down randomly or freeze especially apps like snapchat. Personally i regret the day i bought this samsung galaxy s2, cant wait to get an iphone when my contract is over.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 4/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 2/10
Battery 2/10

6 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alienz
posted on 20 Feb 2014, 20:22 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Feb 2014)

10

better than an iphone

alienz has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

once in a while it says i have no service, wether at home or out and its quite annoying if i have to make a emergency call or to receive any. also the internet is great when it wants to be. I havent had any problem for the first year i had this phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kitten-mash673
posted on 17 Dec 2013, 18:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Dec 2013)

4

Do not get this phone

kitten-mash673 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Of course, to any phone there will be the pros and cons. But seemingly, Samsung Galaxy S2 is all cons. The battery is absolutely terrible. This is my third battery and I have another coming in. The phone might last four hours before it goes dead. On heavy use it lasts up to 2 hours. I literally charge my phone three to four times a day. While the screen is bright and it is extremely hard to damage this phone (unfortunately) this phone's problems rest mostly on the inside. The Swipe feature is very cool but other than that I would frequently get annoyed with the keyboard. More often than not my phone would not respond to me pressuring certain letters and had to flip to landscape mode to write. Unless you have 4G LTE in your area, the 4G feature will not work. The GPS is a drainer, actually everything is a drainer. The call quality was meager at best and I don't even want to think about the internet usage. I am so ready to get rid of this crappy phone for my upgrade. Do not buy this phone, I don't care if the whole world tells you you should , don't do it. And if you do, well then I warned you.
P.S. My phone was at 66% when I started this review. It is now at 46%

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 3/10
Display 8/10
Battery 1/10

9 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gr33n
posted on 04 Dec 2013, 09:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Dec 2013)

6

Disappointed with Samsung

gr33n has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I had the Sprint variant "Epic touch 4g" (that's not confusing at all), anyway everything started to go on this phone. The battery puffed out from overheating, The GPS antenna died because of poor build quality "Known issue with this phone", and the bottom screen buttons lagged or sometimes did not work at all. If you get this phone beware you will have to buy new batteries (Sprint won't cover the dud batteries for this phone even if you have a warranty). You will also not have access or have limited access to the GPS and this phone's speaker phone option was pointless. No one could ever hear me on the other end and I would have to end up putting the phone up to my face making it useless.
The screen is bright and beautiful and it’s extremely hard to scratch. The metal around the screen is also strong and feels good in the hand.
On a side note (not really a Samsung issue.) there is no 4G LTE on this phone so if you live in an area that does not have 4G but has 4G LTE you will be stuck on 3G. This was extremely disappointing knowing my phone would never get higher speeds than 3G since Sprint is ending 4G.

Build quality 3/10 GPS was a dud, battery was a dud, Body of the phone was nice though.
Reception 5/10 meh.
Call quality 5/10 Speaker phone was horrid. None speaker phone was fine.
Internet 1/10 No 4G service available in my area (it's being discontinued) and it does not support 4G LTE
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 1/10 Battery was defective

Pros

  • screen
  • body

Cons

  • GPS
  • Battery
  • Botton screen buttons
  • speaker phone

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Levixavier
posted on 23 Sep 2013, 18:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Sep 2013)

10

Satisfaction

Levixavier has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've been using this phone ever since. No other problems and is totally fast & smooth. Programs and Applications are doing well and is also intense when it talks about gaming and browsing through the internet. The Video and Music players are just awesome. The Camera is also insane, I don't have any complaints about it since it has 8MP Back Camera + a 2MP Front Camera + 4x Digital Zoom, no worries about it, nice and handy. Keyboards are fine and is also user-friendly. The notification panel is updating me well. Currently running at the 4.1.2. Jelly Bean version, I can somehow describe it as fast and furious. Display, Effects and Transitions are working as expected. Signals are fast too, regardless to any spot that you are in. As a part of my everyday life, it has really been useful enough. A good life technology-partner. The battery life is fine as long as you don't rape it every single second. Got no plans of replacing this with another phone since I'm already and overly satisfied. While making calls, it's never a problem. I can hear them loud and clear, maybe a 0.1 static effect only hehe. The casing and built protection is not really that durable, but note that it won't break or crack if you're not stupid. Even though there's still alot of phones that are coming out, i can still somehow recommend this phone to all the people out there who has hunger for smartphones.

Build quality 9/10 The casing and built protection is not really that durable, but note that it won't break or crack if you're not stupid.
Reception 10/10 Signals are fast too, regardless to any spot that you are in.
Call quality 10/10 While making calls, it's never a problem. I can hear them loud and clear, maybe a 0.1 static effect only hehe.
Internet 10/10 Also intense with it talks about gaming and browsing through the internet.
Multimedia 10/10 The Video and Music players are just awesome.
Camera 10/10 The Camera is also insane, I don't have any complaints about it since it has 8MP Back Camera + a 2MP Front Camera + 4x Digital Zoom, no worries about it, nice and handy.
UI speed 10/10 Fast and furious.
Everyday usage 10/10 As a part of my everyday life, it has really been useful enough. A good life technology-partner.
Text input 10/10 Keyboards are fine and is also user-friendly.
Display 10/10 Display, Effects and Transitions are working as expected.
Battery 10/10 The battery life is fine as long as you don't rape it every single second.

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ppaul
posted on 21 Jul 2013, 11:16 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Jul 2013)

9

Galaxy S2 - a smartphone for everyone.

ppaul has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought a Galaxy S2 about 4 months ago and I'm still using it because the smartphone is so awesome. My Galaxy S2 runs Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean so it's a Galaxy S3-like smartphone. I take care of my smartphone - there are no cracks or even scratches and the performance itself of the smartphone is very good. I use it mostly for gaming and internet browsing. Even though it's been 2 years since the smartphone's release, I still recommend buying it.

Build quality 9/10 It feels good in the hand, it's slim and light, but it's all plastic. The back cover is paper thin, so I'm afraid of accidentally breaking it.
Reception 9/10 The smartphone is not far behind newer smartphones.
Call quality 10/10 I can hear everyone loud and clear and vice versa.
Internet 10/10 Good speed when using Wi-Fi, the pages are perfectly displayed, pinch to zoom works perfectly.
Multimedia 10/10 It has a radio, a very advanced, but simple music player, the video player supports any video format and Full HD videos. Even though the loudspeaker is on the back, I can easily hear the sounds.
Camera 9/10 The camera has an LED flash. The camera takes perfect 8MP photos, but it doesn't have modes like HDR and burst shot. The camera records videos up to 1080p, but when 1080p resolution is enabled, the field of view gets narrower compared to the field of view when 720p resolution is enabled.
UI speed 10/10 The UI is fast.
Everyday usage 10/10 The smartphone has everything I need when it's a busy day.
Text input 10/10 Very comfortable keyboard. I'm able to quickly input symbols.
Display 8/10 The screen is a Super AMOLED Plus and its size is 4.3 inches. Even though the matrix is RGB, the 800x480 pixel resolution for a 4.3 inch screen is quite low.
Battery 9/10 It can easily make it through a full day.

Pros

  • 1080p video recording.
  • Radio.
  • Very slim and light.
  • Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean (Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean might be released).
  • RGB matrix.
  • Replaceable battery.
  • 1 GB of RAM.
  • 8 MP camera with LED flash.
  • Expandable storage.

Cons

  • Low resolution screen (800x480 pixels).
  • No shutter key.
  • Narrow field of view when 1080p recording is enabled.
  • When playing games, the phone heats up a little.
  • Plastic body.

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kumvinod
posted on 07 May 2013, 23:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 May 2013)

8

Samsung Galaxy S II

kumvinod has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The samsung galaxy s2 is a very problematic phone. It has a lot of problems. The battery life is very poor. Battery charging takes a lot of time

The GPS didn't work from day one. The GPS keeps on searching.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Great Design , bright display
  • Great UI
  • External storage

Cons

  • GPS doesn't lock. This is a problem with many samsung phones
  • No updates or very slower updates
  • poor battery life. Keep a mobile charger if you are going on a long trip

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories