Samsung Galaxy S II User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
9.1
Camera
9.0
Multimedia
9.1
Internet
9.2
Call quality
9.2
Battery
7.9
Reception
9.2
Display
9.4
Build quality
8.9
Text input
9.0
Everyday usage
8.9
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Odeira posted on Nov 02, 2012, 2:50 AM
Posts: 300; Member since: Jun 29, 2012

10.0

THE Best Mid-Tiered Smartphone. Period. (Just Carry a Spare Battery)

Odeira has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

As a Smartphone user who has had experience with using phones of practically all major Smartphone platforms (iOS, Android, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, Symbian), I was always on the hunt for the ultimate smartphone- the "One" smartphone that would be my cure for "Phone Hopping."

So I got myself a Galaxy S II before the June classes.

I would like to highlight a few things:

- I have yet to own, or get hold of, a device powered by a Krait or Tegra 3 CPU, but I can say that the Exynos processor in this phone shoots par- Very fast scrolling, smooth gameplay, solid web browsing performance on Chrome.

- This has some of the better color outputs on a display I have seen, nevermind that this has a rather paltry (if respectable) WVGA resolution- Black is Black, Red is Vibrant Red, Blue is Blue, White unfortunately is a muddy white, but that is a minor quiggle; Bottom Line- This is a very fine display.

- The 8MP Camera is a very solid camera- Shots produced exhibit somewhat noticeably more noisy images than a Galaxy S III, but overall this is a very good camera, definitely better than my other phone (T-Mobile (LG) G2x).

- Battery Life SUCKS. Three Hours tops when I am always on my phone. Four or Five hours when used as a Music Player and there is not much screen activity. Barely goes past three hours on web. Even on Airplane Mode and WiFi only, I can't get past 3:30 hours on this phone. Recommended: SPARE BATTERY.

- I have some good quality headphones (Sony MDR-ZX100), there is much...  

Build quality
8.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • Speedy Performance
  • Solid Connectivity
  • Great Camera
  • Android Ice Cream Sandwich Update (Faster General Performance)
  • Media Playback Excels
  • Super AMOLED Plus Display

Cons

  • Battery Life is Underwhelming
  • Touch Screen is not Foolproof to Scratches
  • Build Quality
  • Audio Output in Headphones Could be Better
  • Android Ice Cream Sandwich Update (Worsened Battery Life Consumption)
  • Camera Lens is Prone to Scratching

Odeira alternatives:

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

AmitMajumder posted on Sep 14, 2012, 3:09 AM
Posts: 178; Member since: May 21, 2012

10.0

Master of All Droid

AmitMajumder has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The greatest phone I've ever had. Great display, not too large nor to small. Super Amoled plus, excellent camera, 1080p video with continuous auto-focus good not great battery and all over it's android....

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Every Dam'n thing about it

Cons

  • Battery LIfe

AmitMajumder alternatives:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Nafiz posted on Sep 12, 2012, 10:09 PM
Posts: 13; Member since: Sep 12, 2012

9.0

I Love It.

Nafiz has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I love this phone,, but what I hate is the Camera and when browsing the battery is get my tens up. i love the display amoled, the thin this phone, but too big for my pocket, this phone SGS 2 is an awesome phone i've ever have :D

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Size, great for watching videos & movies
  • Display
  • Super AMOLED Plus display

Cons

  • Battery

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

ricky0702 posted on Jul 12, 2012, 4:50 AM
Posts: 11; Member since: Jul 09, 2012

8.0

Best mobile I have ever owned

ricky0702 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Best mobile I have ever owned. Never looked back after taking the drive from my iPhone. GS3 is out now and looking like

another winner. But really it's the Android Platform thats the winner. Android platform with Goolge's backing is always going

to win in the end. Android have over 60% market share of smartphone devices and growing while the iPhone stick with their

dated UI and static home screens. SG2 for me has been a bloody great mobile never looking back.That is why i decided to find

outhow much galaxy s11 are worth and why.
http://www.careace.net/2012/06/22/galaxy-s-ii-pric​e-guide-which-has-the-highest-resale-value-and-why​/

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
6.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

cvdvds posted on Mar 28, 2012, 11:49 AM
Posts: 6; Member since: Mar 25, 2012

9.0

One of the best, if not the best phone even after a year

cvdvds has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Have not had any problems with it other than Touchwiz and poor feel in the hand. It's too thin/small for my hands, but that's easily fixed with a case. Other than that it's pretty much perfect. Came out almost a year ago and is still the phone I would buy. TouchWiz is easily removed with custom ROMs. One other phone that I'd buy is the Galaxy Nexus. Pretty much the SGS2 without touchwiz. ICS is awesome.

Build quality
9.0
Plastic. Best build matieral technology wise but it doesn't feel too great in the hand. Especially being as thin as it is.
Reception
10.0
The connection problems that I do have are probably my carriers fault.
Call quality
10.0
Had no problems with that.
Internet
10.0
Don't like the stock GB browser, other than that flawless.
Multimedia
10.0
I watch mostly YouTube and it plays everything I throw at it flawlessly.
Camera
8.0
Long Shutter time but takes great pictures.
UI speed
9.0
There's no place to rate UI design at so I'll substract points here because of TouchWiz.
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
As good as it gets on a touchscreen.
Display
10.0
Looks amazing.
Battery
8.0
Not too amazing battery life. It drains pretty fast when browsing the web, since AMOLEDs use a lot of juice for bright/white colors. Couldn't have hurt to make it a little thicker to add a bigger battery.

Pros

  • Fast Processor
  • Amazing Screen
  • Fast Browsing

Cons

  • TouchWiz
  • White pages use lots of battery
  • Plastic
  • Speaker on the back

cvdvds alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

dragonnub99 posted on Jan 23, 2012, 2:46 AM
Posts: 14; Member since: Nov 23, 2011

10.0

Awesome but could be better

dragonnub99 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The brightness of the galaxy s2 could be better since the super amoled steal make it a bit darker and the camera in the galaxy s2 is epic in photo capture but not as good in recording video since it dont have anti shake

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Awesome speed for webbrowsing and downloading apps from the app store
  • Good camera for photo
  • Build quality is good for a 4inch phone

Cons

  • bad camera for video recording
  • battery drain very fast

dragonnub99 alternatives:

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

SPIDERMAN4 posted on Jan 03, 2012, 1:59 PM
Posts: 27; Member since: Apr 13, 2011

10.0

good phone

SPIDERMAN4 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

In saudi arabia when there is sun and when I shoot photos or vedios the sun rays fall on cars and they show up very bright
At night when I shoot lighted shop signs the text of the sign does not appear only the white light appear
When I shoot yellow lighted shop sign the yellow light appears but the text dont appear
So I decrease the exposure

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Thin
  • Super amoled plus
  • Fast

Cons

  • No user defined scene mode in the camera
  • overheats
  • can not save an image in the facebook app
  • When you turn on blutooth, it does not become visible automatically. When you make it visible, it becomes visible for 2 minuites only
  • Can not edit song details
  • Can not delete vedios from vedios app
  • No history on the browser
  • The volume rocker is on the left side so when you open the camera and hold the phone in landscape (the touch and home buttons on the right)the volume rocker which is zoom buttons here become under the phone so you can not see them when you hold it in the other landscape (the touch and home buttons on the left the camera will be on the right which is a thing i am not used to
  • When shooting a vedio you can not pause shooting and then continue shooting like Nokia N8 and the vedio editor export vedio in 720p

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

verris24 posted on Sep 09, 2011, 1:53 PM
Posts: 6; Member since: Sep 09, 2011

10.0

the best phone I've ever had as of yet.

verris24 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Everytime that I take out my phone, someone always wants to comment on it. (good things) of course. Like they want one and where can they get it. (www.immix.com). So far i have no cons, all pros. I would recommend this phone to all. The HD video recording and screen is unmatched as of yet.

Build quality
10.0
very thin and lite
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
lighting fast
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • All

Cons

  • Battery could be better, but with the way the screen looks and how big it is. it's expected

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

sajithm posted on Sep 02, 2011, 9:10 AM
Posts: 14; Member since: Apr 28, 2011

10.0

Tremendous Smartphone

sajithm has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My old phone is Nokia N95 8GB so you can't compare both at any level. Display and Performance is really outstanding. Video is Superb even full HD is also playing very smoothly, but audio quality is not outstanding it's not upto the mark.
I have installed more than 150 apps even it's working outstandingly...

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Video is Superb even full HD is also playing very smoothly, but audio is not outstanding it's not upto the mark
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Display
  • Performance
  • Touch Response
  • ETC

Cons

  • Audio Quality
  • Battery

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

jordanx posted on Aug 09, 2011, 2:52 PM
Posts: 23; Member since: Apr 20, 2011

6.0

not good at all

jordanx has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

When i buy the galaxy i was amazing how great is to have it, but its terrible tegra 2 is better has more technology, the super amoled is great, is to thin that i feel thats is going to break thas terrible. Htc sensation and moto atrix is better, see why: http://www.phonearena.com/phones#/phones/sort/popular/?ft=2&f[299]=1&f[301]=1&f[332]=1&f[271]=1&f[331]=1&f[488]=1640&f[354]=1&f[371]=1&f[387]=1&f[389]=1&f[171]=1&f[169]=1&f[207]=1&f[218][]=1492&f[462]=1&f[457]=1&f[325][]=1511

Build quality
7.0
I dont have much problem with plastic
Reception
8.0
Normal
Call quality
8.0
Normal
Internet
8.0
Normal
Multimedia
7.0
Not good
Camera
8.0
Normal
UI speed
6.0
Touch wiz is terrible
Everyday usage
2.0
Is to thin that i feel that i am going to break it
Text input
3.0
Copy of iphone
Display
9.0
I like super amoled
Battery
5.0
Is super bad

Pros

  • super amoled and thats all

Cons

  • a lot

jordanx alternatives:

3 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Report

Deicide posted on Jul 02, 2011, 2:17 PM
Posts: 82; Member since: Jul 02, 2011

9.0

Beat Phone I've Ever Had

Deicide has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone has got to be one of the best if not the best smartphone out there. I recently got the Samsung Galaxy SII at Shenzhen, China(Guangdong). It is not a KIRF product. The store owner told me it was the last one, must be popular. When I opened the box and felt this was it. The Super Amoled + screen, Samsung's dualcore processor and Android 2.3.3 freshly installed. This phone is amazingly fast. The build quality is superb, some might feel that it feels cheap due to the plastic that entices the whole phone, as opposed to lets say Apple's iPhone 4 glass & aluminum casing, but I reAlly don't mind that much, it proves to be very light in my hand, my hand can hold this think forever. I lover the back as its a zig-zag like pattern that is anti-scratch, so.i don't have to buy a case or back film protector. I'm not a whole big fan of Samsung's modified Android OS, it really feels like iOS, a lot, there are few minor differences, but overall Samsung copied iOS' look. The screen for the Galaxy SII is amazing ultra bright, sharp, and crisp, almost matching Apple's Retina display, so very close,
not there already. The only 2 things that I have to complain about is the ventilation of the phone, it starts to get a bit warm after playing a game or two, it also gives me an alert.that i can't put the beautiful screen brightness all the way up to prevent overheating sometimes. The other thing would be that to insert the micro SD card you have to remove the battery first. GJ Samsung!

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
The browser is sometimes laggy to produce the page, might be the hotels wifi?
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
Nokia N8 has a 12 mp camera.
UI speed
10.0
Fast and snappy.
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
The . gets in the way of the space.
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Android 2.3.3
  • Superamoled +
  • Dualcore
  • 8MP Camera
  • 1080p videorecording

Cons

  • Gets warm fast, no problems though with system.
  • Take out battery to put in Micro SD.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

district11 posted on Jun 20, 2011, 9:12 AM
Posts: 126; Member since: Apr 17, 2011

10.0

The big winner

district11 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best smartphone with amazing display, unbelivable fast browsing, great games, very good call quality, perfect camera, lightning fast phone. And it is razor thin and very light. Its the vest phone you can buy :)
I also think build quality is very good.
Samsung good job.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Internet

Cons

  • Price

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Wynnie posted on May 19, 2017, 5:48 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 19, 2017

8.0

Still Going Strong 6 Years On

Wynnie has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've owned 2 of these phones since April of 2011 and I'm still not disappointed by the performance they have.

Every 2 years the battery tends to lose its ability to hold charge so that can be easily and cheaply replaced. Personally, I've upgraded the batteries to aftermarket ones that hold 3500mAh so they last much longer.

One of the devices has developed a fault in the Micro USB charging port and so the port needs to be replaced. The other device has a vibrate motor that no longer functions.

Other than those 2 faults, both devices are still very capable of running modern apps and acting as a primary device.

I couldn't give the phone high enough praise as they were only really designed to last 1-2 years anyway!



I'd recommend this device to anyone and everyone as a backup or a cheap primary device.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • Very well built
  • Modern Design
  • Rugged screen
  • Brilliant Call Quality
  • Still Relevant 8.0 MegaPixel Camera
  • 3.5mm audio quality

Cons

  • UI Feels slower after years of use
  • Stock Battery Life is very limited
  • Starting to fail (vibrate motor, charging port)
  • Very quick to heat up under load

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Mateja94 posted on Aug 02, 2015, 7:36 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Jul 31, 2015

9.0

Samsung Galaxy S II Review Great Phone

Mateja94 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Maybe the revolutinary S phone and probably the best.UI works good but after 2 years of Gamer using starts to bug unbelivabely.Charges very fast but battery life is short.Also has the really good specification and camera.The best phone of 2011.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Good specification
  • Good camera
  • Good build quality

Cons

  • It can be really buggy
  • Battery life

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

SterkMun posted on May 12, 2015, 1:11 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 12, 2015

5.0

Bad phone.

SterkMun has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Restarts once or twice a day by itself, slow as hell, super buggy, TouchWiz, and many other reasons as to why this is a bad choice, I wouldn't even recommend this as a first phone. Freezes up and when you turn it off, then back on (screen) it's full brightness. Won't run certain apps, terrible storage.

Build quality
6.0
Reastarts, freezes, and TouchWiz
Reception
5.0
Call quality
6.0
Fuzzy voice both ends, able to be heard though.
Internet
7.0
Really slows though.
Multimedia
7.0
Did okay.
Camera
5.0
Fuzzy pictures.
UI speed
4.0
SLOW AND FREEZING GALORE.
Everyday usage
6.0
Used to check time, text, and use apps.
Text input
6.0
Display
4.0
Restarts twice a day for me.
Battery
4.0
Dies quickly after the first week or two.

Pros

  • Smartphone
  • Nearly Indestructible (For Me)

Cons

  • TouchWiz
  • Frequent Unannounced Restarts
  • Freezes A Lot
  • Full Bright Screen Randomly
  • Slow
  • Grainy Pictures
  • Prone To Adware (Hardly Any Internet Use)
  • Takes Forever To Execute Simple Tasks (I.E. Uninstall)

SterkMun alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

GordonInc posted on Dec 27, 2014, 5:51 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Aug 09, 2012

10.0

It is a great phone for it's time.

GordonInc has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Currently I would not suggest it, because it's simply old.
However, at it's time it was really a great phone.
I still use one and it serves it's purpose.
Battery could be better when used with synchronization services.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • internal storage size
  • software
  • small size and low weight

Cons

  • no LED indicator
  • lack of nice accessories

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

Amandamyerss posted on Sep 12, 2014, 7:44 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 12, 2014

1.0

WORST PHONE

Amandamyerss has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

worst phone i have ever experienced, its has no pros absolutley none i have had it for nearly two years and keeps dissapointing me everyday, firstly when ever it is cold eg rainy day, cold wind and if it has a cold screen , the screen wont work it gets lines all through it and takes away your ability to do anything with your phone, secondly battery life if actual s**t as well as the charger it just brakes ,im onto my third battery which is not good considering they cost over $50! i do not recommend this phone to anyone, plus i forgot to mention the signal drops out quite oftenly, the speed of the phone is ridiculously slow, the display is unclear half the time and the lowest setting for brightness is still really bright!! so annoying oh and the camera is so badddddddddd like really really bad

Build quality
2.0
cause i hate it
Reception
2.0
bad
Call quality
5.0
Internet
2.0
Multimedia
2.0
Camera
2.0
UI speed
2.0
Everyday usage
2.0
Text input
2.0
Display
4.0
Battery
2.0

Pros

No Pros

Cons

  • battery life
  • speed
  • camera
  • just everything

Amandamyerss alternatives:

2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Report

ovidiu_98 posted on Sep 08, 2014, 6:57 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 08, 2014

10.0

Very good

ovidiu_98 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is a great phone. I have it for a week, but i am very impressed about it's performance. It has a good procesor, you can play any games without lag. The battery it's the problem, i have to charge it almost every day, but generally Galaxy S2 it's a great smartphone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

saraatoma posted on Feb 27, 2014, 6:13 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 27, 2014

