x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola V710 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

William
posted on 26 Nov 2008, 19:00

6.7

Another OK phone

I used this phone from Verizon while i was in Mexico , it worked good while i got my V3 repaired. 
the charger port is indeed very delicate.  However, the big screen and the keypad was alright. I would have liked a better bluetooth compatibility.
 

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Big bright screen
  • Handy, despite its size

Cons

  • Battery life and power cord.
  • An internal antenna would have been better.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

D Elmer
posted on 25 Feb 2008, 22:27

6

Motorola in a bubble

It is now 2008 and I had been using a Motorola V710 up until recently. This phone is definitely a loser in any humid environment.
I have had 5 of these phones because I wouldn't let them screw me on the humidity issue. My last phone suffered the same demise in
Florida humidity. The charging issues are also well documented with a flimsy poor connector on the charging port that will not withstand the slightest abuse. My first phone used to die to a multicolor pixel wash on the screen. This did not inspire confidence. The keyboard did not light evenly when texting in the dark. It was often problematic if you did not have the earpiece directly on your ear it was difficult to hear anything.This is not a phone for the road and I'd have to say that my experience with the Motorola V710 product has left me looking elsewhere for mobile hardware.

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Brian Asklund
posted on 25 Feb 2007, 00:00

6.8

Not the greatest phone I've ever had

I've had the v710 since August of '05, and i suppose you could say that the performance of strictly the phone features are acceptable enough. It works most everywhere I've needed to use it with decent sound quality and good reception. While some have said the phone was too big, I found it to be easier to handle and use than some of the other phones available at the time. The screen is huge, especially when compared to what was out there when it arrived. That is where the praise ends, however. Where to begin with the bad... The charging port is cheaply done, with the cord unable to make a decent connection unless the stars are in proper alignment and nobody dares touch it while charging. The plastic cover over the screen allowse for dirt and debris to settle behind it far too easily, not much reason for that kind of shoddy quality from a company making phones as long as motorola. The camera I've found to be practically unusable unless you are outside on a sunny day, and even then the images are grainy, and when tried to be used as a wallpaper can ony cover the middle third of the screen. Overall, I guess I just expected better quality from Motorola, and I don't think I will be giving them another chance on my next upgrade. Hopefully the LG VX8600 will ease my phone woes this time.

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Andre
posted on 24 Jan 2007, 14:41

10

Excelent!!

If you now how use this fone, you can have a goog machine for a long time!!! Exception is your limited bluetooth, vs. 1.0, you can't use enything, only motorola's kit.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

p_alon
posted on 17 Dec 2006, 15:22

7.6

okay

I purchased 2 v710 about a year ago one of them just died
out had to get a loaner, called service provider they will not issue a replacement because I voided the warranty when I switched phones. The 2nd phone started having problems with charging, I was able to get that one replaced easily. I will never purchase Motorola phones again !

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

THE PHONE GUY
posted on 08 Nov 2006, 09:48

10

GREAT PHONE

I HAVE HAD THE V710 FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS NOW AND HAVE NEVER HAD A SINGLE ISSUE WITH IT. I GET RECEPTION IN PLACES OTHER PHONES CANT. OVERALL THIS WAS A GREAT PHONE AND I WILL ONLY HOPE MY NEXT PHONE WILL PERFORM AS WELL AS THIS ONE

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

doug pearson
posted on 04 Sep 2006, 20:10

6

disguntled

I've had my v 710 for 8 months and i'm on my 4th phone now. All have been sent back with the same charging problems. Am happy with it when working but worry when warranty runs out.

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Mike Brown Jr.
posted on 04 Apr 2006, 15:35

6.6

Design Flaw

I have had my $400.00 V710 for 2 months and it screwed up with the moisture indicator turning red and shutting off. Like the other complaints, I do NOT walk around in the rain talking on the phone. I DO carry the phone in my inside pocket. The service rep. said that it must have gotten moisture from going from warm car to outside, even when protected by clothing. I will never buy another Motorola product if this is the product they produce and I will bad mouth thier products as being designed poorly. The rep. automatically stated that when the moisture indicator turns red the warrenty is void. As above, I did not abuse the unit. If that is the manufacture stand then I stand on my comments and do NOT recommend these products to anyone unless you are using them only in a temperature protected environment. Pass the word around.

Design 4/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

jalapeno
posted on 23 Feb 2006, 21:15

9.4

bluetooth blues

Very disapointed with Verizon crippling bluetooth features, on the other hand must give them credit for their phones service in southeast florida. Signal and sound quality excellant. Camera does not work well in low lite. the new 815 takes much better pictures, but does not offer the flexability of transfering ring tones and music like the v710. The phone when flipped open feels loose and closes easely when used with the leather holster.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Alias
posted on 20 Feb 2006, 19:09

5.2

Product defect

I purchased a Motorola v710 for over $300.00. In 4 months it suffered "moisture" problems. I went to my provider and got a loaner replacement. In two weeks the replacement showed "moisture" damage (a dot in the phone turns red). Well, I live in Anchorage, Alaska (a dessert climate). I was told going from cold to warm terperatures could set off the temperature indicator. The phone was in my purse where there is no moisture. The product had a defect it can't handle life.

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Sam
posted on 05 Feb 2006, 12:03

6

Verizon or Alltel

Personally, my opinion, I would choose alltel for this phone. I heard a LOT of complaints about verizon. Alltel was my last carrier and I think it was great. Perfect service. My friend has verizon and they have shitty service and poor features. Alltel is the best to choose for this phone. I havn't had the phone yet but i'm getting one tuesday so we'll see how it does.

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Daryl Gregoire
posted on 21 Jan 2006, 18:27

5.6

Motorola V710 should be recalled

This phone should be recalled. It has serious fundamental charging problems. I have had two new replacements, all with the same charging problems. The interface plug is dainty and can disconnect from any form of vibration. It takes too long to recharge. When the battery gets fully discharged it has be be plugged in for up to 15 minutes before the phone will even start up.

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

angrybunnyaudio
posted on 11 Jan 2006, 06:56

9.2

Amazing

This phone absolutly blows me away. It was an amazing phone without the transflash drive, but with that the phone excedes all possible expectations. I am able to move data easily from my computer to the phone and back again very quickly. I was able to save all my favorite songs on my phone AND use them as ring tones. Videos as well. my service is through a local alaskan phone company and they have not blocked any features this phone is capable of. AMAZING!!!

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Slash
posted on 14 Aug 2005, 21:22

5.8

Disappointment

I thought this phone might be an improvement over my last phone, but I was wrong. The features on this phone are okay, but the reception was terrible.

The design for the phone was decent, but it wasrather large and felt very cheap.

The phone is not what I expected, but maybe I just expected too much.

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Michelle
posted on 08 May 2005, 01:49

7.6

silent recall

I was having problems withthe screen on my V710 so I took it to tech support at the verizon store. Before I said anything he knew what was wrong. I was pissed because something should have been sent to tell owners of this phone to bring them back for an exchange. When I got my replacement it had an upgraded version of the software on it. I guess you can use the MP3 player easier. But you can not use MP3 for ringtones. I really did not care because since I got it the first time I have not been able to play any MP3 from the memory card on the phone. I downloaded them the same way I did on my I-paq and the ones I put on the memory card will play when I put that card in my I-paq but soon as I put it in the phone it won't even show the songs as existing on the card. Also the upgraded software allows the bluetooth to pick up other things besides just the earpiece. I can make it recognize my laptop and use it as a modem for my laptop or I-paq. The other software only linked with ear pieces. I am switching to the new LG that comes out in a month. It is suppose to be all the V-710 and LG VX8000 have put together in one phone. Including bluetooth. SO there is a RECALL on this V710. Tell them the screen is doing weird things and take it back. I was pissed to find out the replacement is a refurb and not new. I payed $500.00 for this phone at full price and I get a refurb. That is a rip-off.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Chris
posted on 04 May 2005, 15:21

9.6

Definately worth the troubl

I purchased my v710 last week, adn could not be happier. The overall experience with this phone is EXCELLENT. Now, if Alltel would just fix their data network, we wouldn't have ANY problems. Also, just for anyone's info, there is alot of talk of Verizon crippling many features of their version of this phone. Mine supports [as far as I know] every feature advertised, and putting new ringtones, videos, pictures, and mp3s on it using mobile PhoneTools could not be easier. I hope everyone has the experience that I have with this phone.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Charlie
posted on 29 Mar 2005, 14:15

9.4

Almost a perfect phone

I bought my V710 the first day it hit the VZW stores (radio shack had it a couple weeks before, but I needed to use a new every two credit).

The sound quality is great, and the bluetooth is quite functional with Motorola Phone Tools and a quick hack on the new firmware. I wish the contacts would store more information, but I can live with it.

My first phone was great, but it was involved in an accident in October, and the replacement (also new, they weren't shipping refurbs yet) is very poorly manufactured. I procrastinated on dealing with the defects, and now the water sensor has turned half red, and Verizon won't help. They are telling me to file an insurance claim, but filing on insurance for a manufacture's defect shouldn't be necessary. I realized my phone has a very poorly aligned camera, so I am going to go back to the store and push that angle. There is no way water could have caused that. A small claims court filing fee should be less than the insurance deductable if I can't convince the people in the store to be reasonable.

As for the quality problems, I have heard that phones manufactured after 10/4/04 don't have the problems, so get this phone, but keep it dry (or tape over the sensor, if you dunk the phone it should be ok, but it should help with humidity and sweat).

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Tim
posted on 28 Mar 2005, 07:49

9

Address book and notes

The v710 has no place to put street address, nor a notepad to take notes for temperary contacts, But other than that excellent phone. I'll give it 1 3/4 thumps up

Design 10/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Joe
posted on 19 Mar 2005, 07:10

9.2

great

this phone is great but the picture feature could be alot better. I just got this phone yesterday as a gift and i think that is a huge upgrade from the motorola T730. This phone is the best one that i have had yet! The sound is great and the picture is crisp. If the camara was better i think that this could be the best phone out this year!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Greg
posted on 13 Jan 2005, 21:19

8.6

forget your warranty

This phone has the best reception of any phone I have owned (I have had many). The problem, however, is that Motorola will trick you out of your warranty. The moisture indicator easily turns red from white (indicating it has come in contact with water). After arguing with Verizon, I was told by a tech that this could have been caused by Huimidity. I live in Maryland, a humid state. My phone is 2 months old and now out of warranty because this is a humid state.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

wt961
posted on 04 Jan 2005, 12:23

8.6

best phone yet

I have now had the phone for 4 months now and i think this is the best phone out there for the money. You have some of the best screen resoultion , and the features are great. My boss just got a new razor and he is pissed because he payed double for his phone and it doesent even do half of the stuff my phone does.He has no radio,mp3 player,and the screen resoultion puts his to shame. Now you people have to rember this is a phone and not a camra if you take alot pics then go buy a digital camra, and if not this well work just fine.

wt961

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Brojizzle
posted on 16 Dec 2004, 09:19

9.4

Actually use the phone!

I looked at all the reviews in August and such and I don't no what yall are talkin bout. Turn the lights on if your in the dark! Why the heck would you want to take pics in dark anyway? I've had this phone longer than some of you! I bought it on the first day it came out.






Don't just use the phone, USE YOUR DANG MINDS!

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Mike
posted on 13 Dec 2004, 16:47

5.4

TOO MUCH HYPE

Very nice looking phone however the camera is horrible! Nice speaker phone but for being a "1.2 megapixel" camera, it sure has bad resolution! Not worth the money, you'll be disapointed.

Design 10/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 3/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Rubenc
posted on 30 Nov 2004, 14:38

4.8

Not worth the price, maybe worth $50

As advertized, this phone has almost every feature one might want. I was even willing to sacrifice its larger size and higher price to get these features. However, almost every feature suffers from sub-par performance. Not worth the money.

Design 4/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

thealltelman
posted on 29 Nov 2004, 08:26

10

Best one yet for cdma

this phone is awesome. I am actually an alltel employee and i was the first one to get this phone. The reception, the features, design-- everything is great about this phone. If you want the best cdma phone out there go and buy V710 you will not regret it.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories