x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia X2 Review

Posted: , by Basil K.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia X2 Review
This is a global GSM phone, it can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile USA.

Introduction:


Nokia X2 Review
Looking for a music on-the-go mobile with stereo speakers, a 3.5mm headphone jack and a 5MP camera? Want all that at a pretty good price? Look no further, Nokia's X2 is all of the above in a candybar body, and can be picked up for under £60 offline in the UK. With competition from Sony Ericsson's Zylo and the rest of Nokia's XpressMusic range however, can the Nokia X2 hold its own as the budget music phone for the masses?


Design:

Design-wise, the Nokia X2 is a fun looking piece of kit that manages to avoid looking cheap and plasticy. With a more classical look than some of the older XpressMusic phones (such as the 5310), the X2 has sleeker lines, edgier flourishes and a great looking metal battery cover with a brushed effect. When we, and others picked up the Nokia X2, the fact it was so light came as a surprise, which is testament to how solid the phone looks. It made us wish it was a bit heavier.



The Nokia X2 has a classical look and sleek lines - Nokia X2 Review
The Nokia X2 has a classical look and sleek lines - Nokia X2 Review
The Nokia X2 has a classical look and sleek lines - Nokia X2 Review
The Nokia X2 has a classical look and sleek lines - Nokia X2 Review

The Nokia X2 has a classical look and sleek lines


Nokia X2 Review

You can compare the Nokia X2 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

In traditional candybar format, the front is taken up by the numeric keypad, a call and end button, two soft-keys, a five way d-pad and the screen. At 2.2 inches, the screen's a little on the small side, though with QVGA resolution (240x320), it's sharp enough. With adequate brightness levels, viewing outdoors is fine, therefore while the Nokia X2 won't be ideal for video or photo sharing, it will be good enough for day to day tasks. There are however two minor detractors to the screen, the first being less than ideal viewing angles and the second relating to the fascia of the X2 - it loves fingerprints.

In traditional candybar format, the front of the Nokia X2is taken up by the physical buttons and the
screen. - Nokia X2 Review
In traditional candybar format, the front of the Nokia X2is taken up by the physical buttons and the
screen. - Nokia X2 Review

In traditional candybar format, the front of the Nokia X2
is taken up by the physical buttons and the screen.


All the keys fall under a single piece of plastic covering the entire fascia, except for the screen, and are divided by raised plastic strips. These provide adequate differentiation between keys for comfortable short text entry and number dialling, but don't facilitate extended amounts of typing.

On the left hand side of the Nokia X2 are the music buttons (play, back, and forward). The right hand side has the volume rocker, camera button and microSD card slot (it ships with a 2GB one), while the phone’s top-side is where the microUSB port, 3.5mm headphone jack and Nokia's 2mm charging port can be found. The buttons along the side are rubberised, tactile and responsive, though could be a bit more raised. The volume rocker could also be a bit bigger for easier pressing (when in the pocket for example), as with the Nokia X2's focus being on music, we imagine it will be used quite a lot.


The sides of the Nokia X2 - Nokia X2 Review
The sides of the Nokia X2 - Nokia X2 Review
The sides of the Nokia X2 - Nokia X2 Review
The sides of the Nokia X2 - Nokia X2 Review

The sides of the Nokia X2



Overall, the Nokia X2 looks good for the price. It comes in white with blue trimmings or black with red trimmings, our unit being the black version. While it feels a bit light for our tastes, it still manages to feel solid, with no creaky or wobbly moving parts. The cherry on the cake is the aluminium back cover, which adds a nice illusion of luxury to the phone.

20 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Nokia x2 user (unregistered)


I have this phone and i am satisfied with it so far...but... like every other phone it has some thumbs down (besides what you just pointed): -radio still plays on speaker even when I connect earphones -no volume control whit its headphones (didn't try whit others) And I have a question tough: What is whit all that software on the memory card (and it's also tells me that the file's are not supported) and I meant imgcache, nokia_ovi_suit... ?

posted on 01 Oct 2010, 08:33

2. Zorin (Posts: 152; Member since: 26 Jul 2010)


Wish VZW would have a fun, phone like this. Battery life on the X2 is good for this kind of phone. Quoted at 13.5 hours of talk time, 619 hours (26 days) of stand-by time, We found that it needed to be charged every 3-5 days with medium use, a fair bit of music playback and not much browsing or emailing.

posted on 06 Oct 2010, 21:44

6. newAvi (unregistered)


Whether Ovi Maps can be installed on Nokia X2?

posted on 13 Oct 2010, 20:38

7. mk (unregistered)


No 3G / Wi-Fi because it's cheap !!! OMG. what a bad review.

posted on 26 Oct 2010, 17:39

8. Robindar Nath (unregistered)


It seems like there is a huge difference in build quality by region. This phone was a disaster for Nokia in Asia. The battery lasted hardly one day, max talk time was 3 to 4 hours, it took 4 full hours to charge, a greenish spot at the centre of viewfinder. I bought this phone and sold it back in 15 days.

posted on 22 Dec 2010, 20:38

9. zamizai (unregistered)


good day! I was wondering if I could save messages in folders with this phone? is it capable to create subfolders?can the font size be reduced to small fonts? coz my nokia 6303i can't, plus the font is too big.

posted on 25 Feb 2011, 13:53

10. Natanyle (unregistered)


I was wondering if I will be charged a data plan plan if I use this phone. I'm with at&t and I've heard they automatically charge you if you use a smartphone, though because this isn't your typical smartphone(small screen, candy bar) I was wondering if they still do. Thanks

posted on 11 Mar 2011, 09:44

11. avinashchander (unregistered)


i have nokia x2 and i am satisfied but it has some shortcomings too........... battery backup is not good...........its lasts only 1 or 1 and half day. some time it hanged and switched off automatically.
but i bought it for picture quality which so good......... all in all not bad choice to buy in such a small amount

posted on 17 Apr 2011, 04:20

12. maneesha (unregistered)


Its seems to be more nice phone with its technical reviews than sony ericsson zylo, im gonna buy it

posted on 19 Apr 2011, 17:34

13. atif (unregistered)


nokia x-2 is one of the biggest flop from nokia in Asia. i have purchased a brand new nokia x-2 and i am very much disappointed with its performance the company on its official website said that it has a 13 hours talktime and 6 hours of music play back but it is not even giving a back up of 2 hours talktime,, camera too is not that good it is not 5 megapixel the company is cheating its customer so never buy a nokia x-2 am not against all nokia phones i like other models but x-2 is a failure

posted on 31 May 2011, 23:55

14. nokia x2 (unregistered)


hai in this nokia x2 does it have big font size and sms big

posted on 04 Jun 2011, 00:02

15. ROSE81 (unregistered)


I have this phone i'm quiet satisfied with it . the only thing i cant't add the picture to the contact

posted on 21 Jun 2011, 04:10

16. lalitha (unregistered)


I'm using nokia x2 from past 7mnths. It is good. Camera is not 5mp.but it has better quality for its price. It will be arround 4mp i think. But good quality.
Regarding backup it will come 2 days for me.

posted on 22 Jul 2011, 03:09

17. mallik (unregistered)


the details are not good

posted on 12 Aug 2011, 06:27

18. suraj van (unregistered)


Hi i am stasified with x2 only probelm is battery back up & its camera is not look like 5mp

posted on 06 Sep 2011, 13:13

19. gopal (unregistered)


resolation is vry good

posted on 15 Sep 2011, 07:33

20. Kishor (unregistered)


I am purchese brand new x2 b4 2month.I faced more problem in this model 1- this phons 5mgp camera quality not good picture quality is not more than 2.5 mpg 2- batry backup is not more than 3 to 4hour 3-after 3 hour batry is eull charging but discharged is very fast 4- no any other companys mcard acepet only branded companys card acept in phone and many times phone is hanged on there for pl dont purchese x2.Nokia is frod company.f**k the company owner.

posted on 29 Sep 2011, 07:26

21. Radojka Zupancic (unregistered)


I'm very disappointed because of Nokia X2. ...camera quality is really bad.......
I bought it one month ago. That was a big mistake :((

posted on 01 Oct 2011, 02:46

22. Radojka Zupancic (unregistered)


After only one month I had to get my X2 repaired. The camera didn't save my photos. The people at the nokia repair centre said: your X2 is not a camera, it's a mobile phone! :-S

posted on 10 Oct 2011, 02:16

23. Sudd (unregistered)


Battery backup,camera are litrely very bad.......i ll personally advise not to buy this phone......

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display2.2 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (182 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Size4.37 x 1.85 x 0.52 inches
(111 x 47 x 13.3 mm)
2.89 oz  (82 g)
Battery860 mAh, 13.5 hours talk time

Latest stories