4.0

Really bad

saraatoma has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Over the past two years of owning a samsung galaxy s2, i have experienced ALOT of internal damages in the phone especially the battery as well as the charging port. The build quality of samsung is really good, no damages, the real damage is in the internal part of the phone. The battery dies out too quick, camera quality not so great, most applications just shut down randomly or freeze especially apps like snapchat. Personally i regret the day i bought this samsung galaxy s2, cant wait to get an iphone when my contract is over.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
6.0
Call quality
4.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
2.0
Camera
2.0
UI speed
3.0
Everyday usage
2.0
Text input
2.0
Display
2.0
Battery
2.0

6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Report

alienz posted on Feb 20, 2014, 8:22 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 20, 2014

10.0

better than an iphone

alienz has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

once in a while it says i have no service, wether at home or out and its quite annoying if i have to make a emergency call or to receive any. also the internet is great when it wants to be. I havent had any problem for the first year i had this phone

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

kitten-mash673 posted on Dec 17, 2013, 6:11 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 17, 2013

4.0

Do not get this phone

kitten-mash673 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Of course, to any phone there will be the pros and cons. But seemingly, Samsung Galaxy S2 is all cons. The battery is absolutely terrible. This is my third battery and I have another coming in. The phone might last four hours before it goes dead. On heavy use it lasts up to 2 hours. I literally charge my phone three to four times a day. While the screen is bright and it is extremely hard to damage this phone (unfortunately) this phone's problems rest mostly on the inside. The Swipe feature is very cool but other than that I would frequently get annoyed with the keyboard. More often than not my phone would not respond to me pressuring certain letters and had to flip to landscape mode to write. Unless you have 4G LTE in your area, the 4G feature will not work. The GPS is a drainer, actually everything is a drainer. The call quality was meager at best and I don't even want to think about the internet usage. I am so ready to get rid of this crappy phone for my upgrade. Do not buy this phone, I don't care if the whole world tells you you should , don't do it. And if you do, well then I warned you.
P.S. My phone was at 66% when I started this review. It is now at 46%

Build quality
9.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
3.0
Multimedia
3.0
Camera
3.0
UI speed
2.0
Everyday usage
1.0
Text input
3.0
Display
8.0
Battery
1.0

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Report

gr33n posted on Dec 04, 2013, 9:27 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 04, 2013

6.0

Disappointed with Samsung

gr33n has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I had the Sprint variant "Epic touch 4g" (that's not confusing at all), anyway everything started to go on this phone. The battery puffed out from overheating, The GPS antenna died because of poor build quality "Known issue with this phone", and the bottom screen buttons lagged or sometimes did not work at all. If you get this phone beware you will have to buy new batteries (Sprint won't cover the dud batteries for this phone even if you have a warranty). You will also not have access or have limited access to the GPS and this phone's speaker phone option was pointless. No one could ever hear me on the other end and I would have to end up putting the phone up to my face making it useless.
The screen is bright and beautiful and it’s extremely hard to scratch. The metal around the screen is also strong and feels good in the hand.
On a side note (not really a Samsung issue.) there is no 4G LTE on this phone so if you live in an area that does not have 4G but has 4G LTE you will be stuck on 3G. This was extremely disappointing knowing my phone would never get higher speeds than 3G since Sprint is ending 4G.

Build quality
3.0
GPS was a dud, battery was a dud, Body of the phone was nice though.
Reception
5.0
meh.
Call quality
5.0
Speaker phone was horrid. None speaker phone was fine.
Internet
1.0
No 4G service available in my area (it's being discontinued) and it does not support 4G LTE
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
2.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
1.0
Battery was defective

Pros

  • screen
  • body

Cons

  • GPS
  • Battery
  • Botton screen buttons
  • speaker phone

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Levixavier posted on Sep 23, 2013, 6:38 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 23, 2013

10.0

Satisfaction

Levixavier has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've been using this phone ever since. No other problems and is totally fast & smooth. Programs and Applications are doing well and is also intense when it talks about gaming and browsing through the internet. The Video and Music players are just awesome. The Camera is also insane, I don't have any complaints about it since it has 8MP Back Camera + a 2MP Front Camera + 4x Digital Zoom, no worries about it, nice and handy. Keyboards are fine and is also user-friendly. The notification panel is updating me well. Currently running at the 4.1.2. Jelly Bean version, I can somehow describe it as fast and furious. Display, Effects and Transitions are working as expected. Signals are fast too, regardless to any spot that you are in. As a part of my everyday life, it has really been useful enough. A good life technology-partner. The battery life is fine as long as you don't rape it every single second. Got no plans of replacing this with another phone since I'm already and overly satisfied. While making calls, it's never a problem. I can hear them loud and clear, maybe a 0.1 static effect only hehe. The casing and built protection is not really that durable, but note that it won't break or crack if you're not stupid. Even though there's still alot of phones that are coming out, i can still somehow recommend this phone to all the people out there who has hunger for smartphones.

