x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia pro User Reviews

7.7 Based on 3 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9.3/10
Battery7.3/10
Reception8.3/10
Display7/10
Build quality8.7/10
Text input8.3/10
Everyday usage7.7/10
UI speed6.3/10
Camera8.3/10
Multimedia7.3/10
Internet7.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

CeluGeek
posted on 06 Jul 2012, 08:41 (Posts: 2; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)

6

Disappointing

CeluGeek has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this phone a little over a month ago. The moment I received it, I flashed the official Ice Cream Sandwich update from Sony, therefore I can't comment on how the performance was with the original Gingerbread firmware.

The first disappointment is with its size. With Sony selling a *mini* Pro model, you'd expect the non-mini Pro model to be a bit bigger. I wasn't expecting Galaxy Note big but yeah, this phone is way too fricking small! I don't want to know how mini the Mini Pro is, if this one is already too small!

Software performance is extremely sluggish! Even after a couple of factory resets, this thing really drag its feet. I've seen 800 MHz phones perform faster than the 1GHz Xperia Pro. Five seconds to bring up the phone dialer? Are they serious?!

The Xperia Pro frequently loses track of the SD card when it comes to ringtone assignments. If you like using your own ringtones for calls, contacts, notifications and alarm, STAY AWAY from the Xperia Pro! It frequently loses track of your ringtones and either assigns the wrong ones, assigns a factory-preloaded ringtone or worse of the worst: leave you with no ringtone at all.

The keyboard is comfortable for typing and has enough feel so you can type without looking at it. The keyboard would probably be the brightest point on this phone, if it weren't for the fact it forces you to be sloppy with your capitalization. If you are smart enough to use a SHIFT key and capitalize things on your own, you'll frequently end up...  

Build quality 8/10 Battery door creaks.
Reception 7/10 Typical SonyEricsson with crappy reception.
Call quality 9/10 Call quality is really good. Not perfect but good.
Internet 4/10 The Xperia Pro frequently stutters on the Internet, plus its limited memory will impede your from multitask while browsing the Internet. Even playing music in the background will soon stop as the browser hogs the little memory this phone has.
Multimedia 5/10 Mobile BRAVIA Engine is a gimmick - it doesn't improve ANYTHING! The music player is stuck in eternal Repeat All mode. The Track ID application stops working if you unlock the bootloader.
Camera 7/10 Pictures and videos come plain OK.
UI speed 3/10 Extremely sluggish!
Everyday usage 6/10 You could do worse, but you could do better.
Text input 7/10 Onscreen keyboard is too cramped. Hardware keyboard is very comfortable, but you'll be fighting and getting frustrated with autocorrect and auto-capitalization features.
Display 4/10 Disappointing. 3.7-inches? Nah, this looks like a 3.4-inch screen stretched only in one direction to make it look widescreen (when viewed in landscape) but overall screen image looks smaller than on a regular 3.5-inch screen.
Battery 7/10 Standby is very conservative, but while in use, the battery runs out pretty fast. According to the Battery applet, the display is the biggest offender.

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wind96xx
posted on 18 Apr 2012, 10:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Apr 2012)

9

Be a pro!

wind96xx has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought my Xperia pro October 2011, as soon as it came out. I'm more than happy with it. Since I have 2 SIM cards now, I use my other Samsung Galaxy S II more often, but still, this phone is awesome.

Build quality 9/10 Great for a mid-range Android. It looks awesome.
Reception 9/10 Never dropped a call.
Call quality 9/10 Audio quality is really good. The only problem with the calls is no smart dialing (when you dial a number you've called before, you must type the whole number while most other Android phones search the whole phonebook as soon as you type 3 numbers and that way you can easily choose who to call).
Internet 10/10 The browser has Flash and text reflow and that makes it perfect.
Multimedia 9/10 It supports lots of media formats.
Camera 9/10 The 8MP camera, unfortunately, cannot record 1080p (only 720p and lower) but everything else is great.
UI speed 9/10 Timescape UI has always been one of my personal favorites and no Sony Ericsson ever lags except when playing some GPU-intensive high-end games.
Everyday usage 9/10 Everything is great but there is one small problem: no stopwatch.
Text input 10/10 The physical QWERTY keyboard is absolutely perfect.
Display 8/10 It's no AMOLED, but is still very good.
Battery 8/10 Above average for Android.

Pros

  • Great UI
  • Amazing physical keyboard
  • Above average battery life
  • Promised Ice Cream Sandwich upgrade

Cons

  • No smart dialing

wind96xx alternatives:

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

malcolm
posted on 26 Oct 2011, 02:57 (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Oct 2011)

8

Good all round phone.

malcolm has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Got tired of waiting for someone to review this, so i took the plunge and bought it outright for HK$3298 ( US$420). The price is ok considering the alternatives: Nokia E7 ( i had this for about 3 months), Motorola Milestone 2 &3 (2 is old and 3 has really bad reviews), and the HTC Desire Z (quite old now).

I have used Android 2.2 for a year now, so coming to 2.3.4 was an easy step up. For new users coming to Android, there is a learning curve, but the more you learn, the more you will enjoy it. So far, I found that Gingerbread is much more stable than Froyo but there is not that much to differentiate the two.

I use this phone for work so the 2 most important things to me are calling and messaging. The call quality is excellent - really good. Reception is excellent too on both 2&3G. I also have a Nokia N8 which i often use as a benchmark for call quality, and the Xperia Pro is its equal for calling.

For messaging, the keyboard is the important factor here and i must say it takes time to get used to. The best keyboard experience i have had is with the Nokia E7, and the Xperia Pro doesn't have the same quality feel in the buttons. But, again, i'm sure after a while, you'll get used to its feel and layout. After a few days practice, I was able to get up to a decent speed. The onscreen keyboard is good too and has nice tactile feedback too.

I love the screen on this phone. For LCD, this has to be one of the best. Its not as bright or vibrant as AMOLED but the clarity...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories