x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung GALAXY Gio Review

Posted: , by Daniel P.

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with T-Mobile USA and AT&T, but without 3G.

Introduction:


Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
Samsung announced a quartet of low- to mid-range Android smartphones in January, and the Samsung Galaxy Gio was in the mix there – an Android 2.2 phone with a 3.2” display, and 800MHz processor. With the four humble handsets, Samsung demonstrated that it is not only shooting for the stars with phones like the Galaxy S II, but also considering the mere mortal, price-conscious cell phone shoppers. Did it succeed to strike the fine features/price balance with the Samsung Galaxy Gio? Read on to find out...


Design:

The Samsung Galaxy Gio is thick just enough, with tapered back cover edges, and rounded corners, which make it fit well in the hand. Samsung leaves the glossy black plastic back in 2010, and on the Galaxy Gio we have dotted pattern, which looks nice.

The Samsung Galaxy Gio has tapered back cover edges and rounded corners - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
The Samsung Galaxy Gio has tapered back cover edges and rounded corners - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
The Samsung Galaxy Gio has tapered back cover edges and rounded corners - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review

The Samsung Galaxy Gio has tapered back cover edges and rounded corners


Samsung GALAXY Gio Review

You can compare the Samsung Galaxy Gio with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The 3.2” LCD display sports the decent for its size 320x480 pixels resolution, and is of quite good quality. It is bright, with good viewing angles for a regular TFT-LCD screen, and rich color gamut. We've seen much, much worse displays on touchscreen phones at this price point.

Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
Samsung GALAXY Gio Review

The Samsung Galaxy Gio has a 3MP camera on the back, without a flash, next to a speaker grill. There is a nice long power/lock button on the right side, very easy to find and press, and the microSD slot is placed on the right side too, which adds to the overall comfort feel of the device, since you don't have to remove the battery cover each time you want to take out the memory card.

The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Gio - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Gio - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Gio - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Gio - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review

The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Gio


Back - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
Back - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review
Back - Samsung GALAXY Gio Review

Back


Overall, the Samsung Galaxy Gio has very simple and pleasant design, the display is good, while the buttons around the sides are easy to press. On top of that, the handset is very, very light, at 3.6 oz (102 gr).

Samsung Galaxy Gio 360-degrees View:



31 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 10 May 2011, 13:01

1. Lawrence (unregistered)


Qualcomm 7227 = ARM v6 = No flash

Why are so many manufacturers bringing out new products with this ancient chip?!?

posted on 11 May 2011, 03:17

2. Eingild (Posts: 203; Member since: 19 Apr 2011)


Omg! You again for the video review?!! I don't want to be a douche here but your voice is SSSOOOOOOOOO BOOOORRRRIIINNNGGGG!!

posted on 28 May 2011, 22:52

4. androidlover97 (Posts: 1; Member since: 28 May 2011)


you can't be serious, why this phone can be better than the galaxy ace?????

posted on 01 Aug 2011, 02:47

5. nanobot (unregistered)


hello want to ask,does this galaxy gio have a macro fiture on its camera? i want to buy this handset very soon,thank u

posted on 20 Nov 2011, 07:28

30. caseychanfc (Posts: 3; Member since: 20 Nov 2011)


It's all auto, just focus on a close up subject and it'll do the job - in fact it does it pretty well. Many a time it could focus on a close up subject when my relatives iphone 4 couldn't :)

posted on 21 Aug 2011, 09:43

6. Toomuch (unregistered)


Phone has no battery life. Piece of junk.

posted on 22 Sep 2011, 16:03

15. ROLO666 (unregistered)


every android device has that problem dude

posted on 28 Aug 2011, 13:09

7. ALot (unregistered)


It has great battery life! You clearly have no idea of what you're talking about...sad...

posted on 29 Aug 2011, 12:21

8. G (unregistered)


Perfect phone! Love much better than my previous one (iphone 3G) - nice display, good battery life, quick response.

posted on 01 Sep 2011, 07:56

9. Lynne Woods (unregistered)


All I want to know is how to end a call



thank y ou

posted on 03 Sep 2011, 07:27

10. MachiShupp (unregistered)


I got this for free from my sim's company and so far I'm very impressed. I thought that since it's an touchscreen phone it would be hard to type because I once used an iPhone for about a week . And that gave me a really bad impression on touchscreen phones !

But now, I so take it back. :D this phone

posted on 06 Sep 2011, 15:08

11. foxontherock (unregistered)


If you like a battery duration of more than 24 hours, when doing ABSOLUTELY NOTHING with the phone, do not buy this. It drains battery energy by doing nothing.

posted on 11 Sep 2011, 23:23

12. quentin (unregistered)


i have a samsung galaxy gio i accidently switched my keyboard to swype key mode how do i change it back to original keyboard?

posted on 26 Sep 2011, 16:53

16. LINSB07 (unregistered)


Just hold your finger in the stop where you type, then select "input method" once the pop-up menu comes up, and change it back to "Samsung Keyboard"

posted on 12 Sep 2011, 01:43

13. melxyas warino (unregistered)


mau tanya,nada sms samsung galaxy gio,bisa di buat mp3 gak

posted on 12 Sep 2011, 15:01

14. mike (unregistered)


I just got this phone and so far its great except i cant install adobe air and firefox on it. Anyone now why?

posted on 29 Sep 2011, 01:06

17. Mo (unregistered)


got this phone a few days ago. great response time. battery life is very low, samsung should have thought of it for a multi applicatiion phone. would be great if there was an option to keep the screen from switching off when using GPS option.

posted on 29 Sep 2011, 12:07

18. pringles (unregistered)


was looking to buy either the samsung galaxy gio or the htc wildfire s. does anyone know which is better? the texting is the most important.

thanks

posted on 29 Sep 2011, 13:29

20. funky (unregistered)


Man, dont go for htc wildfire, it a piece of junk, i had that set, and it was not even able to play angry bird with out lags, simply a waste of money, i would prefer u to have gio, its worth it, :o)

posted on 09 Oct 2011, 14:16

25. pringles (unregistered)


thanks for the input. i have talked to others too and i have decided to get the samsung galaxy gio, my only worry is about battery life span i have heard its really bad.

posted on 29 Sep 2011, 12:09

19. pringles (unregistered)


or if anyone knows of a better phone for around the same price range that would be helpfull up to $ 250.00 prepaid.

posted on 01 Oct 2011, 02:29

21. Abdullah (unregistered)


Hi dear is there front camera in galaxy gio

posted on 03 Oct 2011, 03:44

22. tfer (unregistered)


Everything anyone ever said about rubbish battery life is true!!! Have had this phone three months now and have to charge it every day. Also Lynne's comment about hanging up. If the screen blanks out, when you recover it the keypad is gone and you have to shut the phone down to hang up. It's a piece of merde' Samsung should do the walk of shame!

posted on 09 Oct 2011, 00:32

23. amer (unregistered)


how much this phone ? i want to buy this phone too.. ;p

posted on 09 Oct 2011, 14:12

24. pringles (unregistered)


the samsung galaxy gio is 149.99 dollars on prepaid

posted on 11 Oct 2011, 13:58

27. Haikarainen (unregistered)


Bought mine bound to a service provider (Comviq in SWE) for ~€70-80

posted on 11 Oct 2011, 13:57

26. Haikarainen (unregistered)


The reason that flash is not supported, is because adobe's famous lazyness with porting their products to different architectures. The Qualcomm QCT MSM7227-1 runs an architecture that adobe seems to have left out, hence the incompatability. They should release it sooner or later though, but don't hold your breath.

posted on 11 Oct 2011, 14:03

28. Haikarainen (unregistered)


Btw, the batteryproblem is usual with android devices, it's because people who use them dont know how to turn off apps/settings that drain batteries! Buy an iPhone if you cant handle techstuff. Dont use internet/maps? Turn off Wifi/GPS! Dont use 3G? Set 2G only! Download some process manager to kill apps you dont use. Turn off syncing if you dont need it. Turn of datatransmission-mode if you don't need internet also.

Use the device wisely and itll do you good.

posted on 15 Oct 2011, 10:42

29. ethannn (unregistered)


phone is a peice of junk!!!!!! the battery dies in about 7 hours and when it dies i plug it in the charger and it will no turn on for a few hours ..it a real hasle..... but other then that when the phones on its a good phone!

posted on 24 Dec 2011, 18:29

31. buggerrer (Posts: 286; Member since: 21 Sep 2011)


Just got this a few days ago for $150 CDN no contract. I've never used a smartphone before but I think this is excellent for the price. It's very hard to make this phone lag and battery life isn't as bad as people here are saying. I've played around with the vaunted iphone and there's not much difference in how this responds/functions. Of course I wish it had flash but for this price I can't complain.

posted on 12 Aug 2012, 20:08

32. nicklessa (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Aug 2012)


I've had this this phone for almost a yr, and there's 1 feature that i have hated since i got it..when your texting, it will call some random person, and briefly show you the end call screen, then disappear..so you have to pop the battery to get it to stop..or you accidently call instead of whatever, and it starts ringing, before the screen pops up to end call..grr

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Samsung GALAXY Gio

Samsung GALAXY Gio

OS: Android 2.3.3 2.2
view full specs
Display3.2 inches, 320 x 480 pixels (180 ppi) TFT
Camera3 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S1 MSM7227, Single core, 800 MHz, ARM11 processor
Size4.35 x 2.26 x 0.48 inches
(110.5 x 57.5 x 12.15 mm)
3.60 oz  (102 g)
Battery1350 mAh, 10.6 hours talk time

Latest stories