Build quality
9.0
The casing and built protection is not really that durable, but note that it won't break or crack if you're not stupid.
Reception
10.0
Signals are fast too, regardless to any spot that you are in.
Call quality
10.0
While making calls, it's never a problem. I can hear them loud and clear, maybe a 0.1 static effect only hehe.
Internet
10.0
Also intense with it talks about gaming and browsing through the internet.
Multimedia
10.0
The Video and Music players are just awesome.
Camera
10.0
The Camera is also insane, I don't have any complaints about it since it has 8MP Back Camera + a 2MP Front Camera + 4x Digital Zoom, no worries about it, nice and handy.
UI speed
10.0
Fast and furious.
Everyday usage
10.0
As a part of my everyday life, it has really been useful enough. A good life technology-partner.
Text input
10.0
Keyboards are fine and is also user-friendly.
Display
10.0
Display, Effects and Transitions are working as expected.
Battery
10.0
The battery life is fine as long as you don't rape it every single second.

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Report

ppaul posted on Jul 21, 2013, 11:16 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 21, 2013

9.0

Galaxy S2 - a smartphone for everyone.

ppaul has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought a Galaxy S2 about 4 months ago and I'm still using it because the smartphone is so awesome. My Galaxy S2 runs Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean so it's a Galaxy S3-like smartphone. I take care of my smartphone - there are no cracks or even scratches and the performance itself of the smartphone is very good. I use it mostly for gaming and internet browsing. Even though it's been 2 years since the smartphone's release, I still recommend buying it.

Build quality
9.0
It feels good in the hand, it's slim and light, but it's all plastic. The back cover is paper thin, so I'm afraid of accidentally breaking it.
Reception
9.0
The smartphone is not far behind newer smartphones.
Call quality
10.0
I can hear everyone loud and clear and vice versa.
Internet
10.0
Good speed when using Wi-Fi, the pages are perfectly displayed, pinch to zoom works perfectly.
Multimedia
10.0
It has a radio, a very advanced, but simple music player, the video player supports any video format and Full HD videos. Even though the loudspeaker is on the back, I can easily hear the sounds.
Camera
9.0
The camera has an LED flash. The camera takes perfect 8MP photos, but it doesn't have modes like HDR and burst shot. The camera records videos up to 1080p, but when 1080p resolution is enabled, the field of view gets narrower compared to the field of view when 720p resolution is enabled.
UI speed
10.0
The UI is fast.
Everyday usage
10.0
The smartphone has everything I need when it's a busy day.
Text input
10.0
Very comfortable keyboard. I'm able to quickly input symbols.
Display
8.0
The screen is a Super AMOLED Plus and its size is 4.3 inches. Even though the matrix is RGB, the 800x480 pixel resolution for a 4.3 inch screen is quite low.
Battery
9.0
It can easily make it through a full day.

Pros

  • 1080p video recording.
  • Radio.
  • Very slim and light.
  • Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean (Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean might be released).
  • RGB matrix.
  • Replaceable battery.
  • 1 GB of RAM.
  • 8 MP camera with LED flash.
  • Expandable storage.

Cons

  • Low resolution screen (800x480 pixels).
  • No shutter key.
  • Narrow field of view when 1080p recording is enabled.
  • When playing games, the phone heats up a little.
  • Plastic body.

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Report

kumvinod posted on May 07, 2013, 11:46 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 07, 2013

8.0

Samsung Galaxy S II

kumvinod has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The samsung galaxy s2 is a very problematic phone. It has a lot of problems. The battery life is very poor. Battery charging takes a lot of time

The GPS didn't work from day one. The GPS keeps on searching.

Build quality
7.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
7.0
Display
9.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • Great Design , bright display
  • Great UI
  • External storage

Cons

  • GPS doesn't lock. This is a problem with many samsung phones
  • No updates or very slower updates
  • poor battery life. Keep a mobile charger if you are going on a long trip

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.