x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson txt pro Review

Posted: , by Victor H.

Tags:

Go to page
Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
Introduction:

Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The Sony Ericsson txt pro is a compact feature phone with a full QWERTY slide-out keyboard. The physical keyboard is its most attractive feature as the phone comes with a dedicated Friends application for sharing Facebook and Twitter updates. The txt pro is social at its core – it was even announced on Facebook to Sony Ericsson's fan audience of 5 million. The phone aims to keep heavy texters content with its 4-row physical keyboard, but also with an affordable price and Wi-Fi connectivity.

The struggle and agony of the txt pro lies in the fact that it's a feature phone with a touchscreen, one of the few left out there and it will inevitably face comparisons with low-end Androids. And it will inevitably lose them. Despite that, Sony Ericsson has equipped the phone with the Touch user interface, on a 3-inch capacitive touchscreen.


Design:

The Sony Ericsson txt pro looks very compact, but not in terms of its waist line. It weighs 3.53oz (100 g) but it's as thick as a brick at 0.71” (18mm). The 3-inch scratch-resistant capacitive touch screen comes with a resolution of only 240 x 400 pixels. The screen is responsive to touch, but we wouldn't say that translates into smooth flicking and tapping - the problem seems to originate in the interface or the slow processor. Otherwise, it has average viewing angles, but it attracts fingerprints, smudges and all kinds of human finger debris at an alarming rate.

The Sony Ericsson txt pro looks very compact - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The Sony Ericsson txt pro looks very compact - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The Sony Ericsson txt pro looks very compact - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The Sony Ericsson txt pro looks very compact - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review

The Sony Ericsson txt pro looks very compact


Sony Ericsson txt pro Review

You can compare the Sony Ericsson txt pro with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Apart from the screen, the design of the device is very toyish, a feeling conveyed by the plastic materials used to build the phone, but also by its miniature dimensions. Except for that cheap feeling, it looks well built and we were particularly happy with the nice soft touch coating on the back cover.

The side sliding mechanism is sure to take a hit as the common user would pop it open and close it multiple times throughout the day. That's why we were happy to report that it felt solid in operation. Popping the keyboard in and out happens with a distinct loud clicking sound (a bit too loud, actually). We found it to be just a tiny bit harder to slide it in and out than we would like to, but you get used to it.

The side sliding mechanism felt solid in operation - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The side sliding mechanism felt solid in operation - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The side sliding mechanism felt solid in operation - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review

The side sliding mechanism felt solid in operation


The 4-row QWERTY keyboard on the Sony Ericsson txt pro is definitely small, but it doesn't feel packed - buttons are well spaced for most hands, but bigger thumbed users still might have difficulties operating them. The big majority though won't have a problem using it. The buttons are slightly tough to press, but you get used to it in a matter of minutes.

The 4-row QWERTY keyboard of the Sony Ericsson txt pro - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The 4-row QWERTY keyboard of the Sony Ericsson txt pro - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The 4-row QWERTY keyboard of the Sony Ericsson txt pro - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The 4-row QWERTY keyboard of the Sony Ericsson txt pro - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review

The 4-row QWERTY keyboard of the Sony Ericsson txt pro


On the front, a half-circle home button, a signature feature of Sony Ericsson's latest handsets adds instant brand recognition, but is also very big and easy to press, overall a welcome addition.

The half-circle home button on the front - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The half-circle home button on the front - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The half-circle home button on the front - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review

The half-circle home button on the front


The sides of the Sony Ericsson txt pro - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson txt pro - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson txt pro - Sony Ericsson txt pro Review

The sides of the Sony Ericsson txt pro



Sony Ericsson txt pro 360-degrees View:



41 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 26 Jul 2011, 07:11 1

1. JLHON (unregistered)


Ahhh... classic PhoneArena stuff... always "reviewing" the bad side of phones... but if it was made from Apple.... OMG this phone was great! 9/10... come on you guys be serious for a minute, it's true it may be a little crappy but for the price what do you expect? a 4/10... I dont think so...

posted on 26 Jul 2011, 08:03

2. bling bling (unregistered)


yes you are right it should have scored more 4 does not do justice , it should have scored atleast 3 or 2

posted on 26 Jul 2011, 14:33

5. JLHON (unregistered)


dont start crap... you know it's not fair... but anyways it's your opinion so whatever... 9_9

posted on 26 Jul 2011, 09:34

3. John (unregistered)


Nice cheap phone, until i saw, that it lacks 3G.. So it must not score more than 4 stars. Yeah, qwerty is nice, price is decent, but nowdays even the crappiest phone has such feature.

