x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

LG VX-9800 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

jake92195
posted on 13 Sep 2009, 19:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Sep 2009)

9

Great while it lasted...

This phone was insanely good. It lasted about 4 years before finally biting the dust just yesterday (9-12-09) Was a great phone while it lasted. I miss it. The battery lasted days with HEAVY use (extended battery), it was so easy to text on, and calls were clear. Finally after 4 years of hard and heavy use, it started refusing to pick up a signal. Verizon has replaced it with a refurbished EnV2. 

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Battery life
  • Comfort
  • LIGHTNING FAST TEXTING!!!

Cons

  • A little bit large
  • It broke :(

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

joshua
posted on 05 Nov 2008, 18:03

6.3

just as good as the enV

this is just about the same as the enV
my env randomly stopped working so i borrowed this one from a friend.
this phone has like the same features as the enV. my only problem is the batter on this phone.
i where sweat pants or basket ball shorts everyday so bulkyness in my pocket isnt bad.
this one is a keeper.
also i love the focus switch.
and my main thing is that this phone toook a LOT of drops and stuff and it still holds together perrrfct
and with the enV it would slid out on my pocket without me knowing.
this phone it so thick it doesnt even slide out. lmao.
the one im using is pretty wore out though. thu up button and the # button only works when it feels like i(this is on the front)
i hate the anoying red bars the top and botttom and i wish you could change the color just like some of the other lg phones.
but oh well. it a goooooodd phone

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • that its almost like the newer enV
  • the focus switch on the back
  • doesnt fall apart afet one drop

Cons

  • battery &&
  • red bars on the menu

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DEZ NUTZ
posted on 07 Jun 2006, 16:00

9.8

GOOD BUT...

I like this phone alot but the only hing that I find a little crazy is that the Samsung sch-a950 can record up to 10 mins of video but the V can only record 15 seconds which I think Verizon should do something about.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ching
posted on 26 May 2006, 01:15

9.6

Phone

Between this phone and the RAZR, I chose this one. I know they're completely different phones, but the response time on the RAZR was too slow for my liking as I memorize the paths to menus via keypresses and find it extremely annoying to have to wait for the menu to have to load.

It's been almost four months since I bought the phone and it has not yet let me down. Well, maybe the battery, but not really the phone itself. The battery will very gradually make its way down to one of four bars then very suddenly die. This hasn't happened any more times than I can count on my two hands, but on weekdays I'll find myself in a panic getting ready for work after waking up to my backup alarm.

The one problem I have with the phone is its size, although I knew very well its bulkiness upon purchasing it. If you're a dude and wear dude's jeans, or if you're a chick that carries their phone in their purse (or a dude... whatever), the size shouldn't be a problem. The phone fits relatively comfortably despite the tighter jeans anyway.

Word.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kid nova
posted on 27 Apr 2006, 16:16

6.6

good for phone sex and watching porn if you could.

but thats bout it. this is one of my tester phones(see my chats on razor and nokia6236i) features are fruitful and easy to navigate, speaker phone suprisingly clear and robust for what it is. But phone vol has to be low for enclosed use(or vertical) for sound to be bareable...and at that point if your outside your screwed. why?...cause the earpice rummbles at med to high vol...and quality at low still is just average to subpar for me. but im picky.
price ....good for what it is....but inevaditably i returned it cause i cant have a phone thta doesnt do well its most important function...MAKE GOOD STRONG AND CLEAR PHONECALLS! O ....and by the way this phone happed to have horrable signal strenght but oddly enougn im yet condeming that issue since im not convinced that bar read ouy is correct....its was low to null but calls still went threw..a bit slow mabye but did succed in going threw. prob would have droped thought if i stayed on longer....but the min i noticed these issues i didnt have time to stay on the phone. Why?..lol...cause i was already on my way back to verison to exchange it for sumn else!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Jose
posted on 21 Feb 2006, 15:10

9.2

The Best!

This phone is great. Anyone who will or planning to buy it should because it's real good. I got it and I love it it's easy to control it not heavy at all.

TRUST ME YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

VF322
posted on 28 Jan 2006, 07:58

9.6

Bang For Your Money Fushisle

I was debating on getting this phone, and I got even though I don't have V-Cast, the Piece is Awsome everywhere I go I can not stop playing, or working on it! There is so much to do on this piece. there are two things that bothers me:

1. Battery Life even from the box Battery doesnt last that long! Well maybe it's because I use it all day! I need to get an extended Battery!

And

2. You can not use your MP3's as ringtones! or your sound clips that Stinks!

But Bottom line I give this MasterPeice an ("A+")

MR. NEW YORK, NEW YORK

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Florida
posted on 21 Jan 2006, 02:07

9.2

I love it

Awesome phone!! some people's attention span for new technology lacks. Works like a breeze. Internet, V cast options are a plus with this unit. Definitely a keeper in my book

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

DUDE
posted on 20 Jan 2006, 13:33

9.2

OMG!!!! YOU GOTTA GET THIS PHONE

this has to be the coolest phone in the entire world. i previously wanted a sidekick 2, this is even cooler!!!!!!! it is the perfect phone for anyone who wants to do just about anything with it. here are the pros
>CLEAR AND CRISP LCD screen
>awesome features, such as VCAST and MP3
>clear pics and videos
>wonderful reception
>totally cool ringtone volume
>strong vibrator volume

THERE ARE REALLY NO CONS TO THIS PHONE...IT ROCKS

the vibrator on this phone is so amazing that when the phone rings the phone jumps around the table. the vibrator is so strong..

I WOULD DEFINATLEY RECOMMEND THIS FONE FOR A TEENAGER THAT JUST LOVES TO DO JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING ON A CELL PHONE


THIS PHONE ROCKS!!!!

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Hannah
posted on 05 Jan 2006, 19:54

6

Cool Phone Poor Sound

Phone is packed with tons of cool features, but the volume is very low - especially ringtone volumes. Haven't once heard the phone ring while driving.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

shawnluke
posted on 04 Jan 2006, 09:59

6

Don't Waste Your Time On This Phone

I received my first LG 9800 a week after they came out in October. I really liked the phone, but within the first month I was checking my email, and the phone locked up on me. So Verizon gave me a new 9800, but two months later the second phone has locked up on me again. I was trying to download ringtones the second time it locked up on me. I don't feel this phone is worth the amount of money you have to pay for it to keep locking up, and you having to get another phone. I would think twice before I purchased this phone.

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Kelsey
posted on 20 Dec 2005, 21:02

5.4

TERRIBLE PHONE! PLEASE DONT BUY!

I don't mean to be a downer, but please, do not waste your money. I had one, it had a speaker problem, returned it, recieved a new one and it froze, causing me to lose 426 contacts and all of my pictures, ringtones, etc. Phones are personal items and all verizon did was say, oops, and give me a third one of this phone, which i do NOT want. I am currently trying to sell it and brand new, in the box, am having trouble. I paid FIVE HUNDRED AND THIRTY FIVE DOLLARS FOR THIS PHONE, mind you. Please do NOT waste your money!!!

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Jimbo
posted on 19 Dec 2005, 00:57

9.4

Not dissapointed

I've had mine for a week and haven't found anything that I didn't like about the phone that wasn't cured by reading the instructions. My only beefs are little ones. First, to turn on the camera, you have to press the side button for three long seconds, or press LEFT,2,3 which takes almost as long... The second problem, may be the fault of the cheap headbuds that I picked up to fit that smaller plug. They don't playback in stereo. Is this a function of the plug, or bad buds???

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Onyekachi
posted on 18 Dec 2005, 09:27

6

Yes No, Maybe So!

I am about to buy a new phone. The 9800 has been the object of my eye. I lost my LG 7000 some months ago. Didn't have insurance. Never again will that happen. I'm truly impressed with the LG 9800 in many ways based on playing with it at Verizon and reading reviews. Yes I have looked at others but the LG 9800 has me. But I will miss the self portrait aspect that I had on my LG 7000 and I will miss the 24 hr readout option I had on my Moto T720. I give the LG 9800 a 4.8

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

k heart
posted on 10 Dec 2005, 15:44

6

awsome

this phone is awsome and has a lot of good fetures i think that it is one of the better phones i have had and i will contiue to love it. you are in good hands if you by it don't worry.
bubi

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

NJCOP
posted on 01 Dec 2005, 17:19

6

Production

Where do i get a deal on this phone Verizon is a rip off. i see they offer the phone for new customers for $199.99 and $419.99 for those of us that are already customers.

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

D_dawg..
posted on 29 Nov 2005, 00:52

9.2

VX 9800

I just got my VX 9800 a week ago and all i could say is... AMAZING.... you dont really need to spend a lot for it, thats if you are willing to spend 125 bucks for it (worth the money).. just dont go to those verizon people that is out in the mall cuz they will rip you off.. find a local authorized dealer out in your area.. i payed mines for 225.00 after tax and then you will get 100.00 bucks rebate, plus you get all the accesories with it too, (pouch, car charger, ear piece etc.) i just wish they have a better case for it though iunstead of the pouch. but its all good, just keep checking "KRUSSEL.COM" for all your cases, they make the best one, kinda pricey but worth the money/investment for it..

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kenneth KENS
posted on 11 Nov 2005, 22:45

10

lg vx 9800

this phone is good simple. i hd hope that your people at lg keeping doing the good work you have been doing cus all my life i have never used any 0ther phone except an lg phone. even when the technology was nothing to write home about
bye
kens

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Robert
posted on 11 Nov 2005, 20:24

8

Why verison

I went to play with the phone at the store, I found the menus a little hard to follow. My main problem is that it is so far only at verison. I saw ads for it with cingular. What happened there?? Did Cingular drop it or what?

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Wadd
posted on 09 Nov 2005, 20:55

6

Is this as good as a sidekick

Has anyone out there compared the internet capability? On the sidekick you can actually see pages almost as good as a computer. DOes this phone have the same kind of internet or is it just text more less?

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Cinnamon
posted on 06 Nov 2005, 02:52

9

Incredible!

After spending time checking out the commercial for this amazing device, I quickly hopped in my car for a look at this new phone. I was one of the lucky ones who had their 2 year up just in time to lay my hands on this incredible new phone, and I am not regretting it. It has everything I need without spending useless money on several things. True, the amount of music you put on the (sold seperately) mini SD card is pathetic (~120 songs on a 512) but seriously, even WITHOUT external speakers, it made people turn and grin at a restaurant I was blasting my tunes at. I don't even carry my digital camera around with me anymore! True, this device isn't 6.1 megapixels like my Kodak EasyShare, but it's a whole lot smaller and easier to carry around. One concern I had was that, since I never had a brick phone before, I didn't know how to rest it between my head and shoulder. This phone isn't that hard to manage. I was also shocked to see the change in software (and how it was the same as newer Samsung models). I'm used to the LG vx6000, so this was quite the jump. The menu structure is really easy, I didn't have any problems with it. The 'Get It Now' was the only thing that was the least bit tricky, because it's divided up, you can DL music one place, check your email another, check your phone stats ANOTHER and get online in a totally other place. But the way it's set up makes a lot more sense, trust me. The camera was not hard to figutr out at all. You hold the device vertical, press...  

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Samiam
posted on 18 Oct 2005, 18:40

9.8

KICK ASS PHONE

Dude i bought this phone about 5 days ago and i love it. For those of you who think the sidekick is awsome wait till you get ur hands on this it has everything and the camera and vcast and everything about is amazing


Buy It

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

al
posted on 12 Oct 2005, 19:03

7.8

not a bad choice.

I picked up this phone last week, and so far I am impressed. I will agree that it is slightly bulky, yet it is light enough in my pocket not to notice it. The speakers are absolutely incredible, and mp3 is easy to find (it even says 'my mp3's' in the menu). I chose this over the new samsung and lg8100, and I have not been disappointed. Video is clear and crisp, the camera has some problems (I'm sure in a few weeks I'll be a pro) and it is not too user friendly. I am a technogeek, and I love it. It will take a while for you to get a hang of it, so if you get frustrated easily, don't bother. This phone is for people who know what they are doing beforehand, and plan to use internet and vcast often.

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Walters
posted on 08 Oct 2005, 19:56

5.6

Observation

I recently went into the Verizon Wireless store to play with a LG Vx9800. I was really disappointed. The bulkyness of this phone was ridicioulas. You could have had a Ipod and a Regular cellphone and it would have saved space.

The design of the phone was also bad (Not just the size) It flips open and revals a keyboard. But you have to pry it open to actually open the device.

When you go into The menu screens on either screen. The setup is lame. You cant get to the camera unless you press the button on the outside. And theres no way to even view the Mp3 Function. I asked the sales rep about it and she told me that you "probally" have to have the memory card in the device before it appears.

Even for a 1.3 Megapixel camera its pretty bad when you take a picture it comes out with lines across the screen. This phone isnt easy to use anything.

To get a better view of the size think of a ipod only longer about an inche longer thats about the size.

As cool as it looks. Its really not to big and bulky its wider than my Samsung i730. And not worth $300.00

Try again LG sorry.

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories