x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Toshiba Excite 10 Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
Toshiba Excite 10 Review
Introduction:

Toshiba Excite 10 Review
Looking back on the Toshiba Thrive from last year, it doesn’t surprise us in any way that it was left in the dust by the competition, especially when it sported one of the ugliest designs amongst the first-generation Honeycomb tablets. Lucky for all of us, the Toshiba Excite 10 is undoubtedly pushing forward as being a more compelling and exciting device thanks to an updated design and its top-notch specs. No doubt it’s brushing up against some other competitive offerings with its starting price point of $449.99, let’s cross our fingers and hope that Toshiba has learned from its old ways.


Design:

First and foremost, we have to give some kudos to Toshiba for giving the Excite 10 a very contemporary design – whereas before, the Toshiba Thrive was simply too monolithic with it chunky laptop-like appearance. Specifically, it employs some the favorable design qualities we expect out of tablets nowadays, like a streamlined profile, sturdy construction, and premium choice materials. Thanks to its aluminum casing, it does add a hint of solidness to its overall build quality, and at the same time, its patterned design allows us to grip it with ease. Frankly, it sticks to the safe approach of utilizing a conventional design, which means that it’s not as attractive as something like an Asus Transformer Prime or new iPad.

The Toshiba Excite 10 has a very contemporary design - Toshiba Excite 10 Review
The Toshiba Excite 10 has a very contemporary design - Toshiba Excite 10 Review

The Toshiba Excite 10 has a very contemporary design


Toshiba Excite 10 Review

Taking a tour around the Excite 10, we’re presented with a proprietary dock connection port for charging & data connectivity, left & right speakers, power button, volume control key, orientation lock switch, microphone,3.5mm headset jack, microHDMI port, microUSB for data connectivity only, and a full-sized SD card slot.

Towards the upper right corner on the back of the Toshiba Excite 10, there’s a 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash. Meanwhile, a front-facing 2-megapixel camera for video chat and self-portrait is perched above the display.


The sides of the Toshiba Excite 10 - Toshiba Excite 10 Review
The sides of the Toshiba Excite 10 - Toshiba Excite 10 Review
The sides of the Toshiba Excite 10 - Toshiba Excite 10 Review
The sides of the Toshiba Excite 10 - Toshiba Excite 10 Review
Back - The sides of the Toshiba Excite 10 - Toshiba Excite 10 Review
Camera - The sides of the Toshiba Excite 10 - Toshiba Excite 10 Review
 

Back

Camera

The sides of the Toshiba Excite 10



Display:


Feasting our eyes on it for the very first time, we’re enchanted by its 10.1” WXGA (1280 x 800) IPS LCD display – though, it’s the rich and deep color production that attracts us the most. Naturally, its resolution is standard amongst its size, but nevertheless, it’s sufficient enough for us to make out fine text with relative ease. However, take it outdoors with the sun’s presence, it washes out and becomes nearly unusable unless it’s shaded. Strangely, we notice some bleeding going on around the edges of the display that’s only recognizable when it’s displaying the color black. For the most part, it’s still an alluring display from afar, but doesn’t quite have breathtaking aura of something like the new iPad.

Viewing angles of the Toshiba Excite 10 - Toshiba Excite 10 Review
Viewing angles of the Toshiba Excite 10 - Toshiba Excite 10 Review
Viewing angles of the Toshiba Excite 10 - Toshiba Excite 10 Review

Viewing angles of the Toshiba Excite 10



12 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 05 Jun 2012, 05:42 7

1. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 2927; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


Once again a tablet gets a low score because of its camera.

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 09:28

7. Sangeet (Posts: 232; Member since: 21 Apr 2012)


I just opened the review and came down to the bottom of the page to the comments as it was highly expected that again i will find a comment about the rating and that too based on the camera and yupp.. i found your comment..

So this review is going to be the same as the other reviews out there with a regular con in the tablets section that the camera is not good enough.. Maybe PhoneArena should do something or otherwise they will soon lose their respect and followers especially for the review of Tablets

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 06:08 2

2. loken (Posts: 462; Member since: 09 May 2012)


whos gonna go around with a tablet and take photos whenu got ur phone? plus it looks weird too.. taking fotos with ur tablet ll

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 07:34 2

4. c.hack (Posts: 491; Member since: 09 Dec 2009)


Most people use their tablets for hours a day. When a good picture op comes up, the camera is right there. Its more convenient than anything else if you are already holding the tablet. Not to mention the fact that the viewfinder and picture review can't be beat.

Its also great if you want to take a picture to sell on craigslist or ebay. The ebay and craigslist apps on tablet are much easier to use than on a phone.

I've been using tablets for more than a year and taken tons of picture with them.

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 14:40

9. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 2927; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


When people are buying a tablet do you really think the first thought that comes to their mind is "Boy I sure hope this tablet takes good photos and video recording!" No they are thinking about how large the display is and how smooth the OS is. Toshiba has finally done it with a good smooth tablet and to give it a score of 7 just because of it's photo quality is just flat out silly.

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 07:59 1

5. tward291 (Posts: 559; Member since: 14 Feb 2012)


once again phonearena rates a good product low because of there love for the IPAD and IPHONE

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 08:29

6. hfd1113 (Posts: 7; Member since: 13 Nov 2011)


It is difficult for humans to be objective. I have the Excite 10, and I have used most of the others. As with so-called smart phones, their is not a lot of difference between tablets.

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 09:37

8. Sangeet (Posts: 232; Member since: 21 Apr 2012)


I like the way Toshiba let inside it a clean copy of Android ICS other than the buggy and the laggy OS that is given to us by many of the companies, i would prefer a clean Android anytime over the customized OSes by various companies

Get a clean Android and then install a launcher of your own choice if you really want some very much customization otherwise the Stock Android is way more for any average user and you can't hate it at all

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 15:48

10. ktk27 (Posts: 5; Member since: 08 Mar 2012)


Actually, the rating of the camera is one of the first things I look at in the review. I would not spend $450.00 for a lousy camera. I know many people who use their tablet everyday to video something - dancers in particular find them useful to video performances, practice, routines and new moves. No one feels weird using the tablet in that manner. If you don't want to use it, fine, don't. Other people will find that a really good camera is essential. And a lousy camera is a deal breaker. Different strokes for different folks.

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 22:44

12. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 2927; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


You wouldn't find it odd if PhoneArena gave the same score to this tablet if it was the other way around? Had a great camera but piss poor performance?

If you want a great camera, buy a camera. I want a tablet with smooth performance and a large display for video, internet purposes. Not for a camera.

posted on 06 Jun 2012, 01:13

13. DawsonLee (Posts: 25; Member since: 03 Apr 2012)


I do think that persecuting a tablet for it's poor camera is unjustified, some effect maybe but not one to make a tablet as good as this worth only 7.0 pts. Anyway, i do believe that PA has used a TF101 picture to mark the Asus Transformer Prime on the 1st page?

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display10.1 inches, 1280 x 800 pixels (149 ppi) LCD
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
NVIDIA Tegra 3, Quad core
1024 MB RAM
Size10.30 x 7.00 x 0.35 inches
(262 x 178 x 9 mm)
21.12 oz  (599 g)

Latest stories