posted on 02 Oct 2011, 12:26

36. ferongr (Posts: 2; Member since: 02 Oct 2011)


I've used it, it's a bad phone, does not deserve its pricetag. Even basic functions like Contacts and Messaging are badly thought-out.

posted on 26 Jul 2011, 11:41

4. TreyTreyTaylor (Posts: 275; Member since: 21 Dec 2010)


SE start making some hardcore high end androids for the US. All we have is the Play and X10/X8. The Arc would've sold very well on a US carrier IMO.

posted on 29 Jul 2011, 20:47 2

6. funny (unregistered)


"We found it to be just a tiny bit harder to slide it in and out than we would like to, but you get used to it."

That's what she said. lol!

posted on 03 Aug 2011, 11:10

7. ana shahkira (unregistered)


menapa gprs x ade dlm senarai sony txt pro.....

posted on 04 Aug 2011, 11:44 1

8. navinya (unregistered)


i m very much excited abt this phone :-)

posted on 05 Aug 2011, 14:39

9. kunal (unregistered)


is this phone worth buying ????ths phn jst fits into my budgt.can u suggest some other mobile phones in ths range better thn ths.A QWERTY is must.

posted on 27 Aug 2011, 06:13

17. ulluboy.l (Posts: 2; Member since: 27 Aug 2011)


this is a nice qwerty at this budget. u can go for it.

posted on 13 Aug 2011, 15:20

10. mikerotch1993 (unregistered)


come on its a cheap phone that does the job right. Personally i think people who spent hundreds on phones are pretty dumb unless its like an iphone but if you wanna text people and call them why spend so much? i don't want 3G and i don't want a browser i have a laptop ffs

posted on 01 Oct 2011, 10:25

34. TXT Pro (unregistered)


Completely agree with you... has been reflected from its name TXT PRO! This TXT PRO is not a smartphone, why need 3G for sending TXT? Alternatively, use the WiFi for internet browsing!

posted on 16 Aug 2011, 21:09

12. lei (unregistered)


how do you use the SYM "ü" option in the keyboard for sony ericsson txt pro?
thanks.

posted on 23 Aug 2011, 01:34

14. nobleboy44 (unregistered)


this option is for adding symbols in the msg

posted on 17 Aug 2011, 05:38

13. nimrat (unregistered)


I m using txt pro but does not know how to minimize a running application . Can anyone please help me and tell how to minimize an application .

posted on 07 Sep 2011, 12:58

22. joska (unregistered)


it doesnt have any OS so it's impossible to minimalize it

posted on 25 Aug 2011, 04:34

15. jithu (unregistered)


Hai Guys is that possible to hide display clock time home screen pls tell me i going to buy this. please tell me the + of the Phone And of the phone i am waiting for your reply



Thanks Guys.....

posted on 25 Aug 2011, 18:41 2

16. honey sing (unregistered)


awsome phn yrr i buy dis phn and its awsome to use widout 3g olso..
so guys dont give comment until u use it..a
wsome sony ericson...

posted on 31 Aug 2011, 12:33

18. r3mpuia (unregistered)


Main qualms I have with this phone:

1. Music, Camera, Phonebook, Messages, Dialling keypad (touchscreen) has only one accesspoint. Not even the shutter acts as a camera shortcut as most phones do. Also, you cannot set your personalized shortcuts anywhere.

2. Unability to use the up down button at the side for browsing the menu.

3. Calculator does not rotate and cannot be operated from the keypad. Which is a problem because the touchscreen sensitivity on the bottom corners is particularly useless. Which also creates problems when you want to end a phone call.

4. I am an avid fan of Sony Ericsson because I personally think their user interface is the easiest and most friendly to use. Even on phones costing as low as Rs.5000. This phone is NOT FRIENDLY. Even Micromax has much much better UI which is friendly even on their phones costing around Rs3000.

5. Sound is poor, especially on playbacks. Nokia gives much better sound clarity in their low end phones than this.

Dont buy. If you want qwerty, look somewhere else. if youre just looking for a phone which is smart and easy to use, get the Nokia X2-03 touch & type. Almost the same price. Youll be much happier with it.

posted on 31 Aug 2011, 12:36

19. r3mpuia (unregistered)


Oh, when I connect to my PC using the Mass Storage option, all my settings, especially the ringtoones- move bnack to default. Whats up with that huh??

posted on 30 Sep 2011, 19:50

32. ronron (unregistered)


coz you screwed it when you had it disconnected from your PC

posted on 01 Sep 2011, 16:31

20. andrejerman (Posts: 1; Member since: 01 Sep 2011)


Do Anybody have bought it?

My only concern is about the review is the microphone quality of the headset because if you buy a phone you want to use it at least as a phone to call somebody. if you voice quality are poor it will be a real chaos right?

Could someone answer me is the reviewer just got a the "wrong" phone or is it the standard quality of all the headset ?

posted on 05 Sep 2011, 17:01

21. sophas6860 (unregistered)


its a nice phone and all but i have only had it for less then 2 weeks and it is already doin my head in... its bugging all the time i dont know why but its doin my head in.
ive deleted all my music evrything exept what was on it when i bought it, but it still buggs for me it was a nice phone exellent handling and quick texting but the buggs aww so annoying does anyone know what too do ?

thanks

posted on 08 Sep 2011, 23:05

23. janefer lanot (unregistered)


question is -pano mag open nang games sa txtpro..na dinaoad ko sa ck15 erecson text pro.

posted on 24 Sep 2011, 21:59

25. ax_92 (unregistered)


anyone can teach me how to use wifi from txt pro???.......

posted on 01 Oct 2011, 06:21

33. TXT Pro (unregistered)


Go to SETTINGS and select CONNECTIVITY. Tap WIFI to turn it on (if it has not turned on), then tap ADD WIFI NETWORK (if you want to set manually), otherwise you can use REFRESH NETWORKS. Remember to SAVE at the bottom of the screen.

posted on 26 Sep 2011, 10:35

27. sanhga (unregistered)


hey i own ths phone..it plays viddeos very loudly!! bt unable to play mp3 so loud..its really dum!! are u too faicng this prob??? if not dn wat shud i do?? if there wud hav been ne prob in speakers dn video sound quality wud hv been low too..but its really strng..help me out!!

posted on 26 Sep 2011, 11:08

28. sonam singh (unregistered)


Hi,
I want to purchase this mobile.is this ok .
pz suggest me

posted on 26 Sep 2011, 11:15

29. sonam singh (unregistered)


Hey All,
i m very much confuse abt nokia x3-c02 and txt pro.so plz tell me which should i take.and tell about battery backup.which is best for back up and performance..

posted on 26 Sep 2011, 14:24

30. sonam singh (unregistered)


is there text editor or txt reader...plz reply me..

posted on 29 Sep 2011, 20:23

31. madisoncmjenkins (unregistered)


The Dremel 4000-2/30 High-Performance Rotary Tool Kit contains the dremel 4000 review , which provides the highest efficiency plus the most flexibility of all Dremel rotary instruments. Effective, user-friendly, and developed to last, this useful small application assists you total a assortment of crafting, hobby, and artisan projects. It comes with 30 components, two attachments, and also a storage situation.

Get Power, Management, and Ease and comfort
Dremel tools are identified for their dependable efficiency, incredible versatility, and excellent comfort and ease. The Dremel 4000 builds on that custom with a a lot more responsive and comfy style, also as extra capabilities that reflect users' most asked-for improvements. It is perfect for carving, engraving, routing, grinding, sanding, cutting, cleaning, polishing and more.

The dremel 4000 enhanced motor delivers smooth efficiency in any way speeds from five,000 to 35,000 RPM, and digital feedback circuitry maintains a constant software speed below load. Its slim, ergonomic physique gives a 360-degree grip zone in every placement for enhanced precision, whilst a variable-speed slide makes it possible for for both fast velocity adjustment and consistency at your chosen pace. A strategically placed on/off change won't interfere using the grip throughout use.

Light-weight, User-Friendly Style
The dremel 4000 sale is both sturdy and pleasant to make use of, using a six-foot cord, pencil grip nose cap for further stability, and replaceable motor brushes for for a longer time motor lifestyle. Easy-to-read pace options make for correct dialing, while an revolutionary shaft lock mechanism enables you to lock the output shaft quickly when altering equipment. Along with the Dremel 4000 weighs just more than 1 pound, so you are able to work all day without extreme strain on wrists, arms, or fingers.

Attachments Supply Amazing Versatility
The dremel 4000 is perfect with regards to undertaking versatility. In actual fact, it is the one rotary device compatible with all Dremel equipment and attachments, as well as the MultiSaw and Planer attachments originally created for your 400 Series XPR rotary application. In addition, this kit presents the Circle Cutter/Straight Edge Manual and the Sanding/Grinding Manual, which lets you possibly guide a workpiece to a securely mounted rotary instrument, or guide the tool along the edge of the flat or beveled surface area.

This kit comes with an assortment of equipment, including two heavy-duty emery cut-off wheels, three sanding discs, one-inch felt polishing wheel, polishing co

posted on 02 Oct 2011, 12:24

35. ferongr (Posts: 2; Member since: 02 Oct 2011)


My father decided to buy a mobile phone without consulting me and he bought that. Played with it for one or two hours.

Those are my thoughts, taking in account you can buy good Android phones for the same price or less.

1: User experience: Pretty abysmal. For occasional lockups, to sliding gestures mistaked as taps to jerky animations, it felt painful overall. There are no two finger gestures either. The contact list has no search-as-you-type function, rather, you enter text and it filters afterwards. It also seems the phone does not support delivery status on SMS messages.

2: QWERTY Keyboard: Decent feel and spacing, although the backlight is very dim, making it hard to use in certain lighting conditions.

3: Display: Mediocre contrast, bad viewing angles, loves smudging.

While it might not seem very bad at first glance in the store, there are many small annoyances and problems that make the experience frustrating. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, when you can buy a superior Android handset for the same money.

posted on 04 Oct 2011, 05:09

37. srishti (unregistered)


very disappointing handset..sony txt pro..a really bad xperience//

posted on 05 Oct 2011, 05:14

38. Raj02 (unregistered)


Guys i wanna buy this mobile.. plzzzzzzzz tell me how is audio output in and out...

posted on 14 Oct 2011, 16:10

39. dhargi (unregistered)


heyy any body teach me how to send video to other mobile via buletooth from sony ericsson ck15i.

posted on 14 Oct 2011, 16:14

40. dhargi (unregistered)


i suggest not to buy sony ericsson txt pro instead of it u can buy xperia x10 mini pro coz in this mobile there is problem of hanging at each and every moment.

posted on 17 Nov 2011, 23:16

41. omarfloresx (Posts: 1; Member since: 17 Nov 2011)


i bought this phone in mexico so that i could use it in the US once unlocked. its exactly what i wanted in terms of size and feel. im tired of all these 4-5in android smartphones which the only thing they manage to do properly is add more surface area for the radiation to reach your brain. the keyboard is great but i could not find any traces of the friend app or get the WIFi to work but i think it has to do with an update that i havent done because SE updates aren't supported on macs. id give it a 5.5/10 and if it had the errors fixed 8/10, in the feature phone category

posted on 08 Feb 2012, 16:58

43. shakluvsu (Posts: 1; Member since: 08 Feb 2012)


HORRIBLE.PHONE. I've had this phone for about 5 months and it sucks!
You cannot listen to youtube videos, has very low memory space, sometimes spazzes out while being charged, will not open contacts for DAYS after being turned off and on, cannot save or lock messages. I don't think its a good phone for the price.

posted on 09 Feb 2012, 06:05 1

44. nesan (Posts: 1; Member since: 09 Feb 2012)


THIS IS THE WORST EDITION IN SONY ERICSSON ....I HAD FACED MANY PROBZ,,,SOUND IS 0.000000010 PERCENT COMPARE TO OTHERS....OLY THE CAMERA OPTION FEEL TO GOOD...OTHER THAN THAT PERFORMANCE WORST....IF U NEED MORE DETAILS PLZ FEEL FREE TO CALL 9944571912

posted on 27 Mar 2012, 12:52

45. jabba (Posts: 1; Member since: 27 Mar 2012)


This phone looked like a good concept- a smaller, tactile text phone. But it looks like they released it before actually testing it. The scroll down feature for seeing your incoming texts basically doesnt really work or should I say barely works. You swipe your finger one millimeter out of the 1 inch swiping zone- it will go all the way to the beginning of your conversation. Its super buggy . you really have to press hard and slow on the screen if not it will tap a 1/3 of an inch below. Why bother putting any extras on it like facebook when ending a simple call on it is a challenge....Also heres the kicker-- when you are on a call, everytime you put your finger about an inch away from the screen, the screen sleep mode, like its trying to screw with you.
Overall this phone should never have left the Sony Eriksson factory. Looks bad for them.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 240 x 400 pixels (155 ppi) TFT
Camera3.2 megapixels
Size3.66 x 2.05 x 0.71 inches
(93 x 52 x 18 mm )
3.53 oz  (100 g)

Latest stories